6 photos
Westinghouse 536L Top Mount WTB540 Series
3.6 from 59 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (6)
  • Internal Layout
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Julian K.
Julian K.
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disaster

published

18 months in the fridge and freezer failed, lost food. The best Westinghouse can do is a service call in 3 weeks (and that's an emergency call!). Stay clear of westinghouse products - poor quality, poor service.

Purchased in July 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,049.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Julian K.
Julian K.

Thanks, finally got a call out and the fridge was fixed, we also got $200 to cover the food that was ruined (take photos of your ruined food), so thanks Electrolux for coming through in the end

Accurate Shopper
Accurate ShopperMelbourne
  • 25 reviews
  • 26 likes

Died after six months of medium setting use. Refused replacement, 6 day ETA to repair.

published
3 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Accurate Shopper
Accurate Shopper

Nope. Its 1 day before your repair, You had a chance to resolve this. We spent 5 days endlessly digging through ice just to get a bloody cup of tea. Enjoy the review.

Accurate Shopper
Accurate Shopper
Manny
MannySydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still a great brand

published

Purchased November 2019. Works well with many good features, negatives being the slide-out crisper which doggedly refuses to slide straight out and gets jammed, creating much cursing on most occasions, whilst the entire fridge had a tendency to skip over the floor after opening and shutting the doors when first installed. It's stopped doing that now thankfully. Despite these issues I would recommend it.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,340.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Manny
Manny

Had to contact Electrolux customer service today re ice cube tray that cacked itself. If every company had a customer service centre as helpful, courteous, and obliging, the world of consumers would be a much better place. Absolutely brilliant!

Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 536L Top Mount WTB540 Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pat
PatSydney, NSW

Fridge not cooling and freezer working tooo much

published

Freezer working too much but refrigerator not cooling. Was making a loud noise. I turned it off for a few hours and put back on. Purchased 3 years ago so warranty out. Not at all happy with Westinghouse products as Electrolux washing machine purchased at same time has problems too. Previous fridge lasted 16 years. Shame on Westinghouse very poor quality!!!!

Incentivised ReviewNo
3 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Pat
Pat

Hello Denise
Please call me if possible after 3:15 today
Thank you
Patricia

Pat
Pat

My number is 0404138777

Jessica Beckley
Jessica BeckleySouth West, WA
  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

I love this fridge/freezer

published

Perfect size fridge and freezer for my family. A bonus with this fridge is it has a quick freeze option on the outside and takes a few hours to make ice.

Purchased in October 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,109.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
wabster
wabsterWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Worked OK until 2 years and 5 months old. Then died.

published

This fridge worked OK for the time we have had it with the usual caveat about the crisper drawer that drives most people who owns nuts. Then at 2 years 5 months old the compressor has died. After I've dealt with an essentially useless 3rd party extended warranty provider I'm making a complaint to the ACCC/Consumer Affairs on the basis that a fridge should have an expected life of greater than this pathetic period of time.

Purchased in August 2017 at Betta Home Living for $1,049.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Diana
DianaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Crisper drawer is totally useless !

published

Purchased in August 2016 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Furniture for $1,099.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
svm
svmIllawarra, NSW

Crisper needs re-designing

published

I bought this fridge in 2016. It works perfectly except for the crisper. It does not remain on the track and becomes most frustrating to pull out and push back. A serviceman advised that it is a design fault, he regularly replaces them and cannot guarantee that it won't happen again. It was replaced under warranty a yr ago and now has the same problem. Westinghouse is about to replace the WHOLE fridge under warranty. What a waste for the sake of such a basic function in a fridge. Trouble is.. what brand to choose?

Purchased in October 2016 at Harvey Norman for $1,255.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
AliciaMarieV
AliciaMarieVMelbourne
  • 5 reviews

Love it, very quiet and spacious

published

Easy to clean, non spill shelving, interchangeable shelving and a great veggie draw which keeps produce very fresh. Spacious freezer and very quiet. Has an ice tray which you turn to fill a tray which is handy for summer. Has a draw in the fridge which is great for the cheese and other dairy. Can’t fault this fridge

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 536L Top Mount WTB540 Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Possum
PossumDeniliquin
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Westinghouse Winner

published

The first fridge that I have owned that is genuinely easy to clean. The shelves are simple to remove for cleaning and there are no silly nooks and crannies for spills to get lodged in. Fruit and vegetables stay fresh and crisp, and frozen foods do nor develop frost burn. The fridge is quiet when running and power consumption is reasonable

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Garden gnome
Garden gnomeBelmont
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad design cheap materials

published

Having just finished a fight with Westinghouse re a stainless steel fridge that rusted they proved that after sales service doesn't exist and they could care after blaming everything except the standard of the material. Consumer affairs managed to get us a small discount on a new fridge and we bought the above quickly as they only gave us 30 days to take up their miserable offer. We discovered after purchase the crisper drawer is not on rollers but gets dragged across a bumpy plastic track. Needless to say a serviceman said it was a design fault and couldn't be fixed. BUY A WESTINGHOUSE PRODUCT AT YOUR OWN RISK, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Anya
AnyaCASTLE HILL
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good fridge

published

Bought this fridge 15 months ago. Didn't have any problems with it so far. It is large, not too noisy, looks really good, the temperature is easily adjustable from outside (you don't need to look for it inside the fridge which is quite useful). Pretty easy to clean. Good option for this price range and stainless steel design.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
HeatherBelle
HeatherBelleSandstone Point
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product

published

This fridge is a great size for 2 people. Very roomy. The freezer is a good size as long as you don’t buy in bulk. The crisper is annoying pushing it in and out. Quite awkward in motion. Very easy to keep clean and it’s not noisy. It keeps the temperature well balanced.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
anonymous32
anonymous32Sydney, NSW
  • 34 reviews
  • 4 likes

Can’t complain

published

The reason I went for this model was value for money....it’s the best size from the brand I like in the money I wanted...it’s massive in size has better power rating from my 7 year old 370L Westinghouse...I still think best is if we have freezers down and refrigerator up....that’s no doubt a much convenient option....the problem is in this money I could get one of those but smaller in size....trade off is you go for bigger size or freezer at bottom...I wanted a bigger size so went for it...

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Dan
Danasked
536L Top Mount WTB540 Series

Westinghouse fridge
Wtb5400sar
Can some please advise why the crisper draw keeps falling of the tracks/runners?
I personally think it's a design fault.
What have people done to fix this issue.
Thx

3 answers
meca
meca

Yes - a design fault. Which unfortunately has not been fixed with later models either (grrrrr - why did I buy another Westinghouse???!!).
Such a stupid design flaw too.
Phone them up - it used to have an official product admission-of-rubbish design , but of course I can’t find it on the product recall list now. They sent someone out to replace my drawer/side (didn’t help btw) for free.
Hopefully you don’t get the Call centre, as they weren’t helpful on the new model that has the same design flaw.

Dan
Dan

Ok I rang Westinghouse today and told them the issue I have with the crisper drawn, apparently they have a revised track for the crisper draw and they have sent the replacement tracks out for me to install.
They have advised that this will fix the issue the draw falling off the tracks.
Hope it helps

Dan
Dan

Ok I received the new draw runners today.
I have installed them and let's just say the draw is working like it should.
The revised draw runners have fixed the problem.
So for anybody experiencing the issue with the crisper draw not sliding out I suggest you call the manufacturer and ask them for the revised draw runners and your problem will be fixed.

Craig Bailey
Craig Baileyasked
536L Top Mount WTB540 Series

Brown and Blue plugs pulled out of compressor at bottom of fridge not sure where they go to be replugged. Help

No answers
Steve R
Steve Rasked
536L Top Mount WTB5400WC (Integrated Handle)

The fridge light sometimes works and sometimes it doesn’t. There is not her wrong with the bulb as it works. Could you tell me what to do to fix it, thanks, Steve

No answers
See all Westinghouse 536L Top Mount WTB540 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

Westinghouse 536L Top Mount WTB540 Series

Details

Compare all 3 Westinghouse 536L Top Mount WTB540 Series
CategoryTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,699.00$1,649.00$1,499.00
Dimensions 1725 x 796 x 769 mm1725 x 796 x 723 mm1725 x 796 x 723 mm
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm, Foldable/Retractable Shelf and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Foldable/Retractable Shelf and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Foldable/Retractable Shelf and Frost Free
Handle Type ExternalRecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge NoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins111
Door Hinge Left and RightLeft and RightLeft and Right
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelWhite
Capacity
Total Capacity 536 L536 L536 L
Fridge Capacity 395 L395 L395 L
Freezer Capacity 141 L141 L141 L
Release dateMay 2019May 2019May 2019
Compare all 3 Westinghouse 536L Top Mount WTB540 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.