??!
1 photo
BMW 3 Series E46

BMW 3 Series E46 (1998-2005)

3.6 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

17 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (3)
  • Features
    3.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Mr T

Mr TSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

BMW won't help with a faulty airbag

published

After a BMW recall to fix the airbag in 2019 the airbag light has come on yet BMW won't review the fault without getting paid a substantial amount. I have heard on many instances of this occurring. BMW has continued to not take responsibility for faulty airbags which have been well documented as being a manufacturing issue. BMW product backing is extremely disappointing and will destroy their resale value if they continue down this path. BMW shame on you.

Purchased in July 2001 at BMW Dealers for A$75,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2001
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
ghostwhowalks

ghostwhowalks

  • 2 reviews

Put off BMW for life

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bmwfan

BmwfanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series E46 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
laalaa14

laalaa14Australia

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Where do i start?

published
BodySedan
Badge318i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
PerthResident

PerthResidentPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

e46 325i Sedan - Understated beast which i love to drive.

published
BodySedan
Badge325i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
2 comments
PerthResident
PerthResident
PerthResident
PerthResident

36 Months update:
Had to replace front suspension and do some work on an oil leak - another $2500.
there cars are pricey! BUT I STILL ENJOY DRIVING IT. HELP

Nick Hass

Nick HassMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Car Used

published

Amazing car to drive even when they are 15 years old now !!

It is best to buy 320i and above due to the 318i being a bit basic compared to the straight six versions, look for the 320i and upwards

They have amazing performance in the real world compared to the data sheet

They are amazing daily drivers and I can’t fault the reliability, but please make sure that when you buy useful you get a PPI and a HPI check as most of these cars were purchased on finance

BodySedan
Badge320i
Line...
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Ahmet S

Ahmet SSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great Car

published

Great car to own pleasure to drive. Parts are easy to obtain I deal with Clickable Auto in Melbourne for my parts. Just the common issues and are easy to fix once you understand the design. Running costs are normal parts and repair are easy to obtain, but always check with guys at ClickableAuto.

July 24th 2017 Update: Great after care

Great customer care , I believe I am the 3 rd owner and I was impressed they found me through the car registration to replace airbags after TANAKA recall. Its great to see they care about a driver who is in one of their cars even after 13 years of purchase.

BodyCoupe
Badge320Ci
LineM Sport
TransmissionManual
natural

naturalAU

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

Probably the best car I've ever owned

published
BodyCoupe
Badge330Ci
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
natural
natural
nregu57

nregu57Northeast, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Don't want to let this car go

published

Bought this car brand new; drives beautifully; great road holding and handling. About to update to a newer model, but hesitant at letting this one go (I'm very attached to it). Never had a breakdown or needed major repairs, so repair and running costs have been minimal. Found a local BMW specialist mechanic who keeps my car in tip-top condition (anything that he doesn't know about BMW's isn't worth knowing) and charges a fraction of what the local dealership does to service the car.

BodySedan
Badge318is
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series E46 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

You gotta do your homework

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Badge320i
BodyWagon
StickShiftNZ

StickShiftNZAuckland, NZ

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Of all the used cars I've owned, the one I like the most

published
TransmissionManual
Badge316ti
BodyCompact
3 comments
StickShiftNZ
StickShiftNZ
StickShiftNZ
StickShiftNZ
StickShiftNZ
StickShiftNZ
robinit

robinitdee why

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

The love of my life sent me broke!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Badge325Ci
BodyCoupe
Rad

RadSouthwest, VIC

  • 33 reviews
  • 24 likes

Very good

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Badge330i
BodySedan
jinpatt

jinpattQLD, 4214

  • 88 reviews
  • 17 likes

Good

published

My boyfriend bought this car when it has done 60,000 kilometers. It was a 4 door 1998 sedan. We really loved the car and wouldn't want to sell it if it wasn't too expensive to maintain. It was a wonderful car to drive around. However, when we had to fix anything it was so dear so we went back to purchase a Toyota.
Great German luxury. Great to drive. Excellent handling. Very easy and fun to drive.
Expensive to maintain which was the main reason we sold the car. The parts are very dear. Not very good value for money.

BodySedan
macca535i

macca535i

  • 3 reviews

OK

published
Badge328i
BodySedan
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series E46 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

OK

published

Overall a bit disappointed with the little things that have gone wrong but I guess I have a high expectation for a vehicle that cost over 100k to drive out the showroom (should last indefinitely ;-)!!! Looks and goes great when its in the mood.
2001 330i with m3 front spoiler, looks awesome, handles great, performs well, great fuel economy for a powerful motor....8.6l/100k combined town/highway.... amazing brakes
interior quality not up to BMW standards, window regulator on passenger front door has failed (common problem), brake dust on the wheels, small boot, small hard to use controls unless you are very familliar with them, no lumbar support on front seats????, has engine management hiccups (due to camshaft position sensor failure)

Badge330i
BodySedan
jackfrost

jackfrost

  • 2 reviews

Excellent

published

This is an older but still beautiful car 1998 328i, and goes well, 2 door windows tension wiring broke twice but on different windows, and cost a lot to fix but I guess thats to be expected. Tried getting it serviced at the local garage a few years ago, but it wasn't happy so back to the BMW dealer again and it purrs every time it comes out of servicing, Hope it will last me forever. I think it is the best classic looking BMW series car around.

Cost of servicing

Badge328i
BodySedan
See all BMW 3 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

alexander h.

alexander h.asked

3 Series E46 (1998-2005)

Are the side mirrors powered on a 318i 2004 BMW and lf so how do you engage to make them work

No answers
lilgen

lilgenasked

3 Series E46 (1998-2005)

how do see if its a real e46?

1 answer
Larry
Larry

Ask your BMW dealer

Mark B

Mark Basked

3 Series E46 (1998-2005)

What did the 2004 318i executive cost in AUD IN 2004?

1 answer
PerthResident
PerthResident

$56 500, can find all car valuations on redbook.

https://www.redbook.com.au/cars/details/2004-bmw-318i-executive-e46-auto-my04/SPOT-ITM-209213/

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and Sedans
Release dateSep 1998
Discontinuation dateApr 2005
Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series

Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.