??!
5 photos
Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

4.8 from 171 reviews

Highly impractical: Must air dry parts. Impossible when pumping every 2-3hrs! And $672+ in replacement parts every year!

My wife can't breastfeed, for reasons I won't mention here, so she borrowed this pump from a friend, but she purchased all the accessories new. This pump is highly impractical. The instruction manual says you must air dry all parts after washing and everything must be 100% dry before using for the next session. Otherwise, if you don't air dry everything, the backflow protector will be wet and moisture will get inside the tube and pump motor. Once moisture gets inside, bacteria and mould can grow inside the tube and the pump motor, so you'll have to buy a whole new pump for $379. When you're pumping every 2-3 hours like my wife is, it is impossible for the parts to air dry in 2-3 hours, especially in the winter, at night, on a hot and humid day, or on a rainy day. And if you actually air dry the parts, then they are no longer sterile. So basically, you can never have sterilised parts when using this pump.

Another point is that you have to replace the duck valves every 3-4 weeks if you're using the pump more than once a day or even earlier if you're sterilising. And you also have to replace the backflow protectors every 6-8 weeks if you're using the pump more than once a day, and again, even earlier if you're sterilising. The duck valves are $14 a pair and the backflow protector is $14 each, so $28 for a pair. Then you have to consider postage fees on top. If you're replacing the duck valves every 2 weeks and the backflow protectors every month, you're basically spending $56 + postage per month, or $672 + postage per year. Cost of replacement parts per year is more than buying a brand new pump itself! As you can imagine, this is highly impractical and very expensive!

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
1 comment
Hi Jason, thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your S1. I am sorry it seems like this has been a difficult experience for you guys. :( If you want to contact us, there are ways to save on your shipping for replacement parts and taking care of the parts between use to avoid that much work between pumping sessions. We have lots of exclusively expressing mums using our pumps, including our own team members who did this this prior to working with us, so we can definitely help with tips and ideas to reduce the stress of all this. Please reach out to us so we can share some ideas to make it all a bit more manageable for you. :) Spectra team

I love this pump!

This pump is amazing! It's gentle, strong, quiet, handy, portable aaaaaand easy to use. Worth the money if you need to pump a lot. I have been using it for 6.5months exclusively pumping and I love it. Compared to other pumps I have used... this is by far the very best!!

Purchased in June 2018 at Spectra Baby for $303.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
1 comment
Hi Naomi, thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience of your S1. So pleased it is working so well for you. :) Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Happy pumping. :) Spectra team

Efficient

Switched to this pump after using Medela Swing for a while and increasing reliance on bottle feeding EBM. Medela was okay for occasional pumping but the Spectra S1 plus has changed my life now that I am relying on frequent pumping. Takes no more than 10 minutes (was taking me over 20 min before) to get a higher amount or the same. In built battery means it is portable, it took me a while to realise I was using the battery (I hadn't correctly plugged in the mains component). Also very quiet and night light is so useful. I still prefer my Medela bottles but this is easy enough with the cap converter I bought from Spectra online. There are a few more parts to clean, need to dry them thoroughly, but the time saved on pumping is worth it.

Purchased in March 2019 for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Natasha, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of yoru experience with your S1. Sop pleased to hear it has worked so well for you. Let us know if we can help with anything at all. :) Happy pumping. Spectra team

This was the best thing ever!!!

I had this pump since I had my second child. Didn’t get used much. My 3rd child was a 25weeker. I was living off this pump every 3hrs to keep my milk supply up. I loved I could drive and pump while going to hospital. I had a pumping bra so hands free. I would get more milk from this pump than the hospital ones they had for us Mother’s to use in the nicu. I loved this pump!! I recommend it to any new mothers so gentle to use and quiet at night as it didn’t wake hubby.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Kristie, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1. I am so pleased it has been helpful for you, especially with your early arrival! Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Happy pumping. Spectra team

I don’t understand what all the fuss is about...

Ordered this after reading all the great reviews. Item arrived faulty! The fault didn’t affect the function of the pump (as I was told by spectra customer service) and I was encouraged to use it. I tried to use it for a little while, but the suction was horrible. My Medela swing worked so much better. Contacted customer service and they organised a refund. Customer service was great! For the price, I was expecting a much better quality pump and annoyed they sent out a faulty one. Only great thing was the built in light!

Purchased in November 2018 for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Emma, oh no! I am so sorry this occurred for you. Our products have a very low fault rate, but like all things, there is occasionally a problem and we do try to resolve it asap. If you had the chance to use a product that wasn't faulty, I am sure your experience would have been different, so if ever you change your mind, please let us know, as we will be happy to help. Again, I am sorry you had this experience. :( The Spectra team

A great pump

Pros: Easy to use, looks nice, a lot of different functions, portable.
Cons: Expensive, quite weighty.
I bought this pump before bub arrived after reading everyones reviews online. It is seriously a wonderful pump, double pump is great, however I haven't used it too often as have exclusively BF with no bottles... for some reason I can't let-down milk without the baby feeding. I wish I had waited to buy a pump for this exact reason, however if you are 100% certain you will be expressing, then this is definitely a great pump and I will keep it for the next pregnancy in case I need a pump. I have recommended to others.

Purchased in April 2018.

1 comment
Hi Renemk, I am sorry you are having difficulty responding to the pump. You should be able to with this pump though, so are you able to contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au so we can help you see if the settings might need to be tweaked to help, or possibly explore your shield fit? I am sure we can get your getting a better result from the pump. :) I will keep an eye out for your message. Spectra team

Game changer

The Spectra S1 is brilliant. I was using the Medela dual Swing prior to the Spectra and thought it was good until it died.
I researched all pumps trying to find the best pump for the best price. I settled on the Soectra S1 based on the reviews.
I love the features of this pump, the nightlight is super handy for night pumping. I was able to pump my 150ml allocation in 7mins compared to 25mins with the Medela version.
Very quiet.
Literally cut my pumping time in half! It’s comfortable and attaches really well. Easy instructions and features. Worth every cent!

Purchased in February 2019 for $379.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding

Can’t fault it

Reliable and easy. Love not being tied to a PowerPoint. It is large but has made my pumping experience as easy as possible otherwise. Battery charge lasts well. Would recommend

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding

Good.

I bought this because my midwife suggested and after reading all the reviews it seemed a clear winner. Don't get wrong, I'm happy with the purchase (....$300+ later) but the fact that parts become worn quickly and are pricey to replace is somewhat annoying.

The pump is strong, I love the light feature is great, especially if you need to pump during the night. The pump wasn't as effective as I'd hoped it would be, but not to say it won't work for other mothers. If you're looking for exclusively pump or return to work and pump, the spectra will be a useful.

Helpful hint: the minibie bottles can be attached to the pump.

1 comment
Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience of the S1. :) I am pleased you found it helpful. :) Unfortunately all pumps need to have parts replaced regularly to function effectively. :( Let us know if we can help with anything else. Happy pumping. Spectra team

Best pump!

After extensive research while I was pregnant into what pump to purchase I settled on the Spectra S1. This pump is so easy to use and has many settings which means you can find the right setting for you. I am able to get a large amount of milk in less than ten minutes. I also appreciate the hygeine aspect with the back flow protector. The light and quietness is great when pumping at night! Highly recommended.

1 comment
Hi Alicia, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience of the S1. :) So great to hear that it has been helpful to you. Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Happy pumping. Spectra Team

Amazing results from this pump

I purchased this pump after getting no results from a medela. Immediately my output doubled and in half the time. Don’t waste your time or money on other brands, this pump is amazing. Also super fast delivery. Highly recommended for anyone wanting fast results with supply. The double pump also is great

1 comment
Hi Michelle, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1. So pleased to hear it was great for you. :) Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Happy pumping! The Spectra team

Can't fault it

Bought this after seeing so many good reviews from other expressing mums and I am impressed! Best part of this is the portability and I was able to use it at work. I have low supply and I don't know how I would have continued if not for this pump. Tip for others is to buy accessories whenever there are sales. Sometimes they're on sale at Groupon and ask for promo codes from other mums!

Customer service is great!

1 comment
Hi Klag, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your S1 experience. :) Let us know if we can help with anything else. Happy pumping. The Spectra team

Fabulous - can’t live without it!

My entire experience purchasing from Spectra was amazing! The staff are so friendly, helpful and prompt at responding to queries. I had an issue with sterilising the parts when my S1 arrived and they rectified it immediately. The pump itself is great! Really efficient and the flanges are comfortable. From my perspective it is worth spending the bit more on the S1 to have the flexibility of the cordless.

1 comment
Thanks so much for your lovely review Yvette, we're thrilled to hear you've had such a great experience :-) If you need any more help in future just reach out to us and we'll be happy to help :-) Best Spectra Team

Amazing

This is a very powerful pump from which I can express much more milk that I ever could with my medela swing or avant. Also not at all painful and very quiet, i recommend it for any new mum. I will definitely continue to choose spectra. Best pump ever made

1 comment
Hi Nikki, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1. It's great to hear you found it so gentle and quiet, and it helped you out. :) Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Spectra team

My lifesaver spectra s1 breast pump

My lifesaver, this breast pump is well worth the money / price tag
Gentle expressing makes it bearable
Nurses made me use the medela brand in hospital...arghhhh...ouch....i have never been so happy with my purchase...glad i didnt go for medela because theyre far from gentle
Pricey but worth every penny $$


One less thing to worry about!

I bought my Spectra S1 second hand but purchased all new attachements for it. It has been a godsend. I love that it has a long lasting battery. It’s suction is powerful and the letdown mode really gets the milk flowing. Can’t live without it.

Spectra customer service have also been amazing to deal with and their service/repairs are quick and affordable (I accidentally dropped mine out of the car - it was returned to me within a week - they even have the option to loan you a pump to use in this time!)

1 comment
Hi Sundssss, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1! I am so pleased to hear it has been so helpful for you. Pleased we were able to help you with your pump repair quickly too. :) Let us know if we can help with anything else. Happy pumping! Georgie Spectra team

Best pump for me, portable and convenient

Pumping is not the most comfortable activity in the world, especially if you exclusive pump, so I find this pump is very nice as it's not as strong as the Medela symphony but strong enough to extract milk quite well.
I've used my pump for my 1st for exclusive pumping, and for my 2nd for once a day pumping. They both were not huge milk drinkers so it was pretty effective for me. I've had the pump for 2.5y and it is still working well, but I've taken very good care of it (never dropped it and only recharged when battery is low). It's actually quite portable as I used to pump with it in a nappy bag from Target over my shoulder. Much bigger than the S9 but much more efficient.
I would recommend buying this over the more popular S2 as it's much more convenient to pump moving around when you need to. Especially cos pumping requires relaxation and sometimes that's not attached next to a power point, and I've often needed to pump in a car out on the move with hands free pumping.
I find I can only pump well if I put the pump on the fast massage mode at the highest suction, and it took me some time comparing the Medela Symphony to this pump to get the settings right (ie I had both pumps at the same time). I think you need to play with the settings to get the most milk out according to your body, and this may vary from person to person. I think I was able to get out approx 80pc out compared to the Symphony which I was happy with as it was always enough.


Supposed to be the best of the best...

The s1 is light, easy to carry, but awkward to balance on the couch (which is where I usually pump). I can use the pump for 20+ minutes and only seem to get around 80ml whereas another pump I have I can use for 10 minutes and get upwards of 140ml. The nightlight feature is helpful and bright enough to see the screen but not bright enough it's disruptive, the pump is relatively quiet which i appreciate when pumping next to bub while she's asleep. Customer service is lovely, they're very helpful and will usually offer you a discount code if you're purchasing the s1. Shipping was fast. I pump once a day to build supply and a stash for when I go back to work and honestly have not used this pump more than a few times as for the price I am disappointed in the output.. but that may be user error. All in all its a good hospital grade pump which is what I desperately wanted!

Edited to add, after spending abit more money I got a shield size that suited me better. The output has increased but I'm disappointed i had to spend even more money.

Purchased in July 2018 for $330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Cassie, thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with your S1. :) If you want to shoot us a message, there are a few things we can check out to make sure you are getting the best from your pump and increase your output. We may need to explore shield fit or how the settings are being used - both can make a big difference for some mums. :) I will keep an eye out for your message so we can help you asap. :) You can email us at support@spectra-baby.com.au Spectra team

Perfect Pump

I bought Melela single brestpump first but it is really hard to pump. I pump for one and half hours but only came for 15ml. I end up mastitis. But this product is great. easily to use and can portable. you can choose all the setting by yourself. Highly recommended

1 comment
Hi Candice, thanks so much for taking the time leave us a review of your experience with the S1! I am so pleased it has helped you avoid lengthy pumping sessions, and of course, mastitis. :) If there is anything we can help with, please let us know. :) Happy pumping. Best Georgie Spectra team

Wouldn't have been able to live without it!

I went from the Medela Swing, to the Spectra M1, to the Spectra S2, then finally onto the S1 for the portability! I wish I had have got it from the start as it is the absolute best! Worth the extra money for the rechargeable battery, so handy to pump on the go. Hundreds of dollars cheaper than other brands and an amazing product with a 2 year warranty.

1 comment
Hi Emmmlj, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience of the S1. It definitely is a superior pump to any other pump on the market, and for great reason - as you have discovered! :) Please let us know if we are able to help with anything at all. :) Happy pumping! :) Best Georgie Spectra team

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

I was pumping and all of a sudden the Spectra turns off! I tried to turn it back on and the screen turns in but there’s no suction or pumping sounds from the pump. After a few seconds, it shuts off. The battery is fully charged! Can someone help?!
4 answers
Hi Sam, oh no! Could you please send us a message to support@spectra-baby.com.au so we can do some troubleshooting with you to see what is happening? I will keep an eye out for your message and go from there. The Spectra teamThis is the exact problem I just started having, did you get any answers?Hey Sarah, so sorry to hear you're having this issue too :-( If you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we can help you :-) Spectra Team

Hi it’s my first time to charge my spectra s1 and it takes forever to charge. It’s been drained and currenty charging 1-2 bats for 24 hours! please help?
1 answer
Hi Jen, oh no! It sounds like your adaptor is not assembled together correctly! :( This is an easy for for you, but if you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we will help you with this. :) The Spectra team

Hello What is the difference between the S1 and the S2? Thank you
1 answer
Hi David and Kung, thanks for your question. :) The only difference between the S1 and the S2 is the S1 has a rechargeable battery and the S2 needs to be plugged into a power source to operate. :) Other than that they have exactly the same specifications and features. :) The Spectra team

Similar listings