??!
3 photos
Spectra 9 Plus Portable Double Electric

Spectra 9 Plus Portable Double Electric

4.7 from 88 reviews

Reviews

(70)
(13)
(2)
(1)
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (12)
  • Portability
    4.9 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (12)
  • Suction
    4.1 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (11)
  • Feeding Methods
    • Breastfeeding (9)
    • Baby Formula (3)
NikonGirl

NikonGirlMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good pump, but don't expect S1/S2 level performance

published

Purchased at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers

Not very comfortable. Suction hurts

published

I love the fact this pump is portable and dosnt need to be plugged in.
But if had it with 2 babies now and although I only pump occasionally the suction hurts my nipples.
I have it on level 3 and after 5mins my nipples are sore and if I turn it down to level 2 the suction is too fast and can hardly feel any suction.
I never seem to be able to pump a great deal with it. I was going to purchase the breast massager inserts spectra sell but after reading reviews on them leaking milk I don’t want that.
The medela pumps are much more comfortable.
Battery life is good.

Purchased in September 2016 at Spectra Baby for $250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
Alex Werner

Alex WernerHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

The working mum pump

published

Super comfortable and easy to use pump. I purchased this due to going back to work and having to pump twice throughout the day. It was the best baby purchase I made, people didn't know I was even carrying in a breast pump due to how small and portable it is but don't be fooled although it's small it has some power. I would easily get 180mls or more each day. It also has a great battery life so never had to stress about it running out of charge on me. Would highly recommend.

Purchased in August 2018 at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra 9 Plus Portable Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jsxk

jsxkSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

perfect for discrete pumping

published

i love my spectra9+ pump, so portable and discreet (i’ve even used it while watching a movie at the cinemas). easy to use and although not hospital grade it does the job perfectly fine. love the fact that it has an inbuilt battery, so combined with a pumping bra i’m able to move around and get things done in the house without being confined to one spot

Purchased in November 2018 at groupon.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
srg

srgGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic Pump

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
DrMum

DrMum

  • 10 reviews

Portable and effective

published

Great breast pump.
- very effective at pumping
- easy to clean
- portable with a rechargeable battery so good for moving around the house or using at work

Postage is very quick too.

Purchased in December 2016.

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
ATN

ATNCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Essential item for working mum who wants to breastfeed

published

Purchased in July 2017 at Spectra Baby for $199.20.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Michelle S.

Michelle S.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Does a great job

published

I'd never used a breast pump before but my research said this one was great, and I wasn't disappointed. It is comfortable and I can do a full pump in about 8 mins. It's lightweight and portable, with good battery life. I use it daily and would recommend it to anyone.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bethany C.

Bethany C.

  • 4 reviews

Easy portable reliable

published

I got this just before bubs was born and it has been so easy to use and quick. Even now that I'm at work it's so easy and I can't say enough

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra 9 Plus Portable Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kate N

Kate NPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Portable and easy breastpump

published

I was exclusively breast pumping for the first 6 weeks of my babies life. I initially rented a hospital grade pump to establish supply and had already brought the spectra 9 not anticipating how hard breastfeeding and expressing would be. I was very reluctant to use it thinking it wouldn’t be enough to keep my supply up however I was pleasantly surprised! I am now only expressing once a day as I can now breastfeed however I was still managing to get the same output as the hospital grade one. One thing that I can’t stress enough is making sure you get the correct size for your nipples

Purchased in June 2018 at Spectra Baby.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
mowerman

mowermanWestern District, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Would highly recommend this breast pump

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Groupon.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Anne. R

Anne. RGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Best PUMP!

published

This pump is so comfortable & did not cause any pain on the breast. The pump is so easy to charge and very easy to use. It helped me pump out a lot of milk and kept the flow going.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Thanks so much for your review Anne, we're so pleased to hear how much you love your S9+ :-)
Spectra Team

Jireh

JirehSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for my lifestyle

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Maria

MariaSydney

  • Verified purchase

Amazing! Life-saver

published

I've purchased this pump after reading all positive reviews, and I must say it has proved to be an amazing product! It's efficient yet gentle (and that is quite important if you had to deal with sore nipples). It helped me to establish a good milk supply in early days, and later it helped me to resolve blocked ducts on a couple occasions. I am currently using it on and off and very happy with the performance. Also this pump is light, compact and not noisy comparing to the other pumps on the market. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
LMS

LMSMelbourne

  • Verified purchase

Faulty pump but no refund provided to returning customer

published
2 comments
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
LMS
LMS
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Spectra 9 Plus Portable Double Electric compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Loryn

LorynThe Entrance

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love it so far

published

I’ve only had the pump a few days and I’m extremely impressed and happy with my new pump so far! I highly recommend the spectra 9 plus double electric pump

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Anna

AnnaPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Pump was not as effective as expected

published

The S9 is a good pump if you are using it occasionally.
I bought it as reviews said it was as good as a hospital grade pump but it is not. It really affected my supply greatly when I was exclusively pumping. It took me a while and a lot of work to regain my supply.
My lactation consultant also confirmed that the S9 is not as good as their hospital grade pumps.
I was also very unhappy that I couldn't return it cos I had apparently opened it, even though I had not connected any parts to the pump. I just turned it on to see how the suction was.

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Isabel

IsabelROKEWOOD JUNCTION

  • 4 reviews

BEST breast pump!

published

It took some getting used to since I was using the S2 before, but I get just as much milk from this smaller portable pump. Now I use both every day (S2 at home, 9 Plus at the office) and I really do love it. The main difference is the size and portability. Also, the 9 Plus does not have the additional cycle/speed setting but that’s not an issue for me. It will be perfect for traveling as well.

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
FMR

FMRCanberra

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Everything you want in a pump

published

Due to feeding difficulties I decided to exclusively express. I was doing this 7 times per day for 5 months. While at home I used a hospital grade pump but when out and about or when doing chores around the house I would use his pump. The rechargeable battery is a godsend! I put the pump in my pocket and could express while walking about the house!
I found it as powerful and effective as my hospital grade pump - extracting the same amount of milk in the same timeframes. I didn’t notice it was more or less noisy.

Great pump. Allows you to have freedom and flexibility!

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Utari  Novianingsih

Utari Novianingsih

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

My favourite breast pump ever

published

It's really comfortable using this breast pump and I used it every day for my baby. It won't hurt your nipples and feels so comfortable when I used it, it's easy to clean and it pumped a lot of amount of milk. It's really easy to bring to the office or for travelling

1 comment
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Paige C.

Paige C.asked

Good morning, I have been using the Spectra S9 for almost a year now. It has worked perfectly. Yesterday when I went to turn it on, it would not work. I thought it must be dead, so I plugged it in and it worked. When I was finished pumping, I kept it plugged in so it would be fully charged the next time. The next time I tried to use it with a full charge, it would not turn on unless I had it plugged in. It still works perfectly if plugged in but this is not possible all the time for me. I need to pump without it plugged in. Any suggestions or thoughts on what could be going on?? Thank you!

1 answer
Steph W.
Steph W.

I’d say the rechargeable battery has died. How old is it? I don’t know if spectra would replace it or if you could buy a new battery for it

Ashley L.

Ashley L.asked

I've had my spectra 9 plus for 9mths now. when I pumping and I try to go past suction 4 it all feel the same and it really not pulling the milk out the breast. Any help?

1 answer
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hey Ashley, sounds like your shield kit parts are due replacement.

We recommend replacing them regularly to avoid suction loss which can affect your pumping needs, or impact on your output.

If you send us a message to support@spectra-baby.com.au, we can let you know which parts need replacement and how often, depending on your use. :)

Miranda C.

Miranda C.asked

I’ve had my Spectra 9 Plus for just under two months and as of about 2 weeks ago, while pumping, it will stop having suction, however it still sounds like it’s trying to suck. I’ve checked all my parts and reassembled the kit and it is still an issue. When it stops having suction, the back flow protectors don’t move either. What can I do to fix it?

1 answer
Spectra
Customer Service T.Spectra

Hi Miranda, not sure if you have replaced your shield kit parts at all?

You should probably check in with us by sending a message to us at support@spectra-baby.com.au so we can see a video of what is happening, and understand more about the care and use of the pump and parts so we can help you get this sorted out. :)

Get an answer from our members and Spectra representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.