??!
3 photos
Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen)

Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen)

4.4 from 106 reviews · View Statistics

How to land the best robot vacuum

A reliable robot vacuum can free up time to spend with loved ones and enjoy your favourite hobbies. In this 2020 guide, we help you know what to look for in a robot vacuum cleaner.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
ShopJock

ShopJockMelbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 22 likes

Worked well until Charging Error after only 2 years

published

After only 2 years of operation, the vacuum cleaner now always has an error whilst charging and no longer charges and therefore no longer functions.
It was not cheap to buy, and for us to have it looked at and repaired would cost another small fortune as warranty only lasts 1 year. Not happy and would not buy again for such a short period of functionality. The manufacturer should really back up its product with either a longer warranty or a more robust product that has fewer issues with its battery or motherboard. We only used it once a week.

Purchased in May 2018 at eBay for $568.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
System ErrorsEvery time
See all answers
Rhydian Lewis

Rhydian LewisRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Accurate and well priced. This has been a life changing purchase in freeing us up with more time My

published

Life just became more time rich because of less vacuuming chores. This really is an incredible invention. Intelligent sensors makes it virtually impossible For it to fall off a step or ledge. It simply does it’s own thing, (vacuuming the floors). This is what robots are for! Great brand.

Purchased in April 2019 for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
System ErrorsNever
See all answers
1 comment
Roborock
Roborock T.Roborock

We love that you are happy with your purchase Rhydian, thank you for choosing us. Welcome to the Roborock family, you are what makes us great!

Le Le

Le Le

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Don’t bother if you own a rug!

published

Very disappointed with the vacuum. It does an okay job on a hard floor but when I bought a rug it can’t pickup the dirt around the rug so I have to go around and clean it up with my stick vacuum which defeats the whole purpose!
Contacted support and they said it has nothing to do with the vacuum, it’s the rugs fault. The rug is a standard rug any household would have. Low pile.
Can’t believe i wasted $600 on this thing. Very dissatisfied with the vacuum which is advertised to handle all floor types and very dissatisfied with support shrugging it off.

Purchased in January 2020 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeWood
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kay

Kay

  • 3 reviews

Great low price robot vacuum

published

Bought this and never regretted it. Cleans effectively and doesn't get stuck often, it's relatively quiet and the app is easy to use but fiddly to setup. We have one rug that the wheels just can't get a purchase on, and occasionally it starts cleaning in random patterns instead of straight lines like usual, but a clean and reset usually fixes. Overall great robot vacuum!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeTiles and Wood
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
1 comment
Roborock
Roborock T.Roborock

Thank you for choosing us Kay, welcome to the Roborock family. You are what makes us great!

Way better than the cheap ones!

published

I had a cheap robot vacuum which carked it after 18 months. I have had this one for 12 months now and I love it, it works well on lino floors and does not get stuck on things like the cheaper one did. Recommend.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeLinoleum
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
Daniel s.

Daniel s.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Make your life easier.

published

Cleaning result is awesome.
Price is reasonable.
Replaceable part price is good as well.
So running cost is reasonable.
I love it and recommend it you want to buy robot vacuum cleaner.
Only thing I feel uncomfortable is map error sometimes but not often.

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
Stefan Georgiev

Stefan GeorgievSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

best purchase ever !

published

I have been using the Roborock for about an year now and can say it's doing a great job ! Using it on hardwood and tiles, so both the vacuum and the mop functions are utilised. With regular cleaning of the unit, the results are amazing ! Highly recommend !

Purchased in September 2019 at Robo-Tek International for $636.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeTiles and Wood
System ErrorsNever
See all answers
DBR

DBR

  • 3 reviews

Hubby's best friend

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $585.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
System ErrorsOften
See all answers
D3B5 C

D3B5 CSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Happy with purchase

published

I have been looking for a robot for a while. I have done my fair share of research online and Xiaomi seems to be an good economical product that is value for money.
The product lives up to my expectation. It cleans well on my wooden floor. It maps out the whole house and I can set and forget. It sometimes get stuck under bed that's because the centre of my bed has sunk a bit. It's easy to rescue the robot from under bed and it will continue on.

Purchased in November 2019 at Kogan.com for $499.99.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeWood
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bellamama

bellamamaVictoria, Australia

  • 22 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good for busy life

published

Been using it for few month now. Basically it work really well except sometime it got confused when I ask for just cleaning my daughter room (which is far from the base). Of course you cannot expected as clean as Dyson, but what can you Ask for when you do not need to vacuum by yourself.

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for $534.65.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
Lory

LoryMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

awesome amazing

published

I cant describe how awesome this thing is!!! By far one of the best purchases.. it cleans everything and doesn't miss a thing. Couldn't live without it. Very Highly recommended

Purchased in March 2020 at Kogan.com for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum and Tiles
System ErrorsNever
See all answers
Ruth

RuthGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

It works every day, making my life easier

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Kogan.com for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeLinoleum and Tiles
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
1 comment
Ruth
Ruth

The "System Errors" was wrong: Its not system errors, but just when sensors get dirty through a wet floor or things getting stuck to the sensors... which happened ONCE in this two months and was my mistake.

Kelly

KellyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Surprisingly smart, excellent coverage, hasn't got stuck yet!

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Dick Smith for $629.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
System ErrorsNever
See all answers
Karen Z

Karen ZSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great help at home.

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Toby Deals for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeWood
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
Chris Rollie

Chris RollieAU

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Awesome

published

This product is exactly what we wanted. It cleans really well, the app works great, the fact that you can spot clean and specify which room you need cleaned is really helpful. The product itself appears to be well built and easy to maintain, would recommend.

Purchased in March 2020 at Kogan.com for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
System ErrorsNever
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mickey

MickeyBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best vacuum

published

Before buying the Xiaomi we got a factory second Samsung but had to send it back. I have to say this one maps the house so much better. Since the update the app got even better, being able to decide the map into rooms. It's compact and easy to clean. Dust bin size is a little on the small side but I just empty it after its done each room. I haven't found the mopping function to be efficient in our timber floors but I didn't buy it for that. Vi would definitely recommend Xiaomi and would buy another one when this one kicks the bucket.

Also we had a wheel problem with the first one and their customer care team were quick to replace it for us.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
System ErrorsNever
See all answers
Chen S.

Chen S.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This is perfect. I can wait to have another one upstairs

published

The best vacc robot I used before. Be frankly, the mopping function is a bit useless. But mapping cleaning is much more efficient than the some cheap random clean robot. App is smoothly connect. So I could check it sometimes. I will buy another one for upstairs.

Purchased in September 2019 at Kogan.com for $609.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeTiles
System ErrorsOccasionally
See all answers
BUGBUYER

BUGBUYERHunter Region, NSW

  • 38 reviews
  • 30 likes

This New ROBOROCK 2nd Generation S50 Vacuum cleaner AND MOP is Unreal .

published

Purchased in May 2019 at EBAY shop in Victoria, for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
System ErrorsNever
See all answers

Brilliant little bot!

published

The bot keeps filling the vacuum tray, dispite cleaning beforehand. A great investment to keep the house surface-clean for weeks on end. Good battery life and app functionality. Good for floors and carpets

Purchased in February 2020 for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
System ErrorsNever
See all answers
dave

dave

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best bit of tech I have ever bought

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Amazon for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
System ErrorsNever
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

DTL L.

DTL L.asked

Hi, I have had the Robo for around 3 years and love it! Just did a service and put new parts in for about the 3rd time now. Noticed the the roller is now shuddering intermittently, anyone experienced this? Just got the parts from ebay, maybe they are slightly different to oem?

No answers
Nicola S.

Nicola S.asked

Just wondering how the Roborock works of you have a small incline or step into a different room?
I had a very little step that goes into my bathroom how could I get it to clean both areas?

1 answer
Chris Rollie
Chris Rollie

I've noticed that it vacuums the bottom shelf of the TV unit which would be around 2cm off the ground but then when it hits a 2cm bump it can get stuck, for instance our Rocking chair, where it's not a surface but just an instant bump. That's the only time it gets stuck though.

Magri

Magriasked

We have the Roborock S50 and we found it extremely good for vacuuming. Our only concern is that when we use the mop function to clean the house, the tank is always still full of water giving us the impression that hardly any water is being used. We wet the cloth before starting the cleaning. Is there snything else we should do,?

2 answers
Chell
Chell

Are the filters blocked?

Roborock
Roborock T.Roborock

You may need to replace the water filters, also are you using any cleaning solution with the water as this can cause them too block also.

Get an answer from our members and Roborock representatives

Details

The Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd Gen) was awarded 4 or 5 stars by 75% of happy householders. Reviews feature titles like ‘Best bit of tech I have ever bought,’ ‘Smart and reliable' and ‘The only choice.’

To sweeten the deal, the S50 (2nd Gen) retails for $699, making it cheaper than other Roborocks, including the S6 Pure ($799) and S5 Max ($999).

Positive reviews praised:

  • Many reviewers liked the app functionality of this Wi-Fi robot vacuum. They commented that the app was easy to use, as well as highly convenient. Users appreciated that they could customise the Roborock’s mapping route, set pre-programmed cleaning times and days, as well as block certain areas.
  • ‘Excellent coverage’ was cited by reviewers, who said their Robovac easily fit under hard-to-reach places such as under their sofa or removing dust trapped in corners.
  • The Roborock S50 did an impressive job thoroughly cleaning a variety of floor surfaces. This included hard surfaces such as wood and tiled floors, and carpets
  • Reviewers who had kids or pets particular loved the amount of ‘fluff and dust (the Roborock S50) picked up every day’
  • Other positive comments were that the Roborock S50’s filters and sensors were easy to clean, that the product worked exactly as it should, and that the happy new robovac owners used theirs daily.

Points of criticism mentioned:

  • While the Roborock S50’s vacuum function was highly praised, its mopping function fell short of the mark, according to reviewers. Some reviewers pointed out that it wasn’t efficient on timber floors, in particular. Others said it left stripes on their floors. However, often the same reviewers ended the thought by saying that the Roborock’s thorough and efficient vacuum function made up for this.
  • The Roborock S50 can frequently suck up loose cords or become tangled in them.
CategoryRobot Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $699.00
Bin Capacity0.48 L
HEPA FilterNo
Weight3.5 kg
FeaturesWi-Fi Connectivity
Running Time 150 min
Dimensions 97 x 350 x 353 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Discontinuation dateAug 2020
ManualDownload manual

  • GTIN13: 6970995780468

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.