??!
6 photos
Renault Koleos

Renault Koleos

H45, HZG
4.0 from 89 reviews

Reviews

4.0

89 reviews
5
(44)
4
(21)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (22)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (20)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (19)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (20)
  • Handling
    3.8 (20)
  • Braking
    3.9 (21)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (18)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (19)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (20)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (20)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (20)
  • Features
    4.3 (20)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (20)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Endless Issues

published

Was so excited when we purchased this car. Beautiful and full of features. Unfortunately after 19 returns for warranty and over 7 months off the road we fell out of love and found ourselves in a world of hurt trying to get compensation from Renault. Literally writing this review whilst on the phone doing mediation with our dealership trying to get a result.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$53,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stevenj32

Stevenj32CHADSTONE

  • 35 reviews
  • 18 likes

Average SUV at best

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Renault.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
LisaM

LisaMForrest

  • 3 reviews

Very disappointed with my koleos

published

I have had endless problems with my koleos since the first week I bought it from the dealership. Even getting repairs done under warranty were a problem through Renault. Annoying.

Purchased in May 2012 at Renault for A$32,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AM24

AM24Perth, WA

  • 24 reviews
  • 22 likes

The hidden Gem in the SUV market

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$49,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gediminas K.

Gediminas K.Tasmania

  • 4 reviews

Good car in overall

published

We bought our Koleos few years ago, for around $15k as it is Privilege MY11 4x4 version f late 2011. Color is beautiful white pearl, pretty practical, as the dust and dirt is not as visible as on black or darker colors. Could be more economical, as it is around 10l/100km in the city. Although on the highway is really good as for SUV, with around 6.5l/100km. Have some issues with tailgate and pump of windscreen fluid, as water is not being sprayed on a windscreen anymore. Did many road trips, driving on a dirt roads, on the beach, never had big issues.
In overall, very good value and 4/5 stars.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ranko46

Ranko46Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

This could have been a really good car

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Renault for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Disappointed

DisappointedSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Loved it for the first 5 weeks.

published

Absolutely loved this vehicle until the first fault within 5 weeks - fast forward 11 months and the vehicle has awaiting its 4th proximity sensor in its short driving live -expect to wait at least a month, closer to 2 for parts (still waiting).
Incredibly disappointed in Renault Australia’s after sales care, if you hear back at all the response is disinterested at best. Dealership is starting to come on board with support to resolve ongoing issue but I’m yet to feel optimistic about a resolution.

Purchased in December 2018 at Renault Ballarat .

Build Quality
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
Mitchell

Mitchell

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No problems after 2.5 years.

published

Purchased in June 2017 for A$27,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jason Cole

Jason ColeIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful Design & Comfort - but buggy!

published
  • +8

Purchased in October 2018 at Gateway Motor Group for A$41,035.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Beema41

Beema41South-Eastern Region, NSW

Disgusting service & parts costs

published

Our 2017 Koleos has cost a fortune to maintain ($1900) for brakes when only travelled 55k. The airbag light comes on daily. Windscreen deal pops out. Unusual noises on start up. Dealer cant fix.

Purchased in April 2017 for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jacqui

Jacqui

  • 3 reviews

windscreen

published

The foam around the windscreen keeps coming out I have had it fixed twice so far the car is only 12 months old the first time was before the 1000km service

Purchased in September 2018.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David G

David G

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice car BUT expensive brake problems

published

Late 2016 model, done 42,ooo K and $2500 in brake costs, nothing covered under warranty, all easy driving around the inner city in Sydney, really not fit for purpose and does not meet what would be a reasonable expectation of running costs for new car.

Purchased in October 2016.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
gordon hayes

gordon hayes

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

computer read out

published

hello my comp. read out has stopped working ie distance to next refuel,fuel used etc any ideas and all the other function Also auto gear box has singing noise but only occasionally.It sounds like a ball race

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Norman M

Norman MGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not happy

published

Just done 30'000kms and car needs front brake rotors, again! First set replaced at circa 15'000 kms under warranty but not without a fight, now it's round 2. Has anyone else experienced this? The car is my wife's daily driver so it's driven quite conservatively.

Purchased in May 2017.

Year2017
TeeJay

TeeJayIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Still looks good and runs well

published

I do alot highway and mountain roads and small city trips in between. I have already racked up 172,000 km. I have always had it serviced by trained Renault mechanics. I have two minor warranty issues, tailgate lock and wiper motor. All were fixed with no fuss. My only dilemma is how much I paid for the top model vs depreciation. As the car is so good and reliable I am going to run it for a lot longer than I have other cars. I usually get rid of them 6 months before warranty ends but the bells and whistles on this car will keep me satisfied for a bit longer. I have never been happier to keep a car so long and the fuel average after all this time is still sitting on 7.2!

Purchased in June 2013 for A$46,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
TeeJay
TeeJay

My average petrol is now sitting at 7 despite a slight increase in city driving. Have hit 183k now

TeeJay
TeeJay

This is the the privilege 4wd diesel

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gary H

Gary HHunter Region, NSW

Promised so much,delivered so little

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Peter Warren Automotive for A$30,500.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers
Kevin

KevinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stay away.

published

I bought a brand new Koleos in2017. It now has 40,000 kms and was told today at service that my brakes are 99% worn and I need new brakes and disks (costing $800). The drivers seat is wearing out as is the shift knob. My wife drives the car to work and to drop off the kids it’s not a race car

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Unusual

published

Purchased in September 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
a2latrobe

a2latrobeMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for 5 years till warranty last , now falling apart like a house of cards .

published

The car was good for 5 years but these are the problems faced in last 1 year and Renault should be ashamed of themselves

1) Break light switch sensor not working . Car wouldn’t start or move . End result lot of headache .

2) Air con stopped working due to faulty heater resistor. Went to three different specialist to figure out the issue . End result lot of time and money wastage

3) extreme vibration in the car when accelerating - needed drive shaft replacement . End result completely lost trust in Renault

4 A old problem has resurfaced again- when going uphill or accelerating hard some clunky noise from the engine .

God save the Renault and the other owners like myself .

Purchased in August 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
See all answers
Vic

Vic

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Active Braking Disconnected

published

We don't use this car every day, only done 3000km,
Everytime I drive the car message comes up Active Braking disconnected I took it to village motor northlakes 5 times, first time they told me there was a leaf between the senor I drove for 500m message come up took back to village motor they told me because of the dust I drove for 100m message came up again I took back they told me radar is faulty and its because of dushboard camera, message is not coming up however I don't trust village motor because the reasons they told me was lie

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Mark C.

Mark C.asked

Koleos

Hi. Does the Koleos, 2019, have automatically folding mirrors when you lock the car? The dealer says it does but we cannot get it to work. We cannot seem to find it in the manual either. MMMM, can we trust a car salesman?

1 answer
Stevenj32
Stevenj32

Trust a carsales man?, no, most know nothing about cars at all, our Koleos has folding mirrors via a button on the arm rest, I believe the intent might have it, that is might, as models differ country to country, the Koleos is available with a normal auto in some countries, alas, not here, don't believe the mirrors fold auto, hope your Renault is up to your standard, a few more months and we sell ours, thank goodness, cant stand the vibration in the transmission any longer.

Mary C

Mary Casked

HZG Intens FWD Petrol (2016-2020)

Can I set anything/anywhere to get the side mirrors to fold automatically when I leave the car? At the moment I have to use the switch on the driver's side door. Can't find anywhere in the controls to set to fold automatically.

No answers
bruce

bruceasked

Koleos H45 (2008-2015)

hi I have a 2014 Koleos cvt with 120000km on it
no problems except when the battery is flat it must have more than 12 volts available also check terminals and if mounting bracket is lose this will give you all your warning lights.
I would like to know if I should service the transmission or leave it sealed.
it is great to drive especially on the dangerous M1 out of sydney
I am getting 8.3 litres/100 on 91 octane.

3 answers
Stevenj32
Stevenj32

The CVT needs an oil change, they quite commonly go at about 160,000kms,if not serviced and they are not repairable, at about $7000 to $9000 for a new one, we will sell our Koleos in one years time, just before the warranty runs out, as I don't trust the CVT, also our engine uses oil, not a lot, but still some from new, not good, I don't think I would buy another SUV with a cvt in it, ours gets about 7.8 litres per hundred on 98 fuel, hope this helps.

bruce
bruce

Thanks very much

Philip
Philip

The car shouldn't be using any oil at 120,000. Are you using the correct renault spec 5w-40? Nissan uses 5w-30 but that's for fuel economy reasons, and 5w-40 is for smoothness and longevity. This engine loves shell Ultra full synthetic. CVT servicing depends on how dirty it gets according to sensors - but preventative at 150,000k (normal driving conditions) is recommended if you found a good specialist.

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.