??!
3 photos
Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen)

Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen)

4.4 from 89 reviews

Robot Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of robot vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(65)
(12)
(2)
(2)
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (52)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (53)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (53)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (53)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (24)
    • Daily (20)
    • Weekly (7)
    • Rarely (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (53)
  • Pet OwnerYes (27) · No (24)
  • System Errors Never (25) · Occasionally (20) · Every time (5) · Often (2)
  • Ease of Programming / Scheduling
    4.3 (49)
  • Battery Life
    4.4 (52)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
BUGBUYER

BUGBUYERHunter Region, NSW

  • 34 reviews

This New ROBOROCK 2nd Generation S50 Vacuum cleaner AND MOP is Unreal .

published

Purchased in May 2019 at EBAY shop in Victoria, for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

Brilliant little bot!

published

The bot keeps filling the vacuum tray, dispite cleaning beforehand. A great investment to keep the house surface-clean for weeks on end. Good battery life and app functionality. Good for floors and carpets

Purchased in February 2020 for $550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers
dave

dave

  • 2 reviews

Best bit of tech I have ever bought

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Amazon for $600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sad balloon

Sad balloon

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

THE BEST ROBOT VACUUM

published

Cost $500 with their 20% off deal which seems to always be on. It is the best thing i have in my house. You can schedule it to vacuum every day at the same time. after the intitial vacuum, the house remains so clean if you vac every day. It is difficult to use the mop feature if you have carpet and hard surfaces as the mop will go over all surfaces. the vacuum is strong and for the price is such good value. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!!!

Purchased for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
JamieAus

JamieAusAU

  • 19 reviews
  • Verified purchase

no more arguments about cleaning the floor

published

this is our 2nd purchase for this model as we have a multi story house , we have 2 indoor cats and the vacuum phone app is great as we set and forget , it tells us when the bin is full , its amazing how much hair the cats leave around , the mopping feature is great to keep the tile floors refreshed and we steam mop the floor once a month .

Purchased in February 2020 at Flora Livings Outlets for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
real buyer

real buyerSpencer Gulf

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Future of Vacuum Cleaners!

published

Purchased in November 2018 at eBay for $464.50.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum
System Errors Never
See all answers
Marcus

MarcusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Best thing ever!

published

Exactly what it is meant to do. Great clean, noise is not bad but you can adjust it to be powerful (loud) or soft (hardly noticeable sound).
Only negative is you have to make sure there aren't any cords around otherwise it will eat them.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Vinnie Pereira

Vinnie PereiraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

It worked well until it broke after 19 months

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Kogan.com for $519.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Lyle.W

Lyle.WBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Low build quality, disappointing warranty experience

published

- Looks great when everything works :)
- Just doesn't last long.

- Bought one in Feb. 2019 on ebay.
- Very loud noise from the front omni-directional wheel out-of-box, made a video to show the ebay store , spent 2+ months on back and forth communication before finally agreed to replace it for me.
- Replaced one in May, in 5 months started dropping off internet often until totally out of order in Dec., contacted ebay store, suggested to start warranty process.
- Started warranty process at roborock.com.au, posted the unit back to Roborock for repair in Dec., now been waiting for about 2 months it's almost end of Jan. 2020 , still they can't tell when they can post it back to me.

Purchased in February 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Often
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Helena

Helena

  • 5 reviews

Making my life easier

published

I've been using this vacuum on my carpet, I have 2 border collies that shed a lot and the vacuum gathers all of their fur.
We will let this run at night whilst we are in bed (close off our bedroom) then the vacuum does the rest of the house and we'll wake up to nice clean, hairless carpet, it does miss a few nooks but it is a robot after all.

Purchased in December 2019 at Kogan.com.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
System Errors Never
See all answers

Cleans well, but necer finishes her cleaning cycle

published

From day 1 the robot keeps shooting errors every couple minutes that the main brush is dirty when it is not. This is really annoying. We have to restart her a couple times each cleaning cycle.

Purchased in December 2019 at Gearbest for $370.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers
Another concerned mother

Another concerned motherGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Mr Xiaomi was my friend :(

published

I loved my Xiaomi. He saved my back. Alas I too noticed a burning smell, then started to get an error code about the fan. I am very happy with the service from Kogan. A replacement is on its way. Excellent customer service. After reading the other reviews about issues on here, I am nervous about the longevity of this product.

I hate sending things to landfill.

I hope my replacement Mr Xiaomi is a new and improved version that will give me many years of service.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Often
See all answers
Deb V.

Deb V.Peel, WA

  • 2 reviews

Silent and efficient

published

Using for past. 18 months in rural sandy, hay and grass enviro ent. Tough and hard working. Need to clean often to avoid scratches from sand ect. Energy efficient. Wooden and tiled flooring.

Purchased in November 2018 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Baron

BaronPerth, WA

Incredible help at home. Excellent vacuum power

published

It's a great feeling to walk into home from work and the house is dust free!
Bought last week from black Friday discount for only $500, used it twice and wife and me both are impressed and happy. Our 130sqm house has tiles and carpets, and this machine is sucking almost everything. The unit detects carpets and increases suction automatically to max, does good mapping and does not miss any spot..
Got stuck on barstool feet once, but that's easy to prevent..
1st use on carpet and the dustbin filled up completely, which tells us our cleaner wasn't doing the job as good as we thought!
Very happy with the money spent.

Purchased in November 2019 at eBay for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
nikki

nikkiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews

How to live without this?

published

We are not big consumers but our dog sheds a lot of fur, so I pulled the trigger and spent the money on this robo vac. It's good. Real good. But I would say it requires a fair bit of tech savviness.

Purchased in October 2019 at Amazon.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd gen) compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Damien

Damien

  • 3 reviews

So far way beyond expectations

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Kogan.com for $569.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
varun s.

varun s.Sydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Worst Service Ever! Steer Clear!

published

The worst service ever. The vacuum kept coming up with Error 5, sent it back to Xiaomi Support. They sent it back to me only to find they never fixed the issue. Sent it back to them again and now they have stopped responding to my emails. They literally have the worst technical support imaginable. The vacuum failed within 6 months and I have been trying to get it fixed with their support team for over 4 months now.

Purchased in September 2018 at Amazon for $535.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers
BOCH

BOCHGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

The Xiaomi Roborock S50 (2nd Gen) is prone to failure

published

I bought 2 of these ( one for home and one for summer holiday house) and they have both had to go back multiple time to be repaired in the first 12 month. One unit was repaired for an Error 5 (main brush jamming) and when I got it back it still came up with Error 5. Now it has totally stopped working. The other unit just stopped working. I sent it in for repair and and got it back sone weeks later only to find that it now had another error so I have to send it back again.

Purchased in December 2018 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers
dp29

dp29Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 14 reviews

Great for the price

published

I have used the vacuum for over a month now. It does a fantastic job of vacuuming and mopping. However in the last month, Once it acted funny (like banging hard on obstacles like it forgot the map). I reset the map and its working fine again. Overall a great machine for the price. The app is user friendly but still has lots of room to improve. Currently it does not have a options to save multiple maps (for a 2 story house) and zones. This means each time I have to first run the vacuum and then set the zone (to exclude carpets) for mopping separately.

Purchased in October 2019 at eBay for $570.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
GrillaBBQ

GrillaBBQBrisbane

  • 24 reviews
  • 4 likes

We have gone through 2 iRobots and the Roborock is better by far.

published

I like that it maps the house so you can see whats been cleaned, and very impressed with the mopping. We have owned this cleaner for 9 months very happy and a whole lot cheaper than iRobot.

Purchased in February 2019 for $480.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

tonlilno

tonlilnoasked

I love my Roborock but recently it has startet to leave stripes on the floor when it cleans with the mop. The floor is not very dirty to start with, so i thonk it is weird that these stripes accure.

Anyone else who has experienced this? Any advice?

No answers
Dazzaesky

Dazzaeskyasked

Has anyone else ever had issues with remembering the map when it drops down to 20% battery. Mine only 2 weeks old keeps losing the map when I set timer to start or it drops to 20% battery and loses where it is. I have put in a warranty claim and have to send it back. But I am interested if anyone else has the same problem. Yes I have the Map saving option on.

1 answer
Snapperg
Snapperg

No I have had my vacuum for a year now that hasn’t happened only once it got confused and lost the map after an update to firmware. After I reset everything to default and started again I’ve had no issues. That was roughly 3 months ago

Dazzaesky

Dazzaeskyasked

Has anyone else ever had issues with remembering the map when it drops down to 20% battery. Mine only 2 weeks old keeps losing the map when I set timer to start or it drops to 20% battery and loses where it is. I have put in a warranty claim and have to send it back. But I am interested if anyone else has the same problem. Yes I have the Map saving option on.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Xiaomi Roborock representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.