??!
3 photos
Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen)

Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen)

4.4 from 100 reviews

Robot Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of robot vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.4

100 reviews
5
(73)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Stefan Georgiev

Stefan GeorgievSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

best purchase ever !

published

I have been using the Roborock for about an year now and can say it's doing a great job ! Using it on hardwood and tiles, so both the vacuum and the mop functions are utilised. With regular cleaning of the unit, the results are amazing ! Highly recommend !

Purchased in September 2019 at Robo-Tek International for A$636.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
DBR

DBR

  • 3 reviews

Hubby's best friend

published

Purchased in October 2018 for A$585.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Often
See all answers
D3B5 C

D3B5 CSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Happy with purchase

published

I have been looking for a robot for a while. I have done my fair share of research online and Xiaomi seems to be an good economical product that is value for money.
The product lives up to my expectation. It cleans well on my wooden floor. It maps out the whole house and I can set and forget. It sometimes get stuck under bed that's because the centre of my bed has sunk a bit. It's easy to rescue the robot from under bed and it will continue on.

Purchased in November 2019 at Kogan.com for A$499.99.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bellamama

bellamamaVictoria, Australia

  • 22 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good for busy life

published

Been using it for few month now. Basically it work really well except sometime it got confused when I ask for just cleaning my daughter room (which is far from the base). Of course you cannot expected as clean as Dyson, but what can you Ask for when you do not need to vacuum by yourself.

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for A$534.65.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Lory

LoryMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews

awesome amazing

published

I cant describe how awesome this thing is!!! By far one of the best purchases.. it cleans everything and doesn't miss a thing. Couldn't live without it. Very Highly recommended

Purchased in March 2020 at Kogan.com for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers
Ruth

RuthGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

It works every day, making my life easier

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Kogan.com for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
Ruth
Ruth

The "System Errors" was wrong: Its not system errors, but just when sensors get dirty through a wet floor or things getting stuck to the sensors... which happened ONCE in this two months and was my mistake.

Surprisingly smart, excellent coverage, hasn't got stuck yet!

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Dick Smith for A$629.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Karen Z

Karen ZSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great help at home.

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Toby Deals for A$479.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Chris Rollie

Chris RollieAU

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Awesome

published

This product is exactly what we wanted. It cleans really well, the app works great, the fact that you can spot clean and specify which room you need cleaned is really helpful. The product itself appears to be well built and easy to maintain, would recommend.

Purchased in March 2020 at Kogan.com for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mickey

MickeyBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

Best vacuum

published

Before buying the Xiaomi we got a factory second Samsung but had to send it back. I have to say this one maps the house so much better. Since the update the app got even better, being able to decide the map into rooms. It's compact and easy to clean. Dust bin size is a little on the small side but I just empty it after its done each room. I haven't found the mopping function to be efficient in our timber floors but I didn't buy it for that. Vi would definitely recommend Xiaomi and would buy another one when this one kicks the bucket.

Also we had a wheel problem with the first one and their customer care team were quick to replace it for us.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Chen S.

Chen S.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

This is perfect. I can wait to have another one upstairs

published

The best vacc robot I used before. Be frankly, the mopping function is a bit useless. But mapping cleaning is much more efficient than the some cheap random clean robot. App is smoothly connect. So I could check it sometimes. I will buy another one for upstairs.

Purchased in September 2019 at Kogan.com for A$609.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
BUGBUYER

BUGBUYERHunter Region, NSW

  • 34 reviews
  • 1 like

This New ROBOROCK 2nd Generation S50 Vacuum cleaner AND MOP is Unreal .

published

Purchased in May 2019 at EBAY shop in Victoria, for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

Brilliant little bot!

published

The bot keeps filling the vacuum tray, dispite cleaning beforehand. A great investment to keep the house surface-clean for weeks on end. Good battery life and app functionality. Good for floors and carpets

Purchased in February 2020 for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers
dave

dave

  • 2 reviews

Best bit of tech I have ever bought

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Amazon for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Sad balloon

Sad balloon

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

THE BEST ROBOT VACUUM

published

Cost $500 with their 20% off deal which seems to always be on. It is the best thing i have in my house. You can schedule it to vacuum every day at the same time. after the intitial vacuum, the house remains so clean if you vac every day. It is difficult to use the mop feature if you have carpet and hard surfaces as the mop will go over all surfaces. the vacuum is strong and for the price is such good value. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!!!

Purchased for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JamieAus

JamieAusAU

  • 19 reviews
  • Verified purchase

no more arguments about cleaning the floor

published

this is our 2nd purchase for this model as we have a multi story house , we have 2 indoor cats and the vacuum phone app is great as we set and forget , it tells us when the bin is full , its amazing how much hair the cats leave around , the mopping feature is great to keep the tile floors refreshed and we steam mop the floor once a month .

Purchased in February 2020 at Flora Livings Outlets for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
real buyer

real buyerSpencer Gulf

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Future of Vacuum Cleaners!

published

Purchased in November 2018 at eBay for A$464.50.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum
System Errors Never
See all answers
Marcus

MarcusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Best thing ever!

published

Exactly what it is meant to do. Great clean, noise is not bad but you can adjust it to be powerful (loud) or soft (hardly noticeable sound).
Only negative is you have to make sure there aren't any cords around otherwise it will eat them.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Vinnie Pereira

Vinnie PereiraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

It worked well until it broke after 19 months

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Kogan.com for A$519.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Lyle.W

Lyle.WBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Low build quality, disappointing warranty experience

published

- Looks great when everything works :)
- Just doesn't last long.

- Bought one in Feb. 2019 on ebay.
- Very loud noise from the front omni-directional wheel out-of-box, made a video to show the ebay store , spent 2+ months on back and forth communication before finally agreed to replace it for me.
- Replaced one in May, in 5 months started dropping off internet often until totally out of order in Dec., contacted ebay store, suggested to start warranty process.
- Started warranty process at roborock.com.au, posted the unit back to Roborock for repair in Dec., now been waiting for about 2 months it's almost end of Jan. 2020 , still they can't tell when they can post it back to me.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Often
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Nicola S.

Nicola S.asked

Just wondering how the Roborock works of you have a small incline or step into a different room?
I had a very little step that goes into my bathroom how could I get it to clean both areas?

1 answer
Chris Rollie
Chris Rollie

I've noticed that it vacuums the bottom shelf of the TV unit which would be around 2cm off the ground but then when it hits a 2cm bump it can get stuck, for instance our Rocking chair, where it's not a surface but just an instant bump. That's the only time it gets stuck though.

Magri

Magriasked

We have the Roborock S50 and we found it extremely good for vacuuming. Our only concern is that when we use the mop function to clean the house, the tank is always still full of water giving us the impression that hardly any water is being used. We wet the cloth before starting the cleaning. Is there snything else we should do,?

No answers
Emily

Emilyasked

Has anybody tried this vacumn on soft wood floors? (I have a second gen)
We are moving into a rental property with this type of flooring (not hardwood floors - softwood) and we have been asked not to vacum at all which is really unrealistic for a family with young kids. We really hope this will be gentle enough of these types of floors

1 answer
Chris Rollie
Chris Rollie

How can you not vacuum in a rental? Maybe just leaf blow!.. Lol sorry mate I haven't tried it on soft wooden floors in all seriousness.

Get an answer from our members and Roborock representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.