??!
5 photos
Audi Q5
2.9 from 52 reviews

Reviews

2.9

52 reviews
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.4 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (6)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (6)
  • Features
    3.7 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Carol

CarolSydney, NSW

Worst car I’ve ever owned

published

We bought the Audi Q5 new and as a family car. After the first 6,000kms it has been riddled with massive problems. It has cost us thousands and thousands of dollars each year. Every time we drive it - we live in fear of another dash light going on and another monumental problem. This car has been a disaster. We will never buy another Audi.

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2014
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Chucky

ChuckySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

High quality build

published

Using as a daily commute the vehicle is very intuitive and build quality is awesome. Being a tech-head as well as a car fanatic I have found the technical superiority over other makes astounding. Highly recommended.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$110,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
GRP

GRPGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible car, worse customer service from Audi

published

2014 Q5 owned since new. Riddled with problems over the years. Has been recalled several times. Now an airbag crash sensor has failed during an Audi service and they are refusing to fix the problem. Claiming a sensor is a consumable item

Purchased in January 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Audi Q5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Excellent

published

We have the 2011 3.0TDI V6 Diesel, it has been amazing with nil issues, has high kms now 240,000kms now and it’s absolutely faultless, such a nice car to drive and comfortable, if you are looking to buy a Q5 the 3.0TDI is the way to go. Also holds its value well. Compared to the TFSI petrol models.

Purchased in January 2012 at Audi Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sana Ahmed

Sana AhmedMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Simply loved this car - audi q5 2012

published

Amazing drive, perfect Suv for a family of 4.
Road grip and drive is nonetheless. i have 2012 quattro diesel 2.0 model. It is highly highly fuel efficient, we fill up a tank with the premium diesel only once a month. It does last forever.

Purchased in January 2019.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Defective car - repair process terrible

published

Purchased in June 2009 at Southern Classic Cars for A$70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
See all answers
Jae

JaeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Total disaster

published
BadgeTFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Jake

JakeSouthern Highlands, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 26 likes

Useless technology that is dangerous......

published
BadgeTFSI
Engine Size2.0 TFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Bad Bad Vehicle- Mechatronic issues from Day 1

published

First three years and was always worried when I tried reversing- sometimes it would shoot forward. Not a good idea when parallel parking.
Audi won’t fix under warranty cause I missed one transmission oil change a few Years after first reporting the issue. If I could turn back time, I would never buy this vehicle.
Very expensive to repair and service - not sure if this is just the case in Perth, but either way - a sour taste in my mouth.

BadgeTDI Sport Edition
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Audi Q5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David Matley

David MatleyBurleigh Heads

Not Good enough

published

My wife's Q5 (diesel), showed to adBlue, This we did and immediately on starting it pored out of the engine. Took it to Frizells Audi dealer in Southport (purchased there). Was advised to not drive however couldn't look at it for 24+ hours Car only done less than 30,000 km in just under two years, but it was a warranty claim. Advised no loan car available till 4 October. I am 70 and asked how did was I expected to get home (Burleigh Heads). Was told the tram was up the road, not good enough [name removed]!!!. Second Q5.

The review said to post my purchase details however Frizells kept my log books so guess you will have to take my word for it.

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Jane

JaneMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

this is a perfect car for us

published

The car size is perfect and just enough sitting room. It is easier to steer than Q7. And it is perfect for a family of 4-5 and with a pet! We have this car for more than 5 years apart from occasional flat tyres (may be due to driving skills) no major repairs needed to be done.

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
SDL75

SDL75Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good SUV for family but I miss my Mercedes Benz C-Class for quality

published

I definitely prefer the fit and finish of the Mercedes Benz C-Class I had previously. Shame it started falling apart which I expect will happen to the Q5 based on my friends' experiences. The 2.0 TDI doesn't quite have the power or responsiveness I need to feel safe. Get the bigger engine! It also feels less airtight with notable road noise and excessive windscreen condensation. Otherwise it's running well, 15 months in. No complaints about the AUDI service centre which is the best I've experienced.

BadgeTDI Sport Edition
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Alan

AlanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good amount of grunt and luxury but not without some issues

published

Driving is great, I've got the 3.0TDi version. It's got more than enough grunt to make smooth transitions onto the highway. The interior is great...comfortable seats, good A/C, decent audio...but then there are some drawbacks. I think the transmission is on its way out, the EGR has been replaced and still has troubles, and some other filter is pretty bad. I have spent a few k's on fixing this issues while my Honda has had 0 issues since I purchased it. This is my third Audi and I must say...I'm not as impressed with it as my first two.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size3.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Ivo

IvoGold Coast

Piece of crap

published
BadgeTFSI
Engine Size2.0 TFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Mitch G

Mitch GAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Too many issues for a luxury car

published
BadgeTDI
Engine Size3.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Audi Q5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
starzz123

starzz123

  • 7 reviews

Air conditioning is a dissapointment

published

Bought this car in Jan 2014 with high expectations. Not happy with the air conditioning since day 1. Brought it back to the showroom few times and were advise that there's nothing wrong with the AC. Fan noise is loud but not much air coming out from it. It does blow cold air but I feel like there's something blocking the air so the performance is not maximum.

Sun visor clip snapped on the 3rd year. First time experiencing this, had much older car and never snapped the sun visor clip.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Simmo

Simmoadelaide

Expensive junk

published

This car has only done 140000 klm uses oil, the transmission just packed up at a cost of $9500 to fix ,this problem was recalled in USA and China, but not in Australia.Just got car back and the drive belt broke, replaced it now car won't run engine management system light flashing, need to get car towed to be repaired, we now hate this car and will be selling it when it's fixed. Will never buy another Audi again, we have learned a very expensive lesson to buy a car with less features, things to go wrong.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Gagab

Gagab

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Dont buy Audi - worst customer service | useless audi service

published

My Audi 2011 has had several significant problems in recent time. Firstly the megatronic unit on the transmission failed at approximately 60,000Km. repairs to this were relatively straight forward with a repair bill of approximately $3,000. Then transmission light started coming and I took to sudi 3 times, they charged me everytime but were not able to fix the issue. Local mechanic charged be 120$ and fixed the issue which Audi service center did not by charging 4000$
Even after the replacement of PCB unit of transmission CAR is not working well, it rolls backward while standing on red light . I took it back to audi service and I was adviced to use a handbrake everytime I stop at the red light so that car should not roll back.

BadgeTFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2011
hanna

hanna

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Comfortable & pleasant drive,

published

Compared to the previous AUDI models I have experienced (& admittedly they all constantly offered more than i've expected), the Q5 is a completely new excitement. I have had it since 2015, though compared to A4 the acceleration is not as quick but the ease and comfort of driving is just irreplaceable.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size3.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Fredo

FredoAU

  • 6 reviews

One of the most powerful SUV.

published

I am still driving it now...it broke an engine last December...on 147 558 km.
Thanks to extended warranty that covered for R36.000
And i had to add only R23.000.
And the car was back to road again.
Replacement of engine...after all is done...re registration of new engine number is very important...
Vin number and engine number should match...
Now i am a happy chap again...
Speed...power...oil and fuel consumption still the same.
2010 Audi Q5...what a machine..

BadgeTFSI
Engine Size2.0 TFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Pauline Richards

Pauline Richardsasked

Q5

We purchased Q5 Quattro diesel sports in January. I have big concerns re safety, the car auto safety brakes activate all the time out of the blue, putting me in dangerous situations. 1.As I was driving along a windy road they reacted towards a cyclist on the other side of the road 2. when I was turning right off a main road. 3. Backing out of the drive way 4. Changing lanes.
It’s happened multiple times on all the above situations.
As a result I’ve had whiplash and I’ve become very anxious because I never know when this braking system will kick in causing a major accident. I’m only grateful that my grandchildren haven’t been in the car during one of these incidents.
This is a major problem!
Pauline Richards
Adelaide SA

No answers
HPP

HPPasked

Q5

i want to buy Audi Q5 8R MY15 TFSI Quattro, let my give your opinion for it to buy or not , it would be helpful to me,
Thanks

2 answers
Alan
Alan

I'm not sure how the TFSI models are as I have the 3.0TDi. However, I have had a 2.0TFSI Quattro A3 that I enjoyed very much. My only gripe with Audi these days is the cost of servicing and their choice in 3rd party Extended Warranty providers. I purchased a extended warranty for mine and its not worked out so well. I also have had a few issues with my transmission. Some good things....it's comfortable, powerful enough, and has a good road presence. The lights are great at night, seats are quite supportive, and the paddles are pretty responsive. I would definitely get a Q5 over a BMW X3.

HPP
HPP

Thanks Alan

Binh N

Binh Nasked

Q5 8R.I (2009-2012)

HI,
I bought Audi Q5 TDI 3.0 L with 175k km, Anybody can advise me what I should repair or what problem I may face with car high km like mine. And how much i should cost?
Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.