??!
1 photo
AAMI Home & Contents Insurance

AAMI Home & Contents Insurance

1.9 from 274 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
37
4 star
15
3 star
17
2 star
19
1 star
186

Branko Z.

Branko Z.Sydney, NSW

Disaster unprofessional stuff hopeless company to deal with!!!

published

3 months after we lodge the claim still going they treat us like we are criminals they asked us to provide some documents which we did provide in record time and there no problem at the time with the documents and 2 weeks after that they said they can't accept those documents for X reasons.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

coyotetk

coyotetkCanberra

  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Took 12 months to approve my claim and with a fight

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
manjit k.

manjit k.Victoria

Disappointed- terrible experience with Aami. Beware of this insurance company.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers
isabelle12

isabelle12Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Always re-quote every year

published

Our renewal for home and contents insurance was $1800 this year so I thought I would go online and get some new quotes.
I also went back into the AAMI website to requote with our exact same details only to find the quote was $400 less!
I gave them a call to question this and they said they can start a new policy for me with the new quote. So moral of the story is to not only shop around with other insurers each year but also to shop around with your existing insurer.

Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

MMRY

MMRYGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very poor, Deteriorating services of AAMI

published

I have been with AAMI for for ten years continuously and missed my annual payment in July 2019. They were in rush to cancel my existing policy and trying to sell a policy as a new customer with an additional $200 added to the premium. It was a real disappointing situation considering the fact that I had just one claim for all these 10 years. Feeling ripped off by AAMI.
Prior to that I had a vehicle claim (not my fault) which I removed from AAMI due to very bad handling (did not response) so I had to talk to the other person's insurer myself and arranged to fix my vehicle. Prominent deteriorating services. Just interested in getting money. I am now going to remove all other policies I have with AAMI. I was very unlucky to be with you AAMI!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

mrs g

mrs gSydney, NSW

home and contents claim

published

Multiple policies with AAMI for over 20 years no claims made.My claims manager based in NSW Chris Hardy was extremely courteous,fair, responsive,prompt,intelligent,proactive,warm,delightful,down to earth,empathetic,understanding and a refreshing pleasure to deal with at all times, in our interactions of progress on my claim. A great asset to his new role within AAMI. Appreciate all your work. Mrs.G. 22.8.19

Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Scam artists stay away from AAMI

published

I’m currently in dispute with them.
I got hit in the back while I was on a complete stop. Their client had paid his premium and on the same day of the accident he paid his excess.
Now being the scammers that they are they want to give me a second hand bumper bar that has already been smashed before.
My car is 9 yo, I got it brand new and it’s got all new original honda parts. I expect nothing less. They have taken their money and now they don’t want to pay. STAY AWAY FROM AAMI!

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo

Jezza17

Jezza17South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good Coverage But Getting Expensive

published

Have been with AAMI for many years and have had a few claims. Good service each time I have claimed.
Unfortunately looking elsewhere as cost is rising way too much in comparison to competitors.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateApril 2015
See all answers

Worst ever customer service!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
KEV KOALA

KEV KOALASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

No complaints from me

published

Back in 2007 there was a fire in the kitchen of my rental house. You don't know how good your insurance company is until you make a claim. I could not fault AAMI, they went above & beyond my expectations. For me it was a fast, smooth, hassle free experience. Not only did they repair the kitchen, they also replaced the carpets & curtains in half the house due to smoke damage. Their premium is about $300 more per year than other insurers though. Ya get what ya pay for, I guess... & hope.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimFire
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateMay 2007
See all answers

Could be easier

published

Revised the original review as AAMI finally finalized the claim with a reasonable resolution. The process could have been a bit easier but overall, appreciate their assistance in finalizing the claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers

Dharma

DharmaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

No Stars For This Company

published

This company is appauling! Daylight robbery. I have held insurance with these guys for around 4-5 years and not a single claim and yet every year my insurance policy goes up and up and up. This year the increase is A THIRD again on the total premium. Disgusting considering I am a no claim client!!!!

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo

CYL

CYLSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

UNLUCKY your with AAMI

published

Stay away from this company, all lovely UNTIL you need to claim.
Small water damage claim under $1000 yet treated like a criminal, if it isn’t stressful enough having your things damaged then you have to deal with them.

Claim MadeYes

JWeedon

JWeedonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

BEWARE!

published

BEWARE! I have been with AAMI for car & home insurance for many years only just realised that despite insuring the same home they took it upon themselves to take off cover for ducted heating and cooling systems. When I brought this to their attention they agreed to reinstate cover for these systems but insisted on increasing premium even tho they had been on original insurance. Very underhand.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Joe Divita

Joe DivitaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 18 likes

After reading aami poor service Il be going elsewhere

published

After
Reading theses reviews not going to bother with aami.you pay all that money all for nothing and they give you a hard time. No thanks aami .
You’re not fooling me

Claim MadeNo

Slow Non-caring Arrogant Pathetic And More

published

Claim in for hail and storm damage for four months repairs needed for garage roof rang home repairs a number of times to enquire when work would be started standard reply received ‘will ring you back” never happened ‘ contacted aami head office threaten to take the matter to the australian financial complaints authority within days work was started and completed within three hours by one person. Excess had to be paid on the claim no matter if my car was exposed to the weather with other items of value and having no storage for an extended time.

Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months

House and Content Documents

published

Internet down for days needed documents for loan re insurance over house, apparently unable to print and fax a copy, offered to obtain via the app, need security code via email, obviously cant get when email down, no alternative provided, just as ypy appreciate the internet is down. Not quite sure how this is the customers fault nor problem and unsure why resolution via fax of the documents is apparently available, need a back up when internet is down!!! Very disappointed in putting the blame on the internet then the customer rather than problem solving.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo

Leigh O.

Leigh O.Perth, WA

Amazing service and went above and beyond.

published

We have been insured with AAMI and recently experienced a burst pipe. AAMI were really wonderful in arranging all repairs and keeping in touch and even paying out for electricity used by fans which were used to dry out the walls and carpets etc. All repairs have been carried out now and we would highly recommend AAMI, following our experience.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateApril 2019
See all answers

Ihatescoopon

Ihatescoopon

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely pathetic and slow

published

My home was damaged by hail storm and the ceiling collapsed as a result. 4 months later my ceiling, carpets, etc still have not been repaired or restored. AAMI outsources to home repairs who are the most pathetic group. Whenever you call them they say things take time - yeah 4 months and we are still living in a rubble - seriously I will never insure with AAMI home and contents again. In fact I will be lodging a complaint with Financial Services Ombudsman. This insurer should be closed down permanently.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

L Thomas

L ThomasCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Happy a Very Quick settlement

published

Made a claim on line , sent required information as requested, police report etc , received call to clarify couple of things in online claim , informed claim accepted , all done (2 days) well done .

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

vincenzo scacchia

vincenzo scacchiaasked

am i covered for smoke alarm [ battery operated ] and fusion for bore pump and motor policy # hpao79265370 thanks

No answers

raymond turner

raymond turnerasked

please you let me know my house renew date

No answers

Dora T

Dora Tasked

My son threw a toy accidentally cracking the tv screen.. am I insured for this accidental damage ?

1 answer
Gayan
Gayan

if you have the accidental cover option enabled then yes. However, compare the excess for content, if it is greater than the cost of the tv then there is really no point. so the amount refunded will be TV cost - Excess for content.


Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

Details

CategoryHome and Contents Insurance
Contact Number 13 22 44
24-Hour Phone Contact No
Online Live Chat No
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Car, Health, Home and Contents, Income and Life

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.