??!
1 photo
Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular

2.4 from 39 reviews

Not worth buying

Tried this stuff on the lawn to exactly the way to do on the packaging,
Did it again after a week to 10 days later the weeds are thriving,
I even put some direct on a broadleaf and NOTHING. happened,
Contacted YATES ,they said they will get in touch ,Like the weeds nothing happened

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

2 comments
Hi Keith and Sandy, Thank you for your feedback. Please contact us at www.yates.com.au and we can help with further advice on the best weeds to treat with this product and application rates. We're always happy to help and ensure you get the right results. Look forward to talking to you soon. Kind regards, YatesSame answer as you have for everyone ,I think all you do is push a button

Kills grass, weeds flourish

Purchased from Bunnings in Southport, no weeds dead at all, they have greened up beautifully. The grass however, is dead. What weeds this supposedly kills is beyond me. I will never purchase this product again.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $15.94.

3 comments
Hello Blackspear, Please contact us at www.yates.com.au and we can help with further advice on the best weeds to treat with this product and application rates. We're always happy to help and ensure you get the right results. Look forward to talking to you soon.Filled out the contact us form, and referred back to this review.Thank you we will speak soon.

Damages Pavers and Yates will not respond

DO NOT EVER use this product . My travertine pavers are orange at the edge where the paver meets the lawn. I spoke to Yates who refused to allow me to speak to a manager to discuss the issue. They told me to use CLR to clean the pavers but we’re unsure if this would damage the lawn ! What a joke as they are suppose to specialise in garden products! I have never had this issue with other companies feed and weed products. Apparently not to use this product near any hard surfaces- aren’t all lawns near some hard surface- they said to use a metre away - and how does this help the lawn ? Useless product and apparently the spray is the same.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Hi Michelle, Thank you for contacting Yates on the 14th June and we were sorry to hear of your experience with our Weed 'n' Feed Granular product. Unfortunately, as noted on the label and advised by our team member during your phone call, staining can occur if the product is left on the hard surfaces. This warning is provided under the caution section of the label. As discussed with you via the phone, you may like to consider using a product such as CLR or a cleaning product that is suitable to remove iron stains, which is what has caused the discolouring in the pavers. Please check with manufacturers of these products prior to use to ensure that it is suitable for use on your pavers. We do take your feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to contact us regarding this issue. Your feedback has been registered with our complaints department and will be reviewed by our consumer and marketing teams. Kind regards, Consumer Experience Team Leader

Terrible Product - Left Orange Stains

I bought the Yates Weed 'n' Feed from Bunnings and spread it as per the instructions. Later that day there was a a light rain shower. I came out of after the rain shower had stopped and found bright orange stains all over my Travertine pavers and sandstone garden edge.
I spent a day using acid wash and a high pressure gurni to remove it and there are still areas where I cannot remove the orange stains.
This is a terrible product and should be recalled. This will cost me thousands to replace the stained Travertine pavers and sandstone capping.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $20.00.

1 comment
Hello Darren We have appreciate your messages and hopefully assisted you in this matter when we spoke directly on the phone to resolve. We always recommend that everyone reads the directions on pack before applying and do not apply when rain is expected. For more information on how to use this product: https://www.yates.com.au/products/weed-control/lawns-selective-control/yates-weed-n-feed-granular/

OK - Lawn Greener, but NO actual ingredient to KILL weeds.

This is NOT actually a weed HERBICIDE, it is designed to stick to the flat leaves of the weeds and given them a terminal sun burn, that is why my lawn got a bit burnt.

If I had realised it is not a Herbicide when I purchased the product I would not have bought it. What a waste, all it is is Ferrous Sulphate.

Ferrous Sulphate, is just a lawn green up. I've got a 500gm tub in my shed that is massively more concentrated and cost half as much. 50grams in 5 litres of water over my entire lawn. So 10 doses in 500gm tub.

Back to Amgrow Kleen Lawn Selective Herbicide next time, It does a far better job than Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular did.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
2 comments
Hi Colin, Thank you for your review. Yates Weed n Feed Granular is perfect for controlling a variety of broadleaf weeds in your lawn and giving it a green boost. It is not a systemic like Yates Weed n Feed Liquid Hose-on, so it won't absorb into the leaves of the weeds and kill from the roots. For further technical information, please contact our team directly. You can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact   Kind regards YatesYes.. I knowit is not systemic , NOW,. As a matter of fact it didn't kill my weeds, it burnt them, and now they are really nice and green. Used Amgrow Kleen Lawn Selective Herbicide and now the weeds are gone.

Good product! Must try

Don’t understand why there are so many negative review here. I purchased the product a few months ago and apply as instructed. Killed most of the weed in my lawn and saved me hours of digging the weed out.

At only $15 from bunning this is value for money considering it also fertilise the lawn.

It doesn’t really works on spiky weed such as bindii. However the hose on one is good for killing bindii

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Hello Lorentz, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that our product has helped to eradicate the weeds in your lawn. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, please find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, Yates

Read the instructions people!

How many 1 star reviews are giving it 1 star because it made the grass go black? Did any of you actually read the product info? It legit states on the back that it will turn your grass black for a few weeks. As for the people who say it burnt their grass? User error.
One guy complained because he used the product. it worked, but then weeds came back the next year. Really?
I have used this product for years and it has always worked perfectly.
Try reading the label. Follow the directions. Note that it only kills certain weeds not all weeds. If you have those type of weeds and follow the direction on the back and read the label. It will work as intended.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hi Skudz, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Just the best

Love your weed feed i spread the weed feed all over my grass. Leave it on 3 days. I then hosed it in. Comes back great. Iff i see some come back i just put half a hand full on the weed leave on 2 days hose in. I got just the best lawn.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Hi Jenny, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Works better than any liquid version

I've been using it for years. Just bought another bag now. I find it works better if the grass is damp when you apply it. Yes it sends the grass black, but it kills most weeds and within a couple of weeks, the lawn is looking lovely and green again, minus the majority of weeds.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. Yates Weed n Feed Granular is perfect for controlling a variety of broadleaf weeds in your lawn and giving it a green boost! We are glad that you have found great success with using this product over the years. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Enjoy your lovely green lawn! Kind regards, Yates

Ruined eight thousand dollars worth of buffalo lawn

I purchased this product from Bunnings within days the lawn went black, I paid eight thousand dollars to install the lawn 6 years ago and have never had a problem with a weeder feeder. This product is labled granulated it's actually dust. If you value your lawn don't use this product

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Hi Tez, Sorry to hear of this very poor result! After the product is applied the lawn can go black. This is in line with the information provided on the label, and shouldn't be cause for concern as it will return to colour once the product has been watered in well. If the colour has not returned or there is a 'burning effect' this is something that we would like to investigate further. We do want to find out what has happened in cases like this one and do our very best to offer assistance where possible. We are here to help. Please get in touch with our team directly so that we can investigate further with you. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Coincidence ?

The same people that have poor results with this product are also the ones who can't spell ! It's not a "waist" of time to read instructions!
Also the dates on some posts indicate the the product was applied during hot weather.
Read instructions and time your fertilising of any kind.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
2 comments
Hi Devo, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. It's important to note that the best way to use our products is only as directed on the pack. When these directions are not carefully followed, problems can arise, some without a quick fix. We don't want that to happen. Our team are available 7 days a week to assist. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, YatesDid you read my comment ? That's the point I was making !

Very good product, I don't understand the one stars??

I've used this product for years, and unfortunately there's not much completion out there to help bring the costs down. As far as the effectiveness of this product goes, well it's simply outstanding. How else can you feed the good grass and kill everything you don't want. To prove a point, I wasted half a bottle on a very small patch of horrible grass, 3 weeks later, you could have cut the grass out and framed it! It works very well, for me anyway.

Date PurchasedJan 2010
1 comment
Hello Steven, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product. It's important to note that the best way to use our products is only as directed on the pack. When these directions are not carefully followed, problems can arise, some without a quick fix. We don't want that to happen. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Enjoy your picture-perfect lawn! Yates

Burnt my green grass

Got this product last week and as I used it completely burnt my beautiful green garden I can see lots of black spots in the garden and I have spend a huge amount on getting the gardening done and on buying grass seeds.any solutions or recommendations to get it fixed

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Hi Danny, Sorry to hear of your experience with our product. We can see from your details that you are located in New Zealand. Our New Zealand team are more than happy to look into this issue for you. Please get in touch with our team directly so that they can investigate the matter for you. You can find our New Zealand contact details here: https://www.yates.co.nz/about/contact/ We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Yates

Yates weed n feed pro granules

Really disappointed in this product. We applied with a spreader to back and used the last on the front lawn. It has burnt the grass it gone black.Particularly on the front where we only used a small amount we now have stripes where it was spread. Our grass was green and healthy before application.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
2 comments
Hello Natalie, Thank you for contacting our team with your complaint late last week. As discussed, temporary black staining of the lawn is to be expected when this product is applied as directed, and is not the same as a 'burning' effect. This is in line with the information provided on the label, and shouldn't be cause for concern. As mentioned, we would certainly be keen to investigate further if instead you have found that your lawn has been 'burned' at all. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the result, and would suggest considering alternative broadleaf weedkillers from our range in future, to avoid temporary staining of the lawn. Should you have any further questions or concerns regarding any product in the Yates range, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us again. Find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you again soon. Yates3 weeks on and our back lawn is almost completely dead. If I could upload a picture I would. We have had substantial rain over the last few weeks and it hasnt helped. The black stripes are still very visible to the front lawn. I will never use a yates product again.

Burnt my beautiful green grass

This product does nothing that it guarantees it will. It completely destroyed my beautiful green grass instead of the 'greening lawn' which is advertised. It literally looks lile someone has had patches of fire on on lawn. Extremely disdissatisfied and would like an explanation.
I hust didnt a review accidently on the liquids page which i didnt realise it was just for that, but it was in fact the granular.
Something is clearly wrong with this product as it seems as though im not the only one this has happened to recently (april 2018). Your lucky people arent taking this further.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Hello Rach, This is very concerning of course. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our product. Thank you for contacting our team online earlier this week. We certainly do want to help, and are awaiting your response in our ongoing investigation. If you could please get back to our Consumer Advice Team with the requested details, we'll then have an opportunity to identify the issue in this case. The photos we have received so far seem to depict a lawn that is mostly quite healthy and green, so if you could please also supply some photos showing the extent of the severe damage you have described, that would be most helpful in our investigation. Please contact us directly so we can proceed with our investigation as soon as possible. Find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Burnt lawn and turned healthy grass black

This product burnt weeds and our healthy green lawn. It is nothing like their liquid weed and feed product that we usually use attached to the hose. So disappointed that we used a different version of the product. Be really careful if you try this. Our lawn looked great with a few weeds and now looks terrible.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
2 comments
Hello Jacki, Sorry to hear of your disappointing experience with our product! It is indeed very different to the hose-on version and a healthy lawn would typically turn black with normal use of the product. Please note that this is not permanent, is due to an expected chemical reaction involving the active ingredient (ferrous sulfate) and is different to the 'burn' effect that might occur in a lawn where the product was used under unsuitable conditions. A healthy, growing lawn should return to its normal green colour within about a week; if this isn't the case for your lawn, please get in touch with our Consumer Advice Team so we can help identify the likely cause and suggest a suitable course of action. The different selective weedkillers in our range are typically suited best to different circumstances. We can also help inform your choices with the latest advice when you contact our Consumer Advice Team. Find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. YatesThank you so much for your response. We have always loved and recommended your other products. Will let you know how we go. Hopefully our lawn returns to itself! Jacki

Lawn burnt also.

Burnt the leaf off our Nara turf also. Don’t know how this product would ever work without burning the way the application guides are currently worded. Salting without dilution is not best practice in my experience and is bound to severely damage any stressed plants. Would only recommend using this product in ideal situations.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Hello Mick, We are very sorry to hear that damage has been done to your lawn after application of our product. The product really shouldn't be diluted in any way, but as you've implied already it should never be applied to a stressed lawn either. We do want to find out exactly what has occured in cases such as this one, so please do contact our team directly so that we can investigate further with you, and hopefully help you get the lawn back on track soon. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Should be off market

Its make my bufallo lawn all turn black since last november.... i am very sad ... i try dynamic filter as yates gave advice but my lawn still black ... the heat didnt help either ....i follow the instructional in the back of package too... i put 2 bags of weed and feed buffalo pro

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Hello Natania, We are very sorry to hear that your lawn did not respond well following the application of Yates Buffalo Pro Weed and Feed Granular. It’s common to see the lawn turn black for a few days, but generally, it will recover to normal within a week. However, if your lawn stays that way for longer, we would suspect the grass has been ‘burned’, and application of standard Dynamic Lifter may not help revive the lawn right away. There are several factors that may contribute to the burning effect: - The bag of 12.5kg treats 187.5m2. If by any chance that amount of product was applied over a smaller area, it is possible that it will burn the grass. For this reason, it is imperative the area is measured before application to ensure that only the recommended rate is applied. - If the lawn area were drought stressed (no getting enough water), adding granular Weed ‘n’ Feed (or any fertilisers) could burn the grass. Ensuring the soil is moist to depth of at least 5cm before application, and that the lawn isn’t already showing signs of drought stress, will significantly reduce the risk. It should be expected that the lawn will recover. To assist in this, water well and regularly until new growth occurs. Also, we are happy to help look into the matter further if you could please contact us directly with your full details and photos of what has occurred. You can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Good product

Well ifuess the.people who gave 1 star either didnt follow.the instruction or used it.on the non recommended grass. Its definately not a.one.application transformation but does do a very good.job. process of watering thoroughly application then dont water for 2.days and start watering after that repeat the process every three months. I transformed my garden from weed fiekd to a decent grass kawn. Strongly recommend it

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Hello Sau, Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to see that our product has helped the transformation of your lawn and we appreciate you taking the time to provide your considered feedback. We welcome all kinds of feedback and look forward to hearing from you again soon. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Enjoy your weed-free lawn! Yates

Beware: It ruined my perfectly healthy sir Walter buffalo lawn

Applied as per instructions on a beautiful healthy Sir Walter Buffalo Lawn. It has burned it significantly. Whilst I think it may recover in time (two weeks since application), it has started to show new growth, it is evident that it has been damaged by burning. Please be aware as other reviews have stated. I will now have to use Munn’s lawn builder to repair the extensive damaged. Should be withdrawn from sale.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Hello there, Sorry to hear of this very poor result! It is certainty concerning to us that this has occurred and we can understand the frustration that you are currently feeling. This product is one of the most popular in our range, considering the amount sold and feedback we do receive overall. We do want to find out what has happened in isolated cases like this one and do our very best to offer assistance where possible. We are here to help. Please get in touch with our team directly so that we can investigate further with you. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Am I able to use granular weed and feed with water to be able to hose on? I have a used weed and feed hose on container.
2 answers
Hi Teresa, Thank you for your question. Yates Weed n Feed Granular is designed to be spread onto the lawn. It cannot be mixed into your hose-on container. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards YatesThank you

Hi just applied the Yates weed and feed and now it’s raining will it still be effective?
1 answer
Hi Luke, Thank you for your question. Yates Weed n Feed Granular will not effective if it rains after application. The product needs to be watered in 48hrs after application. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, Yates

I have a Scotts EasyGreen Rotary Lawn Spreader, and am wondering what setting to use when applying Yates Weed 'n' Feed Granular to a cooch lawn.
No answers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.