??!
2 photos
Ardo Calypso Electric Breastpump

Ardo Calypso Electric Breastpump

4.3 from 27 reviews

See the Best Electric Breast Pumps in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
2

SDB

SDBSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic breast pump

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

As this is your third breast feeding journey, SDB, we really appreciate you taking the time to do a review. Thankyou.


belp78

belp78Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product.

published

Very good product much better than a hand held pump. Only hard part is trying to hold both pumps/ bottles and up the suction etc. ended up needing the Bra that holds the bottles.

Purchased in July 2019 at Nursing Angel Online store for $295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

An ok breast pump

published

This pump is ok. It is very quiet and quite easy to use. However, I have now bought a different brand and almost doubled my output in less time. I was definitely using the correct size flange. I think the suction is not great, with the ardo calypso I need to have it on the highest vacuum to get an alright flow of milk. I also don’t like how difficult it is to screw on the lids of the bottle that the tube connects to. Definitely not worth the $300 I paid for it and now will be getting no use.

Purchased in June 2019 for $300.00.

Portability
Suction
Comfort
1 comment
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo
Ashleigh J.

Ashleigh J.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worth it

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Nursing Angel Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

Amana T.

Amana T.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So glad I bought this!

published

Was struggling with breast feeding being painful and so I bought this pump. It’s gentle and painless and moderately quiet. Really easy to use and clean. It comes with three sizes but I do wish the fourth size the 22mm size breast shell came in the original pack and you didn’t have to buy them separately.

Purchased in June 2019 at Nursing Angel for $295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

Parshant

ParshantPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Cannot get more worse than this.

published

Bought Ardo Calypso Double Plus Pump for my partner from Nursing Angel.Pump never worked from Day 1.Shocked to see how Nursing Angel is surviving in the market with Poor Customer Service even going to extent of violating Australian Consumer Laws.They neither pick up phone nor answer emails.Got in touch with Ardo who supplied new membrane and lip valve.Still pump does not works.Pump checked by ABA volunteer who said pump is faulty.I am seriously think of getting refund to avoid any further embarassment.I am struck up with this faulty pump for 1 month after spending $320 on it.Definitely one of the nightmare in my life.

Purchased in April 2019 for $320.00.

7 comments
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo
Parshant
Parshant
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

Prina K.

Prina K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Easy to use

published

Pump is easy to use. Quick in pumping. Easy to clean and store the milk.But you have to assemble the bottle properly if not pumping does not work. Instructions for how to use should be proper.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

Evgeny

EvgenySydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Warranty is a joke.

published

The pump was working OK until it broke down. Despite stated 12 months warranty for electrical pump, AC adaptor is only 3 months.
It is a core function of electrical pump to work from AC, how can it be considered an accessory. Moreover the device itself has time limit so it will be out of warranty before 12 months too.
You are likely to get a better quality with noname devise from Asia.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Evgeny
Evgeny

Update: I was contacted by ARDO and was offered an apology for mishandled process and received replacement pump. The warranty apparently is now upgraded and the vendor's replacement process simplified. Issue now solved.

Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo
Jenny

JennyQueensland

Great Product. Quiet and easy to use.

published

The pump is very quiet and easy to use. This is definitely a product to consider if you are wanting to use it at work or in other similar situations. It intentionally does not have any pumping programs which I initially found a little disappointing, but I have found that with use the simple operation works well for me. The pump is strong enough and the bottle are nicely shaped for holding.

The product is easy to clean, though I did end up breaking the small white valves. This is very easy to do and means the pump will not function. The team at Ardo were very helpful though and assisted me to identify the problem and provided me with additional valves, great service!!

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

Thanks Jenny - we appreciate your feedback. It's great to be able to assist!!

Pump is weak with very little suction

published

The pump is faulty it now has a red light and doesnt have any suction.
Before the red light was on it didnt have any or very little suction.
We borrowed a ardo pump before we bought it so we knew how to use it and we got milk out but with this pump not a drop came out.
The pump arrived yesterday at 3pm 1st use was 4.30/5 then called up nursing angle straight away who we bought it from they wore extremely unhelpful and said we cant return it.

5 comments
Ardo
Rachel J.Ardo

We're sorry to hear that you are having difficulties with your breastpump. You are most welcome to contact Ardo Australia directly to discuss the pump's operation. The number is 1300 GO ARDO (1300 46 2736).

Rob selmes
Rob selmes

We contracted ardo Australia and the next day a replacement pump arrived and worked great no faults and the service was fantastic so my advice is dont buy from nursing angel buy from ardo Australia
Nursing angel refused to help

Ardo
Rachel J.Ardo

Lorena

LorenaVictoria

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for moms

published

Easy to use feature. Got recommended by Australian breastfeeding association line when I called for help with mastitis. It’s great for mom’s who looking to build put the milk supply to store in the fridge for baby. The bottle is easy clean and sanitise. The bottle is perfect size to hold by hand.

Bought it online from maternityangel.com.au

Product made in Switzerland


Tyler

TylerRUKENVALE

  • 4 reviews

This pump is great - it is true it doesn't have the let-down ...

published

Claire S

Claire SSydney

Highly recommend!!

published

Without a doubt the Calypso pump has contributed to the fact that I am currently still breast feeding my 16 month old. In the early days you really need a pump that is easy to use/clean whilst still being effective and comfortable, this pump delivers all this. Bonus is that it is quite so never disturbed my little one whilst he slept on me whilst I expressed. Thank you Ardo!! I would definitely use this pump again and highly recommend it to anyone who is in the market for a user friendly pump.


Excellent pumps!!!

published

We tried Nadella swing and didn't have much luck. Great products. Have to thank breastfeeding association and the Westmead Hospital for putting us onto this brand. Wish we had know for our first child. Cleaning is easy. Used for 4 months to help build supply. If we ever had another child we certainly would used these products.

Jess M

Jess MPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Satisfied with Purchase

published
1 comment
Ardo
Rachel J.Ardo

Jess thanks for your review - we're just adding that service kits are available via our on line site. It's a great idea to keep one handy and renew as required. $15 at ardo.com.au

  • Verified purchase

Great pump, exceptional service

published

The pump is excellent, efficient, comfortable, easy to use and clean and surprisingly quiet. The best thing for me though has been the exceptional customer service I received following a few hiccups with my pump along the track. Instant responses and extremely helpful and quick action and for this reason I would certainly recommend using Ardo over another brand.


Saloni

SaloniMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Absolutely wonderful product to help all mummas

published

Holly

HollyBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

A quality product, highly recommend to anyone wanting to pump

published

The Ardo pump is a quality product and should be the first choice of pump for any Mum! Whilst this brand isn't well known in Australia yet, it's been around a long time in the UK and once you try it, you won't regret it. My hospital lactation consultant recommended it and then after further research, I realised it was endorsed by the Australian Breastfeeding Association. It's simple to use, easy to clean and really effective for pumping. I would highly recommend this product.


Jenn M.

Jenn M.Five Dock

Best pump ever!

published

The Calypso pump has made my last 18 months of breastfeeding and pumping very comfortable and easy. In the early months I used it after feeds to increase my supply and as time has gone by I use it to express when I am at work or going out. The easy adjusting of both the pressure and cycles helps me adjust the pump to get the most milk while staying comfortable all of the time. After using a couple of different pumps in the early days, both my husband and I found the cleaning of the Ardo kit so much easier than other kits. I have had no issues with back flow into my tubing which did occur with other sets I used. I would use this pump over and over again! I have recommended it to anyone who is looking for one.

1 comment
Ardo
Rachel J.Ardo

Thank you Jenn, we appreciate the positive feedback!


jt02

jt02australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Awesome machine!

published
1 comment
Ardo
Rachel J.Ardo

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review!


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

PLS

PLSasked

Bought the calypso only 3 months ago and suddenly broke down today with red light popping up? None of my accessories are broken or torn.. and I noted it seems to have been lacking the same level of efficiency as before in the last few days . I have been using it it abt 6-8 times a day and been fine till past few days and today totally gone!
Pls advise.
It is stil under warranty and I would like to request a replacement ASAP for such a faulty device as I have engorgement issues and can’t afford not to pump!

2 answers
Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

Hi PLS. Please call customer support on 1300 ARDO or 07 3862 2000 and speak with Katie or Julie. More than happy to help!!!

Ardo
Ardo AustraliaArdo

A support pump was available for PLS on that day, and the item has now been replaced as a warranty claim. Ardo Australia is always ready and able to assist!


Get an answer from our members and Ardo representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Breast Pumps
TypeElectric
Price (RRP)229.95

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.