??!
3 photos
Oricom Secure740

Oricom Secure740

4.2 from 137 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best baby monitor

Every new parent wants peace of mind in knowing their baby is safe, and a reliable baby monitor can help. With so many different types available, understanding their pros and cons is important.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (124)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (125)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (124)
  • Battery Life
    3.8 (121)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    4.4 (123)
  • Audio Quality
    4.5 (125)
  • Video Quality
    4.4 (124)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Raya

RayaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It’s good

published

The monitor does lag also the reception tends to cut out a lot always advising me “no signal”. The battery doesn’t last long. Video quality is good and love the lullabies.

Purchased in November 2020 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

  • Verified purchase

Excellent

published

Excellent product. Saw the advert on facebook. I was initially sceptical of purchasing it but im so glad i did. Very easy to set up and use. Audio and video quality is pretty good but the battery life is not that great.

Purchased in October 2020 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Linda

LindaQueensland

  • 2 reviews

Good baby monitor

published

We are using the baby monitor/camera for a couple of week now. Very easy to set up and use. We didn't have any issues with the connection and the image on the screen is very good. Very pleased with the purchase.

Purchased in November 2020 for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and passing on your feedback. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure740 compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nic

NicFernvale

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Peace of mind & easy to use.

published

I didn’t think I needed a baby monitor / camera but it’s been a peace of mind esp when we’ve had a lot of trouble keeping Miss 1 in her cot.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

It is perfect

published

I am very happy with baby monitor the monitor is nice and big and very reliable heaps of lulaby music and sound is great and very easy to set up

Purchased in June 2020 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Pauline, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

  • Verified purchase

Excellent monitor

published

This monitor was very easy to set up. It has clear image and sound, even at night. It has clear reception in our two storey house. I would buy this product again.

Purchased in September 2020 at Oricom.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. We wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

  • Verified purchase

Easy and simple

published

Easy simple baby monitor with great clear camera in dark. Very happy with purchase. Only negative is this screen is really bright, you can turn it down but it’s still really bright.

Purchased in August 2020 for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback and we wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Cleo Davis

Cleo DavisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Good value monitor

published

Easy to use and set up. Picture has good clarity with day and night vision. The audio quality is also good. All in all a good quality device that does exactly what it says it will.

Purchased in November 2020 for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

  • Verified purchase

Some silly things that could make it much better

published

Purchased in September 2020 for A$349.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure740 compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ketch

KetchPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Such a great device,.

published

Having to research what we would need this is the perfect product I would say for anyone, living on a large property the range is fantastic and the flexibility of able to add 3 more cameras if we ever desire to do so is great peace of mind.
There are also great features which we didn't expect like the general temp reader and the lullabies pre-programmed are great.

Purchased in September 2020 at Oricom for A$449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the baby monitor. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Days wasted staring at baby awake AND asleep

published

Works great, a little sensitive with the motion sensor but that’s an optional function, the lullabies are a life saver, however the ones with vocals are quite a bit louder than those without :) monitor battery life is ok

Purchased in November 2020 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and for taking the time to let others know. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Larden

LardenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great Product and Excellent Service!!

published

This unit is awesome.
I did a lot of research into the different options available in market, and am very happy I decided on the SC740.
Very easy setup. The battery life on the monitor is very good. Much longer than competitors. Screen is clear and good size. Night mode is very clear and is seamless switch between when lights turned on etc. Good range. Temp indicator is nice to have. All the features you would expect and very good quality.
Special thanks to Holly & Teresa at Oricom for sorting me out and getting it to us so quickly. Thanks again!

Purchased in October 2020 at Oricom.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the unit. We wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Kehlani

KehlaniSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Oricom never disappoints

published

The battery life lasts me throughout the entire night (just in time when I use this the most). It did not take me a big chunk of my time setting this up and it works fine!

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and for taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

just.a.regular.consumer

just.a.regular.consumerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Had high hopes but did not pull through

published

Purchased in June 2020 at oricom for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Newmom

NewmomSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Affordable and easy to use.

published

It’s great quality and light. Easy to set up and use. I like that it comes with lullaby. I Wish the battery last longer. The monitor needs to be charged after a few hours of use. Would be nice to be able to have alternative stand

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the feedback and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the unit. We wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure740 compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Value for money

published

This monitor has good night vision and the audio can be set low enough that it isn’t too loud during the night. After trialling a cheaper brand and not being satisfied, this monitor has proved value for money. It has a good battery life for during the day if you turn off the monitor between naps and we haven’t had any connection issues.

We have mounted the camera above the cot which affects the temperature gauge.

Purchased in September 2020 for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Unreliable link

published

We have been using the monitor for 12 weeks, but only recently started using it through the night. It now does not work.

The range seems to have gone - it only works if the monitor is within 1 metre of the camera. Nothing in our house has changed and we have tried all the trouble shooting suggestions.

We have tried to call Oricom but the “office is unattended”. We have also sent and email to the support team and are waiting for a response. This makes it really difficult with a newborn and we are disappointed after having spent money on the monitor.

Purchased at Oricom.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message and we are sorry to hear of your experience. We would like to follow up with Oricom Support so please message us your best contact number and/or email. Oricom Baby Care.

Amanda MM

Amanda MMSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

I like by don’t love it!

published

Love the size of the monitor and its clarity however the view is too close and can’t zoom out (compared to the 703 model) therefore unable to see inside entire cot. Like the little stand to keep monitor upright if you want/need although I think it’s a bit flimsy so don’t use it often as I think I’ll break it! VERY short battery life and the orange light on the 703 model camera isn’t on this one which means I now need another nightlight in my daughters room so she doesn’t get scared.

Purchased in August 2020 at Oricom for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the feedback and taking the time to let others know of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

ssk

sskGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Easy to use, but short battery life on monitor

published

Great features and easy to set up and use. Good night time camera view. Only issue is that the battery life on the monitor is very short and you mostly need to keep it plugged in, so not very portable as a result. Reasonable value only since it was on sale.

Purchased in September 2020 at Oricom for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the support and the feedback you have sent through. Wishing you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Jo

JoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Pretty good

published

I bought this baby monitor with additional camera from oricom for $250. I purchased this monitor based on the good reviews.

It works pretty well, but there are a few annoyances. The motion sensor is too sensitive - it goes off even when no one is in the bedroom! Or the baby just breathes..

When charging the monitor has a very bright screen showing a battery pic - meaning I wouldn’t want to keep it in the bedroom overnight to charge. This is a design flaw and should be fixed in new versions.

The larger screen means the battery drains faster than my sister’s 710 model.

But it works fine :)

Purchased in August 2020 at Oricom for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Battery Life
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message and review. We appreciate the feedback and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Oricom Secure740

How many cameras can I connect to the one parent unit?

The Secure740 can connect up to 4 camera units (CU740) to the one parent unit. The original unit is supplied with one camera. Additional cameras can be purchased from our online store or from your local baby store.

My SC740 is not functioning as it should. What can I do?

Check that both the parent unit and baby unit are turned on. Check that the parent unit is charged or placed on charge. Check that the baby unit is connected to the correct supplied power adaptor. Failing this, please contact Oricom Support on 1300 889 785 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, or email support@oricom.com.au.

What do I do if my parent unit is beeping?

Move the parent unit closer to the baby unit. Try resetting your monitor to avoid busy channels: 1. Turn both camera and parent units off and remove the battery in the parent unit. Leave unplugged for 20 seconds. 2. If you have Wi-Fi in the home, make it busy by streaming a video on YouTube or similar. 3. Turn the camera back on wait for 30 seconds. 4. Plug the battery into the parent unit and turn on. If the display is still beeping, please delete and re-pair the camera as instructed on page 12 of the User Guide. When pairing it is best to keep the camera and parent units close together (within 1m) and keep clear of all other electronic devices including mobile phones, tablets or computers.

What do I do if there is a high-pitched noise coming from the parent unit?

Increase the distance between the parent unit and baby unit. Reduce the volume on the parent unit.

Why is the battery not charging?

Check the battery is connected to the battery connection in the battery compartment. After a period of time, the battery may need to be replaced due to everyday usage. Please find the part under the accessories tab on the Secure740 Product Page.

How should I setup my Secure740 for optimum performance?

To get the best performance, place your baby unit between one and two metres away from your baby. Point the baby unit towards the baby or object you want to monitor. Check that the baby or object is suitably displayed on the parent unit screen.

What is the in-use time of the battery?

Depending on the usage, the parent unit will work for up to 8 hours on a fully charged battery with power save turned ON. When the battery charge becomes low on the parent unit, the battery icon will turn red. At this point, you need to charge the parent unit. The rechargeable battery pack (supplied) can be charged and discharged hundreds of times, however it will eventually wear out and lose its ability to hold a full charge. When the in-use time becomes noticeably shorter than normal, it is time to purchase a new battery pack.

How do I play lullabies?

Press MENU button:
1) Select the Lullabies icon. Press "OK" button to confirm the selection.
2) Choose the lullaby to play from the lullabies list. Your monitor will automatically replay

Latest Consumer Questions

Kath M.

Kath M.asked

Trying to set up the camera but I am unable to zoom out. The picture seems way too close. Tried following manuel instructions but it doesn't seem to work. Am I missing something?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Kath, thanks for the message. We would recommend contacting our locally based support team 02 4574 8888 8am-6pm Mon-Fri as the team will be able to assist. All the best, Oricom.

Shreyas D.

Shreyas D.asked

Does the camera work cord less?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, no the camera is powered by power adaptor to the wall. Not battery powered. Oricom Baby Care.

Bec

Becasked

Hi there just wondering if this monitor uses wifi?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, no this unit does not in any way use WiFi. It instead relies on a secure connection between parent unit and camera, over the 2.4ghz frequency. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Get an answer from our members and Oricom representatives

Details

CategoryBaby Monitors
Price (RRP) A$249.00
TypeVideo & Audio
Features2-way Communication, Infrared Camera, Lullabies and Room Temperature Monitor
Screen Size 4.3"
Number of Cameras1
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9338161005468

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.