??!
6 photos
Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

4.7 from 195 reviews

Reviews

4.7

195 reviews
5
(170)
4
(11)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (31)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (31)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (32)
  • Portability
    4.3 (31)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (31)
  • Suction
    4.7 (31)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (31)
  • Feeding Methods
Previous
Next
York

YorkGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A good breast bump

published

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
Ayeza S.

Ayeza S.Illawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Best pump!

published

Hospital grade and closed system
Has built in battery
Excellent suction
Has kept my supply great
Double pumping makes it so much quicker
Can review how many hours you’ve already pumped from day 1.
Many options for pumping cycle and suction preferences.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
amandusc

amanduscSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best breast pump !

published

Was recommended the spectra 1 by another mum. Love how I can transport it around the house without being bound to a PowerPoint, Ease of use , that is is hospital grade so I can sell it after I'm done with it, and how much Milk I can get out of it. Great price esp compared to other well known brands like medela. It was just as good as the Medela I used in the hospital. Love it and highly recommend it to other mums.

Purchased in November 2019 at Spectra Baby for A$303.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Polly D.

Polly D.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The best breast pump

published

I brought the S1 to the hospital with me when I had my second baby and it was even better than the hospital grade pumps there! The shields are really comfortable and I love how customisable the suction and frequency is.
I had a different brand with my first baby and the Spectra is just so much better. I get heaps of milk comfortably and easily, and the parts are easy to clean.
And the shipping and support is SO FAST! I ordered new breast shields to get a better fit and they came the next day. I cannot recommend Spectra highly enough. It is less expensive than other brands and yet the product is far superior.
Also, my toddler loves playing with the light on it! Haha!

Purchased in February 2018 at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
AmyJ

AmyJGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Efficient double pump

published

Fantastic efficient pump. Relatively quiet compared to others. Can be portable unlike the S2 and allows for double pumping. Only negative is that pump itself is a little bulky, but makes up for this by the superior pumping. Lots of different settings ensures comfort.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Ally

AllyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent breast pump

published

Really happy with this purchase of this breast pump, I like the fact it is portable once charged without use of cords which is the reason why I purchased. Excellent suction and easy to use. The light on the machine comes in handy

Purchased in December 2019 at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
Ruby R.

Ruby R.Dubbo

  • 5 reviews

Excellent!

published

Excellent range of settings, fantastic quality pump and the battery life is fantastic. I pump while at work and can easily get 2 weeks (if not longer) without having to charge the battery. It's comfortable and for a hospital grade pump is not hard to carry around. The pump itself is very quiet, the only thing I wish was that Spectra sold more flange size options directly (I use the pumpables parts and they work great).

Purchased in November 2018 at Spectra Baby for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
S A K

S A KGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Easy pumping and can be used single or double

published

Started off using as a double pump but didn’t have enough hands. Now use as a single with one tube connected and a Haakaa to collect the runoff from the other crease.
Chose the S1 to port around without having it plugged in but it’s so bulky that I mostly keep it plugged into the wall. Probably could’ve gotten the S2, which has to be plugged into mains.
Use it with avent bottles interchangeably.
Took a while to find what settings worked for me but now I do massage mode on 75 and low (2-3) for a couple minutes, drop the frequency to 54 and 4 strength for about 5-10 mins and finish on 75 and 4 for a couple minutes

Purchased in May 2019 at Spectra Baby for A$303.20.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance

Worst customer service

published
1 comment
Karla
Karla

I also published reviews on their website and they do not publish them.

Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Corinne H.

Corinne H.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The BEST pump

published

Very comfortable to use with many different settings to suit everyone.
I used my Spectra S1 up to 10 times per day for the first 10 weeks after my baby was born. The portability and battery life is second to none. I pumped more milk with this pump than any other pump I have used.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Christie F.

Christie F.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best.

published

As a mum who struggled to breast feed my first i done so much research into the best breast pumps and this one always came out on top without a doubt. I unfortunately learnt i couldn't breast feed and passed it along and the 2nd lady had absolutely zero issues and loved it as much as i did

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
Marie

MarieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Boost my milk supply

published

I have low milk supply for the first 5-8 weeks PP but this has dramatically increased it. I nearly gave up breastfeeding my bub but this helped me a lot and gave me all the courage to continue on. I am really glad I've jumped on the Spectra bandwagon. Definitely worth the money. Still using it and I am on my 6th month.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
ForestGirl

ForestGirl

  • 5 reviews

Good pump

published

I use the pump 2-3 times per day to help boost my milk supply.

So far it's been good, the adjustable suction is useful.

The battery life is excellent and would definitely recommend people to get the battery version.

The thing I'm not too keen on is the bottles it came with. I ended up buying an adapter so I could use a range of bottles. I was also disappointed that the smallest spectra flange was too big so I had to buy a compatible different brand.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$379.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Bel

BelSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pump is ok when it works....don’t expect it to last more than one baby though

published

I was happy with the pump for first baby, used it for several months.

However, when I got the pump out for baby #2 2.5years later to find it is not suctioning properly, I tried new parts but still no good. Contacted customer service and they said $80/$100 to repair - they wouldn’t even provide any troubleshooting advice when asked.

I can’t justify spending an extra $80/100 to use the pump again when it was an expensive purchase to begin with.

Disappointed as I bought this pump as an investment for multiple babies, but to find it only lasted one.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Néam K.

Néam K.

  • 2 reviews

Number 1 breast pump

published

Extremely comfortable
Extremely effective
Extremely quiet
Love the light when you need it
Easy to travel with as I have done so a hundred times. I’ve used it for almost 2 years for two of my babies and I exclusively pump.

Purchased in July 2016 at Spectra Baby for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amanda

AmandaCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic pump

published

Used to exclusively express for 14 months. Found the pump to be fantastic. It wasn't too loud, had a night light, and was portable. The pump is a little big, but beint hospital grade - it is needed.

Purchased for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Amanda99

Amanda99South East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

An excellent product for pumping

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Mel F.

Mel F.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Best investment for breastfeeding

published

I purchased this pump based on reviews and it did not disappoint!

It has multiple settings to adjust to your comfort level, you can start off in massage mode and switch to expressing mode, you can start and stay on low suction and increase it as you need to, you can adjust the frequency as well.

I used this pump almost exclusively after birth every 3 hours, now I use it only if I need to as I exclusively breastfeed.

I really like that I can take this around the house without cords, it’s really light and I can get several pumping sessions out of a full charge.

This breast pump helped me to get as much milk as possible comfortably and the design of the product has minimal to nil wastage of milk compared to other pumps I’ve used.

Purchased in June 2019 at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Crishi

CrishiSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best Investment!!

published

I use this pump multiple times daily and love how efficient it is. I used the Medela pump at the hospital and it took me 40 minutes to express the same amount the S1 gets out in 20 minutes. Highly recommended well worth every dollar!

Purchased in March 2019 at Spectra Baby for A$379.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Court719

Court719South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Amazing! Second time buyer

published

I love my S1! I previously had an S2 with my second born, but needed something portable with my third and my S1 ticked all the boxes! Shipping is always super quick and the team are great to deal with!

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

K.lummie

K.lummieasked

Help my spectra pump has turned on but now none of the buttons will work to switch between modes, increase suction or even turn it off.

No answers
Sam

Samasked

I was pumping and all of a sudden the Spectra turns off! I tried to turn it back on and the screen turns in but there’s no suction or pumping sounds from the pump. After a few seconds, it shuts off.

The battery is fully charged! Can someone help?!

4 answers
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi Sam, oh no!

Could you please send us a message to support@spectra-baby.com.au so we can do some troubleshooting with you to see what is happening?

I will keep an eye out for your message and go from there.

The Spectra team

Sarah L.
Sarah L.

This is the exact problem I just started having, did you get any answers?

Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hey Sarah, so sorry to hear you're having this issue too :-( If you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we can help you :-)
Spectra Team

Jenn F

Jenn Fasked

Hi it’s my first time to charge my spectra s1 and it takes forever to charge. It’s been drained and currenty charging 1-2 bats for 24 hours! please help?

1 answer
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi Jen, oh no! It sounds like your adaptor is not assembled together correctly! :(

This is an easy for for you, but if you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we will help you with this. :)

The Spectra team

Get an answer from our members and Spectra representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.