??!
1 photo
AAMI Home & Contents Insurance

AAMI Home & Contents Insurance

1.9 from 289 reviews

Reviews

(38)
(15)
(17)
(19)
(200)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (36)
  • Transparency
    2.2 (28)
  • Customer Service
    2.2 (39)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (32)
    • Home Only (7)
    • Contents Only (3)


Not Happy

Not HappyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Screwed for being a Loyal Customer

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Melissa

Melissa

  • 2 reviews

Excellent

published

AAMI were fantastic when making a claim on our contents policy after the recent bushfires.

They were quick to assess, approve and pay all in 1 to 2 weeks once the claim was submitted.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimFire
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
Brad

BradPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Avoidance of Payment

published

I have 3 home building insurance policies and car insurance policy with landlord policies attached to 2 of them yet they are avoiding honouring my insurance as torn carpet is not impact apparently it must be magic then..

Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Clive

CliveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fraud at its very best

published

Unlucky due to a disputed claim over 3 months to have our home roof totally repaired instead of half of it.
The end outcome over 3 months of this disputed claim eventually came to an agreed settlement with acknowledgement they were at fault for not evaluating our claim correctly in the first place.
So unlucky to be with AAMI !!!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers

brett H.

brett H.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Terrible: won’t support customers

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2018

Kylie C.

Kylie C.South East Queensland, QLD

Caused damage during claim process and won’t fix it

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes

TC26

TC26South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Absolute shambles

published

What a nightmare. I sold a property which was part of a two property strata title. What should’ve been a simple change of bank accounts ended up taking 8 phone calls

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

John W

John WCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 14 reviews

High Cost of Monthly Premiums

published

As I do each year I tested the water for home and contents insurance. I am currently insured with RACV. AAMI were much cheaper on an annual basis but as I pay by the month I was surprised to see that the difference in monthly premium was a mere 5 cents. This was because RACV charged an effective interest rate of 4.5% to pay by the month while AAMI was charging 16.6%. As a consequence I stayed with RACV. AAMI wanted an extra 2 months worth of premiums to pay by the month. I do not know how they can justify that

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Lakely

LakelyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Useless helpless

published

I claim the rangehood and cooktop renew from AAMI. They requested technician attend my house to measure the rangehood space twice! When they come to install the items, only one person came, and told me they are not fitted. They cannot do anything. And AAMI's case manager hung up my phone. AAMI is very very unefficient. I already wait two months for this.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
Brook

BrookSouthwest, VIC

No words to describe how bad AAMI are

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2015

hawki

hawkiSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Tried to charge for insurance after paying already

published

Tried to charge for insurance after paying already. This isnt the first time these thieves have tried this on. Beware. You would think this 2 bit company could tell when people have paid. Take your money, leach some more.

December 1st 2019 Update: Paid for insurance online. They want a double payment. Thieves

Paid for insurance online. They want a double payment. Said they didn't receive. Received an email. I said i need a phone call due to fraud emails. They said bad luck. So they have a stolen $ 1000 for no product. Sham

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

jayde marshall

jayde marshallPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Time to LEAVE!!!! after being a loyal customer for many many years!!!!

published

Been with aami for my various properties insurance, they used to be GOOD! now not so much. Have had a $2000 necklace insured with them for 7+ years now, sadly this has been misplaced, i gave them all images of it, but had no receipt as its 10 years old now, they basically were willing to pay for not even half of what its valued, but they were happy to take the extra premium off me to cover for this....Shop else where, im seeing a lot of other bad reviews now for AAMI maybe its changed of ownership, back in the day they were non greedy, cheapest and best around now not so much....now time for me to move my insurance elsewhere and never return!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimNo Claim Made
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers

Anna

AnnaTasmania

AAMI wasting your money paying this insurer

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers

Exsg

ExsgMelbourne

  • 14 reviews

Poor workmanship/trades

published

Lodged a building and contents claim due to storm damage. Trades that are sent have poor workmanship/careless in their work and need to be sent back multiple times to rectify the problem.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months

Extremely unfair, negligent an irresponsible insurer

published

13 Month since accident and they choose to settle with a 1/3 of actual provided as a fair settlement by Lawyer. Yet AAMI won't provide dignity. Quick to advertise, promote irresponsible in a fair settlement.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateOctober 2018
Scott

ScottHobart, TAS

One claim in two decades and it was rejected.

published

Very disappointed. We have been insured with AAMI House and Contents for many many years. First claim ever and it was rejected. No attempt to keep our business, so I'm assuming this is their business model, take your money for years then when someone claims, reject it and send them elsewhere whilst keeping the thousands of dollars paid in premiums. Claim was for carpet damage.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Branko Z.

Branko Z.Sydney, NSW

Disaster unprofessional stuff hopeless company to deal with!!!

published

3 months after we lodge the claim still going they treat us like we are criminals they asked us to provide some documents which we did provide in record time and there no problem at the time with the documents and 2 weeks after that they said they can't accept those documents for X reasons.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

coyotetk

coyotetkCanberra

  • 24 reviews

Took 12 months to approve my claim and with a fight

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

manjit k.

manjit k.Victoria

Disappointed- terrible experience with Aami. Beware of this insurance company.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

isabelle12

isabelle12Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Always re-quote every year

published

Our renewal for home and contents insurance was $1800 this year so I thought I would go online and get some new quotes.
I also went back into the AAMI website to requote with our exact same details only to find the quote was $400 less!
I gave them a call to question this and they said they can start a new policy for me with the new quote. So moral of the story is to not only shop around with other insurers each year but also to shop around with your existing insurer.

Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

vincenzo scacchia

vincenzo scacchiaasked

am i covered for smoke alarm [ battery operated ] and fusion for bore pump and motor policy # hpao79265370 thanks

2 answers

PROBABLY

After over 5 months waiting for reply, have since sent another e mail, 3 weeks ago, as yet no reply


raymond turner

raymond turnerasked

please you let me know my house renew date

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

No idea sorry


Dora T

Dora Tasked

My son threw a toy accidentally cracking the tv screen.. am I insured for this accidental damage ?

1 answer
Gayan
Gayan

if you have the accidental cover option enabled then yes. However, compare the excess for content, if it is greater than the cost of the tv then there is really no point. so the amount refunded will be TV cost - Excess for content.


Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.