??!
6 photos
Baumr-AG SX62

Baumr-AG SX62

MPN: SX62
3.2 from 98 reviews

See the Best Petrol Chainsaws in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
22
4 star
30
3 star
16
2 star
8
1 star
22

Good Chainsaw Great Vaule For Money

published
  • +1

Purchased in August 2019 at Ebay for $135.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers

acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes

Yes it has been good

published

The Ebay chainsaw has had a real workout over about 5 years.

Starting is impressive EASY compared with other online stuff ie petrol whipper snipper from this online shop.

It is still working and needs a new chain often $20 online $60 from Mower Shop!!!!!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers
Freddie

FreddieWestern District, VIC

Great saws for their price

published

Found it starts easy,have had mine for 6yrs now,the only fault i have had is the chain tensioner vibrates loose,its an easy fix by putting a small compresion spring on the tensioner bolt,also i found it likes to stretch chains and the bars have a tendency to wear with heavy cutting,but ive probably been harder on it then most,its cut close to 250 mters of commercial wood(redgum,sugar gum,iron bark and old sleepers)plus the 18mtrs a season i use myself.so for the price you carnt go wrong and really if it lasts a season then its little loss and buy another,still dead cheap and worth the cash.

Purchased in January 2014 at Baumer AG for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers
mates.in.china

mates.in.chinaNortheast, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worth the money - not the experience

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Edisons for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers

Awesome saw, value for $$$

published

I've had a sx62 mk3 for about 3 years now and I have used it a lot and I mean a lot. I regularly saw through hardwoods (redgum ,ironbark, yellow box, mallee) up to 18 inches in diameter. Starts after 3-4 pulls every time. As a guess I have cut up 40 tons of wood with it and it hasn't failed. Keep the chain sharp, don't hold the throttle wide open, set the Carby mixture a bit rich and run it 30:1 oil ratio and it'll last. In a nutshell I've had few Chinese saws and this one takes the cake, in fact I saw them on sale and bought another for the future. I've even had a professional arborist comment on it's impressive performance.

Purchased in October 2016 for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers

Chard

ChardPerth, WA

Got one for 143 delivered

published

Have used 3 times and no dramas so far.

For $143 cant fault it.

Have used to cut Jarrah and some other gum trees for firewood. Chews through nearly as well as my old mans Husky 455 Rancher.

Purchased in February 2019 for $143.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Best $199 I've spent

published

Worked first time, every time.
Locking the extension poles into position can be fiddly, and it's very heavy at 5m (but that's the immutable laws of physics for you).
I was a sceptical purchaser, but this is great value.

Purchased in February 2019 at Catch for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers

Woogie

Woogie

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cuts well, plenty of power, reliable.

published

I bought this cheap saw to mainly cut down palm trees as I didn't want to wreck a good saw. I have been very pleased with it, I really can't fault it so far. It is a very pleasant surprise how well this saw works, it has plenty of power to cut big logs. It starts easily and I have had absolutely no trouble with it whatsoever.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Trert

TrertSydney

  • 5 reviews

Very dangerous shuld be recalled

published

Just finished repairing the 2nd one of these.
A reasonable saw for the price but latex rubber used on fuel lines is not petrol proof & actually illegal to use in most of the developed world, including Australia.
Fuel line split and covered the customer with petrol.
Put some proper fuel line on it and all was good but this is a $ 150 repair on this saw ( 2 hours work ).
IMHO a very dangerous defect, potential bush fire starter

Date PurchasedDec 2018
James

JamesSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Baumr_ag(bummer -ag)

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Mick.

Mick.Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Have had a few of these over the years

published

For the money these saws are great. Ive had 4 over last 12 years or so. Some ive cut more than 5 tonne of fire wood a year with. Obviously they wont go forever...but geez, ive got a lot more than my moneys worth for each one. Love em.
The big stihls are stand out better...BUT, so is the price tag.
Oh.... spare bits for the Baumr have got easier to get over the years ive noticed.

Date PurchasedJan 2004

chris allmark

chris allmark

  • 2 reviews

OK for what it costs

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Waste of time

published

Saw has Done hardly any work used on green not dry and the clutch is stuffed found with then the saw tends to cut angled fixed that problem but i own 7 saws ill never buy one of these again, its sluggish in cutting large logs, small wood fine, now the clutch is going on it dont know if ill replace it, also if its been running for a while say half a tank wont start have to wait for a while for it to cool down before trying to restart

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Luke

Luke

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Average saw

published

Got a 2 year old SX62, used about 6 times. Lately it has struggled to run but thought I'd take it to cut a few medium sized gum trees at a mate's farm. After 15 minutes of stop/start cutting, the pull chord snapped. Opened up the body and tied the chord back on, first pull and it snapped half way! So off to the local farm machinery shop to get a new chord. After a couple hour round trip, got back to the farm and managed to cut a couple trees. Then the chain tensioner nut worked itself loose and fell off in the scrub. That was game over and beer time. The job wasn't anywhere near finished and I'm now researching for a new saw. Too many little issues gave me too many headaches. Has a great engine, but other parts just aren't up to scratch.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
John S

John S

  • 9 reviews

Frustrating, and constant tweaking

published

You'll spend more time constantly adjusting and tweaking to get it to cut right..

My start stop button ceased to function and have need to replace lost nuts that are constantly coming loose..

It has done the job on a few trees, but I don't expect it to last long.

If you need it for a few jobs it's fine but realistically buying a STHIL is the only option for quality, safety, reliability, speed and longevity..

It was only $160 bucks so I guess you get what you pay for..

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Dom

DomSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 22 reviews
  • 17 likes

5 stars in most areas... The air filter is terrible, needs a redesign and gets 1 star.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Mark Stephens

Mark StephensNorth West, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Cheapest on the market and works well (so far)

published

After returning my Ryobi chainsaw to Bunnings due to major faults, I decided to switch brands. I was hesitant to purchase this one as it was cheaper than Ryobi (despite better specs).

After 4 months of use, it functions as expected and was a creat purchase for $200.

Based on my experience i can recommend this product

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Brian

BrianGeelong

You get what you pay for

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016

neil

neilCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

its not a Stihl

published

mine has been very reliable , starts very easily , I used in the raid and buggered the ignition (my bad)
was to order part and fix ,went great again did plenty of work
then lent to son and the pull start was wrecked , it wasn't as good as a Sthil or Husky but is a fraction of their cost

Date PurchasedJul 2017

does not do what its supposed to do

published

used twice,would not start, found fuel hoses split. changed, found piston rings broken when changing hoses.changed rings still will not start, coil faulty. changed coil and spark plug, set has per manufactures settings.got spark still no joy. has anyone had same problem. mine,s gone to the chainsaw heaven. i suppose you get what you pay for......

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Richard

Richardasked

How can I replace the chain sprocket on a baumr-ag sx 62 chainsaw

No answers

Belly

Bellyasked

Has anyone done exhaust mod on the sx62 62

No answers

Belly

Bellyasked

Has anyone done exhaust mod on the sx62

2 answers
acerace
acerace

Why?? Is it going on the DYNO??

Belly
Belly

Don't need ears and handing can tell me 30 odd years experience brought two at garage sale did modes they fire


Get an answer from our members and Baumr-AG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.