?
? !

Reviews

2.3

40 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Aldi stuff

Aldi stuff

  • 2 reviews

Best rice cooker ever own

published

Best rice cooker and steam I have ever own stream the Vegs excellent it worth Stars five and I would buy again can't fault this kitchen toys and clean up nice

Purchased in May 2019 at ALDI for $18.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
William

WilliamCentral Queensland, QLD

Malfunction

published

Bought over a month ago and now became malfunctioning which was sometimes power out while cooking and not cook well. The Circuit board malfunctioning and heard an electric buzzing sound.

Purchased in March 2021 at ALDI for $48.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ken

KenSydney, NSW

It work very good as same my old Tiger cooker

published

I bought this multifunction rice cooker at Aldi early 2021 with $59!? quite cheap compare with my old Tiger cooker ($330), so we use this and keep Tiger as spare. Turn out this Aldi works very good and we have nothing complaints so far, it also can cook crispy rice. The only thing is we have to turn off after the rice cooked if we don’t want get rice burn from the bottom overnight.

Purchased in January 2021 for $58.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rice Cookers

Find out how ALDI Rice Cookers compares to other Rice Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hard Driver

Hard DriverGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Died second use

published

This rice cooker is absolute, total and utter rubbish! I wish it were possible to give it zero stars! The stupid lump of junk died the second time we used it, leaving a horrible burnt electrical smell in the house! Utterly worthless piece of junk!

Purchased at ALDI.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex

Alex

  • 2 reviews

The best of the best

published

Had Ours for well over 3 years with consistently daily use. Never had an issue. Was our second one. Worked really well even after the hinges on the lid broke off after becoming brittle. So decided to replace with another brand. Will really like to have our old lumina back as it was tops.

Purchased in March 2016 at ALDI.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst rice cooker I’ve had

published

Probably the worst piece of kitchen equipment I’ve ever owned in my entire life. The water spills over every single time and It never cooked evenly. Dried, burnt, soaking wet, a combination of all ? I’ve had it all. C’mon just $20 , I just chucked it to the bin.

Purchased in August 2019 at ALDI for $20.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MaggiMay

MaggiMayPeel, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Better than expected

published

After reading a few reviews on Aldi's Rice Cooker, I decided to try it for myself anyway. It's a bargain-priced unit - but it does a great job.
I noticed that several people mentioned the spatter that comes from the lid and makes a mess on the bench .. .. so to save this happening to me, I laid a light teatowel over the top, just in case.
I'm glad I did as it saved a little mess - but there wasn't much spatter anyway!
We ended up with beautifully cooked brown rice and on another occasion lovely quinoa, which I cooked in vegetable stock to add a light flavour.
For under $20, I'm extremely happy and would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good, inexpensive Rice Cooker.

Purchased in July 2019 at ALDI for $19.99.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
angela A.

angela A.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Unfortunately got a faulty one

published

I purchased one recently and after 4 uses it stopped working... ALDI refunded however no more stock available. Shame because the results were good the four times I used it..

Purchased in August 2019 for $20.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frances

FrancesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Aldi Perfect (as usual)

published

Love, love, love it ! Just like all the products (kitchen gadgets inter alia) that I have bought from Aldi. It cooks my rice perfectly whilst I get on with other chores…………what else could I want from a rice cooker.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rice Cookers

Find out how ALDI Rice Cookers compares to other Rice Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Helena

HelenaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect rice

published

Brought my rice cooker this morning from Aldi Made the rice, let it sit in the warmer for five minutes, it was fluffy and not sticky.
Would recommend this product as l can see it will make perfect rice every time.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Will

WillSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

This rice cooker overheated and melted

published

After a couple of weeks use, this product overheated and the plastic parts melted on it. After a bit of waiting around in the store, Aldi gave me a full refund. I have bought other Aldi electrical products; Bauhn Hi-fi and headphones, Sterling microwave, Crofton blender and although competitively priced they are rather low quality. There is an old saying; ‘buy cheap, buy twice’. I now avoid impulse buying of Aldi electrical products.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
1shot

1shotSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

One of the lucky few

published

Had this rice cooker for many years and used at least 1-2 times per week. Did not turn on one day and the bottom element had melted just as described in other reviews. The front panel had started to melt slightly. Will miss it for sure. The non stick coating got a bit ordinary over time but put it down to normal wear and use.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pao_79

Pao_79AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very disappointed with the quality LUMINA rice cooker

published

I had to returned mine today. After trying this rice cooker so many times, I just gave up.
Reasons: 1. Water coming through the hole in the lid, (my kitchen bench was a mess I thought maybe is the brand but no). 2. It tended to over cook rice at the bottom. 3. Gave off very strange smell. 4. I couldn't cook a nice rice it was always sticky. I've contacted ALDI customer service (they were great) which they transfered my call to the supplier (what a waste of my time) they confirmed it cannot be fixed and they don't have parts, please return to the store.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not good!

published

Used for the first time today and rice was bunt brown on the bottom. The cooker also gave off a strange smell whilst it was on, not sure why as it had been washed prior to use. This is my second Lumina rice cooker and the other one was better but still tended to over cook rice at the bottom. You know what they say "buy cheap, buy twice..."! Well I won't be buying this one again.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hepburn

Hepburn

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Beware

published

Like others here this unit's element fused and caused the aluminium surrounding to melt into the plastic base almost causing a fire. I am in the process of contacting the ACCC recommending they look into a recall for this product. Just glad no harm came to my family or property.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rice Cookers

Find out how ALDI Rice Cookers compares to other Rice Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dennis Dunstan

Dennis DunstanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not quite perfect

published

Gave our good old reliable Sunveam to our daughters at Uni and went for the Aldi Lumina thinking it looked good.. WRONG
Burns rice every time and very hard to clean the "non stick" surface..
Learnt my lesson .. Cheap is good but Good is not Cheap !!!!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cathy

CathyCanberra 2600, ACT

Disappointing

published

I have used my Lumina rice cooker from Aldi several times and each time the rice is burnt on the bottom. I havent kept my receipt and gather Aldi won't take my word for it being a dud product so will most likely throw in bin and buy a Breville!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very disappointed on Aldi Brand

published

I had old one which was working good for a few years thought of buying Aldi brand. Bought new one from Aldi, threw old one into bin. Every time we used new one it burns rice at the botttom and sometime it does not move from cook to warm. Then I realized old was gold.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Do not buy Lumina Rice Cooker

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
vBro

vBroGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 23 likes

Just Learn How to Cook Rice

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Doug Newman

Doug Newmanasked

Ambiano Digital Rice Cooker (Jul 2020, Feb 2021)

The manual does not list typical cooking times for rice - interested in knowing how long the cooker would take to cook 2 cups of brown rice, Also interested in how much faster it is to cook using fast cook mode. A table of rice types by cooking times would be very helpful

2 answers
Doug Newman
Doug Newman

Thanks, I have and will experiment. Basically each time I use it for a new function nor amount I need to time it - just unnecessarily irritating to have to do that myself.

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

But the cooking times are in the manual

Maria Claudia C.

Maria Claudia C.asked

Rice Cookers

Model number arc 509
Ambiano digital 10 cup
How much water for each cup of water? And each type of rice... I can't find this information anywhere?
Thank you

1 answer
Alex
Alex

For each cup of rice 1 cup of water

Des L

Des Lasked

Rice Cookers

Recently purchased the Aldi Ambiano 10 cup Rice cooker. The steamed rice was perfect, took 45 minutes to cook. I also attempted to cook a cake but was very dissatisfied with the result as the cake was uncooked after 50 minutes. Had to recook in the oven for another 25 minutes but had difficulty in transferring the cake from the cooking pot into my baking tray. Has anyone had success in cooking a cake? Your comments would be appreciated. Thank you.

1 answer
MaggiMay
MaggiMay

Sorry , it's a Rice Cooker, isn't it?? I would never consider using this to bake a cake. Good luck!

See all ALDI Rice Cookers questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Rice Cookers

Details

Compare all 5 ALDI Rice Cookers
CategoryRice CookersRice CookersRice CookersRice Cookers
Special Buy Dates
  • 25 Jul 2020
  • 13 Feb 2021
  • 6 Jun 2020
  • 31 Jul 2008
  • 5 Aug 2010
  • 27 Jan 2011
  • 11 Aug 2011
  • 18 Jan 2012
  • 8 Aug 2012
  • 31 Jul 2013
  • 30 Jul 2014
  • 15 Jan 2014
  • 4 Feb 2015
  • 27 Jan 2016
  • 18 Jan 2017
  • 7 Feb 2018
  • 30 Jan 2019
  • 31 Jul 2019
  • 18 Jan 2020
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJuly 2020June 2020Jan 2014
Discontinuation dateFeb 2021June 2020Jan 2020
Replaced byALDI Lumina 5 Cup Rice Cooker (Jun 2020)
Compare all 5 ALDI Rice Cookers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.