??!
2 photos
Westpac Low Rate

Westpac Low Rate

3.6 from 59 reviews

See the Best Low Rate Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • 0% p.a on Balance Transfers for 16 months & No Balance Transfer Fee

  • Low $59 Annual Fee & Low Interest Rate of 13.74% p.a. on purchases

  • One additional cardholder at no extra cost

Cons

  • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
22
3 star
12
2 star
6
1 star
4

Amanda

AmandaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Rates are bit high

published

I have this card for a while now. No issues with the card while shopping. The only thing is the rates are on the higher side which can become an issue while you fail with your payments

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Henri

HenriMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

High interest rates

published

I have a Credit Card and its handy but I try really hard not to use it to much as the interest rates are so very high and because of the convienence you can overcommit so easily before you know it especially at Xmas time, then your paying off this debt with high interest as well for the rest of the year only to start all over again next Xmas. I try to keep my credit card Very very low so I know I can pay it off without suffering the rest of the year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers
Adrian

AdrianPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

So far so good

published

Signed up a few weeks ago for this card on the back of their spend $800, get $250 cashback promotion. The only hiccup was I didn't receive the card, so I had to call to cancel. But within a few days the new one arrived and I have started spending. I will probably only use it to make the spend amount so I can get the cashback as I don't really need another credit card and as far as I'm aware this one doesn't earn points. But for the cashback it's definitely worth it if you think you can meet the spend criteria within the timeframe (90 days I believe).

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
Mon

MonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Hassle free application process

published

I applied for this card because of $250 cashback on $800 spend back in August, still worth it after all the annual fees. Application process is hassle free and quick, which is very important in making the whole experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers

Low Rate Suits Needs

published

I wish it didn't have fees but the low rate has been good to do a balance transfer and cut the interest rate that I was paying. Happy with the service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers

drek s.

drek s.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Best cashback

published

This card i applied for cashback purpose. Though there is fees but still cashback is very good i.e. 250 aud on 800 spent. and if we less 59 aud fees then it would be around 190 aud i.e. really good amount.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Mr. Sir

Mr. Sir

  • 3 reviews

Gets the job done.

published

Signed up for a cashback program and received the cashback in the time frame specified.
The sign up process was simple enough.
This card gets the job done, allowing you to make purchases online and instore. Also supports paywave.
There are better cards out there though as this one has an annual fee.
In summary, if there wasn't a cashback program to offset the annual fee, I wouldn't have signed up.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Good value and make use of Westpac benefits but has annual fees

published

It's good value card but has annual fees. Some bank like commbank low rate waive fees when used more than $1000. I found Westpac has rigorous security and they block my card when I entered wrong password multiple times. It's bit annoying to visit branch to unblock the card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kieana.B

Kieana.BPeel, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified customer

Awesome card

published

Great credit card as my first one. Use it for pretty much everything and then pay it off each fortnight. I love that I don’t have to worry about bills or transferring from savings. Overall great card with basic features so it doesn’t tempt me to spend for rewards etc

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Darciejo

DarciejoHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Ok for a first credit card.

published

This card was very basic, low rate, low fees, but that's about the only things it had to offer. I was approved at 18 with a low income so it's more a first time credit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Corky

CorkyBlackwater

  • 8 reviews

Very easy and quick application

published

Very pleased with this credit card, so easy to apply and fast approval and quick card delivery. Website very easy to navigate, the incentive of the $250 cash back was very appealing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Marcel B.

Marcel B.Peel, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Card to start off with

published

It’s a low rate credit card that is an entry level to cards with Westpac. It’s very basic so it doesn’t have any reward points attached to it, however it does have cash back offers. They run promotions with other stores where if you spend x amount they credit your card with a certain amount back for your purchase.

Overall my experience has been great, it’s very easy to transfer to via BPAY or usual online transfer. I’ve used it in Indonesia and didn’t notice any international fees however they do charge a 3% fee when paying to an overseas store. Happy to have my card through westpac

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Bruce

BruceSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews

Grab it with a promo

published

A basic card with basic features, but the sign-on cashback bonus makes it worthwhile. Otherwise, what do you get for the annual fee...? nothing really.
Plenty of other (better) $0 cards out there once you've cashed in on the cash-back especially given 3% Foreign Currency fee, no rewards, no apple pay, no insurances.
As a current Westpac customer sign up (and cancellation) processes very easy - great app.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers

sugardumpling_90

sugardumpling_90Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

It was a great, low rate credit card

published

I had this for a year and it was good. I signed up when they had $200 cash back. The application process was very easy and straightforward, I got mine approved right away. I honestly can't say anything bad about it. Get this if you're looking for a simple, hassle-free, low rate credit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Pawan

Pawan14/75 Pacific Parade Dee Why NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

very helpful and affordable

published

What I like most about my Westpac Low Rate Card is that it only has a $59 annual fee and I can use it with google pay and Samsung pay.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers
Abbas C.

Abbas C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great card! Works as intended.

published

It's a great that I've been using for the past five years that I pay off in full at the end of every month.
It works anywhere in the world where Visa is accepted. I've also taken out cash at global ATMs without any hassle.
Only negative point is that the card breaks after year and I have to order a replacement. It's probably because I use it a lot and it stays in my wallet which is in my back pocket.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

lilah

lilahMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Mehhhhh

published

Repayments are on pending for days. Poor customer service on social media and over the phone. They're unavailable to provide and clarify correct information in terms and conditions for current $250 cashback promotion.


David T

David TMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Other than initial cash back, not much benefit

published

Had the offer of $200 cash back when I spent $400 which was nice. Other than that no other benefits. Just a regular straightforward low rate credit card that's OK.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Excellent

published

I use this for such a long time. I am very much satisfied with their services. I always recommend my friends. Very friendly and comparative . I like it very much.

Card Start DateFebruary 2016

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Good low rate credit card with cashback

published

- cashback which will cover the first three years fees.
- has nice offers with some of their partners
- initial card activation requires branch visit or waiting on phone with customer care, once done you off to enjoy the card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Westpac representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.