??!
1 photo
AAMI Home & Contents Insurance

AAMI Home & Contents Insurance

1.8 from 339 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.8 (77)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (68)
  • Customer Service
    1.9 (79)
  • Claim Resolution Time3+ months (37), 2-4 weeks (7), 1-2 weeks (5), 1-2 months (5) and <1 week (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (31) · No (27)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Jack

JackSydney, NSW

very unethical company do every possible tricks to avoid paying you

published

I was insured with AAMI for the past 10 years and when the big storm hit Sydney in early Feb 2020 I claimed water damage on my living room but they rejected my claim coz they said I have solar on 2nd floor

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Gary

Gary

  • 2 reviews

Premiums Raised by 20% and charged to end cover that had lapsed

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Coco

Coco

  • 25 reviews
  • 15 likes

Used to be OK but now won't even paint/repair a water damaged wall.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how AAMI Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chriscaroline

ChriscarolineMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

I wish I could give AAMI zero stars

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
comraich

comraich

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

house insurance

published

I have been with AAMI for decades and previously have been happy but this is ridiculous. We had a freak hail storm in Melbourne in January, 2020. It took months of phone calls and assessors to come. In the end, i gave up in July and accepted that they were never going to be able to finally complete all the repairs as they outlined but at least the broken roof tiles, skylights, solar pool heating and electrics had been repaired. Big rain storm last month and my roof is still leaking. Right under where they repaired the tiles and replaced the solar...and now they have assessed that this leaking is due to wear and tear of the roof. Really?? After the trademen have been exactly in this area of the roof making repairs?

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
comraich
comraich
Andrea R.

Andrea R.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

9 months later....

published

Storm damage in January 2020. They said they wouldn’t repair house and offered us a cash settlement of $50000. Got 2 builders to quote. 1 was $160k the other $180k. Still fighting 9 months later

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Amii are criminals

published

Can't be bothered writing the whole story as I've been emailing amii for 8 weeks trying to get them back to fix the ceiling they pulled out and never returned to undertake works.
In short water leaked from my upstairs bathroom through the ceiling and walls to the down stairs bathroom. Their "make safe" was a fan heater... i told them they had to take down the cieling to check water hadn't damaged the power to the fan/heater/light and it has been 2 months of fighting with no ceiling or power in the bathroom since.... its criminal but banks and insurance companies is Australia have no consequences.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Taking our money for nothing

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Treated like criminals

published

Opened a claim for some damaged property in May, they constantly shifted the goal post, asking for extra information after already providing it multiple times. Asked extremely personal and irrelevant questions and basicallytreated us like criminals. Terribly rude staff and they don't give 2 boots about the customer. We went through 2 personal interviews, asked for bank statements, itemized phone call records, Facebook messages etc was honestly an invasion of privacy.

Lucky you're not with aami.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only and Home & Contents
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how AAMI Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stephen

StephenEyre Peninsula, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified customer

Treated us like criminals, asked for private and personal information.

published

Declined our claim, asked for private personal information (Facebook messages, bank statements, phone and message records, interviews, etc') unrelated to the claim... I am a firefighter, I shouldn't be treated like a criminal.
Months of our time wasted, avoid this garbage company, save yourself time and effort.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
SAS

SASAustralian Capital Territory

Disappointing claiming process and outcomes

published

Claimed for a home insurance and for a small issue, they took over 5 months to come to a final decision with a very disappointing outcomes. Unless you claim, you don't get the real picture of their service and catches! good bye AMMI

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Alex

AlexGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst company ever (would sue them)

published

Basically a builder was supposed to come last week to fix the roof that was damaged after a storm occurred on January 2020, but yesterday a call came through and the builder quitted because he thought it was too hard to fix, this was needed to be fixed for a house extension that was completed in December 2019.

Never ever choose AAMI, its the worst company and I would recommend getting your favorite builder instead of this stupid and dumb insurance company. It has been 5-6 months since I have waited for this to be fixed, but because of the lack of support, just don't go for this company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
See all answers
Jenine

Jenine

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unlucky your with AAMI

published

AAMI will do anything to deny a claim or get out of paying a fair and reasonable claim. After being insured for 20 years and suffering in a hailstorm they have taken almost 2 years to get us close to a claim with now 2 trips to the ombudsman - the first time we won - so they are now trying another way to get out of the claim and I fully expect if we win that they will go another route. They have delayed sending emails, not responded to requests for answers, ignored expert reports (even ones that THEY commissioned), requested other experts just ‘copy and paste’ advice without seeing our property. I am completely disgusted with AAMI and consider myself ‘unlucky to be with AAMI’

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Ree

ReeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Quick and easy

published

Selling a house is already so stressful. One thing for sure that choosing AAMI was one of the best decisions I made for my home insurance. The signing up and cancellation process was an easy breezy experience.
And thanks to phone consultant Elina for sorting it out so quickly for me and your friendly, knowledgeable and helpful demeanour has got me sold for car insurance as well.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Si

Si

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dodgy policies and details

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how AAMI Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jaqueline A.

Jaqueline A.

  • 2 reviews

Just a number in their books

published

I've been with them over 26years,even longer off and on. I on ly had one claim for hearing aids. Now my policy is up 50bucks a month. And Th claim was 2 years ago. How can they be 400 to 500 dollars dearer than others? Never going bac to them. Next year taking my car ins off too. With that I tried 6 different times for the same car, I got 6 different prices from them. Almost criminal

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Shane H.

Shane H.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Claims sorted out quickly

published

I have put in 2 claims over the last 3 years.
One claim was lightning damage to solar panels and inverter system which was finalised in 2 weeks.
Second claim was storm damage to fencing which was settled within a week.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Waste of money

published

Grandmother had insurance forever never claimed had major accident in house left lots blood on carpet in hall and bedroom AAMI said won't cover. All that money spent for nothing.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Kristy

KristyPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Smooth claiming process

published

We have been with AAMI for home and contents insurance for years now. In that time we have unfortunately had 2 claims and both times we were looked after in a timely Manner and the claim was settled promptly. I would highly recommend them for value and service so really surprised to hear others bad experience.

First claim was flooding so damaged home which was settled within 2 weeks.
Second claim was larger with storm damage, lost fence and some contents items. We did have to follow up a few times (due to the building company being slow) but still went through smoothly in around a month from initial contact.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Sean

SeanSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Hopeless, don’t use a Suncorp company

published

Claim still underway after 5 months. Our roof ripped off in storm. Assessor did not even look at roof before starting to settle claim! AAMI don’t have the skills or staff to deal with storms( they said this) so they shouldn’t be allowed to offer home insurance. Spent literally days on the phone trying to get sorted. Nightmare. Policy not with the paper it’s written on.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 17

Questions & Answers

Smithy

Smithyasked

My mobile phone has been damaged by water can I claim on my policy for this pol. No. Hpa036353612??

1 answer
Smithy
Smithy

does my home and contents policy cover for badly damaged mobile phone

stan p.

stan p.asked

How can I download my home and contents insurance policy?

No answers
Winter7

Winter7asked

I'm wondering if it is "normal" to redact a report so that the client cannot read the estimate for repairs...

2 answers
JULIA HARVEY
JULIA HARVEY

I’ve only seen an incomplete list of repairs. No $, or work methods proposed. Needless to say, it’s still ongoing after 3 1/2 mths. I would ask for full disclosure.

Winter7
Winter7

I've asked and so far no response. They've listed unrelated cracks from wear and tear on the ceiling as part of the claim, which is very dishonest.

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

Details

CategoryHome and Contents Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Car, Health, Home and Contents, Income and Life

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.