??!
6 photos
Renault Koleos

Renault Koleos

H45, HZG
4.0 from 86 reviews

Reviews

(44)
(21)
(9)
(4)
(8)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (19)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (17)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (17)
  • Handling
    3.8 (17)
  • Braking
    3.8 (18)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (16)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (17)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (17)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (17)
  • Features
    4.2 (17)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (17)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

AM24

AM24Perth, WA

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

The hidden Gem in the SUV market

published

Purchased in December 2019 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Gediminas K.

Gediminas K.Tasmania

  • 4 reviews

Good car in overall

published

We bought our Koleos few years ago, for around $15k as it is Privilege MY11 4x4 version f late 2011. Color is beautiful white pearl, pretty practical, as the dust and dirt is not as visible as on black or darker colors. Could be more economical, as it is around 10l/100km in the city. Although on the highway is really good as for SUV, with around 6.5l/100km. Have some issues with tailgate and pump of windscreen fluid, as water is not being sprayed on a windscreen anymore. Did many road trips, driving on a dirt roads, on the beach, never had big issues.
In overall, very good value and 4/5 stars.

Purchased in June 2017 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ranko46

Ranko46Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews

This could have been a really good car

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Renault for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Disappointed

DisappointedSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Loved it for the first 5 weeks.

published

Absolutely loved this vehicle until the first fault within 5 weeks - fast forward 11 months and the vehicle has awaiting its 4th proximity sensor in its short driving live -expect to wait at least a month, closer to 2 for parts (still waiting).
Incredibly disappointed in Renault Australia’s after sales care, if you hear back at all the response is disinterested at best. Dealership is starting to come on board with support to resolve ongoing issue but I’m yet to feel optimistic about a resolution.

Purchased in December 2018 at Renault Ballarat .

Build Quality
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers

Mitchell

Mitchell

  • 4 reviews

No problems after 2.5 years.

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $27,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jason Cole

Jason ColeIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Beautiful Design & Comfort - but buggy!

published
  • +8

Purchased in October 2018 at Gateway Motor Group for $41,035.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Disgusting service & parts costs

published

Our 2017 Koleos has cost a fortune to maintain ($1900) for brakes when only travelled 55k. The airbag light comes on daily. Windscreen deal pops out. Unusual noises on start up. Dealer cant fix.

Purchased in April 2017 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jacqui

Jacqui

  • 3 reviews

windscreen

published

The foam around the windscreen keeps coming out I have had it fixed twice so far the car is only 12 months old the first time was before the 1000km service

Purchased in September 2018.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David G

David G

  • 2 reviews

Nice car BUT expensive brake problems

published

Late 2016 model, done 42,ooo K and $2500 in brake costs, nothing covered under warranty, all easy driving around the inner city in Sydney, really not fit for purpose and does not meet what would be a reasonable expectation of running costs for new car.

Purchased in October 2016.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
gordon hayes

gordon hayes

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

computer read out

published

hello my comp. read out has stopped working ie distance to next refuel,fuel used etc any ideas and all the other function Also auto gear box has singing noise but only occasionally.It sounds like a ball race

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers

Norman M

Norman MGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not happy

published

Just done 30'000kms and car needs front brake rotors, again! First set replaced at circa 15'000 kms under warranty but not without a fight, now it's round 2. Has anyone else experienced this? The car is my wife's daily driver so it's driven quite conservatively.

Purchased in May 2017.

Year2017

TeeJay

TeeJayIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Still looks good and runs well

published

I do alot highway and mountain roads and small city trips in between. I have already racked up 172,000 km. I have always had it serviced by trained Renault mechanics. I have two minor warranty issues, tailgate lock and wiper motor. All were fixed with no fuss. My only dilemma is how much I paid for the top model vs depreciation. As the car is so good and reliable I am going to run it for a lot longer than I have other cars. I usually get rid of them 6 months before warranty ends but the bells and whistles on this car will keep me satisfied for a bit longer. I have never been happier to keep a car so long and the fuel average after all this time is still sitting on 7.2!

Purchased in June 2013 for $46,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
TeeJay
TeeJay

My average petrol is now sitting at 7 despite a slight increase in city driving. Have hit 183k now

TeeJay
TeeJay

This is the the privilege 4wd diesel


Gary H

Gary HHunter Region, NSW

Promised so much,delivered so little

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Peter Warren Automotive for $30,500.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers

Kevin

KevinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stay away.

published

I bought a brand new Koleos in2017. It now has 40,000 kms and was told today at service that my brakes are 99% worn and I need new brakes and disks (costing $800). The drivers seat is wearing out as is the shift knob. My wife drives the car to work and to drop off the kids it’s not a race car

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Unusual

published

Purchased in September 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
a2latrobe

a2latrobeMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Good for 5 years till warranty last , now falling apart like a house of cards .

published

The car was good for 5 years but these are the problems faced in last 1 year and Renault should be ashamed of themselves

1) Break light switch sensor not working . Car wouldn’t start or move . End result lot of headache .

2) Air con stopped working due to faulty heater resistor. Went to three different specialist to figure out the issue . End result lot of time and money wastage

3) extreme vibration in the car when accelerating - needed drive shaft replacement . End result completely lost trust in Renault

4 A old problem has resurfaced again- when going uphill or accelerating hard some clunky noise from the engine .

God save the Renault and the other owners like myself .

Purchased in August 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
See all answers

Vic

Vic

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Active Braking Disconnected

published

We don't use this car every day, only done 3000km,
Everytime I drive the car message comes up Active Braking disconnected I took it to village motor northlakes 5 times, first time they told me there was a leaf between the senor I drove for 500m message come up took back to village motor they told me because of the dust I drove for 100m message came up again I took back they told me radar is faulty and its because of dushboard camera, message is not coming up however I don't trust village motor because the reasons they told me was lie

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Runamuk

RunamukSouth East Queensland, QLD

2018 intense 4wd desiel

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ng1

Ng1Victoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car needs some improvement

published

Car is good for the price, no doubt. Some improvements to consider 1. Setas can be softer, 2. Side views of other vehicles are not good especially if you at a roundabout.

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dravid

DravidSyd

  • 6 reviews

Superb Car

published

Extremely happy with the Koleas, Zen 2017. Only fault is the pho-leather seats in Summer. Lambswool seat covers will fix. The Turning circle is not as good as Rav 4. However, its a great vehicle, with all the gadgets needed. Would highly recommend. French Design, Japanese engineering, Korean built. Welcome to the 21 st century.

BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

KayleneH

KayleneHasked

Hi there,
I was just driving my 2009 Koleos when I suddenly lost power and had a warning light of “check engine injection” which then disappeared and “Check ESP” came up. When pulling over, turning the car back on and off again the car drove fine. My mechanic took a look at the car and couldn’t find anything wrong with it. It has just happened again to me. Any advice? Thanks so much

1 answer
Gediminas K.
Gediminas K.

Hi,
My suggestion would be to check your Koleos at car’s electricIan service, as it sounds for me more of electric issue than mechanic!
Cheers,
Gedi


Chris M.

Chris M.asked

how many litre of cvt fluid for Renault koleos 2010

1 answer
Ranko46
Ranko46

No idea. Mine is 2017, different engine..


Stan G.

Stan G.asked

Why the passenger footwell is soaking in air conditioning fluid

2 answers
Jason Cole
Jason Cole

No idea about that, I have not had that issue (surprisingly) but i would say you have a leaking pipe. Back to the dealer!

Bulldog30
Bulldog30

Blocked water egress hole - you probably have mud in it.


Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.