??!
1 photo
Westfund Health Insurance

Westfund Health Insurance

4.6 from 206 reviews

Reviews

(167)
(19)
(3)
(8)
(9)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (46)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (37)
  • Customer Service
    4.5 (48)


My comfort Zone

published

I have been with Westfund since 1968, beginning in Lithgow. I have never felt the need for change, the best system when it comes to the "gap payments" and the many extras on offer.
Never once in this time have we had any difficulty with claim lodgment.
Great value for the freedom we receive.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
See all answers

Melika G.

Melika G.

  • 3 reviews

Love Westfund so far!

published

I joined Westfund in June for their Top Hospital cover and added the extras later into it. I haven't used the hospital yet and only used it for my glasses which was straight forward. I had called them a few times asking questions about my cover, every time the wait was minimum and they answered my questions in details and I was very happy. I still yet to need the hospital and I hope I don't get disappointed by that either.
My only recommendation at this point is, they should have a flexible date for their direct payment. At the moment is 1st of every month, I asked if I can have 5th to 5th and they said their system only supports 1st to 1st.

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance
Russell

RussellSouth East Queensland, QLD

2020 premium increase

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance
Rayles

RaylesKIAMA

Best health cover!

published

My family have been with Westfund for over 30 years and we have never had any problems with coverage or refunds.
The staff are always friendly and efficient AND they know the product.
Highly recommended *****

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Rayles, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback, we always enjoy hearing from our long-term members. It's great to hear that you are satisfied with your cover and the service you are receiving.


K V.

K V.

  • 2 reviews

Westfund promised to do things but nothing happens.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
4 comments
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance
K V.
K V.
K V.
K V.

Ah I was told the issue of my membership being changed from fortnightly to half yearly would be investigated but then I got the invoice. So can I trust $629.98 won't be taken out, even those on the 23/1 I won't be a Westfund member? Ah no.


Great service and must need

published

Westfund are so easy to deal with. Give them a call and they can help and answer any questions your have. They are easy to make a claim. We have been with westfund for over 9 years. I would recommend them to any of my friends and family

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Angela B., we appreciate your ongoing loyalty to Westfund and are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the service you are receiving. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback.


Unimaton

UnimatonSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great value compared to competitors.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Unimation, thank you for writing this detailed review. We are proud that you have chosen us as your health insurer and always appreciate hearing honest feedback from our members - we'll make sure to pass your thoughts on.


GJA

GJACentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Exceptional

published

Exceptional value, exceptional service, exceptional products, exceptional care! I am so pleased that I swapped over to Westfund. I have felt like a valued customer from day one. I have been with the fund for several years now and cannot believe however efficient and professional they are. For the first time ever I feel like I am getting real value from a health fund. Highly recommended AAA+++

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi GJA, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your wonderful feedback. It's great to hear that you are happy with your switch to Westfund. Thank you for writing this detailed review.

Cill

CillHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Expertise and Rapport

published

When I phoned for help and information I was treated as intelligent and valued with immediate action taken to address my particular needs, delivered with kindness and a total working knowledge of the organisation. The rest of the questions under are not related to my very long term membership and approach made to staff just today only.

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
3 comments
Cill
Cill

Please note the staff member was Cheri.

Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Cill, we are delighted to hear that you feel like a valued member and that you are happy with the service you are receiving from our team. Thank you for your ongoing support to Westfund and for writing this positive review.

Cill
Cill

It's easy to be nice when you were.

David

DavidSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Tried other Funds but so Happy with Westfund

published

Yes my Policy is very well suited to my needs.
My claims were dealt with extremely promptly and finalised within a couple of days. Now into my second year. I have numerous phone conversations with Westfund and every time they have answered my questions fully.

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi David, thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with your policy and the service you are receiving. We appreciate your kind words.


Gavin Muller

Gavin MullerSouth West, QLD

Piece of mind with westfund health insurance

published

Have been a member for 19 years and always found them to be very efficient and very quick with there claiming process. There policys are great value for money!!! and how do you put a price on your health. You get what you pay for. I would recommend to anyone out there looking for great value and excellent service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Gavin Muller, it is always a pleasure to hear from our long-term members, we appreciate your ongoing loyalty to Westfund. Thank you for writing this wonderful review - we'll make sure to pass your feedback on.


Doooooob

Doooooob

  • 11 reviews

Pathetic response to my query

published

I am looking to switch the health insurance and based on the reviews and the plans available, Westfund got me interested.

I couldn't find the detail of the sub-limit items on General Dental. So I made an enquiry via email. The response I got was so vague, it helped me to made up my mind to take my business elsewhere.

Ideally they should've provided me the sub-limit on the common dental items in that plan, which would have given me some indication on what benefit I would get.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Doooooob, we always aim to provide the most accurate information as possible, particularly when discussing specific item limits. We're sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience.


LizzyJ

LizzyJMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent bang for buck!

published

Located in AUSTRALIA!! Never rushed on the phone when i call. We're in SA, and never have any issues with find preferred suppliers. Happy to support an Aussie group .. not for profit either

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi LizzyJ, thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. We are so glad to hear that you are happy with your cover and the service you are receiving. We appreciate the time you have taken to leave this positive review.


Kym B.

Kym B.South East Queensland, QLD

Been a member for a number of years. Competing prices, awesome service.

published

Great coverage
Excellent service
Compete with prices
I have been a member for a number of years and never anything but happy with the service and products.
Contact is welcome by phone, things dont have to be submitted online .

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Kym B., we always enjoy hearing from our members and are pleased to hear that you are happy with your cover and the service you are receiving. Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review.

Elsie

ElsieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic Fund, Staff and Service

published

Since being recommended to and joining Westfund, we have had fantastic service and assistance from the staff at Westfund. We initially saved $1,600 in the first year compared with our old fund, with even better benefits and have been with Westfund for at least four years. Last year my husband had a fall in a country town, landing in a country regional hospital with a spiral fracture of his right femur, which necessitated two weeks stay there prior to him being transferred back home by air. One of the best helpful benefits enabled me to pay for my motel accommodation while we were in the region unexpectedly.

Love the vitamin benefit as well, and was reminded by the staff today to claim it, as I had forgotten that it was there.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Elsie, we are so happy to hear you find value and peace of mind in your cover and especially during the time your husband had his fall last year. Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback - we will make sure to pass your kind words on.

Vee

VeeCairns

  • 8 reviews

Worst customer service

published

Their customer service is non existent, they care about collecting premiums not their customers. When it comes to claiming members benefits they give customers the run around. Then when you question it they become very defensive and rude. Im very disappointed and disgusted by the treatment Ive received from this health fund after having been with them for years and paid a lot of hard earned money. The time that i need to claim they start hiccuping, its not right!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance
Vee
Vee

Westfund are Wonderful

published

Westfund offer quality care and their over the phone service is excellent. The phone is answered quickly. Have been with them 20 years, wouldn't change. They provide payment for claims promptly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Christine M., it is always a pleasure to hear from our long-term members. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the service you are receiving and appreciate the time you have taken to leave this positive review.

Christine M.
Christine M.

You and all at Westfund are most welcome. My comments about Westfund are well deserved.


Chris

ChrisIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Happy and satisfied member!

published

We changed to Westfund a couple of years ago and never looked back, we are always amazed at how easy and friendly they are to deal with, even on two occasions advising us of additional entitlements we could claim for! Compared to our previous fund Westfund is so user friendly and offer good value for premium cover, I never hesitate to recommend Westfund to family and friends.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Chris, we are always happy to hear that our members have experienced great service from our team and find value form their cover. Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review.


LaL

LaLCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

I am so relieved I changed providers

published

I recently changed to Westfund after being a loyal Medibank Private member for 30+ years. I had blindly accepted premium increases during this period however after seeing the increase in April ‘19, I was motivated to undertake a provider comparison. I subsequently changed to Westfund and based on my interactions with Westfund from the initial contact to now, my decision has been vindicated. Interestingly I have not heard a word from MP which speaks volumes.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Lal, It is great to hear you are happy with your switch to Westfund. Thank you for taking the time to leave this detailed review.


Spanna

SpannaIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great service

published

As usual I received the very best service. I have been a member for many years now and I would be very surprised if I did not get the best service

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Spanna, thank you for taking the time to leave this great review. We appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased to hear you are happy with the service you are receiving.


Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Michael

Michaelasked

Does any of your policies cover future surgery for cataracts ? Thank you

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

Suggest you get a friend to ring and ask for details

Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to ask this question. Our Gold Hospital and Silver Plus Assure Hospital policies have coverage for cataract surgery as an in-patient in hospital for members who have served their waiting periods.


Wayne Kiernan

Wayne Kiernanasked

I am considering changing to Westfund. Do they have a preferred optical provider in Redcliffe Queensland or with 50km

2 answers
Julie Taylor
Julie Taylor

I am in NSW and go to a Specsaver shop and Westfund give me a refund of approx $250 ( sometimes I don’t spend that as with most places they cover the eye test through Medibank and Specsavers claim and I don’t have to do a thing) I know there is a Westfund at Maroochydore Qld. Just give them a call. Good luck with it all

Wayne Kiernan
Wayne Kiernan

Thanks.This has been helpful.


Wayne Kiernan

Wayne Kiernanasked

Do Westfund have a preferred optical provider in Redcliffe or within 25 km

1 answer
Westfund Health Insurance
Julie T.Westfund Health Insurance

Hi Wayne, thanks for your question. We do not currently have an optical provider in Redcliffe, however our Provider of Choice Network is constantly growing. For the most updated look of our providers head to https://www.westfund.com.au/health-services/provider-of-choice/


Get an answer from our members and Westfund Health Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.