??!
3 photos
Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen)

Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen)

4.5 from 76 reviews

See the Best Robot Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
57
4 star
12
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
5

Baron

BaronPerth, WA

Incredible help at home. Excellent vacuum power

published

It's a great feeling to walk into home from work and the house is dust free!
Bought last week from black Friday discount for only $500, used it twice and wife and me both are impressed and happy. Our 130sqm house has tiles and carpets, and this machine is sucking almost everything. The unit detects carpets and increases suction automatically to max, does good mapping and does not miss any spot..
Got stuck on barstool feet once, but that's easy to prevent..
1st use on carpet and the dustbin filled up completely, which tells us our cleaner wasn't doing the job as good as we thought!
Very happy with the money spent.

Purchased in November 2019 at eBay for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

nikki

nikkiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews

How to live without this?

published

We are not big consumers but our dog sheds a lot of fur, so I pulled the trigger and spent the money on this robo vac. It's good. Real good. But I would say it requires a fair bit of tech savviness.

Purchased in October 2019 at Amazon.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Damien

Damien

  • 3 reviews

So far way beyond expectations

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Kogan.com for $569.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
varun s.

varun s.Sydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Worst Service Ever! Steer Clear!

published

The worst service ever. The vacuum kept coming up with Error 5, sent it back to Xiaomi Support. They sent it back to me only to find they never fixed the issue. Sent it back to them again and now they have stopped responding to my emails. They literally have the worst technical support imaginable. The vacuum failed within 6 months and I have been trying to get it fixed with their support team for over 4 months now.

Purchased in September 2018 at Amazon for $535.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

BOCH

BOCHGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

The Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd Gen) is prone to failure

published

I bought 2 of these ( one for home and one for summer holiday house) and they have both had to go back multiple time to be repaired in the first 12 month. One unit was repaired for an Error 5 (main brush jamming) and when I got it back it still came up with Error 5. Now it has totally stopped working. The other unit just stopped working. I sent it in for repair and and got it back sone weeks later only to find that it now had another error so I have to send it back again.

Purchased in December 2018 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

dp29

dp29Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 14 reviews

Great for the price

published

I have used the vacuum for over a month now. It does a fantastic job of vacuuming and mopping. However in the last month, Once it acted funny (like banging hard on obstacles like it forgot the map). I reset the map and its working fine again. Overall a great machine for the price. The app is user friendly but still has lots of room to improve. Currently it does not have a options to save multiple maps (for a 2 story house) and zones. This means each time I have to first run the vacuum and then set the zone (to exclude carpets) for mopping separately.

Purchased in October 2019 at eBay for $570.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

GrillaBBQ

GrillaBBQBrisbane

  • 19 reviews
  • 1 like

We have gone through 2 iRobots and the Roborock is better by far.

published

I like that it maps the house so you can see whats been cleaned, and very impressed with the mopping. We have owned this cleaner for 9 months very happy and a whole lot cheaper than iRobot.

Purchased in February 2019 for $480.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

Stay home mom

Stay home momGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great feature with both mop and vac

published

Excellence feature with vacuum and mop function. Suitable to use on level floor with same flooring material. Blue ray scan helps detect cleaning zone and it cleans really well each time. Apps are very easy to use, update and maintain. Absolutely good value for money!

Purchased in April 2018 at eBay for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
mitchger

mitchgerSydney, NSW

  • 35 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The only choice

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $423.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Mick

MickSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great product

published

Very easy to use. Works very well. It has gotten lost once or twice, but not often. It does a very good job. Saves me time and money. Well worth’s the money I paid direct to Roborock Australia.

Purchased in May 2019 at Roborock Australia for $649.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Anderson J

Anderson JSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Smart and reliable

published

This is quite an intelligent and reliable vacuum bot. We have been using it for about half year and it made our life easier. The only drawback could be the constant noise from the engine, that’s why we use it while we are not at home and monitor by the application in our mobile, easy!

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

Peter d.

Peter d.South East Queensland, QLD

This is the best piece of kit in the house we have ever bought - but it has only lasted 6 months!

published

Purchased in December 2018 at eBay for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

  • Verified purchase

Value for money dry and wet vacuum cleaner - Roborock S50

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Gearbest for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
tech V.
tech V.

cms57

cms57

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Genie in the house

published

Sceptical yes, however glowing positive reviews on this web site convinced me to purchase this robotic vacuum cleaner. Wow, an intuitive machine that can be run through an app or Google home and maps your home as it goes intelligently scanning and working each room and systematically covering it. You can set the vacuum to run at a particular time, plus you can save maps and send the vacuum cleaner to a particular spot or room in the house. Works incredibly well on wooden floors, floating laminate floors and large rugs. Easy to empty and maintain, saves time and effort.

Purchased in June 2019 at Amazon for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dr. Siva P

Dr. Siva PSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great product and ease of use

published

This product is excellent. It is great at vacuuming animal hair and fine particles on carpet and hardwood floors. Also has a great mopping function that is works well. The mapping function is accurate and I can schedule cleaning and modes via the Xiaomi app.

Purchased in May 2018 at Kogan.com for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
PERTHNOW

PERTHNOWPerth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Robovac without Burning a hole in your pocket

published

Purchased at eBay for $480.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Tang

TangCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 7 reviews

Good vacuum but not a fan for mopping

published

The roborock S50 is Very good at vacuum results on both hard surfaces and carpets. But no use for mopping because there is no steaming so can’t remove any stains.

Purchased in July 2019 at eBay for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

muralimailbox

muralimailboxSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent product with whole house mapping and cleaning.

published

Purchased in November 2018 at eBay for $480.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Vivian

VivianGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

An amazing maid for my new house

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

Jaye

JayeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love this vacuum

published

It does its job very well, scans the floor and cover everywhere. the only downside is hard to connect to wifi. I still can’t turn it on remotely by my phone

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
See all answers

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Dazzaesky

Dazzaeskyasked

Has anyone else ever had issues with remembering the map when it drops down to 20% battery. Mine only 2 weeks old keeps losing the map when I set timer to start or it drops to 20% battery and loses where it is. I have put in a warranty claim and have to send it back. But I am interested if anyone else has the same problem. Yes I have the Map saving option on.

No answers

Dazzaesky

Dazzaeskyasked

Has anyone else ever had issues with remembering the map when it drops down to 20% battery. Mine only 2 weeks old keeps losing the map when I set timer to start or it drops to 20% battery and loses where it is. I have put in a warranty claim and have to send it back. But I am interested if anyone else has the same problem. Yes I have the Map saving option on.

No answers

Dazzaesky

Dazzaeskyasked

Has anyone else ever had issues with remembering the map when it drops down to 20% battery. Mine only 2 weeks old keeps losing the map when I set timer to start or it drops to 20% battery and loses where it is. I have put in a warranty claim and have to send it back. But I am interested if anyone else has the same problem. Yes I have the Map saving option on.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Xiaomi Roborock representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.