??!
6 photos
Baumr-AG SX62

Baumr-AG SX62

MPN: SX62
3.2 from 105 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (14)
  • Safety
    3.5 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Turtle

TurtleNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Utter rubbish

published

Will not run at all
Bought a pole saw 10 years ago and it still runs starts pretty much first time every time.
Bought a pole saw trimmer whippersnipper etc a couple of years later exact same treatment storage etc stopped working after a couple of years and is a rust bucket.old one has done at least 20 times the work.just much better quality and more user friendly.no rust
Weird.
Quality is very poor now.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
IanD

IanD

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

One of my best purchases

published

I needed to cut up 60 big pine trees, and then I wouldn't need the saw again. I was reluctant to spend $700+ on a Stihl or Husky, and had read some OK reviews about the Baumr. At first, it was terrible. The factory chain stretched constantly and got blunt so quickly. I read somewhere that I should put an Oregon chain on. What an amazing difference. It has ripped through the 60 trees and has paid itself off five times over. It hasn't skipped a beat in three years - starts the third pull every time.

Purchased in January 2017 at eBay for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Chris

ChrisMoss Vale

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

You get what you pay for

published

Purchased in December 2018 at eBay for $70.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Baumr-AG SX62 compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shoelessjoe

ShoelessjoeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Terrible chainsaw, terrible customer service!

published

Don’t bother! Bought chainsaw a couple of years ago. Had hardware store technician put it together. Worked for about 5 cuts, then started emitting smoke and leaking petrol. Contacted Baumer several times and they never got back to me. Terrible chainsaw that never worked properly and horrendous customer service. Am happy to manage a joint claim against these degenerates if enough people get back to me with similar experiences.

Purchased in September 2018 for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Darren

DarrenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great Wall of chainsaws

published

Bought one of these years ago, initially thought it was great value for money. Plenty of power and cut ok for a cheap machine.

Put it away for a couple of years and try to use it, no go. On investigation, clean plug, air filter, heaps of shit has bypassed the air filter and carby inlet is full of wood dust. Didn't bother going any further as it will not start, can assume now lacking compression?

Husqvarna 55, fresh fuel added and started easily as you would expect.

When China learn to go the extra bit with quality, they will keep up with the big names, too many shortcuts in my opinion. Want a cheap disposable machine, go for it!

Might pull a few bits off it and throw it in the bin to save someone else the frustration.

Purchased in May 2015 at eBay.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Baumr chain saw AG62SX, Not worth a cent

published

Do not buying one, they are the biggest heap of crap, bran new out off box, used it for just over an hr, never being able to start it again, email Baumr , never responded to my e-mail except two month before warranty expired, then Baumr delayed and delayed and then stated to me sorry no longer covered by warranty.

Purchased at eBay for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Reece

Reece

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Light Duty Saw

published

I have had the SX 62 for just over 12 months , starts easy, chain dulls easy, chain tensioner is no longer functioning and started to fail after about 6 months, chain brake no longer functions, I have cut about 3 tons of wood with it, the saw was always maintained.
It has paid for itself but I am looking for a better known brand saw now.
In my opinion is not the best saw for long term work, it is a disposable saw.

Purchased in September 2018 at eBay for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Good Chainsaw Great Vaule For Money

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +4Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2019 at Ebay for $135.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

Yes it has been good

published

The Ebay chainsaw has had a real workout over about 5 years.

Starting is impressive EASY compared with other online stuff ie petrol whipper snipper from this online shop.

It is still working and needs a new chain often $20 online $60 from Mower Shop!!!!!

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Baumr-AG SX62 compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Freddie

FreddieWestern District, VIC

Great saws for their price

published

Found it starts easy,have had mine for 6yrs now,the only fault i have had is the chain tensioner vibrates loose,its an easy fix by putting a small compresion spring on the tensioner bolt,also i found it likes to stretch chains and the bars have a tendency to wear with heavy cutting,but ive probably been harder on it then most,its cut close to 250 mters of commercial wood(redgum,sugar gum,iron bark and old sleepers)plus the 18mtrs a season i use myself.so for the price you carnt go wrong and really if it lasts a season then its little loss and buy another,still dead cheap and worth the cash.

Purchased in January 2014 at Baumer AG for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
mates.in.china

mates.in.chinaNortheast, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worth the money - not the experience

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at Edisons for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Awesome saw, value for $$$

published

I've had a sx62 mk3 for about 3 years now and I have used it a lot and I mean a lot. I regularly saw through hardwoods (redgum ,ironbark, yellow box, mallee) up to 18 inches in diameter. Starts after 3-4 pulls every time. As a guess I have cut up 40 tons of wood with it and it hasn't failed. Keep the chain sharp, don't hold the throttle wide open, set the Carby mixture a bit rich and run it 30:1 oil ratio and it'll last. In a nutshell I've had few Chinese saws and this one takes the cake, in fact I saw them on sale and bought another for the future. I've even had a professional arborist comment on it's impressive performance.

Purchased in October 2016 for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Chard

ChardPerth, WA

Got one for 143 delivered

published

Have used 3 times and no dramas so far.

For $143 cant fault it.

Have used to cut Jarrah and some other gum trees for firewood. Chews through nearly as well as my old mans Husky 455 Rancher.

Purchased in February 2019 for $143.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Best $199 I've spent

published

Worked first time, every time.
Locking the extension poles into position can be fiddly, and it's very heavy at 5m (but that's the immutable laws of physics for you).
I was a sceptical purchaser, but this is great value.

Purchased in February 2019 at Catch for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Woogie

Woogie

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cuts well, plenty of power, reliable.

published

I bought this cheap saw to mainly cut down palm trees as I didn't want to wreck a good saw. I have been very pleased with it, I really can't fault it so far. It is a very pleasant surprise how well this saw works, it has plenty of power to cut big logs. It starts easily and I have had absolutely no trouble with it whatsoever.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Baumr-AG SX62 compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trert

TrertSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very dangerous shuld be recalled

published

Just finished repairing the 2nd one of these.
A reasonable saw for the price but latex rubber used on fuel lines is not petrol proof & actually illegal to use in most of the developed world, including Australia.
Fuel line split and covered the customer with petrol.
Put some proper fuel line on it and all was good but this is a $ 150 repair on this saw ( 2 hours work ).
IMHO a very dangerous defect, potential bush fire starter

Date PurchasedDec 2018
James

JamesSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Baumr_ag(bummer -ag)

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Mick.

Mick.Melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Have had a few of these over the years

published

For the money these saws are great. Ive had 4 over last 12 years or so. Some ive cut more than 5 tonne of fire wood a year with. Obviously they wont go forever...but geez, ive got a lot more than my moneys worth for each one. Love em.
The big stihls are stand out better...BUT, so is the price tag.
Oh.... spare bits for the Baumr have got easier to get over the years ive noticed.

Date PurchasedJan 2004
chris allmark

chris allmark

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

OK for what it costs

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Waste of time

published

Saw has Done hardly any work used on green not dry and the clutch is stuffed found with then the saw tends to cut angled fixed that problem but i own 7 saws ill never buy one of these again, its sluggish in cutting large logs, small wood fine, now the clutch is going on it dont know if ill replace it, also if its been running for a while say half a tank wont start have to wait for a while for it to cool down before trying to restart

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Calvin w.

Calvin w.asked

Sx82 ran well for around 4 days then sudden stop... Still has spark and compression clean fuel. Still looks like new air filter is clean, get an occasional pop when trying to start it. That's about all. Very frustrating to get such little use out of it. Even an $80 homelite cut more wood than this.

1 answer
Shoelessjoe
Shoelessjoe

I've tried to make contact with the owners to resolve my issues and never get a response. I can only assume it's a shame operation and I'm just writing off my payment but also trying to communicate to as many people as possible to NOT BUY BAUMR EVER!! The cheapest crap you get from Bunnings will work better.

huseinkerkuk

huseinkerkukasked

How to Adjust the Chain Lubrication oil on Your Baumr AG 62cc 2-Stroke Chainsaw?

No answers
Matty

Mattyasked

Baumr sx92 brand new saw first start tensioner broke fixed it second start chain getting real tight and. Or oiling the bar! Pulled chain cover off and bar and started oil is coming out I then checked the bar wholes and they are clean not gunked up. It’s not even 3 days old. What would the problem be

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $359.00
Use Pruning and Small tree felling, trimming, and cross-cutting
Bar Length51 cm
FeaturesQuick / Easy Start and Tool-free Chain Tensioning
Weight6.8 kg
Power (HP)4.5 HP
Engine Displacement62 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity550 mL
Release dateFeb 2012
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: SX62

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.