?
? !
3 photos
Oricom Secure740

Oricom Secure740

MPN: SC740
4.1 from 171 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (156)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (158)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (157)
  • Battery Life
    3.8 (152)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    4.4 (155)
  • Audio Quality
    4.4 (157)
  • Video Quality
    4.4 (156)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Petros G.

Petros G.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Waste of money.

published

Terrible audio quality and average video quality. Definitely worth spending the money on other products in the market that have more to offer. Easy to set up, good coverage, and that is all.

Purchased in October 2020 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

Looking for Baby Monitors?

Read the reviews for Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

180 reviews
Ad
Matthew L.

Matthew L.Perth, WA

  • Verified

Pros and cons review

published

Purchased at eBay.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. We appreciate the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Excellent coverage

published

It is the best thing we have purchased. We previously used our old phones as cameras (via an App) but unfortunately it always dropped out. The unit has excellent coverage no matter which corner of the house we are in or upstairs/downstairs. There is no delay in sound and picture either. Love that there is temperature and time on display as well. It is very easy to set up. Just plug and it works straight away. No need to do pairing. The only downside is that the camera needs to be plugged in when in use. The battery life of the monitor will last for about 2-3 hours maximum after a full charge. But no complain as this really save us from running into the room constantly checking. Now we can

Purchased in April 2021 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. Wishing you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure740 compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hannah B.

Hannah B.Illawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Good monitor for the price

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Oricom for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to leave your comments about the SC740. We wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Decent monitor

published

I had the 850 model for many years and loved it, when the battery died I went back to oricom & landed on the 740. Disappointed no tilt pan camera. Picture is good. Sound seems low & battery off charger is hopeless. All in all, it’s ok.

Purchased in March 2021 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Amy
Amy

Thank you yes I know it isn’t, that was my bad. My point is I was just disappointed as for a $200+ monitor (I got it on sale) I
Would have expected the same tilt pan, my bad for assuming!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Perfect value for money

published

So happy and easy to set up good clear picture value for money have seen monitors for more money but less quality as this one would recommend to purchase this model

Purchased in February 2021 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. We wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

Looking for Baby Monitors?

Read the reviews for Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

180 reviews
Ad
finny

finnyPerth, WA

Unsafe as you can never see the entire cot

published

Unsafe as you cant see the entire cot therefore the baby at all time. The cord isnt long enough to reach any higher so it’s functionality was made very poorly, and if you do use an extension cord even in high roofed ceilings it will never get the entire cot angle. Disappointed for such a wellknown baby brand the safety of being able to see the baby all the time should be number one!

Purchased in June 2020 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, we are sorry to hear of your experience with the product and would like to discuss with you. Please give our locally based Oricom Support a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, if you wish to discuss. Oricom Baby Care.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Great device. Could work on the motion alarm

published

Great screen size, night vision works well however the motion alarm does not seem to do its job. It triggers randomly and always seems to confuse us. Have stopped using the motion alarm but other than this, the device has been wonderful.

Purchased in March 2021 for $248.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Tech SupportOricom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Highly recommended. Sleeping with a peace of mind.

published

I cannot fault this! It has not failed us and we are sleeping so much better with a peace of mind. And the battery lasts a lot longer than any other monitors we’ve tried. I highly recommended this!

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Emma, thank you for the amazing review and letting others know of your experience. We really appreciate it! All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure740 compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kim G

Kim G

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

First one faulty, second one sound cuts out

published

First brand new monitor I received had a faulty battery. Customer service were excellent and immediately posted me a replacement

Battery life on new one is great, picture and sound quality is great however every now and then the sound cuts out intermittently for a second or two

Considering price it’s worth the money

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Kim, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will ensure your feedback is passed on. If you would like to discuss anything further with our Support team please contact them 02 4574 8888 8am-6pm Mon-Fri AEST. All the best, Oricom.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Jacqui Beckingham

Jacqui BeckinghamCentral Queensland, QLD

Love everything about this !

published

Absolutely satisfied with my purchase . Love that it has an accurate temperature and great picture.
Has been amazing to have to let me spend time with my other children not checking on bub lots of times .

Purchased in February 2021 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Melissa S.

Melissa S.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Best thing for our son

published

Bought for use for our 24 year old son who has seizures in his sleep so we would be alerted to him having one so we can make sure he is on his side so he does not choke to death and die in a seizure. Works great has alerted to 4 seizures already. Gives me peace of mind and a better night sleep. We use it in conjunction with a bed sensor and we can hear the sensor going off and the gurgling noise he makes when he seizes. Best investment for our household.

Purchased in January 2021 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the support and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

Looking for Baby Monitors?

Read the reviews for Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

180 reviews
Ad
  • Verified

Simple, easy to use and helpful features

published

Purchased in February 2021 for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Good screen and bright, picture quality.

published

Easy to set up and good picture quality. The pairing was a breeze. A little disappointed that the zoom did not work as well as I had hoped. Would have loved it if the camera could have been REMOTELY adjusted to follow the nightly acrobatic movements of my 11 months old in her cot.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Does the job

published

Audio and image are good but the angle to get a decent picture or span of view is minimal. Better to invest in a tilt and pan model for simpler setup.

Purchased in March 2021 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Grace, thank you for your review. We will ensure you feedback is passed on. All the best, Oricom.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure740 compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kath M.

Kath M.South East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified

So handy and easy to use

published

I am satisfied with the baby monitor.
It is reliable, however the battery doesn't last very long. I seem to be charging it ALL the time.
Easy to set up and pair.
I took one star away because the view is kind of back to front. There needs to be camera view options and the camera view needs wide angle view.
Because of this, the camera can only be set up in limited spots to be able to get a good view.

Purchased in September 2020 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and feedback. We wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alicia Park

Alicia ParkSydney, NSW

  • Verified

Great product for the price.

published

Great that you don't need wifi to connect and view. Easy to set up, good picture quality however The monitor brightness is very bright, too bright when it's on at night time. I wish you could adjust the zoom, found the camera had to be placed a fair distance away to get the full view of the for (compared to a different brand)

Purchased in January 2021 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and feedback. We wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Monty Hamilton

Monty HamiltonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified

Good screen, strong battery, great range + handy set of features for Mum and Dad!

published

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and feedback. We wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

Looking for Baby Monitors?

Read the reviews for Oricom BabySense7 Breathing Movement Monitor

180 reviews
Ad
Yaz

YazPerth, WA

  • Verified

Good value for money

published

The camera works great in any lightings. Monitor is easy to navigate, battery lasts long about 3-4 hours approx. super happy with it considering it was on special when purchased (was $249 but bought it for $149 on special from the Oricom website.

Purchased in February 2021 for $149.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and letting others know of your feedback. We truly appreciate it! All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Fantastic customer experience.

published

We've been using the monitor for almost a year now. We started having some issues but customer support (Janet) organised a replacement straight away. It has been a great monitor and for the price you can't go wrong.

Purchased for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Oricom Secure740

How many cameras can I connect to the one parent unit?

The Secure740 can connect up to 4 camera units (CU740) to the one parent unit. The original unit is supplied with one camera. Additional cameras can be purchased from our online store or from your local baby store.

My SC740 is not functioning as it should. What can I do?

Check that both the parent unit and baby unit are turned on. Check that the parent unit is charged or placed on charge. Check that the baby unit is connected to the correct supplied power adaptor. Failing this, please contact Oricom Support on 1300 889 785 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, or email support@oricom.com.au.

What do I do if my parent unit is beeping?

Move the parent unit closer to the baby unit. Try resetting your monitor to avoid busy channels: 1. Turn both camera and parent units off and remove the battery in the parent unit. Leave unplugged for 20 seconds. 2. If you have Wi-Fi in the home, make it busy by streaming a video on YouTube or similar. 3. Turn the camera back on wait for 30 seconds. 4. Plug the battery into the parent unit and turn on. If the display is still beeping, please delete and re-pair the camera as instructed on page 12 of the User Guide. When pairing it is best to keep the camera and parent units close together (within 1m) and keep clear of all other electronic devices including mobile phones, tablets or computers.

What do I do if there is a high-pitched noise coming from the parent unit?

Increase the distance between the parent unit and baby unit. Reduce the volume on the parent unit.

Why is the battery not charging?

Check the battery is connected to the battery connection in the battery compartment. After a period of time, the battery may need to be replaced due to everyday usage. Please find the part under the accessories tab on the Secure740 Product Page.

How should I setup my Secure740 for optimum performance?

To get the best performance, place your baby unit between one and two metres away from your baby. Point the baby unit towards the baby or object you want to monitor. Check that the baby or object is suitably displayed on the parent unit screen.

What is the in-use time of the battery?

Depending on the usage, the parent unit will work for up to 8 hours on a fully charged battery with power save turned ON. When the battery charge becomes low on the parent unit, the battery icon will turn red. At this point, you need to charge the parent unit. The rechargeable battery pack (supplied) can be charged and discharged hundreds of times, however it will eventually wear out and lose its ability to hold a full charge. When the in-use time becomes noticeably shorter than normal, it is time to purchase a new battery pack.

How do I play lullabies?

Press MENU button:
1) Select the Lullabies icon. Press "OK" button to confirm the selection.
2) Choose the lullaby to play from the lullabies list. Your monitor will automatically replay

Latest Consumer Questions

Caroline S.

Caroline S.asked

I bought on Aldi last year. Do you know about the warranty?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, all Oricom Baby Monitors include a 3 year warranty. Oricom Baby Care.

Caroline S.

Caroline S.asked

Can I buy just a parent unit? Mine is not working properly.

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, for this one, please give our locally based team a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Jess

Jessasked

Can I connect this monitor to a Secure850 camera?

1 answer
Oricom
Tech SupportOricom

Morning Jess, unfortunately, you cannot connect the SC850 camera to the new SC740 baby monitor.

If you were after a motorised pan-tilt camera option, the sister product to the SC740 the SC745 is now available for pre-order, arriving end of this month. We hope this helps. https://oricom.com.au/product/secure745-4-3%e2%80%b3-digital-video-baby-monitor-with-motorised-pan-tilt-camera/

All the best Oricom Baby Care

See all Oricom Secure740 questions

Get an answer from our members and Oricom representatives

Details

CategoryBaby Monitors
Price (RRP) $249.00
TypeVideo & Audio
Features2-way Communication, Infrared Camera, Lullabies and Room Temperature Monitor
Screen Size 4.3"
Number of Cameras1
Special Buy Dates
  • 29 Jan 2020
  • 20 Jan 2021
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9338161005468
  • MPN: SC740

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.