??!
5 photos
Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric

4.8 from 183 reviews

Good pump

I use the pump 2-3 times per day to help boost my milk supply.

So far it's been good, the adjustable suction is useful.

The battery life is excellent and would definitely recommend people to get the battery version.

The thing I'm not too keen on is the bottles it came with. I ended up buying an adapter so I could use a range of bottles. I was also disappointed that the smallest spectra flange was too big so I had to buy a compatible different brand.

Purchased in August 2019 for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding

Pump is ok when it works....don’t expect it to last more than one baby though

I was happy with the pump for first baby, used it for several months.

However, when I got the pump out for baby #2 2.5years later to find it is not suctioning properly, I tried new parts but still no good. Contacted customer service and they said $80/$100 to repair - they wouldn’t even provide any troubleshooting advice when asked.

I can’t justify spending an extra $80/100 to use the pump again when it was an expensive purchase to begin with.

Disappointed as I bought this pump as an investment for multiple babies, but to find it only lasted one.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
1 comment
Hi Bel, sorry to hear about the problems you are having with your pump. :( There are lots of things that can affect the life or condition of a pump, so it is tricky to know what is happening based on what you have shared here, but we can always do troubleshooting, depending on what is going on. :) Just send us a message to support@spectra-baby.com.au and we will be happy to see if there is any troubleshooting we can do to get things working. :) Spectra team

Number 1 breast pump

Extremely comfortable
Extremely effective
Extremely quiet
Love the light when you need it
Easy to travel with as I have done so a hundred times. I’ve used it for almost 2 years for two of my babies and I exclusively pump.

Purchased in July 2016 at Spectra Baby for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
1 comment
Hi Neam, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1. Pleased to hear that it has helped you with two little ones now! :) Let us know if we can help with anything at all. :) Happy pumping. :) Spectra team

Fantastic pump

Used to exclusively express for 14 months. Found the pump to be fantastic. It wasn't too loud, had a night light, and was portable. The pump is a little big, but beint hospital grade - it is needed.

Purchased for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
1 comment
Hi Amanda, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience of the S1. 14 months of exclusively expressing is a hard gig! Well done!!! Please let us know if we can help with anything at all. :) Spectra team

An excellent product for pumping

I bought a Spectra S1 at one of their sales before my baby was born, hoping to store some bottles in case I wanted someone else to do a feed and get some precious sleep. The S1 is the rechargeable, battery-operated double pump. The pump is great- I haven't used a manual pump, but did use a hospital pump and I would say this is comparable. The pump arrived super quickly in the mail (I think it was the next business day), and was pretty easy to use.

A major advantage of this pump is that it is a closed system- there is no chance of milk travelling into an area that can't be sterilised. That being said, it would be best practice to replace the tubing if you buy one secondhand. The warranty is also good, and can be transferred if buying secondhand. There is also a way to find out how many hours have been pumped on the machine.

The pump is relatively comfortable to use- you may need to buy different sized flanges depending on the size you need, but these are relatively accessible from the spectra website (and other third-parties like pumpables). The cycle and vacuum strength can also be easily adjusted. There is a handy "massage" let-down function as well to start the milk flow. One downfall I found is that the pump defaults to the last setting it was on. If you gradually increase the vacuum during your session, it may remain on a "high vacuum" setting when you restart it, which can give a rude shock at the start of a new pumping session if you're not expecting it! You also need to actively change to the let-down mode when you start it.

The pump is pretty quiet and the battery life is excellent, and I never saw the pump lose more than 1 bar of battery (I would usually charge each night but sometimes forgot). This was pumping up to 7 times a day. All the parts were easy to clean as well, and could be sterilised in the microwave (except for the tubing). The pump comes with several spectra brand bottles which I wasn't a huge fan of to be honest (hard to put the lid on), but it is compatible with other wide-neck bottles. Note that you will need an adaptor if you want to pump directly into slim neck bottles like pigeon.

A final note- although the double pump makes pumping much faster, I would highly recommend using a pumping bra to save holding the flanges in place- it gets tiring fast.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
1 comment
Hi Amanda, thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of your experience with your S1. :) It really helps others to learn these details from your experience, so it is very appreciated. :) Please let us know if we can help with anything at all. :) Happy pumping. Spectra team

Best investment for breastfeeding

I purchased this pump based on reviews and it did not disappoint!

It has multiple settings to adjust to your comfort level, you can start off in massage mode and switch to expressing mode, you can start and stay on low suction and increase it as you need to, you can adjust the frequency as well.

I used this pump almost exclusively after birth every 3 hours, now I use it only if I need to as I exclusively breastfeed.

I really like that I can take this around the house without cords, it’s really light and I can get several pumping sessions out of a full charge.

This breast pump helped me to get as much milk as possible comfortably and the design of the product has minimal to nil wastage of milk compared to other pumps I’ve used.

Purchased in June 2019 at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Mel, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1. :) Way to go on exclusively expressing for your little one... it is a hard gig but so worthwhile. :) Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Happy pumping. Spectra team

Best Investment!!

I use this pump multiple times daily and love how efficient it is. I used the Medela pump at the hospital and it took me 40 minutes to express the same amount the S1 gets out in 20 minutes. Highly recommended well worth every dollar!

Purchased in March 2019 at Spectra Baby for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Crishi, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1. Pleased to hear it is helping you get better results than you had previously pumping. :) Please let us know if we can help with anything at all. :) Happy pumping. :) Spectra team

Amazing! Second time buyer

I love my S1! I previously had an S2 with my second born, but needed something portable with my third and my S1 ticked all the boxes! Shipping is always super quick and the team are great to deal with!

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
1 comment
Hi Court, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1! So pleased it is working well for you. :) Let us know if we can help with anything at all. :) Spectra team

Wonderful pump

Love this pump. Easy to clean, effective i.e can pump $150 ml in 15-18 mins. My breast no longer hurt and am happy to pump three times per day. Previous pumps were taking over sn hour to get the same amount of milk and my breasts hurt and had more moving parts to clean. This machine is also super quiet. Worth the price tag. Only complaint is not being able to choose flang size upon purchase of unit, they all come with a standard 24mm flange and I need 32mm. So when I bought the pump online I also ordered a 32mm set-set means one flange, so need to order another one at $29.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
1 comment
Hi Sofia, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with the S1. :) We appreciate your feedback around shield size, and we are always discussing how we can make this easier for mums. Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Happy pumping. Spectra team

Love it!

I'm an exclusively pumping mum, this is my second Journey, for my first I used a Spectra s2, but wanted something portable so bought a S1. I'm so glad I did and it didn't disappoint. I make 2.5L a day using this pump and it can easily empty me well enough. I currently use it 4 times a day for 30mins and only charge it probably every 3 to 4 days. The battery lasts really long.

Purchased in June 2018 at Spectra Baby for $303.20.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Meredith, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with the S1. :) Please let us know if we can help with anything at all. :) Happy pumping. Spectra team

Effective and sturdy

It's easy to use, though to find the right settings to maximise milk output, I relied on the IG account "Legendairymilk" rather than the Spectra manual. It is expensive to start off with but the effectiveness at which it empties milk from me is great. Make sure you have the right flange size. I exclusively pump and have used the pump avg 7-8 times a day for 2 months now. There's no reduction in power, or any noticeable change. I purchased pump parts and accessories during clickfrenzy sales, mainly so that I don't have to wash and sterilise 8 x a day and have spares for convenience.

Purchased in March 2019 for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
1 comment
Hi Lyn, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review about your experience of the S1. :) It is very appreciated, and pleased to know it has helped you. Some great tips for mums in here too. ;) Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Spectra Team

The best!!!

After asking around I finally decided on getting the Spectra!!! Very happy with how this breast pump works. Its very strong and efficient. I love that its portable and has a light for at night time. I Would definitely recommend.

Purchased in April 2019 at Spectra Baby for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Review Girl, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1. So glad to hear your recommendation. :) Happy pumping. Spectra team

Highly impractical: Must air dry parts. Impossible when pumping every 2-3hrs! And $672+ in replacement parts every year!

My wife can't breastfeed, for reasons I won't mention here, so she borrowed this pump from a friend, but she purchased all the accessories new. This pump is highly impractical. The instruction manual says you must air dry all parts after washing and everything must be 100% dry before using for the next session. Otherwise, if you don't air dry everything, the backflow protector will be wet and moisture will get inside the tube and pump motor. Once moisture gets inside, bacteria and mould can grow inside the tube and the pump motor, so you'll have to buy a whole new pump for $379. When you're pumping every 2-3 hours like my wife is, it is impossible for the parts to air dry in 2-3 hours, especially in the winter, at night, on a hot and humid day, or on a rainy day. And if you actually air dry the parts, then they are no longer sterile. So basically, you can never have sterilised parts when using this pump.

Another point is that you have to replace the duck valves every 3-4 weeks if you're using the pump more than once a day or even earlier if you're sterilising. And you also have to replace the backflow protectors every 6-8 weeks if you're using the pump more than once a day, and again, even earlier if you're sterilising. The duck valves are $14 a pair and the backflow protector is $14 each, so $28 for a pair. Then you have to consider postage fees on top. If you're replacing the duck valves every 2 weeks and the backflow protectors every month, you're basically spending $56 + postage per month, or $672 + postage per year. Cost of replacement parts per year is more than buying a brand new pump itself! As you can imagine, this is highly impractical and very expensive!

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
1 comment
Hi Jason, thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your S1. I am sorry it seems like this has been a difficult experience for you guys. :( If you want to contact us, there are ways to save on your shipping for replacement parts and taking care of the parts between use to avoid that much work between pumping sessions. We have lots of exclusively expressing mums using our pumps, including our own team members who did this this prior to working with us, so we can definitely help with tips and ideas to reduce the stress of all this. Please reach out to us so we can share some ideas to make it all a bit more manageable for you. :) Spectra team

I love this pump!

This pump is amazing! It's gentle, strong, quiet, handy, portable aaaaaand easy to use. Worth the money if you need to pump a lot. I have been using it for 6.5months exclusively pumping and I love it. Compared to other pumps I have used... this is by far the very best!!

Purchased in June 2018 at Spectra Baby for $303.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
1 comment
Hi Naomi, thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience of your S1. So pleased it is working so well for you. :) Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Happy pumping. :) Spectra team

Efficient

Switched to this pump after using Medela Swing for a while and increasing reliance on bottle feeding EBM. Medela was okay for occasional pumping but the Spectra S1 plus has changed my life now that I am relying on frequent pumping. Takes no more than 10 minutes (was taking me over 20 min before) to get a higher amount or the same. In built battery means it is portable, it took me a while to realise I was using the battery (I hadn't correctly plugged in the mains component). Also very quiet and night light is so useful. I still prefer my Medela bottles but this is easy enough with the cap converter I bought from Spectra online. There are a few more parts to clean, need to dry them thoroughly, but the time saved on pumping is worth it.

Purchased in March 2019 for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Natasha, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of yoru experience with your S1. Sop pleased to hear it has worked so well for you. Let us know if we can help with anything at all. :) Happy pumping. Spectra team

This was the best thing ever!!!

I had this pump since I had my second child. Didn’t get used much. My 3rd child was a 25weeker. I was living off this pump every 3hrs to keep my milk supply up. I loved I could drive and pump while going to hospital. I had a pumping bra so hands free. I would get more milk from this pump than the hospital ones they had for us Mother’s to use in the nicu. I loved this pump!! I recommend it to any new mothers so gentle to use and quiet at night as it didn’t wake hubby.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Kristie, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with your S1. I am so pleased it has been helpful for you, especially with your early arrival! Let us know if we can help with anything at all. Happy pumping. Spectra team

I don’t understand what all the fuss is about...

Ordered this after reading all the great reviews. Item arrived faulty! The fault didn’t affect the function of the pump (as I was told by spectra customer service) and I was encouraged to use it. I tried to use it for a little while, but the suction was horrible. My Medela swing worked so much better. Contacted customer service and they organised a refund. Customer service was great! For the price, I was expecting a much better quality pump and annoyed they sent out a faulty one. Only great thing was the built in light!

Purchased in November 2018 for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Emma, oh no! I am so sorry this occurred for you. Our products have a very low fault rate, but like all things, there is occasionally a problem and we do try to resolve it asap. If you had the chance to use a product that wasn't faulty, I am sure your experience would have been different, so if ever you change your mind, please let us know, as we will be happy to help. Again, I am sorry you had this experience. :( The Spectra team

A great pump

Pros: Easy to use, looks nice, a lot of different functions, portable.
Cons: Expensive, quite weighty.
I bought this pump before bub arrived after reading everyones reviews online. It is seriously a wonderful pump, double pump is great, however I haven't used it too often as have exclusively BF with no bottles... for some reason I can't let-down milk without the baby feeding. I wish I had waited to buy a pump for this exact reason, however if you are 100% certain you will be expressing, then this is definitely a great pump and I will keep it for the next pregnancy in case I need a pump. I have recommended to others.

Purchased in April 2018.

1 comment
Hi Renemk, I am sorry you are having difficulty responding to the pump. You should be able to with this pump though, so are you able to contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au so we can help you see if the settings might need to be tweaked to help, or possibly explore your shield fit? I am sure we can get your getting a better result from the pump. :) I will keep an eye out for your message. Spectra team

Game changer

The Spectra S1 is brilliant. I was using the Medela dual Swing prior to the Spectra and thought it was good until it died.
I researched all pumps trying to find the best pump for the best price. I settled on the Soectra S1 based on the reviews.
I love the features of this pump, the nightlight is super handy for night pumping. I was able to pump my 150ml allocation in 7mins compared to 25mins with the Medela version.
Very quiet.
Literally cut my pumping time in half! It’s comfortable and attaches really well. Easy instructions and features. Worth every cent!

Purchased in February 2019 for $379.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding

Can’t fault it

Reliable and easy. Love not being tied to a PowerPoint. It is large but has made my pumping experience as easy as possible otherwise. Battery charge lasts well. Would recommend

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

I was pumping and all of a sudden the Spectra turns off! I tried to turn it back on and the screen turns in but there’s no suction or pumping sounds from the pump. After a few seconds, it shuts off. The battery is fully charged! Can someone help?!
4 answers
Hi Sam, oh no! Could you please send us a message to support@spectra-baby.com.au so we can do some troubleshooting with you to see what is happening? I will keep an eye out for your message and go from there. The Spectra teamThis is the exact problem I just started having, did you get any answers?Hey Sarah, so sorry to hear you're having this issue too :-( If you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we can help you :-) Spectra Team

Hi it’s my first time to charge my spectra s1 and it takes forever to charge. It’s been drained and currenty charging 1-2 bats for 24 hours! please help?
1 answer
Hi Jen, oh no! It sounds like your adaptor is not assembled together correctly! :( This is an easy for for you, but if you contact us at support@spectra-baby.com.au we will help you with this. :) The Spectra team

Hello What is the difference between the S1 and the S2? Thank you
1 answer
Hi David and Kung, thanks for your question. :) The only difference between the S1 and the S2 is the S1 has a rechargeable battery and the S2 needs to be plugged into a power source to operate. :) Other than that they have exactly the same specifications and features. :) The Spectra team

Details

Spectra S1 Hospital Grade Double Electric
CategoryElectric Breast Pumps
TypeElectric
Price (RRP)379

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.