1 photo
Zodiac Aquasphere

Zodiac Aquasphere

3.3 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Zodiac

Reviews

3.3
13 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (4)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Al C.
Al C.
  • 2 reviews

Poor instructions and extra undocumented part.

published

The instruction manual is poor. Parts pictured on page 2 are then called other things in the set up instructions. No clear picture of final assembly. What is the included part that has an internal spring and numbers on the side (not shown on page 2).

Purchased in November 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
nicolas
nicolasbrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good budget pool cleaner

published

Had my aquasphere for over 10 years and replaced a few bits thru wear and tear. Only downside are the yellow diaphragms - mine literally eats them. Go through 2 per year.
Kidney shaped pool gets cleaned well by the old aquasphere and only occasional palm nuts and stones jam in the throat.
Overall good value cleaner

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
hooch
hoochsydney
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good simple design works well with dirty pool

published
Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
PeterH
PeterHSydney, NSW

Best suction pool cleaner I've owned

published

The cleaner only ever gets stuck if the diaphragm or hose gets a split. These are easily replaced. The one thing I would change is where the two pieces of the head cleaner attach to each other. You line up two plastic tabs and twist - think of a bayonet light globe fitting.

It really should be a screw thread because over time the tabs wear so that the two pieces keep separating.

Purchased in October 2017 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $280.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac Aquasphere compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good cleaning robot but not built to last!

published

Only 3 years old and already broken. Not as robust as the original Zodiac Baracuda. Things are less and less built to last! 4 to 5 years life seemed a reasonable life expectancy from my point of view considering the price! Spare parts are also very expensive when available. My last disc has lasted only about a year!

Purchased in March 2016 at Nouméa pool store.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mac
MacSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good for the money!!

published

I have owned at least 6 of these over many years. Simple design and very unforgiving. If it stops working the reason is easily rectified. Usually the diaphragm or your basket is full or your pressure has dropped, split hose etc...Of the course the parts wear out but consider the work it does. Remember it sits in salt water 24/7 and does hundreds of thousands of cycles around your pool in its lifetime.
Everything requires maintenance and they are very easy to understand and work on.
Nothing last for ever, and if they did, they would be incredibly expensive. Don’t be too harsh on this cleaner at this price point.

Purchased in January 2012 at eBay.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vicky
VickySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Forever replacing diaphrams

published

We have only had the cleaner a few years and have had to replace the diaphragm many times. The flow has been adjusted to stop it wearing out so much but this hasn't helped. We now have to replace the hoses as they have all perished. We previously had a Zodiac robot type cleaner for our last pool and even though it was more expensive it did a much better job of getting around the pool and cleaning it. And we only had to replace one of the rubber tyre treds in the five years we had it. I am thinking I will ditch the Aquasphere and invest in a robot style - after spending at least $20 for each diaphragm and now $20 per each hose I have well and truly spent more on parts than the original price of the item.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Robert ALLISON
Robert ALLISON
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Faulty diaphargms

published

Purchased 17/06/2015, and in that time it has had three faulty diaphragms, with the problem being a
design/manufacture fault . Replaced under the 2 year warranty but what happens after that time? when it will still
happen. Not happy with this cleaner! As have to travel 85 km to get it replaced.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Robert ALLISON
Robert ALLISON
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Brilliant cleaner

published

I am about to order my second one. The first has lasted years(So long I cant remember but more than 5 years, could be 10 +) It eventually wore out where the head connects. Had to replace numerous diaphramns with gum nuts splitting them. Having owned other pool cleaners Kreepy & Barracuda, this is the best.
Its simple and it works!
It does not last forever

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac Aquasphere compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Just wont suck

published

Just refuses to circulate and clean checked pump ,basket ,diaphragm etc'its never run properly 2 months old pool shop refuses to help all he ask what had done and he said adjust the weight on tube but didn't help I give up its set up properly filter ,basket pipes pump all correct "who knows ?
Nothing yet
Won't move, suck ect

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lachlandavis
lachlandavis
  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best diaphragm cleaner on the market

published

This design has been around since the 80s (originally as Baracuda, then Zodiac, now Aquasphere) and there's a reason it's still sold, it works.
Very simple design, and i've seen dozens that are 12-15yrs old and still going strong. The only 'issue' is that the cassette chamber and locking ring will eventually wear. I've never seen that happen in less than 8 years though.

They don't like to work in pools with strange shapes etc, no diaphragm cleaner does.
There is a problem with the diaphragms at the moment (a Zodiac problem), make sure you keep your receipt as they have a 12 month warranty.

Otherwise these are great.
reliable, very durable, cheaper than genuine Zodiac
The cassette chamber eventually wears.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andulka
AndulkaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

It is simple, efficient and quiet. Easy to assemble once you work out the instraction manual .

published
Andulka
Andulka
poolguy
poolguy

Be aware that if you have any warranty issues, you will have to deal directly with the Maple pool shop in NSW.

SuePen
SuePen
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac Aquasphere compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
brendonha
brendonhaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Aquasphere Bad product company not readily contactable

published

Aquasphere Pool Chlorinator purchased it about 3 weeks ago. It worked fine for a week or so and then the control unit died Tried to contact Aquasphere via their website as they DO NOT provide a phone number . Their on line site will not let you in it keeps saying that Australia is not a valid country . Next stop lawyers and or consumer affairs . How can they believe that they do not need to be contactable

Bad communications in fact no way of communicating except by snail mail

Hamy
Hamy
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Shane
Shaneasked

3 months old....The locking ring kept coming undone so I took it back to the pool shop and they fitted an 'O' ring now the unit when it climbs walls overturns when back on pool floor. I've adjusted magnet and replaced hoses...do I get another unit under warranty or how to fix that issue

3 answers
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

Hi Shane,

Thanks for your inquiry. It seems like your hose weights might not be set up correctly as well as the speed of the cleaner might be too fast. We've seen it do it on that model if the cleaner is running too fast, and it will climb the walls up to the top and suck air then fall to the bottom which like what you've described, our suggestion would be to slow the speed down on the AD Valve. Try it on 1 and see if that fixes the problem: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1OzbMX9LSoNLFkvaHVrNQkpvJGCJxOe2K/view?usp=sharing

If you need further assistance, we can be reached at the live chat located on this page during 9am-5pm Mon to Fri: https://www.zodiac.com.au/contactus

Regards,
Zodiac & Astral Pool/Fluidra Support

Shane
Shane

Thanks for your reply....The weight is in the middle of the first hose as per instructions. I have moved the weight several times but no difference. I have also tried moving the AD slider to 1 and the unit gets caught in the corner so I put it back to the middle (2) the unit climbs the walls but doesn't suck air just flips over. I never had this problem before the 'O' ring was fitted.

Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

Hi Shane,

If that's the case we suggest you reach out to us via LIVE CHAT as you can imagine trying to troubleshoot on this review platform has its restrictions. Our Customer Care agents will be able to provide you with more timely assistance when they have you on the chat. Thank you

We can be reached at the live chat located on this page during 9am-5pm Mon to Fri: https://www.zodiac.com.au/contactus

Regards,
Zodiac & Astral Pool/Fluidra Support

John.l
John.lasked

My creepy crawly is currently not working

Have recently changed sand to filter hoses are all good there is plenty of suction to bottom of unit to pool but unit doesn’t move

Even purchased a pool twister that hasn’t helped

Changed diaphragm 12mths ago as broken

Read some other reviews saying diaphragm worn. How do you know when it’s worn. Does that affect the operation of the creepy crawly?

No answers
dave horn
dave hornasked

I think my suction must be too high as when it sticks at the steps it stops vibrating when i pull it clear it goes if it doesnt when i put my fingers into the open port and restrict the flow it starts again
how do i adjust the suction ?

1 answer
Mac
Mac

Hi Dave,
The skimmer box controls your suction. You can’t adjust the suction on the pool cleaner.
Empty baskets. Backwash pool. Check all hoses. Cut back suction at your skimmer box control. Not easy to answer as it could be a number of things that are causing it.

Get an answer from our members and Zodiac representatives

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)289
Release dateNov 2011

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.