??!
2 photos
Onga Hammerhead

Onga Hammerhead

4.1 from 130 reviews

See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
86
4 star
14
3 star
6
2 star
9
1 star
15

Grant

GrantSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well - mostly.

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Best Pool Supplies for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Great product

published

I have a half kidney half rectangle concrete tiled pool it is surrounded by a large amount of palm trees also trees .I purchased the onga with deflector to stop it getting stuck after reading reveiws 10 saying great 10 saying junk .I have to say I am happy it picks up everything without fuss .previous cleaner was $99 ebay special heap of junk that I didn't purchase.purchased the onga from pool and spa warehouse with in line leaf catcher and hose for $329 bought deflector separately. Very happy for the price.

Purchased in April 2019 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
rockyah

rockyahSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good value pool cleaner

published

Bought it to replace my Polaris, which needs its own pump and controller regularly got stuck or just didn't move at all and needed its expensive mesh net cleaned and periodically replaced.
So far in terms of cleaning the Hammerhead been absolutely great and the the 'dust tracks' that left by the Polaris have essentially disappeared. The cons are it sometimes gets stuck in one right hand corner and momentarily sucks air, and also it seems to produce very loud 'hammering' on our pool surface (quartz). Any advice in this regard?

Purchased in October 2019 for $295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Saltneil

SaltneilSydney, NSW

Doesn't Sit Flat on Floor of Pool

published

This can't sit flat on the pool. Change number of hoses, weight distribution etc. Piece of junk and no help from my previous review. So frustrated. Should pick up leaves and dirt but doesn't. I would also like to thank the makers of this for not taking time to answer what should be a concern to your product. This has been on this website for 2 weeks + and no reply. Pure class.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Garbage, Gets Stuck on Steps, useless

published

Purchased this to replace my Aldi one that died after 4 years. Garbage. Doesnt pick up dirt nor leaves. Doesnt sit flat on pool floor, despite trying every option with weights and house length. Connections to Skinner box all poor, just vibrates off. Gets stuck on stairs and in corner. 4 times price of Aldi Force but useless. Will bin it and try buy the aldi one when it comes on sale.

Purchased at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Essays2

Essays2South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works better than prior barracuda

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Doesn’t move around the pool

published

Seems to stay in the same corner of the pool no matter what. And the back is heavier than the front so the round pad isn’t flat to the ground. All the parts seem sturdy and strong. Just wish it would move around the pool. Not sure how to fix it.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Tiger1982

Tiger1982AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent for the price

published

Replaced my old Zodiac Genie 2 with this a few weeks back and very impressed so far. Has run for 8 hours a day faultless so far and has cleaned the pool very well. I like that it does not have the diaphram that most suction cleaners have which is one less piece to replace and should hopefully allow small gum nuts etc to pass through without affecting the suction. For the price so far with a 3 year warranty I am very glad I stuck to this simple design rather than spending big $ on the fancy new types of cleaners.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Hammer head always turns on its side

published

The hammer head worked really well for 6 months or so and now ends up on its side every time and does very little cleaning. Have done all the problem solving perhaps I should return it to the supplier?
Has anyone really solved this problem / yes the head is free / weights and pressure make no difference

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Terrible Qaulity - Now Where?

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

David

DavidMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

You'll not regret it

published

Without doubt the best pool cleaner I've had - Just goes about the job of doing was it was purchased for. Despite leaves, seeds etc it goes about the task with no issues at all - So simple its hard to believe and really makes the old Zodiac G4 totally antiquated ( and super expensive in parts as well )

Read the reviews and agree with others its the best cleaner out there

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Butler

ButlerSydney

Avoid - poor service

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

HONEST JOE

HONEST JOESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 18 reviews
  • 1 like

Onga Hammerhead

published

Best Pool Cleaner I every had. Love the fact that it is almost silent the most about this cleaner and it has lasted many years. I couldn't find the receipt to verify how long I had it but I am guessing at least 5 years. It is now time for another one and I get the same again. The hose is starting to develop holes at the joints and elsewhere and the base is also worn quite a bit from years of crawling on the pool surface.

Date PurchasedJan 2013

Go for the Rebal cleaner instead

published

Returned to pool shop and updated to the Rebal model.
They told me that the Hammerhead is a cheap cleaner for the online shops. Rebal is the best cleaner I have had. Doesn't get stuck and covers the entire pool. The hammerhead kept getting stuck and jammed. Looked cheap and Chinese.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Brent G.

Brent G.Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pentair (Onga) Hammerhead Pool Cleaner - is fabulous!!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Joe

JoeSydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best Pool Cleaner I Have Owned

published

Have owned the hammerhead for a couple of years now and it has been by far the best pool cleaner to date. Unlike some other more expensive cleaners we have previously owned, there are minimal moving parts, which means there is very little that can break. We have a slightly curved fiberglass pool and the hammerhead gets around it without problem ( the only exception being the set of steps). It was one of the more budget cleaners when I bought it, but it does exactly what it's meant to, so is very good value. Our pool is approx 8.5m by 3.5m.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

charchie

charchieSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Outstanding performance

published

After owning a full robotic cleaner with not great results we bought a hammerhead
It cleans all the walls and most the stairs
It’s able to pick up gum leaves and nuts
We have loads of very large trees around our pool and nothing has stopped it yet.
It hasn’t got stuck or stopped.
I was a little bit sceptical buy a lower cost cleaner and I am so glad we did.
I can’t recommend this cleaner enough it’s fantastic in all ways and the best price @ $295

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Salty

SaltySydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Really Enjoying the Hammerhead

published

I bought this product in late June 2017 and it has worked really well. I used to have a Zodiac but it stopped with any size nut. That has not been the case with this and I have waited a few months since buying to see how it has handled lots of leaves. It's done really well and only occasionally have had to clear the head because a branch has fallen in but it still goes. I'm really happy with this product.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Oilzzz

OilzzzBrisbane

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Doesn't compete with similar products

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Holgs

HolgsPerth

Works perfectly in silence

published

Replaced our old Kreepy Krauly with a Hammerhead (concrete pool) 3 weeks ago. Works perfectly straight out of the box. Just had to set the suction pressure with the supplied device. Didn't need to add hose weights or make any other adjustments. The first thing I noticed is no more jack hammer noice, just silence. This alone was worth changing from the Kreepy. But also the Kreepy used to get stuck in the corner at the steps several times a day and choke on long leaves and nuts from the palm trees. Not had either of those problems with the Hammerhead, not even once.
Very happy!

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Holgs
Holgs

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Ross P

Ross Pasked

The Hammerhead in my concrete pool regularly comes up the side of the pool and stops above the waterline, sucking air for about 30 secs. until it falls back into the water and does nothing until the air goes through the system and begins to function normally again. Any ideas on how I can fix this ?
Thanks

3 answers
Grant
Grant

This is usually what happens when there's too much suction. Use your flow gauge to check. To reduce the amount of suction, turn the adjustable regulator valve until the suction is within the "Maximum" and "Minimum" range.

Ross P
Ross P

Ok,thanks Grant.I'll adjust that & see if it behaves itself. Im new to this pool maintenance thing so its a bit of a learning curve.

rockyah
rockyah

Hey Ross. Adjusting suction didn't seem to help mine. Instead I've now put one of the provided weights onto the first piece of hose closest to the suction head and it about 95% successful with the out of water issue now very rare. Its a bit of trial and error to find the right spot on the piece of hose.


Geoffas

Geoffasasked

The triangular wedge that oscillates to move my Aldi cleaner has split. The size is 85mm long by 45mm wide by30mm high. Have searched everywhere. Any ideas where I might get a new one?

No answers

Geoffas

Geoffasasked

The triangular wedge that oscillates has split. it is roughly 85mm by 45mm wide by 35mm high.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Onga representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.