6 photos
Renault Koleos

Renault Koleos

H45, HZG
4.0 from 92 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Renault? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (24)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (24)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (22)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (22)
  • Braking
    3.9 (23)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (22)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (21)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (23)
  • Handling
    3.9 (23)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (23)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (23)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (23)
  • Features
    4.3 (23)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Paul  Ryan
Paul Ryan Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Happy campers, we love our car

published

Never missed a beat, fuel economy is spot on, only clocked up 49000kilometres since new in 2015, the dealership has done small oil change services on request due to not achieving high kilometres where big services are due, very happy all-round

Purchased in June 2015 at Essendon renault for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Garymc
GarymcSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great SUV with many standard features

published

Purchased the vehicle in January 2018 and have had no problems at all. Love the standard features which are options on many of the rivals such as heated and ventilated front seats. The Diesel engine is economical and smooth. Rlink system can be frustrating to use and I’ve had trouble updating the navigation software as my model didn’t come with Apple CarPlay as standard.

Purchased in January 2018 for $43,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Les
LesWestern Australia

Renault Koleos 2016

published

This does not happen all the time sometimes goes several weeks before it happens.
But after I stop waitng for traffic when I put my foot down to take off nothing happens appart from the fact it moves forward slowly .
Very dangerous if traffic coming towards you could cause a nasty accident

Purchased in October 2016 for $22,500.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Les
Les

Very happy with my Koleos apart from the occasional fault with loss of power seems to be when turning left when putting foot down on accerater pedal

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Endless Issues

published

Was so excited when we purchased this car. Beautiful and full of features. Unfortunately after 19 returns for warranty and over 7 months off the road we fell out of love and found ourselves in a world of hurt trying to get compensation from Renault. Literally writing this review whilst on the phone doing mediation with our dealership trying to get a result.

Purchased in June 2017 for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stevenj32
Stevenj32CHADSTONE
  • 35 reviews
  • 23 likes

Average SUV at best

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Renault.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
LisaM
LisaMForrest
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed with my koleos

published

I have had endless problems with my koleos since the first week I bought it from the dealership. Even getting repairs done under warranty were a problem through Renault. Annoying.

Purchased in May 2012 at Renault for $32,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
AM24
AM24Perth, WA
  • 27 reviews
  • 25 likes

The hidden Gem in the SUV market

published

Purchased in December 2019 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gediminas K.
Gediminas K.Tasmania
  • 4 reviews

Good car in overall

published

We bought our Koleos few years ago, for around $15k as it is Privilege MY11 4x4 version f late 2011. Color is beautiful white pearl, pretty practical, as the dust and dirt is not as visible as on black or darker colors. Could be more economical, as it is around 10l/100km in the city. Although on the highway is really good as for SUV, with around 6.5l/100km. Have some issues with tailgate and pump of windscreen fluid, as water is not being sprayed on a windscreen anymore. Did many road trips, driving on a dirt roads, on the beach, never had big issues.
In overall, very good value and 4/5 stars.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2017 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ranko46
Ranko46Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

This could have been a really good car

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Renault for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Disappointed
DisappointedSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Loved it for the first 5 weeks.

published

Absolutely loved this vehicle until the first fault within 5 weeks - fast forward 11 months and the vehicle has awaiting its 4th proximity sensor in its short driving live -expect to wait at least a month, closer to 2 for parts (still waiting).
Incredibly disappointed in Renault Australia’s after sales care, if you hear back at all the response is disinterested at best. Dealership is starting to come on board with support to resolve ongoing issue but I’m yet to feel optimistic about a resolution.

Purchased in December 2018 at Renault Ballarat .

Build Quality
Incentivised Review No
Mitchell
Mitchell
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No problems after 2.5 years.

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $27,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jason Cole
Jason ColeIllawarra, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful Design & Comfort - but buggy!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +8Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2018 at Gateway Motor Group for $41,035.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Beema41
Beema41South-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disgusting service & parts costs

published

Our 2017 Koleos has cost a fortune to maintain ($1900) for brakes when only travelled 55k. The airbag light comes on daily. Windscreen deal pops out. Unusual noises on start up. Dealer cant fix.

Purchased in April 2017 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jacqui
Jacqui
  • 3 reviews

windscreen

published

The foam around the windscreen keeps coming out I have had it fixed twice so far the car is only 12 months old the first time was before the 1000km service

Purchased in September 2018.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
David G
David G
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice car BUT expensive brake problems

published

Late 2016 model, done 42,ooo K and $2500 in brake costs, nothing covered under warranty, all easy driving around the inner city in Sydney, really not fit for purpose and does not meet what would be a reasonable expectation of running costs for new car.

Purchased in October 2016.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Foxie
Foxieasked
Koleos H45 (2008-2015)

Would you recommend a 2014 Bose model with about 100km ? Thanks

3 answers
Stevenj32
Stevenj32

It depends on how well the vehicle was serviced, especially the CVT transmission, if it has not been serviced in its life, then avoid the car, they are prone to fail, extremely expensive to replace, cant repair, $9800 replaced, more then the value of the car itself, our Koleos is now coming up to 5 years and the warranty is nearly out, so the car goes and will buy something else new, we did not care for the CVT at all, the SUV is very nice, but the CVT lets it down terribly, the shuddering all the time, the engine strangled by the transmission, I tell people, but at your own risk, sorry Renault, that Transmission was a horrible mistake, this is why you see so many Renault Koleos's on the second hand market, hope this helps, if you cant live without it, buy it.

Foxie
Foxie

Thanks

Roger H.
Roger H.

So Steven what medium sized SUV would you buy?

Andrew J.
Andrew J.asked
HZG Intens 4WD Petrol (2016-2021)

My infotainment screen won’t turn
Radio is going

No answers
Neville
Nevilleasked
HZG Zen (2016-2021)

I cannot hear the other person on the phone on my Renault Kelos Zen 2019. Neither can I hear the ringing. Volumes are all set. I also tried re syncing and it’s still the same.

No answers
See all Renault Koleos questions

Get an answer from our members

Renault Koleos

Details

Compare all 8 Renault Koleos
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $47,990$47,990$45,870$30,990
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km8.3 L/100km8.1 L/100km8.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power130kW @ 3750rpm126kW @ 6000rpm126kW @ 6000rpm126kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 2000rpm226NM @ 4400rpm226Nm @ 4400rpm226Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,650 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance210 mm210 mm210 mm210 mm
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 8 Renault Koleos
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.