??!
1 photo
Teachers Health Fund

Teachers Health Fund

2.2 from 84 reviews

Health Insurance Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of health insurance would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

2.2

84 reviews
5
(17)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(15)
1
(44)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (25)
  • Transparency
    2.4 (19)
  • Customer Service
    2.0 (28)
Previous
Next

FUND NO MORE

published

Well as from 8 June, assume many satisfied TH fund members will need to change funds due to new healthscope agreements..NOT!! I have been with this fund many long years!! More worrying is trying to find immediate hospital cover for elderly parents.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
mia
mia

Thanks..have sent email via address above

First rate service!

published

I joined Teacher's Health after leaving another fund and I was expecting a massive hassle; the consultant I dealt with was able to get me the same cover for less with no drama, and was welcoming, helpful, and professional. I used a service already, and it was really easy to lodge the claim online through the app. I couldn't rate the whole experience with them higher!

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
threewisemancc

threewisemanccCentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews

They've really gone downhill

published

The communication from Teachers Health has become patchwork - they say one thing, do another, one person doesn't take on a query from start to finish, so you'll get different versions of what will happen. You *never* get an apology. We are about to take our PHI elsewhere because after 10 years with them, this year I have been jumping through hoops.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
threewisemancc
threewisemancc

Not surprisingly, nothing came of this, either... no one from Teachers Health replied to my email. All spin, no substance.

Health Insurance

Find out how Teachers Health Fund compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah-Jane J.

Sarah-Jane J.

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

After 4.5 years, I finally left.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
2 comments
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Sarah-Jane J.
Sarah-Jane J.
Kirsten

KirstenVictoria

Absolutely love my health insurance

published

Have been a member of teacher health for a couple years now, me and my family really love it, I’ve been told by a few companies that I have one of the best coverages when it comes to out of pocket cost.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Marylou S.

Marylou S.Sydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Make the change today - you won’t look back!

published

After 20 yrs with HCF I swapped to Teachers Health 12 yrs ago. I’ve found the fund to be great value. Membership team always helpful. Dental & Eyecare are both fantastic. Make the change today.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Richard

RichardSydney, NSW

Same level of health cover for much less money

published

After many years with Bupa I chose to move to Teachers Health Fund. While I already had a very good deal at Bupa for top Hospital and Health Cover, Teachers Health were able to provide the same level of cover and save me $1,209 per annum in premium.

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Hustler73

Hustler73Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Super Necessary

published

I have been a member of Teachers for 8 years and while the speed of service isn't always to my liking they do what they can to get a favourable outcome for their members. We have by far and away claimed more than we pay and with all the uncertainty going on at the moment it's nice to know I am with a fund that isn't making decisions based on what maximises returns for their shareholders, but rather what is best for their ENTIRE member base. Not just the individuals who kick up a stink about what they feel is an injustice.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Kristen M

Kristen MGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Easy transfer, great value and service

published

I recently transferred from Medibank to Teachers Health Fund because the coverage and value was far more superior. Switching funds was a smooth and hassle-free process, which the friendly THF staff assisted with. I have had no issues making claims and am glad I made the switch. Thank you THF!

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Health Insurance

Find out how Teachers Health Fund compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JacquieA

JacquieASydney, NSW

Teachers Health Fund is the best

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Sugarkane

SugarkaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Responsive and friendly

published

Easy to set up the policy and to claim.
Things were explained to me in simple terms and the policy was tailored for my needs.
It's great to be part of a not-for-profit, member owned, community based fund.

Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund

Health fund staff sound like robot, do not understand a logic

published

have tried to put my policy on hold till the Covid -19 situation will ease and go out to chiro or dentist, but staff over the phone (hanna) could not understand this and asking to do telephone conference with my chiro or dentist. she just follow the script they have given her. the only way to suspend the premium is to have lost of income, how about not been able to go out because of the social distance restriction?rota I am suffering from respiratory illness and expose to any virus could kill me, but she can,t understand it at all. how ungreathfull this health fund is

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily Extension
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
MRG
MRG
Adrian T.

Adrian T.South Australia

I feel like making a mental health claim after dealing with Teachers Health

published

I have been a member for many years and make very few claims. When I do make a claim my experience is the same. Hicaps does not work. Phone app does not work and on it goes. Really! Paying top dollar for a very poor service

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Laz

LazMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Denied claim

published

I was informed by Teachers Health Fund my claim was denied & I had to go back to the doctor because the provider number on the form was hand written instead of being stamped. In the middle of a covid- 19 pandemic I have to go back to the doctor, stop him from seeing patients that really need to see him & expose myself in an unhealthy environment all for the sake of a stamp.
Really??

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Laz
Laz

Hi Ben,
I have contacted THF & thanks to Simon he has processed my claim without me having to go back to the doctor.

ron_simkins

ron_simkins

  • 6 reviews

Reasonable value but service just about non existent.

published

Because private health is in what is known as a death spiral becoming increasingly unattainable due to excessive price increases, people are leaving in droves. Still, apart from Mildura Health, Teachers looked to be still the best value in the market. At Just under $4000 for no excess full Hospital Gold Cover its hard to believe this is our annual premium.

The sales process was simple, but claiming was arduous, tiresome and extremely difficult.

Dealing with recalcitrant staff that didn't know the rules, massive wait times on the phone and no action until Ombudsman got involved.

My advice - look elsewhere.

Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Health Insurance

Find out how Teachers Health Fund compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ninaalltalk

NinaalltalkGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Poor customer service and complaints system

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
1 comment
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Joe W

Joe WJupiter Creek

  • 17 reviews

Poor service, sales answers immediately "claims" over 21 minutes and callback went to voice mail

published

Held on for 21 Minutes then asked for a callback. Callback somehow went to voicemail rang again and mistakenly pressed sales they answered within 10 seconds now back in callback queue.
Tried the website looking for a dentistry claim cannot view unpaid but received claims. They have sent us an email re hospital linked to dentistry claim saying they need the dental surgeon's invoice. We cannot see that communication (email ) in their correspondence tab. No Chat facility... Really this organisation needs to start using technology appropriately.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
3 comments
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Joe W
Joe W
Joe W
Joe W
Dave

Dave

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

long phone call times

published

Teachers H F in the past has always provided excellent customer service and reasonable value for money.
However recently it takes forever to talk to someone on the phone...no matter what time of day you call.
I have used the option of a call back when nearing the front of the queue, and no one calls back.
Really not good enough.

Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
1 comment
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Donna E

Donna ESydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Cannot communicate with them!

published

It takes 30 minutes to half an hour to speak to someone. Today the receptionist hung up because it was a bad line. Don’t bother emailing them. They don’t answer them either.

Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Teresa

TeresaSouth East Queensland, QLD

What a pain to claim

published

The website makes it very difficult to claim, which is very frustrating. It should be an easy process as the collection of my money is an easy process!! You would think that preventative skin cancer treatments would be covered, but no. A metvix red light treatment is not covered.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund
Teresa
Teresa

Thanks Ben. Finally managed to claim through the app.

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Catherine

Catherineasked

Hi I am a teacher and looking at transferring from Medibank Private where I have been for over 30 years to THF, however there seems to be so many negative comments in the reviews. This is not real reassuring when you are about the change cover from a fund you have been in for many years.

Regards
Catherine

No answers
wenno

wennoasked

Has anyone switched from Bupa (Advantage Hospital/Silver extras) to the Teachers Health Fund? I've tried previously to compare the two but it's a very complicated task. Bupa is costing me a packet. I'm a teacher, so I could do this move.

3 answers
monaromonaro
monaromonaro

I am unable to offer anything about Bupa, sorry. I have compared one or two other funds with the intention of moving to another fund, but owing to having built up loyalty benefits for years' of service, with higher benefits paid to me if the need arose, I would lose these higher benefits if I was to leave Teachers Health.

Teachers Health Fund
Teachers H.Teachers Health Fund

Hi there,

We can help compare your current health product with an equivalent Teachers Health product. We will provide you with a personalised, side-by-side comparison of the cost and benefits from each product. Just fill in this form on our website: https://www.teachershealth.com.au/compare

Thanks -THF

wenno
wenno

Much appreciated both respondents here. Thank you!

Get an answer from our members and Teachers Health Fund representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.