??!
1 photo
AHM (Australian Health Management)

AHM (Australian Health Management)

2.1 from 231 reviews

Reviews

(44)
(15)
(5)
(19)
(148)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (28)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (24)
  • Customer Service
    2.3 (27)
Dave

DaveSydney

  • 21 reviews

Useless and even more useless.

published

We pay almost 300 a month and really only use it for dental and eye ware.The amount you get back is quite dismal and what you payout per year is simply a joke.The time will come when all the people you screwed over with your yearly price increases and poor service is coming.Its true that you guys have really made a name for yourselves even my GP said leave them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Tamara

TamaraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

JUNK POLICIES - Purchase at your own risk

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Brookie

BrookieHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Extremely let down and disappointed

published

I was promised excellent cover. And every single time I have ever needed it. Nothing is ever covered.
Now I am faced with a do it or die operation. Lone behold... not covered yet again. But wait.... try sell me a dearer policy that will cover me better.... (hello I will be dead without this op).. So in turn you’re just trying to rip more money from me.
I pay you lot thousands and thousands of dollars every year to protect my family and it is not worth the paper it is written on.
Extremely disappointed and I feel extremely let down by AHM.
I will never EVER recommend this company .. but I will recommend that everyone steers clear of this health insurance company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Health Insurance

Find out how AHM (Australian Health Management) compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified customer

The title of "Flexi" for their policies is ironic

published

Loyalty goes only one way for AHM - and it isn't to the customers' benefit. They operate by the ethos "A lie by omission isn't a lie". Please avoid. Changed my cover without telling me. Plus the rebates are crap. Every single option of theirs is less worthwhile than putting the money aside every month.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Absolute frauds

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers

AHM Private Health

published

Policy changed twice and was not notified via text or phone to advise, they also did not tell me about a claim form I needed to lodge 2 weeks prior to my surgery
They will then review the form to decide if the condition was pre-existing or not??? Really AHM you are the ones that force changed my policy not the other way around
Now I need to re-schedule the surgery and all related matters to when they decide that the condition was pre-existing? Really AHM you have all these details listed from my sign up call over 12 months ago

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Gretel01

Gretel01South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Complete Waste of Money

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
See all answers
Janet Hadow

Janet HadowVictoria

  • 2 reviews

An expensive product.

published

Unfortunately is this day and age you have to have health insurance and I think not one company is any better than the other. AHM allows me to do all my transactions on HICAPS.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
casey

casey

  • 6 reviews

Best Health insurer

published

I have signed up for the super extras cover for a family of 4. Not once have i been disappointed, everything has been covered as stated in my product guide. I forgot my card once and had to pay the full fee at my chiropractor appointment, i put a claim through online and less then 24 hours later I had been reimbursed. I have piece of mind knowing my family are covered for the unexpected. Thank you for not charging an arm and leg for health insurance and keeping me and my young family going.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Health Insurance

Find out how AHM (Australian Health Management) compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cody

CodyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Shonkiest health insurance policy

published

First up the basic product doesn't cover anything, absolute nothing as everything is excluded which renders the policy useless. They will promise discount, but will never apply them. Has happened to us 3 times. Steer well clear of them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Can't claim on benefits, expensive AHM private insurance

published

With AHM 3 years++. Paid more to the AHM than the benefits I'll get. It's hard to claim back especially if the providers have no HICAPS machine. Although there are HICAPS services, some providers that provide service such as orthotics, health and management, etc are still unable to swipe member card for the payment which ends up with out of pocket money first. In my case, I ended up UNABLE to claim back the out of pocket money although I've been asking the AHM customer hotline first. AHM service is full of hypes. In my final opinion, why must you stay with AHM private insurance when you can't claim the benefits??

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
AbbeyR

AbbeyRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great service & benefits

published

AHM is our first private health insurer and so far I'm really happy with them. We chose the extras cover and it's been so beneficial to us. I discovered them through compare the market and their prices were great for what we were after. The staff have been friendly and onto it whenever I've ever needed anything. Would definitely recommend .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Sarah W.

Sarah W.South East Queensland, QLD

Theft of a health fund

published

My account has been cancelled but they keep taking the direct debit!! I spoke to someone on the phone weeks ago about this, listen to your phone recordings... Give me my money back!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Dez

DezGoldfields, WA

Great

published

Have been with the since 2017 but have only used my extras cover this month for dental. So easy saving me hundreds of dollars. Swipe yr card then pay the remainder. Low fortnightly payments for my whole family. Would definitely recommend!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Mishy

MishySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

A Long time client

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Health Insurance

Find out how AHM (Australian Health Management) compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ScottyB

ScottyB

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

AHM = Another Healthcare Mafia

published

I switched to AHM as my HCF plan was beginning to get expensive for a large family. Straight away cards were late in being issued, then payments for basic dental started getting refused. I barely use this health fund and their cover ceases. I would strongly advise against using AHM or any of the Medibank associates - they are only in it for the money. Changed back to HCF.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily Extension
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Suz

SuzGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Would be zero for price and cover if possible

published
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Lillie M.

Lillie M.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very poor.

published

Very poor service.

I had a very disappointing call with their customer service today.

That staff don’t care, the information they give is never accurate and it’s not worth the money to be quite honest.

Don’t waste your time with them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
David S.

David S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Polite but no empathy. Incomplete service and coverage.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Francesca

Francesca

  • 4 reviews

Only Health Insurance Company to use

published

I have been with AHM since 2014 and they have always given me exactly what I wanted for the most competitive price. The customer service is of the highest quality and any questions get answered within the first point of contact, all reimbursements happen quickly and my cover suites all my needs. My family and friends are all coverted to AHM as you can't get any better.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageAmbulance Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Joan Fidzewicz

Joan Fidzewiczasked

My membership number is 39362015. Joan P Fidzewicz Am I covered for Eye Lazer Surgery?

No answers
Japay B.

Japay B.asked

I went to hospital few weeks ago for which I have been mailed invoice recently from the hospital. I have insurance with AHM and I m not really sure where to visit to complete the payment as I cannot find any AHM center around western Australia in google. Please help me to sort out like where i should approach apart from online. And how can i apply for medical card? Thank you

No answers
Praew P.

Praew P.asked

What to do when you’ve been asked for an audit? I cant find most of my receipts, does this mean I have to pay them back? Just because I’ve been with them for almost 3 years and never made a claim. Had recent claims, but now they requested for my receipts.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.