??!
1 photo
Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular

2.5 from 35 reviews

OK - Lawn Greener, but NO actual ingredient to KILL weeds.

This is NOT actually a weed HERBICIDE, it is designed to stick to the flat leaves of the weeds and given them a terminal sun burn, that is why my lawn got a bit burnt.

If I had realised it is not a Herbicide when I purchased the product I would not have bought it. What a waste, all it is is Ferrous Sulphate.

Ferrous Sulphate, is just a lawn green up. I've got a 500gm tub in my shed that is massively more concentrated and cost half as much. 50grams in 5 litres of water over my entire lawn. So 10 doses in 500gm tub.

Back to Amgrow Kleen Lawn Selective Herbicide next time, It does a far better job than Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular did.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
2 comments
Hi Colin, Thank you for your review. Yates Weed n Feed Granular is perfect for controlling a variety of broadleaf weeds in your lawn and giving it a green boost. It is not a systemic like Yates Weed n Feed Liquid Hose-on, so it won't absorb into the leaves of the weeds and kill from the roots. For further technical information, please contact our team directly. You can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact   Kind regards YatesYes.. I knowit is not systemic , NOW,. As a matter of fact it didn't kill my weeds, it burnt them, and now they are really nice and green. Used Amgrow Kleen Lawn Selective Herbicide and now the weeds are gone.

Good product! Must try

Don’t understand why there are so many negative review here. I purchased the product a few months ago and apply as instructed. Killed most of the weed in my lawn and saved me hours of digging the weed out.

At only $15 from bunning this is value for money considering it also fertilise the lawn.

It doesn’t really works on spiky weed such as bindii. However the hose on one is good for killing bindii

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Hello Lorentz, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that our product has helped to eradicate the weeds in your lawn. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, please find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, Yates

Read the instructions people!

How many 1 star reviews are giving it 1 star because it made the grass go black? Did any of you actually read the product info? It legit states on the back that it will turn your grass black for a few weeks. As for the people who say it burnt their grass? User error.
One guy complained because he used the product. it worked, but then weeds came back the next year. Really?
I have used this product for years and it has always worked perfectly.
Try reading the label. Follow the directions. Note that it only kills certain weeds not all weeds. If you have those type of weeds and follow the direction on the back and read the label. It will work as intended.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hi Skudz, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Just the best

Love your weed feed i spread the weed feed all over my grass. Leave it on 3 days. I then hosed it in. Comes back great. Iff i see some come back i just put half a hand full on the weed leave on 2 days hose in. I got just the best lawn.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Hi Jenny, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Works better than any liquid version

I've been using it for years. Just bought another bag now. I find it works better if the grass is damp when you apply it. Yes it sends the grass black, but it kills most weeds and within a couple of weeks, the lawn is looking lovely and green again, minus the majority of weeds.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. Yates Weed n Feed Granular is perfect for controlling a variety of broadleaf weeds in your lawn and giving it a green boost! We are glad that you have found great success with using this product over the years. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Enjoy your lovely green lawn! Kind regards, Yates

Ruined eight thousand dollars worth of buffalo lawn

I purchased this product from Bunnings within days the lawn went black, I paid eight thousand dollars to install the lawn 6 years ago and have never had a problem with a weeder feeder. This product is labled granulated it's actually dust. If you value your lawn don't use this product

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Hi Tez, Sorry to hear of this very poor result! After the product is applied the lawn can go black. This is in line with the information provided on the label, and shouldn't be cause for concern as it will return to colour once the product has been watered in well. If the colour has not returned or there is a 'burning effect' this is something that we would like to investigate further. We do want to find out what has happened in cases like this one and do our very best to offer assistance where possible. We are here to help. Please get in touch with our team directly so that we can investigate further with you. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Coincidence ?

The same people that have poor results with this product are also the ones who can't spell ! It's not a "waist" of time to read instructions!
Also the dates on some posts indicate the the product was applied during hot weather.
Read instructions and time your fertilising of any kind.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
2 comments
Hi Devo, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. It's important to note that the best way to use our products is only as directed on the pack. When these directions are not carefully followed, problems can arise, some without a quick fix. We don't want that to happen. Our team are available 7 days a week to assist. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, YatesDid you read my comment ? That's the point I was making !

Very good product, I don't understand the one stars??

I've used this product for years, and unfortunately there's not much completion out there to help bring the costs down. As far as the effectiveness of this product goes, well it's simply outstanding. How else can you feed the good grass and kill everything you don't want. To prove a point, I wasted half a bottle on a very small patch of horrible grass, 3 weeks later, you could have cut the grass out and framed it! It works very well, for me anyway.

Date PurchasedJan 2010
1 comment
Hello Steven, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product. It's important to note that the best way to use our products is only as directed on the pack. When these directions are not carefully followed, problems can arise, some without a quick fix. We don't want that to happen. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Enjoy your picture-perfect lawn! Yates

Burnt my green grass

Got this product last week and as I used it completely burnt my beautiful green garden I can see lots of black spots in the garden and I have spend a huge amount on getting the gardening done and on buying grass seeds.any solutions or recommendations to get it fixed

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Hi Danny, Sorry to hear of your experience with our product. We can see from your details that you are located in New Zealand. Our New Zealand team are more than happy to look into this issue for you. Please get in touch with our team directly so that they can investigate the matter for you. You can find our New Zealand contact details here: https://www.yates.co.nz/about/contact/ We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Yates

Yates weed n feed pro granules

Really disappointed in this product. We applied with a spreader to back and used the last on the front lawn. It has burnt the grass it gone black.Particularly on the front where we only used a small amount we now have stripes where it was spread. Our grass was green and healthy before application.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
2 comments
Hello Natalie, Thank you for contacting our team with your complaint late last week. As discussed, temporary black staining of the lawn is to be expected when this product is applied as directed, and is not the same as a 'burning' effect. This is in line with the information provided on the label, and shouldn't be cause for concern. As mentioned, we would certainly be keen to investigate further if instead you have found that your lawn has been 'burned' at all. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the result, and would suggest considering alternative broadleaf weedkillers from our range in future, to avoid temporary staining of the lawn. Should you have any further questions or concerns regarding any product in the Yates range, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us again. Find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you again soon. Yates3 weeks on and our back lawn is almost completely dead. If I could upload a picture I would. We have had substantial rain over the last few weeks and it hasnt helped. The black stripes are still very visible to the front lawn. I will never use a yates product again.

Burnt my beautiful green grass

This product does nothing that it guarantees it will. It completely destroyed my beautiful green grass instead of the 'greening lawn' which is advertised. It literally looks lile someone has had patches of fire on on lawn. Extremely disdissatisfied and would like an explanation.
I hust didnt a review accidently on the liquids page which i didnt realise it was just for that, but it was in fact the granular.
Something is clearly wrong with this product as it seems as though im not the only one this has happened to recently (april 2018). Your lucky people arent taking this further.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Hello Rach, This is very concerning of course. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our product. Thank you for contacting our team online earlier this week. We certainly do want to help, and are awaiting your response in our ongoing investigation. If you could please get back to our Consumer Advice Team with the requested details, we'll then have an opportunity to identify the issue in this case. The photos we have received so far seem to depict a lawn that is mostly quite healthy and green, so if you could please also supply some photos showing the extent of the severe damage you have described, that would be most helpful in our investigation. Please contact us directly so we can proceed with our investigation as soon as possible. Find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Burnt lawn and turned healthy grass black

This product burnt weeds and our healthy green lawn. It is nothing like their liquid weed and feed product that we usually use attached to the hose. So disappointed that we used a different version of the product. Be really careful if you try this. Our lawn looked great with a few weeds and now looks terrible.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
2 comments
Hello Jacki, Sorry to hear of your disappointing experience with our product! It is indeed very different to the hose-on version and a healthy lawn would typically turn black with normal use of the product. Please note that this is not permanent, is due to an expected chemical reaction involving the active ingredient (ferrous sulfate) and is different to the 'burn' effect that might occur in a lawn where the product was used under unsuitable conditions. A healthy, growing lawn should return to its normal green colour within about a week; if this isn't the case for your lawn, please get in touch with our Consumer Advice Team so we can help identify the likely cause and suggest a suitable course of action. The different selective weedkillers in our range are typically suited best to different circumstances. We can also help inform your choices with the latest advice when you contact our Consumer Advice Team. Find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. YatesThank you so much for your response. We have always loved and recommended your other products. Will let you know how we go. Hopefully our lawn returns to itself! Jacki

Lawn burnt also.

Burnt the leaf off our Nara turf also. Don’t know how this product would ever work without burning the way the application guides are currently worded. Salting without dilution is not best practice in my experience and is bound to severely damage any stressed plants. Would only recommend using this product in ideal situations.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Hello Mick, We are very sorry to hear that damage has been done to your lawn after application of our product. The product really shouldn't be diluted in any way, but as you've implied already it should never be applied to a stressed lawn either. We do want to find out exactly what has occured in cases such as this one, so please do contact our team directly so that we can investigate further with you, and hopefully help you get the lawn back on track soon. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Should be off market

Its make my bufallo lawn all turn black since last november.... i am very sad ... i try dynamic filter as yates gave advice but my lawn still black ... the heat didnt help either ....i follow the instructional in the back of package too... i put 2 bags of weed and feed buffalo pro

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Hello Natania, We are very sorry to hear that your lawn did not respond well following the application of Yates Buffalo Pro Weed and Feed Granular. It’s common to see the lawn turn black for a few days, but generally, it will recover to normal within a week. However, if your lawn stays that way for longer, we would suspect the grass has been ‘burned’, and application of standard Dynamic Lifter may not help revive the lawn right away. There are several factors that may contribute to the burning effect: - The bag of 12.5kg treats 187.5m2. If by any chance that amount of product was applied over a smaller area, it is possible that it will burn the grass. For this reason, it is imperative the area is measured before application to ensure that only the recommended rate is applied. - If the lawn area were drought stressed (no getting enough water), adding granular Weed ‘n’ Feed (or any fertilisers) could burn the grass. Ensuring the soil is moist to depth of at least 5cm before application, and that the lawn isn’t already showing signs of drought stress, will significantly reduce the risk. It should be expected that the lawn will recover. To assist in this, water well and regularly until new growth occurs. Also, we are happy to help look into the matter further if you could please contact us directly with your full details and photos of what has occurred. You can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Good product

Well ifuess the.people who gave 1 star either didnt follow.the instruction or used it.on the non recommended grass. Its definately not a.one.application transformation but does do a very good.job. process of watering thoroughly application then dont water for 2.days and start watering after that repeat the process every three months. I transformed my garden from weed fiekd to a decent grass kawn. Strongly recommend it

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Hello Sau, Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to see that our product has helped the transformation of your lawn and we appreciate you taking the time to provide your considered feedback. We welcome all kinds of feedback and look forward to hearing from you again soon. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Enjoy your weed-free lawn! Yates

Beware: It ruined my perfectly healthy sir Walter buffalo lawn

Applied as per instructions on a beautiful healthy Sir Walter Buffalo Lawn. It has burned it significantly. Whilst I think it may recover in time (two weeks since application), it has started to show new growth, it is evident that it has been damaged by burning. Please be aware as other reviews have stated. I will now have to use Munn’s lawn builder to repair the extensive damaged. Should be withdrawn from sale.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Hello there, Sorry to hear of this very poor result! It is certainty concerning to us that this has occurred and we can understand the frustration that you are currently feeling. This product is one of the most popular in our range, considering the amount sold and feedback we do receive overall. We do want to find out what has happened in isolated cases like this one and do our very best to offer assistance where possible. We are here to help. Please get in touch with our team directly so that we can investigate further with you. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Lawn looked good... for a while.

The lawn looked good in the couple of months after applying the product. Now a year later, we have bindis in places where we have never had bindis before. Been living at this property for 10 years now.. And all of a sudden the bindis are showing up in the same places weed and feed was spread for the first time? Seriously wondering if there are bindi seeds in the packet. Would be the ideal way to ensure the customers keep coming back.. Not happy Jan.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Wrecked my grass

I applied by eye (probably 1st mistake) other than that followed instructions. It made 70 per cent of my grass black and didn't even kill all the weeds ! Would not recommend unless you can accurately apply. Been 3 weeks with black grass now! Be aware as if you make a mistake it will have devastating results. Would never purchase again !

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Happy with the results

I followed the instructions on the applying of the product: Yates Buffalo Pro Weed' n ' Feed granular. I applied the 2nd cover of the product 6 weeks later. In December I was away from my property, upon my return in early January my lawn was mostly weed free and green. I am happy with the results, and will be using this product again . I used a 10 kg 9310428548390 batch number.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Rubbish, waste of time. Created more trouble to resolve. This product should be taken off the shelve

I wish I had seen some independent product review's before I purchased Feed and Weed Granular. A waist of time and it created more problems than it solved.

I have been in extended correspondence with Yates regarding this product. Yates claim this product needs to be accurately applied. When I say accurately means exactly. My question is how does a home gardener do this? I used a mechanical device and Yates say it was not accurate enough. It burnt large patches (2 meter x 1 meter) of grass on my lawn.

This product should be taken off the shelves. Its a pity this review could not be submitted without any stars, that's what it deserves.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

I have a Scotts EasyGreen Rotary Lawn Spreader, and am wondering what setting to use when applying Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular to a cooch lawn.
No answers

Can you water straight after applying weed n feed granular?
No answers

Can the granular product be applied using a fertiliser spreader such as a Scott’s push along?
1 answer
Hi, Thank you for your question. It is important to note that the best way to use our products is only as directed on the pack. When these directions are not carefully followed, the product may not work as required. We don't want that to happen. For further technical information, please contact our team directly. You can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Similar listings