??!
1 photo
Banana Boat Sport SPF 50+

Banana Boat Sport SPF 50+

1.5 from 37 reviews

Reviews

1.5

37 reviews
5
(5)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(32)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (13)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (7) · No (6)
  • Ease of Application
    2.6 (13)
  • Smell
    2.0 (7)
Previous
Next

Will not buy again

published

Used this sunscreen on my face and ended up with red marks and irritation in the places I applied it to. Very sore and not pleasant at all. Did not affect my arms when applied, however I will not be using this again and it is not suitable for me.

Purchased in January 2020.

Causes Irritation Yes
Chris P.

Chris P.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Sunburnt

published

Purchased, applied as directed and sunburnt badly. This product should be investigated by the appropriate authority as it’s a health risk and should be recalled. I have never had an issue or reason to leave a review about suncream.

Purchased in February 2020 at Caltex Woolworths for A$12.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
See all answers
Rochy

RochySouth East Queensland, QLD

Never buying this product again

published

Won’t be using banana boat again spent Australia Day at the beach, reapplied as per direction my partner now has 2nd degree burn from the sun with now sever blistering all over his body

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles for A$20.00.

Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Banana Boat Sport SPF 50+ compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nicole E.

Nicole E.Sydney, NSW

*WORST SUNCREEN EVER*

published

Want to the beach for the family today, not too hot but sun was out. Put sunscreen on every 1hr without fail and my kids got so burnt. They are in so much pain all over even though the sunscreen says "very high protection". No Protection at all. My poor kids will suffer for weeks now. Not happy

Purchased in January 2020 at Woolworths for A$14.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation No

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lizzy A.

Lizzy A.Sydney, NSW

Do not use Banana Boat!!!

published

Do not use Banana Boat, it has left my daughter with horrific burns and blisters on her face.Brand new bottles I’m so angry right now looking at her poor face!!

Purchased in January 2020 at Kmart for A$8.99.

Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
A bit Upset

A bit UpsetWestern Australia

Sensible, diligent but now sad and burnt kids. Terrible.

published

My 15yo daughter was at the beach for 3hrs. She applied her friend’s Banana Boat sunscreen on arrival and again after an hour as usual. Now (back at home) she has used Aloe Vera, a cool-pack and moisturiser but still is horribly burnt. Her face looks like it will blister. She has never been this burnt.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Mhairi S

Mhairi SSydney, NSW

Entire family left with sunburn

published

For the first time ever my kids and I are burnt after applying this sunscreen. We are not fair skinned and do not burn easily at all. Avoid this brand!

MGV

MGVCanberra 2600, ACT

Do not buy this product

published

I put this product on my face this morning and did not go outside at all. By lunchtime I ended up with a burning feeling around my eyes which ended up overtaking my whole face. I could not have gotten burnt from the sun as I had not gone outside. What I had was a chemical burn from the cream. The cream burnt my skin. It should be banned from sale. Do not go near it. If I could give it zero stars I would.

Purchased in January 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Helen K.

Helen K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Will never purchase again

published

Put this on my children every 2 hours over the course of the day and they got burnt. Cant believe this happened. Most of the time they were in shaded area. The only sun they got was whilst swimming.

Purchased in December 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation No
Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Banana Boat Sport SPF 50+ compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rachael

RachaelPerth, WA

Do not use banana boat!

published

Applied this sunscreen to my children and their cousins at 9am for a morning swim in the pool. Reapplied it again at 11am for a quick 20 minute swim at 1130 and was out of the sun just before 12 o’clock midday. The sunscreen was brand new too. Kids however got extremely burnt, all over. I thought this was a good brand but Its actually the worst sunscreen I have ever used. I have thrown this sunscreen in the bin and will be telling everyone I know not to use banana boat.

Red raw

published

This product is absolutely useless, we applied this sunscreen while at the beach multiple times today and yet still ended up so red raw and burned. I am so angry as I trusted this would protect myself and family. Do not buy this product and dispose of it if in your possession. Hands down the worst sunscreen I have ever purchased and does not work.

Purchased in December 2019 at Mobil Bomaderry .

Value for Money

Did its job well

published

We had a good experience with this sunscreen. They or out the water it helped with protecting our skin as best it could. We brown easily so we saw no redness and we didn't get burnt from the sun either.

Purchased in December 2019 at Chemist Warehouse.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation No
Mojo

Mojo

  • 4 reviews

Skin cancer sunscreen

published

this is the worst sunscreen I have ever purchased never by this disgusting brand I cannot believe that I put this sunscreen on and my face was red roar I did not understand I followed all the instructions yet still look like a freaking tomato

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Vkc

VkcGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

HORRIBLE! Do not buy!

published

Absolutely horrible. I bought this for my mum and I before heading to Fiji. My mum has recently had a skin cancer removed and is very careful when being in the sun. We are regular beach goers and always use sunscreen never had an issue. I bought the 50+ sport thinking it would be a strong sunscreen. I was wrong. Everywhere I put that sunscreen we both burnt like a bloody tomato. The places I used a different brand I didnt burn at all. I am mortified that this has happened. I put my trust in banana boat and have been burnt to a crisp now endangering my families life, where do I get compensation for this? Judging by the reviews I am clearly not the only one. Horribly product, would of been better without. Do not buy

Purchased at Chemist Warehouse for A$3.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
See all answers

This makes things worse

published

Worked outside on an overcast day. Was finished by 1.00 pm . Only put it on my face. And this was the only place I was burnt. And burnt badly. Where do I go to get compensated for risking cancer with this crap.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Banana Boat Sport SPF 50+ compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tane

TaneSydney, NSW

It works

published

Used this product regularly and it does a good job. My kids play cricket and are out in the sun for a long time. It’s also easy to find at Woolworths

Purchased in June 2019 at Woolworths for A$10.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation No
Tiger

Tiger

  • 3 reviews

It damaged my clothing

published

I’m a golfer and I could not work out why my trousers and shirt collars were discolouring. I discovered 12 months later that whenever my bare arms were touching my trousers the fabric would slowly suffer a bleach like discolouring effect. Same with my shirts collars.

$3,000 in lost clothing.

Threw everything in the bin. Will never buy that Rubbish again.

Purchased in January 2016.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell

Useless - thrown out two tubes; my opinion is unsafe

published

Son (age 21) and I used this product for protection travelling on a glacier in NZ. Son was burnt badly, very painful burns. My face and nose were badly burnt.

Purchased in January 2019.

sianne

sianneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Never Had A Problem

published

We use the Cool Zone Sport sunscreen and have never had an issue. I always make sure they are in date, keep it in the esky (never let it get hot) and apply then reapply generously. Been using it for years on adults and kids.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$16.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Pat M

Pat MSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I'm a lobster

published

After lathering this to my chest, arms and neck I am now a lobster. This stuff cooked me. Don't buy if you have fair skin. I'm in a world of pain.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.