13 photos
BMW X3

BMW X3

E83, F25, G01
3.7 from 53 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (16)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (16)
  • Braking
    4.9 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (14)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (14)
  • Handling
    4.6 (14)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (14)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (14)
  • Features
    4.2 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Rich
Rich
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Superb M performance and practical too.

published

Purchased in April 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rich
Rich
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

A versatile performance SUV

published

We owned our X3 30i M sport for three years (70K). Fully equipped this vehicle is really outstanding. During the time we drove this vehicle we had no issues - it was extremely reliable and very comfortable. The engine was responsive and the driving experience was really excellent. Recommend this car to anyone. Recently bought another BMW X3 this time the M40i - hoping this car will provide as good an experience as the 30i.

Purchased in May 2018 at BMW Dealers for $87,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Des O'Neill
Des O'NeillSouth East Queensland, QLD

I love my BMW X3 3.0D E83 - best car I have ever owned!

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how BMW X3 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sun
SunMelbourne

Disappointed for the quality

published

After only two weeks. Started to have problems. 1, The cargo cover can't be retracted. 2, Squeaky noise when turning the steering wheel. All these problems did not happen to my 4 years Subaru.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
smgoleby
smgolebyCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 3 reviews

Good, Versatile SUV.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2018 at Sadek Motor Group for $13,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
bretann
bretannMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 42 reviews
  • 68 likes

Very nice but...

published

Purchased in May 2020 at BMW Dealers for $76,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Craig06
Craig06Hunter Region, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

2015 BMW X3 F25 LCI 3.0d Msport

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2019 at Private for $44,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Seongkeun J.
Seongkeun J.Sydney, NSW

Poor quality, Poor service

published

I bought x3 in Jun 2017, and I had very first service last year Nov at BMW service in Sydney.
From service they found the air conditioner was not working well. and they said that the part needed to be ordered and it would take for ten days.
But no update for 3 weeks and I called them and they said take another 10 more day .
Now I am waiting for it 2 months, still no update , no calls no email nothing.
I don’t know how long do I have to drive this car with not working aircon in such a hot Summer. Not happy with such a lower standard service from BMW.

Purchased in June 2017 at BMW Dealers for $73,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
M Yang
M YangSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Half Satisfied...

published

Purchased in May 2018 for $97,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
M Yang
M Yang
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how BMW X3 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ryan
RyanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Luxury, efficiency and style.

published

Purchased in July 2019 at BMW Dealers for $72,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gerry
GerryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 21 reviews
  • 22 likes

Constant quality issues

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Essendon BMW for $74,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Robert
RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

WORST CAR EVER BUILT!

published

Purchased in January 2013 at BMW Dealers for $100,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Willcress
WillcressSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Best 4WD I owned

published

Purchased in September 2014 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hendra
Hendra
  • 5 reviews

Best SUV

published

It drives like a dream. It handles well & rides well. High fuel efficiency. Diesel engine perform well & plenty of torque. BMW has improved a lot in the past 10 yrs.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sh1984
Sh1984South East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent SUV - Just brilliant

published

Purchased in August 2016 for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how BMW X3 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Jack
Jackasked
X3

How do you tell if a 2004 BMW X3 E 83 is a 2 and a half liter or 3 liter or

1 answer
M Yang
M Yang

Not sure as I have never owned this model before. Sorry!

Nicki T.
Nicki T.asked
X3 E83 (2004-2010)

cost to replace timing chain n47 20.d july o8. or new engine?

No answers
Nicki T.
Nicki T.asked
X3

Just purchased a 2008 BMW X3 Turbo Diesel 2.0d on start up it makes a loud tick tick noise goes away when warmed up. Any ideas

No answers
See all BMW X3 questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW X3

Details

Compare all 11 BMW X3
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $62,900$72,900$82,900
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.6 L/100km6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 67 L65 L68 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power135kW @ 5000rpm185kW @ 6500rpm195kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque290Nm @ 1350-4600rpm350Nm @ 1450-4800rpm620Nm @ 2000-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited States
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Release dateDec 2017Feb 2018Nov 2017Nov 2017
Compare all 11 BMW X3
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.