??!
2 photos
Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom

Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom

4.5 from 30 reviews

See the Best Cruiser Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
18
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1

ronald

ronald

  • 2 reviews

I used to own a 650 custom. I loved it and put over 50,000 miles on it. Great first bike.

published

Yamaha makes a good bike!
I, now ride a Yamaha v-star 950. I have put over 16,500 miles on my 950 since I bought it, (August 2017). I love this bike! It's a great looking, light and stable riding machine. It's a great second bike. It's the perfect size bike, powerful, light and stable. If your looking for a bigger and more powerful bike then the V-Star 650. I highly recommend the V-Star 950 Tourer if you are an experienced rider looking for a good all purpose cruiser/touring bike that is affordable. If you are a new rider or a rider with limited experience then the Yamaha 650 custom would be an excellent first bike.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Great Bike!

published

Bought an 03 Vstar 650 Custom as a birthday gift for myself (50th). Great for riding around town, I find myself cruising for hours to destination nowhere. Took it to Sturgis for the 2018 Black Hills Rally and had the time of my life. Needles highway was a blast and so is Iron Mountain Road, they were perfect for smaller, lighter cruiser bike like the Vstar 650, handled the twisties and tight turns like a champ.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
damia12345

damia12345QLD, 4127

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great ladies bike or learner bike

published

Love my V-star 650 Custom it has the power I need plus the looks to make heads turn, It's a great learner bike as it handles well and is very comfortable over long distances. I've ridden it to Ayers rock and to Cairns from Brisbane. It has a god size tank and only needs filling after 250 km + a tank normally sets you back about $20.00 AU, I'm not tall and this is a great bike for short people. If your tall you can fit put rider pegs to give your legs stretch room. Ive seen the bike tricked out for men too and it does look good.

Date PurchasedApr 2011

Awesome

published

I want to put vance and hines cruzer pipes on my yam 400xvs.
Will they fit? Ive been told its risky as they are slightly different.
One place said they will refund if theres absolutely no scratches whatsoever when fitting them.
Should i take the risk?
Any help and advice please

Date PurchasedJul 2003

Its a keeper.

published

I bought my 2011 650 Custom a few yrs ago, when i retired from work,and has given me hrs of sheer pleasurre. The first thing I did was to change the pipes for Vance and Hines Cruzers, it gives it an awesome tone, and has more than enough power for one old bikie.
Glyn.

Date PurchasedApr 2015

Becks

BecksNewcastle

New to riding and love the bike

published

Hi, I'm 46yo and have just bought my first bike, a 2017 XVS650 custom. At first I was apprehensive about buying a cruiser to learn on but had a few mates that had this bike previously and reassured me it was a great bike to ride. I've only had it for 3 weeks and have found it to be a great ride and really comfortable, there is plenty of power going through the gears and it pulls up easily. I don't have any problems turning at low speed, ie going around roundabouts or turning at intersections. It is a great learner legal cruiser and would recommend it to any new rider. My next wish list is some new pipes to give it a more unique sound.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Art

Art

  • 3 reviews

Good bike

published

The biggest cruiser available for L platers - I knew it is going to be fun and it did deliver! Easy handle and powerful enough to keep a rider entertained a few first months / years until full license. Even after full - quite a few people keep it. Did 20000k within 2 years on the bike, never had any issues.

Date PurchasedJun 2013

Had mine for 4yrs love love love it .

published

Very reliable never let me down have done 15000 ks never missed a bet . Lots of chrome. Paint good love my flames. If I have anything bad to say it would be the mirrors have trouble keeping them tight .highly recommended if you are interested in getting one go for it !!

Date PurchasedFeb 2013
evdogg

evdoggAU

  • 2 reviews

Love it, Great reliable bike with enough go

published

It is what it is. A LAMS approved mid sized cruiser. But it does highway speeds comfortable plenty of power to overtake at 110km without being scary. Light and nimble for cornering. Well balanced. Great resale value. Love this bike. It's no big Harley but for what it is it is great. No problem blowing off a commodore or falcon. It is a great beginner bike. I am thoroughly impressed. I Put cobra boulevard 2" dragster pipes, rejected carby, baron big air kit, 4" forward control extensions and some Viking saddlebags . It will serve me well until I get my full license.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Ryan

RyanBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Simply..wonderful.

published

I bought my XVS650 just before Christmas as a gift to myself. I could not be happier with this bike. It has a wonderfully smooth, torquey engine, great riding position, decent lights and switch gear. The low center of gravity makes it a joy to ride and tour on.

This is no café racer. It is a bike with long legs for cruisin'. It is the perfect bike for someone who would like to ride a Harley, but is limited to a LAMS bike. Having said that, I don't think that I would get sick of this machine and it could well suit me for years to come.

(I am a rider returning after 20 years and need to go back to a LAMS machine. Previous bikes that I have owned include RD400, BMW R65, Z1100 and Ducati 900).

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Nice n easy

published

I recently purchased am XVS Custom , awesome Lams bike handles great easy to ride comfortable as, it's got more then enough grunt for its smaller engine capacity sits on 120 kph (70 mph ) no worries at all love it haven't had any clutch probs once I got used to it and it brakes pretty good I suppose it's a lot on what you're you want and what you're expecting as for me more then pleased


Bobby

BobbyClackamas

Piece of "Doggy Doo Doo", too small and underpowered!!

published

Roley

RoleyAdelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 14 likes

Fun Sporty Bike

published

LS0

LS0

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good mid-size no-frills V-twin cruiser

published

Not fancy, just a plain-jane cruiser. Lots of after-market parts so you can change the seat, controls, exhaust, etc to whatever you like. If you hunt around, you can get some great prices on these bikes. Very reliable. It's not a very exciting motorcycle but it gets the job done.

Great for getting back in the saddle.

published

First bike after 30 year, perfect size and weight. I sit on 130 km to work and have road trains (semis with 4 trailers @120 kph. I don't notice being moved as they pass just the hit in the chest by the wind. So a very stable easy to ride bike. After a week i would have liked a bit more power but even if i bought the bolt i would be feeling the same.

Noel

NoelSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great bike

published

Iv had my 2013 v star 650 custom for a few weeks now and I couldn't be happier its a perfect bike for learners. Its very reliable and holds its own with the big boys (few mates have Harley 48's and 883's) and mine looks fine beside them.
If your on your L's which most people that buy these are one thing i didnt know was the classic model is slightly bigger than the custom so if your going for size go the classic! Most come with modifications done to them such as V&H exhaust and handle bars which to the letter of the law aren't legal but hey nothing cool ever is really.


  • Selected Review

Best all around bike for me

published

Scream'in Jimbo

Scream'in Jimbo

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Pretty good but not as good as everyone says...

published

One of my better decisions

published

JohnCl

JohnClSYDNEY

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brilliant second hand bike

published

You will see that I have posted
For the laro street pro, and the hyosung Aquila 650, out of all 3 this is a perfect bike for a lams and bike I will keep for a long while. I bought it with 27k got it serviced and it is running beautifully. I am 6'2" seating position is great and very very comfortable. My only issue with this is the manual choke and no fuel gauge other than that I highly recommend it.

Manual choke, no fuel gauge


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kenneth B.

Kenneth B.asked

Will tryni g engine back words through timing Cain off?

No answers

Colten L.

Colten L.asked

Can I put 2005 yamaha vstar 650 exhaust on a 2003 of the sam model? Are the flanges the same size or would they be completely wrong

No answers

Caz F.

Caz F.asked

Hi. Will a 950 exhaust go on a 650?? Thanks in advance.

1 answer
Savage Steel
Savage Steel

No.


Get an answer from our members and Yamaha Motor representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.