??!
1 photo
AAMI Home & Contents Insurance

AAMI Home & Contents Insurance

1.9 from 282 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
37
4 star
15
3 star
17
2 star
19
1 star
194

Lakely

LakelyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Useless helpless

published

I claim the rangehood and cooktop renew from AAMI. They requested technician attend my house to measure the rangehood space twice! When they come to install the items, only one person came, and told me they are not fitted. They cannot do anything. And AAMI's case manager hung up my phone. AAMI is very very unefficient. I already wait two months for this.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers

Brook

BrookSouthwest, VIC

No words to describe how bad AAMI are

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2015
hawki

hawkiSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Tried to charge for insurance after paying already

published

Tried to charge for insurance after paying already. This isnt the first time these thieves have tried this on. Beware. You would think this 2 bit company could tell when people have paid. Take your money, leach some more.

December 1st 2019 Update: Paid for insurance online. They want a double payment. Thieves

Paid for insurance online. They want a double payment. Said they didn't receive. Received an email. I said i need a phone call due to fraud emails. They said bad luck. So they have a stolen $ 1000 for no product. Sham

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Time to LEAVE!!!! after being a loyal customer for many many years!!!!

published

Been with aami for my various properties insurance, they used to be GOOD! now not so much. Have had a $2000 necklace insured with them for 7+ years now, sadly this has been misplaced, i gave them all images of it, but had no receipt as its 10 years old now, they basically were willing to pay for not even half of what its valued, but they were happy to take the extra premium off me to cover for this....Shop else where, im seeing a lot of other bad reviews now for AAMI maybe its changed of ownership, back in the day they were non greedy, cheapest and best around now not so much....now time for me to move my insurance elsewhere and never return!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimNo Claim Made
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers

Anna

AnnaTasmania

AAMI wasting your money paying this insurer

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers

Exsg

ExsgMelbourne

  • 14 reviews

Poor workmanship/trades

published

Lodged a building and contents claim due to storm damage. Trades that are sent have poor workmanship/careless in their work and need to be sent back multiple times to rectify the problem.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months

Extremely unfair, negligent an irresponsible insurer

published

13 Month since accident and they choose to settle with a 1/3 of actual provided as a fair settlement by Lawyer. Yet AAMI won't provide dignity. Quick to advertise, promote irresponsible in a fair settlement.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateOctober 2018

Scott

ScottHobart, TAS

One claim in two decades and it was rejected.

published

Very disappointed. We have been insured with AAMI House and Contents for many many years. First claim ever and it was rejected. No attempt to keep our business, so I'm assuming this is their business model, take your money for years then when someone claims, reject it and send them elsewhere whilst keeping the thousands of dollars paid in premiums. Claim was for carpet damage.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Branko Z.

Branko Z.Sydney, NSW

Disaster unprofessional stuff hopeless company to deal with!!!

published

3 months after we lodge the claim still going they treat us like we are criminals they asked us to provide some documents which we did provide in record time and there no problem at the time with the documents and 2 weeks after that they said they can't accept those documents for X reasons.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers
coyotetk

coyotetkCanberra

  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Took 12 months to approve my claim and with a fight

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

manjit k.

manjit k.Victoria

Disappointed- terrible experience with Aami. Beware of this insurance company.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

isabelle12

isabelle12Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Always re-quote every year

published

Our renewal for home and contents insurance was $1800 this year so I thought I would go online and get some new quotes.
I also went back into the AAMI website to requote with our exact same details only to find the quote was $400 less!
I gave them a call to question this and they said they can start a new policy for me with the new quote. So moral of the story is to not only shop around with other insurers each year but also to shop around with your existing insurer.

Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

MMRY

MMRYGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very poor, Deteriorating services of AAMI

published

I have been with AAMI for for ten years continuously and missed my annual payment in July 2019. They were in rush to cancel my existing policy and trying to sell a policy as a new customer with an additional $200 added to the premium. It was a real disappointing situation considering the fact that I had just one claim for all these 10 years. Feeling ripped off by AAMI.
Prior to that I had a vehicle claim (not my fault) which I removed from AAMI due to very bad handling (did not response) so I had to talk to the other person's insurer myself and arranged to fix my vehicle. Prominent deteriorating services. Just interested in getting money. I am now going to remove all other policies I have with AAMI. I was very unlucky to be with you AAMI!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

mrs g

mrs gSydney, NSW

home and contents claim

published

Multiple policies with AAMI for over 20 years no claims made.My claims manager based in NSW Chris Hardy was extremely courteous,fair, responsive,prompt,intelligent,proactive,warm,delightful,down to earth,empathetic,understanding and a refreshing pleasure to deal with at all times, in our interactions of progress on my claim. A great asset to his new role within AAMI. Appreciate all your work. Mrs.G. 22.8.19

Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Scam artists stay away from AAMI

published

I’m currently in dispute with them.
I got hit in the back while I was on a complete stop. Their client had paid his premium and on the same day of the accident he paid his excess.
Now being the scammers that they are they want to give me a second hand bumper bar that has already been smashed before.
My car is 9 yo, I got it brand new and it’s got all new original honda parts. I expect nothing less. They have taken their money and now they don’t want to pay. STAY AWAY FROM AAMI!

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Jezza17

Jezza17South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Good Coverage But Getting Expensive

published

Have been with AAMI for many years and have had a few claims. Good service each time I have claimed.
Unfortunately looking elsewhere as cost is rising way too much in comparison to competitors.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateApril 2015
See all answers

Worst ever customer service!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers

KEV KOALA

KEV KOALASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

No complaints from me

published

Back in 2007 there was a fire in the kitchen of my rental house. You don't know how good your insurance company is until you make a claim. I could not fault AAMI, they went above & beyond my expectations. For me it was a fast, smooth, hassle free experience. Not only did they repair the kitchen, they also replaced the carpets & curtains in half the house due to smoke damage. Their premium is about $300 more per year than other insurers though. Ya get what ya pay for, I guess... & hope.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimFire
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateMay 2007
See all answers

Could be easier

published

Revised the original review as AAMI finally finalized the claim with a reasonable resolution. The process could have been a bit easier but overall, appreciate their assistance in finalizing the claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers

Dharma

DharmaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

No Stars For This Company

published

This company is appauling! Daylight robbery. I have held insurance with these guys for around 4-5 years and not a single claim and yet every year my insurance policy goes up and up and up. This year the increase is A THIRD again on the total premium. Disgusting considering I am a no claim client!!!!

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

vincenzo scacchia

vincenzo scacchiaasked

am i covered for smoke alarm [ battery operated ] and fusion for bore pump and motor policy # hpao79265370 thanks

No answers

raymond turner

raymond turnerasked

please you let me know my house renew date

No answers

Dora T

Dora Tasked

My son threw a toy accidentally cracking the tv screen.. am I insured for this accidental damage ?

1 answer
Gayan
Gayan

if you have the accidental cover option enabled then yes. However, compare the excess for content, if it is greater than the cost of the tv then there is really no point. so the amount refunded will be TV cost - Excess for content.


Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.