??!
5 photos
Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

3.9 from 148 reviews

Baby Monitors Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of baby monitor would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.9

148 reviews
5
(73)
4
(26)
3
(17)
2
(19)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (14)
  • Battery Life
    4.7 (12)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    4.6 (14)
  • Audio Quality
    4.8 (12)
  • Video Quality
    4.4 (8)
Previous
Next
Belinda Isbister

Belinda IsbisterSouth West, WA

  • Verified purchase

Highly recommended

published

This monitor provides us with Peace of mind. It’s worked perfectly & simply to set up. A slightly longer monitor cord would be useful but we have made do. No false alarms so far & only beeps when I take baby out of bassinet and forget to turn off....at least we know it works! Good value for money.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Belinda, thanks for the feedback and review, we do appreciate it. Thanks for taking the time to let others know of your experience with the unit. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Kristen

KristenGippsland, VIC

Has potentially saved both our children’s lives!

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Kristen, thanks for the review and feedback. We really appreciate the support and for taking the time to let others know of your personal experience. We wish you and your family all the very best from the Oricom team. Oricom Baby Care.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Brent R.

Brent R.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Our Guardian Angel

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bubs n Grubs for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mat M.

Mat M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant

published

Works exactly as stated. The only improvement I can suggest would be a little bit of extra length in the cable as our cot has high sides. But it just reaches so all good!

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Mat, thanks for the review and we appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience. We will pass your feedback onto the Product Development team. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Joey

JoeyRichmond-Tweed, NSW

False Alarm

published

We have been using our monitor for the past 5 months with bubs. No problems while using it in the bassinet but since moving bubs into her own cot 3 weeks ago, we have had 2 false alarms in the middle of the night. I calibrate the pads daily and turn the ceiling fan off at night as that seems to interfere with it. Hearing the alarm in the middle of the night is very concerning and now we are unsure if we should get bub checked out. Disappointing seeing the price we paid to have “ top quality” The video camera on the other hand is exceptional.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Fantastic product and service

published

I am actually in Ireland but this was the link I found to review then. I have the Babysense heart monitor for the cot and also the baby cam. Both working wonderfully. The camera stropped working after about a year and they immediately sent out a replacement. How better can you get? Recommending them to everyone i know now. Thanks again

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. We appreciate the review and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

nikki_lish

nikki_lishSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Peace of mind :)

published

I needed this monitor for peace of mind. With a new baby, I knew I wouldn't sleep due to worrying about SIDS, so having this monitor allowed me to sleep easier at night. Great product, however I wish I'd bought the set that came with the video monitor instead of just the audio monitor. We ended up needing to buy a separate video monitor once baby went into her own room. We used the pad sensors up until about 18 months old. We did have a few false alarms (generally due to baby rolling out of range, or sleeping on her side, or low battery), but overall I wouldn't be without it!

Purchased in January 2017 at Baby & Toddler Town for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Nikki, thanks for the review and we appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Kahla L.

Kahla L.

  • 4 reviews

Phenomenal product

published

Extremely happy with the quality of this product ! it’s design is perfect and safe. It has also eased my anxiety about my baby and his sleep! Thank you so much !

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Kahla, thanks for the message. We appreciate the review and you taking the time to let others know of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Temera F.

Temera F.Perth, WA

False alarms

published

Hi I'm just wondering, how common it is for the sensor to have multiple false alarms? So for example the pass 3 nights the alarm has gone off once bub has gone to sleep, I thought it was him not breathing but now I'm not sure? And tonight it had gone off 2 times in the space of 2 hrs, I have taken my son to the drs in case it is him but it is still making me extremely unsettled :/ I will be double checking the device and changing the batteries and see if that makes a difference

Purchased in January 2019 at Baby Bunting Online store for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great at its core function but the button is stupid!

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Shantara, thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback and you taking the time to let others know of your experience, and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Hayley.B

Hayley.BSouth Australia

Peace of mind!

published

Absolutely love our Oricom Baby sense monitor. It has provided us with peace of mind and allowed us to sleep well. We have only had three false alarms in 6 months. However we believe this is where our big rolled off the sensor, so essentially it is doing its job! Only downfall is it (monitor) doesn’t have white noise as a music feature and hard to put in a bassinet.

Purchased in June 2018 at Baby Bunting for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Hayley, thanks for the message. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Excellent product

published

I absolutely love this would definitely recommend this to anyone out there. Being a first time mom just gives us more peace of mind when going to sleep at night. Ours only went off once and it was because the battery was low. Definitely worth the money

Purchased in January 2019 for A$480.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Cindy, thanks for the message. We really appreciate the review and you taking the time to leave it. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Great for peace of mind when bub is sleeping!

published

Babysense has given me peace of mind while bub sleeps. The sensors have only gone off once, and it was a result of bub wriggling onto the side of the cot and off the sensor pads. Happy with this product.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Kate, thanks for the message. Thanks for the feedback and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the Babysense. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nikki

NikkiSunshine Coast

  • Verified purchase

Highly recommend!

published

Firstly the quality of the product is very good! We had no trouble setting it up. Before purchasing we did receive some negative feedback that the product wasn’t reliable as the alarm would sound for no reason. However we purchased it anyway for peace of mind and I thank my lucky stars everyday that we did! The monitor alarm alerted us on 3 separate occasions that my baby’s heart rate must of slowed, at 2 weeks old she was diagnosed with a heart defect which went undetected & she had open heart surgery to save her life. So for that reason I cannot recommend this product more highly! I will definitely be using this product with future babies.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Nikki, thanks for the message and review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and we wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Brooke

BrookeStrathpine

Amazing!

published

We love this monitor. Definitely gives us peace of mind when we put our little man to sleep knowing that it is on. We had to make sure we had the sensors placed in the right spot but once we figured that out it’s been perfect. Highly recommend this product!

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Brooke, thanks for the message and for taking the time to let others know of your experience. We wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A staple piece for any babies nursery!

published

We absolutely love our Oricom Baby Sense monitor! This device has given us piece of mind for every nap our little boy has taken in his cot. The quality of this item is second to none and it will be a staple in all of our future children's nurserys. My little one is seven months old and we still use this device religiously, it has always been accurate for us, I'll be sad for the day when we don't anymore. The only thing I found was that when my son began moving and would find himself squashed on the edge of the cot, we would sometimes get false readings, that was until we added the other plate and adjusted where they were positioned.

Thank you Oricom for making an incredible device!

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Maddison, thanks for the message. We appreciate the feedback and you taking the time to let others know of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Connie

ConnieSydney

  • Verified purchase

Perfect for newborn

published

The BabySense2 comes with two sensor pads and so far we’ve only needed to use one for the bassinet. I was a bit worried initially as I read some negative reviews about using this with a bassinet. We have a Bed Nest and thankfully it fits perfectly. Our baby sleeps in her own room so we find this product essential. She’s not bothered by the blue flashing light. I find the light helpful for me to do quick checks on the baby from a distance, especially at night. It’s worked really well for us and I’d recommend this product for peace of mind and stress-free sleep for the parents.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Connie, thanks for the message and for taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. We wish you all the best with you future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Pretty good!

published

Very reliable! Works great, easy to set up. Love how you don't have to plug it into a wall so you have have the bed anywhere in the room, especially for bassinets and traveling. One this is the monitor button click is a little loud and wakes baby when I turn it on some times.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Bec, thanks for the message and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Delene K

Delene KMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Waste of money

published
3 comments
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Delene K
Delene K
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Michelle

MichelleBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Great peace of mind

published

Being a first time mum, I wanted to ensure safety as well as extra monthlong. This pack also came with the secureview 710 monitor and is used daily in our home. We have never had any faults or glitches with it and it gives us extra peace of mind when our little one is asleep

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Michelle, thanks for the message. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

Is it a medical device?

Babysense7 is included as a medical device on the Australian Register of Therapeutic goods (ARTG No. 97479).

Is it simple to set up and easy to use?

Yes, extremely simple to set up and operate, however we strongly recommend the user guide instructions be followed and functionality regularly tested.

Is it portable?

Yes, it uses 4 x AA Alkaline batteries (not supplied) so you can move it easily.

I’ve read that the Babysense7 monitor runs on batteries. How long (on average) will the batteries normally last before needing to change them?

The babysense7 is Powered by 4 x AA, 1.5-volt Alkaline batteries (not supplied). Power consumption is approximately 1mA. Battery life is approximately 6 months using high quality alkaline batteries.

Can it be used in cribs, bassinets, travel cot?

Yes, as long as the base is rigid and a suitable mattress is used and you must ensure that excess cords are secured under the mattress out of reach of baby or other infants. Modifications may be required to the bassinet for sensor pad wiring access and controller unit placement. For further advice please consult an Oricom Representative.

How many sensor pads does it have?

It comes with two highly sensitive sensor pads that cover the area of a standard sized crib or cot.

What age groups is it suitable for?

It is suitable for healthy infants up to one year (12months) of age (it cannot be used for children or adults).

If I have twins, can I use with both babies in one cot?

No you will need to have babies in separate cots, each with its own Babysense7 monitor.

Why is it that lights on Control Unit do not illuminate when turned ON?

Batteries are not inserted incorrectly or may be flat. Check batteries are inserted in the Control unit observing the correct polarity. Control unit requires 4 x AA 1.5V Alkaline batteries (not supplied).

What is low battery voltage warning (red light) on the Control Unit is flashing?

Batteries are low, replace all 4 batteries.

Why does alarm goes off after a few hours?

This could be due to the following:

The mattress is not touching the sensor pads.

The mattress is raised (there is an object near the sensor pads).

Two sensor pads are connected but the baby is not yet crawling.

Only one sensor pad is connected and the baby has crawled off the sensor pad.

The mattress does not enable adequate transfer of baby movement The compositions of some cot mattresses may not conduct vibrations associated with babies breathing movement and may not be suitable with Babaysense7.

Do not use Babysense7 with a memory foam mattress.

Make sure that the mattress and sensor pads are touching. Make sure that there are no objects next to the sensor pads. Connect sensor pads as per the user manual. If baby is not yet able to crawl, use only one sensor pad and make sure sensor is placed underneath baby’s location in bed to ensure greater relative sensitivity. Place a sheet of plywood (not supplied) under the sensor pad so that the sensor pad and the mattress will be tightly pressed together.

Why do I get delayed alarms while taking the baby out of the bed?

Performance test is not correct. Do not conduct performance test by taking the baby out of bed and waiting for the alarm to go off. Kindly conduct performance test according to the performance test instruction in user guide. The alarm does not go off within 20 seconds when performing the correct performance test Environmental Influences detected by the sensor pads, such as wind, fan, air-conditioner, toy mobile vibrations. Perform a test which will detect the source of the movement that the device detects, eg; sources of wind such as air conditioner, an open window or a fan, movements of baby mobile (which can vibrate even if it’s not turned on) walking around the bed area or an intercom placed near the bed with intense transmission levels. Eliminate sources of wind, remove the mobile etc. After neutralising all environmental interruptions, perform the test again.

Can I use the Babysense7 on my 13-month-old infant?

Babysense7 is intended for healthy newborn infants from birth and up to 1 year of age. Babysense7 is set to recognise a defined breathing movement rate of infants within this age group (the alarm sounds if breathing stops for 20 seconds or if the breathing rate slows to below 10 breaths per minute).

Can I use Babysense7 if my infant needs constant medical supervision?

No. You should contact your GP or medical specialist and seek their advice on what alternative suitable methods of monitoring your infant are available.

The Babysense7 detects the movement produced by a baby’s breathing. A newborn, being smaller, may not have as much movement than a 3 or 4-month-old baby, and when two sensor pads are connected it does reduce the sensitivity of the pads, a little, no problem for an older baby but maybe a little more difficult to detect the movement for a new born baby. This is why it is always best to follow the instructions in the user guide including performing a regular (daily) test of the monitor. Babysense7 is intended for use as an Infant Apnoea Alarm. ALWAYS READ THE LABEL AND USER GUIDE, USE ONLY AS DIRECTED.

Latest Consumer Questions

Rebecca W

Rebecca Wasked

Our sensor seems to be temperamental - sometimes it operates as it should and other times it doesn’t; were getting a red flashing light followed promptly by a green light. Any suggestions? Followed installation instructions

2 answers
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Rebecca, thanks for the message. Please give our locally based Oricom Support a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist you in this. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Brent R.
Brent R.

Are you using the recommended plank of wood under the mattress and on top of the bed slats? We got a wooden plank almost the size of the mattress, with the recommended thickness. We use both of the sensors, not a single sensor and we've experienced zero issues. Not a single false alarm. We get a red flash only when we turn the unit on, and then we just get the flashing green light as it picks up the babies movement. If you're doing all these things and getting issues, it might be a problem with the unit, so best to check with the manufacturer - hope you can work it out!!

Debbie C.

Debbie C.asked

Hi, my baby is 4.5 months old, she is starting to roll onto her tummy of a night setting off the alarms, waking everyone up, is there a way to stop this? I have both pads attached, I will not be placing a peice of ply wood as this goes against red nose safe sleeping, so is there anything I can do about like moving one pad closer to the edge and the other in the middle?

3 answers
Joey
Joey

Hi, we had the same problem, bub would move herself right up the end of the cot where the sensor wouldn’t pick her breathing up. The ply wood sits on top of the slats, it’s a hard surface that covers the whole base of the cot so I believe it’s fine. It doesn’t interfere with the mattress and we never put anything inside the cot. This was recommended by the company, so we did it. We haven’t had an alarm go off since implementing it. I calibrate it every day and the alarm goes off within the normal timeframe. Good luck!

Debbie C.
Debbie C.

Thanks Joey, wouldn't the ply wood interfer with the air flow though? That's the issue I have with putting it there.

Mat, I was asking for help not a smart reply, my daughter has a heart condition so everytime the alarms goes off we also panic but thanks for the not so helpful suggestion and for mum shaming a mum that asked for help, your a top bloke.

Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Debbie, would love to assist you in this. Please give us a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, and the team will be able to help. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Sally B.

Sally B.asked

I have the model with just the sensor pads but I am wonering if another camera be added so I can use one camera on my 2.5yo and have the other camera and sensor pads in the cot with my newborn. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly apprecited. Thank you

4 answers
Joey
Joey

Hi Sally,
I’m not sure if you can add an additional camera from a different brand?

But you can add another oricom camera to the monitor. I rate the camera/monitor, it’s great quality that you can move left/right/up/down if bub likes to roll around.

You would just need to purchase another camera

Joey
Joey

I tried to send a pic but won’t allow. You can have up to 4 cameras paired to your monitor. Hope this helps

Sally B.
Sally B.

Thank you, yes helps a lot. Can it be any model oricom camera or do I need a particular model for it to work?

Get an answer from our members and Oricom representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.