??!
1 photo
Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular

2.2 from 46 reviews

Reviews

2.2

46 reviews
5
(7)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(27)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Monika

MonikaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

yates weed and feed granular

published

This is yates worst product, it did not kill the weeds however it has made my lawn black. This was totally wastage of money spent as i rely on yates product but this one burnt my current grass also.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$15.94.

2 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Monika
Monika

i tried contacting you but not reachable, thanks

The whole paver damaged with stainings

published

We bought the buffalo weed and seed pro, it damaged my new paver around the lawn. It looks terrible.

Contacted the company, got Replay: Unfortunately this can happen if it makes contact with non-lawn surfaces, and precautions to this effect are outlined on the label. You may like to try cleaning with CLR or similar, or contact a professional cleaning company.

I wish I never bought the product.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$20.95.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

jo har

jo harSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

yates weed and feed granular

published

this is the worst my lawn has ever looked did not kill one weed but burnt patches of my lawn this should not be sold remove from sale now yates should pay to re sow my lawn will never buy yates products again

Purchased in December 2019 at Mitre 10 for A$21.00.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fran

FranSydney, NSW

Yates Weed and Feed Pro Granules

published

Purchased Yates Weed and Feed Pro and had similar experience to other reviewers. Grass only went black in odd patches and the clover is doing nicely thank you...won't waste my money again. They didn't mention that it stains not only concrete but rubber too....my white sailing boots are now spotted yellow.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$20.00.

margie

margiePeel, WA

  • 3 reviews

One year on and granules still noted

published

Purchased bag of 2 bags weed & feed granules from Bunnings. Spread over front and rear lawns. Watered in well as instructed (on 2 occasions). Winter saw good rainfall. 11 months on, and still mass of white coloured granules everywhere throughout lawned areas. Most of the grass died and have had mega weeds appearing. Seems to work in reverse. Kills lawn and promotes weeds. I have current pics of multiple white coloured granules across yard that obviously did not dissolve as was indicated- in a slow release time frame. Very disappointed. Maybe i got a bad batch? Anyone else had this issue

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$30.00.

LBenson

LBensonSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Will never buy this again

published

I live on acreage so bought a fair amount of this from Bunnings at McGraths Hill in NSW. I used slightly more per square metre than was suggested on the instructions. My lawn is couch. After 4 weeks, I have double (if not triple) the amount of weeds. The product left orange stains on my concrete which I am unable to get off. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$15.94.

Useless and the water hose type too

published

Absolutely useless. I bought two 5litre hose water bottle from bunnings at $23 each. Applied twice two weeks apart and still clover and onion weed and kooch grass. And the law looks no Greener and still patchy 5 weeks later!!! Don't buy it!!!!

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$46.00.

Keith and sandy

Keith and sandyBusselton

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not worth buying

published

Tried this stuff on the lawn to exactly the way to do on the packaging,
Did it again after a week to 10 days later the weeds are thriving,
I even put some direct on a broadleaf and NOTHING. happened,
Contacted YATES ,they said they will get in touch ,Like the weeds nothing happened

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

2 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Keith and sandy
Keith and sandy

Same answer as you have for everyone ,I think all you do is push a button

Blackspear

BlackspearSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Kills grass, weeds flourish

published

Purchased from Bunnings in Southport, no weeds dead at all, they have greened up beautifully. The grass however, is dead. What weeds this supposedly kills is beyond me. I will never purchase this product again.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$15.94.

3 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Blackspear
Blackspear

Filled out the contact us form, and referred back to this review.

Yates
Yates R.Yates

Thank you we will speak soon.

Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michelle

MichellePerth, WA

Damages Pavers and Yates will not respond

published

DO NOT EVER use this product . My travertine pavers are orange at the edge where the paver meets the lawn. I spoke to Yates who refused to allow me to speak to a manager to discuss the issue. They told me to use CLR to clean the pavers but we’re unsure if this would damage the lawn ! What a joke as they are suppose to specialise in garden products! I have never had this issue with other companies feed and weed products. Apparently not to use this product near any hard surfaces- aren’t all lawns near some hard surface- they said to use a metre away - and how does this help the lawn ? Useless product and apparently the spray is the same.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Darren

DarrenSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Terrible Product - Left Orange Stains

published

I bought the Yates Weed 'n' Feed from Bunnings and spread it as per the instructions. Later that day there was a a light rain shower. I came out of after the rain shower had stopped and found bright orange stains all over my Travertine pavers and sandstone garden edge.
I spent a day using acid wash and a high pressure gurni to remove it and there are still areas where I cannot remove the orange stains.
This is a terrible product and should be recalled. This will cost me thousands to replace the stained Travertine pavers and sandstone capping.

  • +1

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$20.00.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Colin

ColinPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

OK - Lawn Greener, but NO actual ingredient to KILL weeds.

published

This is NOT actually a weed HERBICIDE, it is designed to stick to the flat leaves of the weeds and given them a terminal sun burn, that is why my lawn got a bit burnt.

If I had realised it is not a Herbicide when I purchased the product I would not have bought it. What a waste, all it is is Ferrous Sulphate.

Ferrous Sulphate, is just a lawn green up. I've got a 500gm tub in my shed that is massively more concentrated and cost half as much. 50grams in 5 litres of water over my entire lawn. So 10 doses in 500gm tub.

Back to Amgrow Kleen Lawn Selective Herbicide next time, It does a far better job than Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular did.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
2 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Colin
Colin
Lorentz

LorentzBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good product! Must try

published

Don’t understand why there are so many negative review here. I purchased the product a few months ago and apply as instructed. Killed most of the weed in my lawn and saved me hours of digging the weed out.

At only $15 from bunning this is value for money considering it also fertilise the lawn.

It doesn’t really works on spiky weed such as bindii. However the hose on one is good for killing bindii

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Skudz

SkudzPerth

Read the instructions people!

published

How many 1 star reviews are giving it 1 star because it made the grass go black? Did any of you actually read the product info? It legit states on the back that it will turn your grass black for a few weeks. As for the people who say it burnt their grass? User error.
One guy complained because he used the product. it worked, but then weeds came back the next year. Really?
I have used this product for years and it has always worked perfectly.
Try reading the label. Follow the directions. Note that it only kills certain weeds not all weeds. If you have those type of weeds and follow the direction on the back and read the label. It will work as intended.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Just the best

published

Love your weed feed i spread the weed feed all over my grass. Leave it on 3 days. I then hosed it in. Comes back great. Iff i see some come back i just put half a hand full on the weed leave on 2 days hose in. I got just the best lawn.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Works better than any liquid version

published

I've been using it for years. Just bought another bag now. I find it works better if the grass is damp when you apply it. Yes it sends the grass black, but it kills most weeds and within a couple of weeks, the lawn is looking lovely and green again, minus the majority of weeds.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Ruined eight thousand dollars worth of buffalo lawn

published

I purchased this product from Bunnings within days the lawn went black, I paid eight thousand dollars to install the lawn 6 years ago and have never had a problem with a weeder feeder. This product is labled granulated it's actually dust. If you value your lawn don't use this product

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Devo

DevoFlinders Park

Coincidence ?

published

The same people that have poor results with this product are also the ones who can't spell ! It's not a "waist" of time to read instructions!
Also the dates on some posts indicate the the product was applied during hot weather.
Read instructions and time your fertilising of any kind.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
2 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Devo
Devo

Did you read my comment ? That's the point I was making !

Steven

Steven

  • 3 reviews

Very good product, I don't understand the one stars??

published

I've used this product for years, and unfortunately there's not much completion out there to help bring the costs down. As far as the effectiveness of this product goes, well it's simply outstanding. How else can you feed the good grass and kill everything you don't want. To prove a point, I wasted half a bottle on a very small patch of horrible grass, 3 weeks later, you could have cut the grass out and framed it! It works very well, for me anyway.

Date PurchasedJan 2010
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
danny

dannyauckland

Burnt my green grass

published

Got this product last week and as I used it completely burnt my beautiful green garden I can see lots of black spots in the garden and I have spend a huge amount on getting the gardening done and on buying grass seeds.any solutions or recommendations to get it fixed

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sue

Sueasked

I used weed and feed granular on my lawn. Whist did green it up a little no weeds were killed. The major concern is that it has stained my new paving area. Rang customer service and they said to use CLR. This didn't work. I now have $4000 worth of paving marked with rust stains. Not happy. What can be done.
Sue

2 answers
margie
margie

Hi Sue. I did not have that issue with the staining. However, my daughters lawn is still bare in many sections. After spreading the granules, and then watering in( as instructed), the granules are to this day( 14 months later), still on top of soil to rear yard. The granules turned white in colour- but hundreds are still scattered over yard. Needless to say, the lawn died in many areas and the weeds grew. Not happy with product at all.
On another note, a friend of mine swears by using hydro chloric acid as a means of cleaning pavers. Maybe try to look into the benefits of this product on pavers? Hope this helps

Sue
Sue

Thanks margie

simo

simoasked

how soon after treatment can i mow my lawn

No answers
Teresa G

Teresa Gasked

Am I able to use granular weed and feed with water to be able to hose on? I have a used weed and feed hose on container.

2 answers
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Hi Teresa,

Thank you for your question. Yates Weed n Feed Granular is designed to be spread onto the lawn. It cannot be mixed into your hose-on container.

If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact

Kind regards
Yates

Teresa G
Teresa G

Thank you

Get an answer from our members and Yates representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.