??!
6 photos
Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

4.7 from 187 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
163
4 star
11
3 star
6
2 star
3
1 star
4

Worst customer service

published
1 comment
Karla
Karla

I also published reviews on their website and they do not publish them.


Corinne H.

Corinne H.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The BEST pump

published

Very comfortable to use with many different settings to suit everyone.
I used my Spectra S1 up to 10 times per day for the first 10 weeks after my baby was born. The portability and battery life is second to none. I pumped more milk with this pump than any other pump I have used.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Christie F.

Christie F.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best.

published

As a mum who struggled to breast feed my first i done so much research into the best breast pumps and this one always came out on top without a doubt. I unfortunately learnt i couldn't breast feed and passed it along and the 2nd lady had absolutely zero issues and loved it as much as i did

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
Marie

MarieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Boost my milk supply

published

I have low milk supply for the first 5-8 weeks PP but this has dramatically increased it. I nearly gave up breastfeeding my bub but this helped me a lot and gave me all the courage to continue on. I am really glad I've jumped on the Spectra bandwagon. Definitely worth the money. Still using it and I am on my 6th month.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers

ForestGirl

ForestGirl

  • 5 reviews

Good pump

published

I use the pump 2-3 times per day to help boost my milk supply.

So far it's been good, the adjustable suction is useful.

The battery life is excellent and would definitely recommend people to get the battery version.

The thing I'm not too keen on is the bottles it came with. I ended up buying an adapter so I could use a range of bottles. I was also disappointed that the smallest spectra flange was too big so I had to buy a compatible different brand.

Purchased in August 2019 for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Bel

BelSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pump is ok when it works....don’t expect it to last more than one baby though

published

I was happy with the pump for first baby, used it for several months.

However, when I got the pump out for baby #2 2.5years later to find it is not suctioning properly, I tried new parts but still no good. Contacted customer service and they said $80/$100 to repair - they wouldn’t even provide any troubleshooting advice when asked.

I can’t justify spending an extra $80/100 to use the pump again when it was an expensive purchase to begin with.

Disappointed as I bought this pump as an investment for multiple babies, but to find it only lasted one.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Néam K.

Néam K.

  • 2 reviews

Number 1 breast pump

published

Extremely comfortable
Extremely effective
Extremely quiet
Love the light when you need it
Easy to travel with as I have done so a hundred times. I’ve used it for almost 2 years for two of my babies and I exclusively pump.

Purchased in July 2016 at Spectra Baby for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Amanda

AmandaCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic pump

published

Used to exclusively express for 14 months. Found the pump to be fantastic. It wasn't too loud, had a night light, and was portable. The pump is a little big, but beint hospital grade - it is needed.

Purchased for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Amanda99

Amanda99South East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

An excellent product for pumping

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Mel F.

Mel F.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Best investment for breastfeeding

published

I purchased this pump based on reviews and it did not disappoint!

It has multiple settings to adjust to your comfort level, you can start off in massage mode and switch to expressing mode, you can start and stay on low suction and increase it as you need to, you can adjust the frequency as well.

I used this pump almost exclusively after birth every 3 hours, now I use it only if I need to as I exclusively breastfeed.

I really like that I can take this around the house without cords, it’s really light and I can get several pumping sessions out of a full charge.

This breast pump helped me to get as much milk as possible comfortably and the design of the product has minimal to nil wastage of milk compared to other pumps I’ve used.

Purchased in June 2019 at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Crishi

CrishiSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best Investment!!

published

I use this pump multiple times daily and love how efficient it is. I used the Medela pump at the hospital and it took me 40 minutes to express the same amount the S1 gets out in 20 minutes. Highly recommended well worth every dollar!

Purchased in March 2019 at Spectra Baby for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Court719

Court719South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Amazing! Second time buyer

published

I love my S1! I previously had an S2 with my second born, but needed something portable with my third and my S1 ticked all the boxes! Shipping is always super quick and the team are great to deal with!

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Sofia C.

Sofia C.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Wonderful pump

published

Love this pump. Easy to clean, effective i.e can pump $150 ml in 15-18 mins. My breast no longer hurt and am happy to pump three times per day. Previous pumps were taking over sn hour to get the same amount of milk and my breasts hurt and had more moving parts to clean. This machine is also super quiet. Worth the price tag. Only complaint is not being able to choose flang size upon purchase of unit, they all come with a standard 24mm flange and I need 32mm. So when I bought the pump online I also ordered a 32mm set-set means one flange, so need to order another one at $29.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Meredith

MeredithBrisbane

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love it!

published

I'm an exclusively pumping mum, this is my second Journey, for my first I used a Spectra s2, but wanted something portable so bought a S1. I'm so glad I did and it didn't disappoint. I make 2.5L a day using this pump and it can easily empty me well enough. I currently use it 4 times a day for 30mins and only charge it probably every 3 to 4 days. The battery lasts really long.

Purchased in June 2018 at Spectra Baby for $303.20.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
LynL

LynLGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Effective and sturdy

published

It's easy to use, though to find the right settings to maximise milk output, I relied on the IG account "Legendairymilk" rather than the Spectra manual. It is expensive to start off with but the effectiveness at which it empties milk from me is great. Make sure you have the right flange size. I exclusively pump and have used the pump avg 7-8 times a day for 2 months now. There's no reduction in power, or any noticeable change. I purchased pump parts and accessories during clickfrenzy sales, mainly so that I don't have to wash and sterilise 8 x a day and have spares for convenience.

Purchased in March 2019 for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
reviewgirl

reviewgirlGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

The best!!!

published

After asking around I finally decided on getting the Spectra!!! Very happy with how this breast pump works. Its very strong and efficient. I love that its portable and has a light for at night time. I Would definitely recommend.

Purchased in April 2019 at Spectra Baby for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Jason

JasonSydney

  • 2 reviews

Highly impractical: Must air dry parts. Impossible when pumping every 2-3hrs! And $672+ in replacement parts every year!

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Naomi

NaomiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

I love this pump!

published

This pump is amazing! It's gentle, strong, quiet, handy, portable aaaaaand easy to use. Worth the money if you need to pump a lot. I have been using it for 6.5months exclusively pumping and I love it. Compared to other pumps I have used... this is by far the very best!!

Purchased in June 2018 at Spectra Baby for $303.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Natasha D

Natasha DSydney, NSW

Efficient

published

Switched to this pump after using Medela Swing for a while and increasing reliance on bottle feeding EBM. Medela was okay for occasional pumping but the Spectra S1 plus has changed my life now that I am relying on frequent pumping. Takes no more than 10 minutes (was taking me over 20 min before) to get a higher amount or the same. In built battery means it is portable, it took me a while to realise I was using the battery (I hadn't correctly plugged in the mains component). Also very quiet and night light is so useful. I still prefer my Medela bottles but this is easy enough with the cap converter I bought from Spectra online. There are a few more parts to clean, need to dry them thoroughly, but the time saved on pumping is worth it.

Purchased in March 2019 for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Kristie

KristieNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This was the best thing ever!!!

published

I had this pump since I had my second child. Didn’t get used much. My 3rd child was a 25weeker. I was living off this pump every 3hrs to keep my milk supply up. I loved I could drive and pump while going to hospital. I had a pumping bra so hands free. I would get more milk from this pump than the hospital ones they had for us Mother’s to use in the nicu. I loved this pump!! I recommend it to any new mothers so gentle to use and quiet at night as it didn’t wake hubby.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Sam

Samasked

I was pumping and all of a sudden the Spectra turns off! I tried to turn it back on and the screen turns in but there’s no suction or pumping sounds from the pump. After a few seconds, it shuts off.

The battery is fully charged! Can someone help?!

4 answers
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi Sam, oh no!

Could you please send us a message to support@spectra-baby.com.au so we can do some troubleshooting with you to see what is happening?

I will keep an eye out for your message and go from there.

The Spectra team

Sarah L.
Sarah L.

This is the exact problem I just started having, did you get any answers?

Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hey Sarah, so sorry to hear you're having this issue too :-( If you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we can help you :-)
Spectra Team


Jenn F

Jenn Fasked

Hi it’s my first time to charge my spectra s1 and it takes forever to charge. It’s been drained and currenty charging 1-2 bats for 24 hours! please help?

1 answer
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi Jen, oh no! It sounds like your adaptor is not assembled together correctly! :(

This is an easy for for you, but if you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we will help you with this. :)

The Spectra team


David And Kung

David And Kungasked

Hello
What is the difference between the S1 and the S2?
Thank you

1 answer
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi David and Kung, thanks for your question. :)

The only difference between the S1 and the S2 is the S1 has a rechargeable battery and the S2 needs to be plugged into a power source to operate. :)

Other than that they have exactly the same specifications and features. :)

The Spectra team


Get an answer from our members and Spectra representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.