??!

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
14
3 star
4
2 star
4
1 star
4

Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

WORST CAR EVER BUILT!

published

Purchased in January 2013 at BMW Dealers for $100,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Willcress

WillcressSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Best 4WD I owned

published

Purchased in September 2014 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hendra J.

Hendra J.

  • 2 reviews

Best SUV

published

It drives like a dream. It handles well & rides well. High fuel efficiency. Diesel engine perform well & plenty of torque. BMW has improved a lot in the past 10 yrs.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers
Sh1984

Sh1984South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent SUV - Just brilliant

published

Purchased in August 2016 for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

SKG

SKGMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Money Pit - Stay away from BMW's

published
BadgexDrive20d Lifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Drive4WD

Amit Batra

Amit BatraGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

awesome-feel drive

published

I own this car just over a year and I am in love with it--I use it mostly over the weekends as a family car--Love driving it--though it is SUV but feels like a sedan-I am simply in love with car and highly recommend everyone--Love the panoramic sunroof--SUV but compact !!

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Muzz

MuzzMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

BMW X3 30d an unassuming rocket!

published

I have now owned my BMW X3 30d for 6 months
Performance is 5 star, absolutely fantastic, super quick for a diesel.
The fuel efficiency is excellent when driven sedately.
Finish and ergonomics are perfect
Road noise is present but I believe my tyres may be the culprit.
I have given the BMW X3 4 stars, it deserves 5 stars but price is the only negative.
I forgot to mention the fun factor when pulling away from the lights leaving many fancy pants vehicles in your rear view mirror!!

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Rich

Rich

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

2018 BMW X3 30i - A very well rounded SUV

published
BadgeM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
terrywang

terrywangSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sporty Firm Ride mid-sized entry-level luxury X model SAV/SUV

published

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Anwar Hassa

Anwar Hassa

  • 2 reviews

Very satisfied

published

Great car. Drives very well with good control. Loads of features and Diesel engine gives great mileage. I tried Merc GLC but I found it a bit delicate ( not my type). The sporty version looks a bit sturdy. I am happy with this car. I might go for a bigger engine next time.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Terrible Quality Seat Covers

published

We purchased a new BPW X3 in July 2012. We wanted to buy leather seats but we were advised by sales staff that manmade leather the default was equally good and hard wearing. Seat cover started cracking in June 2015 (just before warranty expired). Seat cover was replaced by BMW under warranty.
Now in 2018 February Seat cover again has same problems. The standard seat covers supplied with a premier car does not even last three years. It is shocking to see such poor quality material being used by a leading luxury brand car in Australia.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Rudi

RudiMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

The car drives well until you get a fault light up then get out your wallet.

published
BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013

Willcress

WillcressSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Reliable Car with fancy badge

published

Love this car, it's fancy from outside and looks great for any occasion. The interior is simple yet classy, will stand for so many years ahead. It's quite friendly and not too hard to use. Love the seats because it's adjustable in every way. All mechanic seems smooth and have no problem at all for the last 3 yrs we owned it.
Although I wish the Air Con can be more cooler. But this maybe because of the petrol efficiency and the machine stops everytime red traffic light and on again when it's green.

BadgexDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014

Rab

RabAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Best car ever

published

Best car we ever brought. Very comfortable and has enough leg room. One of the best features it allows is the pre conditioning where you turn the ventilation of your car on via your mobile before you get to the car, making he temperature inside the car to better suit you. very friendly staff at Adelaide BMW.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
C L

C LSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great operational single driver

published

Performance of BMW is unquestionable. IT IS THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE!

handling is probably the best in its class. very good in maneuvering. just a noise reduction is not as good as the merc.

been using this X3 since July 2013. I would say it does everything quite good.

the only downfall is BMW didnt provide comfort shock or what they call adaptive something which makes the car runs comfortable for bumps.

other than that, amazing 4WD compact car!

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Cass

CassMelbourne

Some good features, expensive to run, customer service is very disappointing

published
BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2013

J R

J RMelbourne

A Great Team at Hawthorn BMW

published

I love my X3, and a big THANK YOU to Chris, Matthew and Christo at Hawthorn BMW for providing excellent service when purchasing my X3. The BMW seats are so comfortable, and I am thrilled with the panoramic sunroof. The bootspace is perfect for my needs. I was able to purchase 10 year fixed price servicing pack, which is a real bonus, given I tend to keep my vehicles for a long time.

BadgexDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

NotAHappyCustomer

NotAHappyCustomerAU

  • 10 reviews
  • 15 likes

Incredibly good car

published

We've had this for 15 months now, replacing our previous X5 and complementing our 320d. It is an ideal size, although rear luggage space isn't as good as the X5.

Driving dynamics are excellent, and being able to switch between Comfort and Sport is ideal when you have two drivers who have very different driving expectations.

The 2.0d engine is very fuel-efficient and refined, although I still prefer the rougher yet slightly gutsier (yet older) 2.0d in my 3-series. The 2.0 turbo petrol (28i) would also be worth a look - this is a cracker of an engine in the 3-series.

My partner liked our X5 but dislikes my 3-series, being an M-Sport version. Although the X3 is an M-Sport, we both find it an excellent compromise.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Symbol57

Symbol57Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 12 likes

Think Carefully Before Choosing

published
BadgexDrive30d Lifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Sporty & responsive

published

Performance: The drive modes are accurate, quick change of modes, very responsive in Sport mode
Likes: Lots of driver assist and safety features, cruise control is smooth, seat memory is useful.
Dislike: GPS lacks speed warning, No dash cam, possible suspension calibration issues as you feel road contour
Costs: 10.7 l for 100 Kms, not bad, not great.

BadgexDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Nicki T.

Nicki T.asked

X3 E83

cost to replace timing chain n47 20.d july o8. or new engine?

No answers

Nicki T.

Nicki T.asked

Just purchased a 2008 BMW X3 Turbo Diesel 2.0d on start up it makes a loud tick tick noise goes away when warmed up. Any ideas

No answers

Sandy

Sandyasked

X3 F25

Hi I want to purchase bmw but what x1 or x3. Also which engine to pick as petrol ones are cheaper but economy is not great. How do cost to do Service

No answers

Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

Details

BMW X3 G01 sDrive20i

BMW X3 G01 sDrive20i (2017-2019)

No reviews
BMW X3 G01 xDrive20i

BMW X3 G01 xDrive20i (2018-2019)

1 review
BMW X3 G01 xDrive30i

BMW X3 G01 xDrive30i (2017-2019)

1 review
BMW X3 G01 xDrive30d

BMW X3 G01 xDrive30d (2017-2019)

No reviews
BMW X3 G01 xDrive20d

BMW X3 G01 xDrive20d (2017-2019)

1 review
BMW X3 G01 M40i

BMW X3 G01 M40i (2018-2019)

No reviews
BMW X3 F25 xDrive20i
  • Discontinued

BMW X3 F25 xDrive20i (2011-2017)

3 reviews
BMW X3 F25 xDrive28i
  • Discontinued

BMW X3 F25 xDrive28i (2011-2017)

No reviews
BMW X3 F25 xDrive30d
  • Discontinued

BMW X3 F25 xDrive30d (2011-2017)

6 reviews
BMW X3 F25 xDrive20d
  • Discontinued

BMW X3 F25 xDrive20d (2011-2017)

18 reviews
BMW X3 E83
  • Discontinued

BMW X3 E83 (2004-2010)

9 reviews
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $62,900$72,900$82,900$66,900$99,900$63,800$74,315$81,000$67,800
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolDieselDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy19" Alloy21" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555555555
Seats5555555555
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.6 L/100km6 L/100km5.7 L/100km8.9 L/100km7.3 L/100km7.4 L/100km6.1 L/100km5.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 67 L65 L68 L68 L65 L67 L67 L67 L67 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power135kW @ 5000rpm185kW @ 6500rpm195kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm265kW @ 6500rpm135kW @ 6250rpm180kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque290Nm @ 1350-4600rpm350Nm @ 1450-4800rpm620Nm @ 2000-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm500Nm @ 1520-4800rpm270Nm @ 1250-4500rpm350Nm @ 1250-4800rpm560Nm @ 1500-3000rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited States
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Ground Clearance500 mm500 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2017Feb 2018Nov 2017Nov 2017Nov 2017Feb 2018Dec 2011Mar 2011Jul 2011Mar 2011Jun 2004
Discontinuation dateOct 2017Oct 2017Oct 2017Oct 2017Dec 2010
Replaced byBMW X3 G01BMW X3 G01BMW X3 G01BMW X3 G01

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.