??!
2 photos
Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom

Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom

4.5 from 30 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

30 reviews
    Previous
    Next
    ronald

    ronald

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    I used to own a 650 custom. I loved it and put over 50,000 miles on it. Great first bike.

    published

    Yamaha makes a good bike!
    I, now ride a Yamaha v-star 950. I have put over 16,500 miles on my 950 since I bought it, (August 2017). I love this bike! It's a great looking, light and stable riding machine. It's a great second bike. It's the perfect size bike, powerful, light and stable. If your looking for a bigger and more powerful bike then the V-Star 650. I highly recommend the V-Star 950 Tourer if you are an experienced rider looking for a good all purpose cruiser/touring bike that is affordable. If you are a new rider or a rider with limited experience then the Yamaha 650 custom would be an excellent first bike.

    Date PurchasedAug 2017

    Great Bike!

    published

    Bought an 03 Vstar 650 Custom as a birthday gift for myself (50th). Great for riding around town, I find myself cruising for hours to destination nowhere. Took it to Sturgis for the 2018 Black Hills Rally and had the time of my life. Needles highway was a blast and so is Iron Mountain Road, they were perfect for smaller, lighter cruiser bike like the Vstar 650, handled the twisties and tight turns like a champ.

    Date PurchasedApr 2018
    damia12345

    damia12345QLD, 4127

    • 7 reviews
    • 8 likes

    Great ladies bike or learner bike

    published

    Love my V-star 650 Custom it has the power I need plus the looks to make heads turn, It's a great learner bike as it handles well and is very comfortable over long distances. I've ridden it to Ayers rock and to Cairns from Brisbane. It has a god size tank and only needs filling after 250 km + a tank normally sets you back about $20.00 AU, I'm not tall and this is a great bike for short people. If your tall you can fit put rider pegs to give your legs stretch room. Ive seen the bike tricked out for men too and it does look good.

    Date PurchasedApr 2011
    Cruiser Bikes

    Find out how Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom compares to other Cruiser Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Awesome

    published

    I want to put vance and hines cruzer pipes on my yam 400xvs.
    Will they fit? Ive been told its risky as they are slightly different.
    One place said they will refund if theres absolutely no scratches whatsoever when fitting them.
    Should i take the risk?
    Any help and advice please

    Date PurchasedJul 2003

    Its a keeper.

    published

    I bought my 2011 650 Custom a few yrs ago, when i retired from work,and has given me hrs of sheer pleasurre. The first thing I did was to change the pipes for Vance and Hines Cruzers, it gives it an awesome tone, and has more than enough power for one old bikie.
    Glyn.

    Date PurchasedApr 2015
    Becks

    BecksNewcastle

    New to riding and love the bike

    published

    Hi, I'm 46yo and have just bought my first bike, a 2017 XVS650 custom. At first I was apprehensive about buying a cruiser to learn on but had a few mates that had this bike previously and reassured me it was a great bike to ride. I've only had it for 3 weeks and have found it to be a great ride and really comfortable, there is plenty of power going through the gears and it pulls up easily. I don't have any problems turning at low speed, ie going around roundabouts or turning at intersections. It is a great learner legal cruiser and would recommend it to any new rider. My next wish list is some new pipes to give it a more unique sound.

    Date PurchasedJul 2017
    Art

    Art

    • 3 reviews

    Good bike

    published

    The biggest cruiser available for L platers - I knew it is going to be fun and it did deliver! Easy handle and powerful enough to keep a rider entertained a few first months / years until full license. Even after full - quite a few people keep it. Did 20000k within 2 years on the bike, never had any issues.

    Date PurchasedJun 2013

    Had mine for 4yrs love love love it .

    published

    Very reliable never let me down have done 15000 ks never missed a bet . Lots of chrome. Paint good love my flames. If I have anything bad to say it would be the mirrors have trouble keeping them tight .highly recommended if you are interested in getting one go for it !!

    Date PurchasedFeb 2013
    evdogg

    evdoggAU

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Love it, Great reliable bike with enough go

    published

    It is what it is. A LAMS approved mid sized cruiser. But it does highway speeds comfortable plenty of power to overtake at 110km without being scary. Light and nimble for cornering. Well balanced. Great resale value. Love this bike. It's no big Harley but for what it is it is great. No problem blowing off a commodore or falcon. It is a great beginner bike. I am thoroughly impressed. I Put cobra boulevard 2" dragster pipes, rejected carby, baron big air kit, 4" forward control extensions and some Viking saddlebags . It will serve me well until I get my full license.

    Date PurchasedFeb 2016
    Cruiser Bikes

    Find out how Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom compares to other Cruiser Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Ryan

    RyanBrisbane

    • 3 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Simply..wonderful.

    published

    I bought my XVS650 just before Christmas as a gift to myself. I could not be happier with this bike. It has a wonderfully smooth, torquey engine, great riding position, decent lights and switch gear. The low center of gravity makes it a joy to ride and tour on.

    This is no café racer. It is a bike with long legs for cruisin'. It is the perfect bike for someone who would like to ride a Harley, but is limited to a LAMS bike. Having said that, I don't think that I would get sick of this machine and it could well suit me for years to come.

    (I am a rider returning after 20 years and need to go back to a LAMS machine. Previous bikes that I have owned include RD400, BMW R65, Z1100 and Ducati 900).

    Date PurchasedDec 2016

    Nice n easy

    published

    I recently purchased am XVS Custom , awesome Lams bike handles great easy to ride comfortable as, it's got more then enough grunt for its smaller engine capacity sits on 120 kph (70 mph ) no worries at all love it haven't had any clutch probs once I got used to it and it brakes pretty good I suppose it's a lot on what you're you want and what you're expecting as for me more then pleased

    Bobby

    BobbyClackamas

    Piece of "Doggy Doo Doo", too small and underpowered!!

    published
    Roley

    RoleyAdelaide

    • 9 reviews
    • 16 likes

    Fun Sporty Bike

    published
    LS0

    LS0

    • 2 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Good mid-size no-frills V-twin cruiser

    published

    Not fancy, just a plain-jane cruiser. Lots of after-market parts so you can change the seat, controls, exhaust, etc to whatever you like. If you hunt around, you can get some great prices on these bikes. Very reliable. It's not a very exciting motorcycle but it gets the job done.

    Great for getting back in the saddle.

    published

    First bike after 30 year, perfect size and weight. I sit on 130 km to work and have road trains (semis with 4 trailers @120 kph. I don't notice being moved as they pass just the hit in the chest by the wind. So a very stable easy to ride bike. After a week i would have liked a bit more power but even if i bought the bolt i would be feeling the same.

    Cruiser Bikes

    Find out how Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom compares to other Cruiser Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Noel

    NoelSydney

    • 6 reviews
    • 8 likes

    Great bike

    published

    Iv had my 2013 v star 650 custom for a few weeks now and I couldn't be happier its a perfect bike for learners. Its very reliable and holds its own with the big boys (few mates have Harley 48's and 883's) and mine looks fine beside them.
    If your on your L's which most people that buy these are one thing i didnt know was the classic model is slightly bigger than the custom so if your going for size go the classic! Most come with modifications done to them such as V&H exhaust and handle bars which to the letter of the law aren't legal but hey nothing cool ever is really.

    • Selected Review

    Best all around bike for me

    published
    Scream'in Jimbo

    Scream'in Jimbo

    • 2 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Pretty good but not as good as everyone says...

    published

    One of my better decisions

    published
    JohnCl

    JohnClSYDNEY

    • 4 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Brilliant second hand bike

    published

    You will see that I have posted
    For the laro street pro, and the hyosung Aquila 650, out of all 3 this is a perfect bike for a lams and bike I will keep for a long while. I bought it with 27k got it serviced and it is running beautifully. I am 6'2" seating position is great and very very comfortable. My only issue with this is the manual choke and no fuel gauge other than that I highly recommend it.

    Manual choke, no fuel gauge

    Page 1 of 2

    Questions & Answers

    Paul S.

    Paul S.asked

    Will a rear seat of a 2016 V star xvs 650 custom fit a 2008 V star xvs 650 custom ?

    No answers
    Spinner A.

    Spinner A.asked

    Hi I have a 07 xvs650 just wondering if they have pumpa carbs on them and if not does anyone know where to buy some

    No answers
    Jay E.

    Jay E.asked

    Will a 2006 vstar motor fit on a 2007 vstar?

    No answers

    Get an answer from our members

    Details

    CategoryCruiser Bikes and Learner Approved Bikes
    Engine Capacity649cc
    Release dateJan 2007
    ManualDownload manual

    Visit official website

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.