??!
2 photos
Onga Hammerhead

Onga Hammerhead

4.1 from 137 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (11)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (13)
Previous
Next
Tim

TimCentral West, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 20 likes

owned one for 4 years cleans half the pool

published

This is a great no fuss cleaner. Throw it in the pool and let it go to work. Does a better job than hand vacuuming, the oscillating action really picks up the fine dirt. Gets chocked on some leaves and twigs, but rarely needs any cleaning. Biggest problem and the reason I won't buy another one and mine just died. Is that it only really cleans half the pool. The jets force it to the skimmer box end fights to get away. This is probably an issue with jet placement by the pool companies rather than the hammerhead design.

Purchased in December 2016 for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
reviewer

reviewerSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great product for the price

published

Received it very quickly from bestpoolsupplies.com.au
Installed with only a little modification required to fit the threaded adapter into my skimmer box top.
Kept getting stuck in the corners of our small 7x3m rectangular pool, but but following the suggested fixes, I've managed to get it moving fairly randomly.
Key was getting the weights in the right place to allow part of the hose to sink.
Very happy with the product and the supplier.

Purchased in July 2020 at www.bestpoolsupplies.com.au for A$295.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeSmall
See all answers
CGR

CGRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Gets stuck. Supplier unable to help

published

Bought this cleaner six weeks ago. I have a small fibreglass pool and it kept getting stuck in the corners, not moving for as long as the pump is on. I have subsequently purchased the deflector wheel which has not helped - the cleaner still gets stuck.

Contacting the distributor (Pentair) did not help. They came back with the same suggestions that were in the manual. When those ran out they advised me to keep trying, that some fibreglass pools "have problems with suction cleaners."

I have no option but to chuck it and buy something else.

Purchased in June 2020 at Best Pool Supplies for A$340.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeSmall
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Onga Hammerhead compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lesley

LesleyPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Not the best ... sometimes works most of the time it doesn’t

published

Very frustrated with this cleaner ... was working ok , i still had to mess around with it ... now it’s useless ... plate won’t lie flat hardly moving ... I have done everything re troubleshooting ... don’t waste your money .. sick of spending hrs on this with no result and still a dirty pool

Purchased in October 2017 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
See all answers
Annie

AnnieQueensland, Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Was good until the plastic perished in under 3 years.

published

Initially It worked pretty well after we got the weights sorted out but the skirt fell off rather than wore through and then I noticed the darker plastic bits were all perished, discoloured and sticky.
Pentair blamed my “pool water chemistry” so not a warranty issue for them to deal with ...it was in a salt water pool , never over chlorinated and under a pool cover most of the time and I didn’t have this problem with my previous pool cleaner (zodiac) after 10 years let alone 3 years. I expected to get a bit longer out of the cleaner and was disappointed with Pentair. Won’t buy another one!

Purchased in April 2017 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Chis

ChisSouth East Queensland, QLD

Now working well.

published

Product worked well until it began laying on its side, like a few others here have found. I pulled the body apart and found a 2 cent plastic ball supposed to be a flotation and stabilizing device had ruptured and was full of water. Quite useless really! I used a soft pool ball as a replacement, put it back together and " bingo", It's back doing what it its supposed to do. Ridiculous prices for replacement parts ie, New bodies, for $160 plus dollars and you get a pathetic 2 cent plastic ball again. Same problem. So far, so good.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
See all answers
Greathawks

GreathawksAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rubbish product

published

I have had an Onga Hammerhead pool cleaner for a while now and it is useless. It never sits flat and continually gets stuck at various points around the pool. I have a kidney shaped pool. I have tried altering hose lengths, moving the weight around and still nothing. Would not recommend.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Grant

GrantSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Works well - mostly.

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Best Pool Supplies for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Great product

published

I have a half kidney half rectangle concrete tiled pool it is surrounded by a large amount of palm trees also trees .I purchased the onga with deflector to stop it getting stuck after reading reveiws 10 saying great 10 saying junk .I have to say I am happy it picks up everything without fuss .previous cleaner was $99 ebay special heap of junk that I didn't purchase.purchased the onga from pool and spa warehouse with in line leaf catcher and hose for $329 bought deflector separately. Very happy for the price.

Purchased in April 2019 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for A$330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeLarge
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Onga Hammerhead compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rockyah

rockyahSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Good value pool cleaner

published

Bought it to replace my Polaris, which needs its own pump and controller regularly got stuck or just didn't move at all and needed its expensive mesh net cleaned and periodically replaced.
So far in terms of cleaning the Hammerhead been absolutely great and the the 'dust tracks' that left by the Polaris have essentially disappeared. The cons are it sometimes gets stuck in one right hand corner and momentarily sucks air, and also it seems to produce very loud 'hammering' on our pool surface (quartz). Any advice in this regard?

Purchased in October 2019 for A$295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Saltneil

SaltneilSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Doesn't Sit Flat on Floor of Pool

published

This can't sit flat on the pool. Change number of hoses, weight distribution etc. Piece of junk and no help from my previous review. So frustrated. Should pick up leaves and dirt but doesn't. I would also like to thank the makers of this for not taking time to answer what should be a concern to your product. This has been on this website for 2 weeks + and no reply. Pure class.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Brett Syd

Brett Syd

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Garbage, Gets Stuck on Steps, useless

published

Purchased this to replace my Aldi one that died after 4 years. Garbage. Doesnt pick up dirt nor leaves. Doesnt sit flat on pool floor, despite trying every option with weights and house length. Connections to Skinner box all poor, just vibrates off. Gets stuck on stairs and in corner. 4 times price of Aldi Force but useless. Will bin it and try buy the aldi one when it comes on sale.

Purchased at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Essays2

Essays2South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works better than prior barracuda

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Doesn’t move around the pool

published

Seems to stay in the same corner of the pool no matter what. And the back is heavier than the front so the round pad isn’t flat to the ground. All the parts seem sturdy and strong. Just wish it would move around the pool. Not sure how to fix it.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Tiger1982

Tiger1982AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent for the price

published

Replaced my old Zodiac Genie 2 with this a few weeks back and very impressed so far. Has run for 8 hours a day faultless so far and has cleaned the pool very well. I like that it does not have the diaphram that most suction cleaners have which is one less piece to replace and should hopefully allow small gum nuts etc to pass through without affecting the suction. For the price so far with a 3 year warranty I am very glad I stuck to this simple design rather than spending big $ on the fancy new types of cleaners.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Onga Hammerhead compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Hammer head always turns on its side

published

The hammer head worked really well for 6 months or so and now ends up on its side every time and does very little cleaning. Have done all the problem solving perhaps I should return it to the supplier?
Has anyone really solved this problem / yes the head is free / weights and pressure make no difference

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Terrible Qaulity - Now Where?

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
David

DavidMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

You'll not regret it

published

Without doubt the best pool cleaner I've had - Just goes about the job of doing was it was purchased for. Despite leaves, seeds etc it goes about the task with no issues at all - So simple its hard to believe and really makes the old Zodiac G4 totally antiquated ( and super expensive in parts as well )

Read the reviews and agree with others its the best cleaner out there

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Butler

ButlerSydney

Avoid - poor service

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
HONEST JOE

HONEST JOESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 18 likes

Onga Hammerhead

published

Best Pool Cleaner I every had. Love the fact that it is almost silent the most about this cleaner and it has lasted many years. I couldn't find the receipt to verify how long I had it but I am guessing at least 5 years. It is now time for another one and I get the same again. The hose is starting to develop holes at the joints and elsewhere and the base is also worn quite a bit from years of crawling on the pool surface.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Lesley

Lesleyasked

keeps turning over

3 answers
Tim
Tim

Is it climbing the wall first
Might need to add a weight on the hose
And do you have right hose attached to the head it’s the blue on it’s more flexible

Lesley
Lesley

Thank you for your reply.
Yes I have the hose that came with it, it just flips over all the time now, never did it before.

Lesley
Lesley

Not climbing the wall first.

Ken D.

Ken D.asked

Seal keeps coming off was replaced last year do I need to replace again with wear pad?

No answers
Anne A

Anne Aasked

Just bought an Onga Hammerhead. Had one before with no problems but this one doesn't want to work - went for a few minutes and then stopped. There are lots of bubbles coming out of the return lines so could air be getting in?
Does the leader hose just connect straight onto the head? It does not seem to go on tight enough and the head falls off, so that may be where there is a problem with air? What is the solution here.
Appreciate any suggestions, am just so fed up with trying to get cleaners to work, and now this !!

1 answer
Tim
Tim

The darker blue house goes to the head it’s more flexible if it’s loose and starts climbing the walls then yes it will probably air

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)299
Release dateAug 2010
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

Other Suction Pool Cleaners

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.