??!
5 photos
BMW X5 E53

BMW X5 E53 (2000-2006)

3.5 from 26 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
5
3 star
7
2 star
1
1 star
4

Beautiful to drive, an absolute horror to repair

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Pam

Pam

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW X5

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2003

Superb drive but lots of little issue

published

Solid car and a great drive but get used to replacing / fixing parts. 2006 diesel now has 200000km. Recent issues include window regulator clips, low beam and angel eye bulbs, door handle carriers, alternator brushes. Don't waste money on mechanics, just get the parts on ebay and google how to fix and replace. Unbelievable economy for a large heavy car. Plenty of room and excellent for long drives.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Joerg

JoergSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Classic BMW...

published
Badgei
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2001

Zues Lives on!

Zues Lives on!Western Australia, 6060

  • 15 reviews

Great when new, would not buy again

published

Purchased in May 2006.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

nothappyJan04

nothappyJan04MELBOURNE

  • 41 reviews
  • 33 likes

DON'T BOTHER

published

This car was great until the kms crept up. Once it hit 200,000km then everything started breaking. Fair enough, the car's done a lot of kms, but the cost to replace the parts is insane! I've always serviced the car with a specialist repairer (not BMW as they charge like wounded bulls), and I've always looked after the car.
If you're looking for a great 4WD then I wouldn't say not to buy an X5 but don't buy one second hand if it's got a few kms on the odometer. They're just not worth the massive repair bills !!! It would be cheaper to buy a new Aussie made 4WD.

BadgexDrive30i Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2007

Vvending

Vvending

  • 2 reviews

Awesome car!! No complications or complaints so comfortable style quality

published

Fabulous all round.. quality is execeptional
You won't die in a BMW solid as a tank , get in shut the heavy door.. you know your safe and secure unlike the other cheap SUV 4wd on the market . I brought a jeep and sold the jeep and went for the x5.. more luxurious

BadgexDrive30i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2011

janaka

janakaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 28 reviews
  • 30 likes

Faulty Bmw x5 4.4l

published
BadgexDrive40d Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2002
Siren

SirenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

A great car to drive but don't expect happy sailing as it ages.

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2006
JohnNT700v

JohnNT700vCanberra Central 2602, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Brilliant! 5 stars once it's all perfect again (BUT getting it that way costs money..read on and

published
Badgeis
TransmissionAutomatic

Great car

published

Bought my e53 x5 facelift in January 2011 with 89k on the clock. Fully loaded , Still going strong . Now on 119k.
The only down point on this I had in the 1st 8months was the amp in the boot , (common fault ) damp so had it sent away from a company on eBay 24hr turn around, £220 not a problem since,
Love this car has it caused me no problems and does everything I ask it to.
Flies through every MOT.
Service is reasonable at local garage..
2 years time I'll but the upgrade one, not to keen on the new x5 on the shape .


TV Tech

TV TechMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 2 likes

2006 X5 E53 3.0d Sports

published

Have owned this car for 6 years
Currently had 244,000k's on the clock.
Its been a fantastic vehicle (especially when compared to a previously owned Range Rover).
Rock Solid road holding, Safe, Economical, seats 5 in comfort, tows, good storage, stylish, still turns heads.
Vehicle is relatively trouble free, with only small and minor issues (as with any car)
Ours has the radio module fail (a common fault, $145 fix)
OEM Battery lasted 8 years

Really i have nothing to complain about this vehicle and don't want to part with it.
As i have no idea what i'd buy next, apart from a newer version.
If you service it when required it will give you years of trouble free motoring.

Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic

Murray

MurrayDarlington Point

2003 3.0d, purchased new, now showing 365000 Klm.

published

A country car that does at least 100k at each start up. Got 100,000 Ks out of first set of Michelins, replaced battery after 8 yrs. new CV boots at same time. Replaced expansion tank and cap 18 months ago. Did replace the drivers door actuator a couple of years ago. Have replaced two of the fuel delivery pumps, the one in the tank and the inline one, around $600 each event. Have not serviced the A/C, which must be a record. This car has been a gem, with service costs lower than our 08 Navara, and always taken it to the 25000K interval.
Car still looks fantastic, but it is time to update am looking at a 2013 e70. Can only hope for more of the same. Anyone have poor result from the 013 version?


BMW X5 E53 3.0 D 2006

published

We recently purchased a 2006 X5 and are delighted. Definitely the Ultimate Driving Experience. A dream to drive. Supremely solid and stylish. Diesel is very economical. Amazing acoustics..... it makes us smile every time. If on going costs are a concern find a good mechanic that has appropriate BMW equipment and many $$$$$'s will be saved. Best to get oil change every 7,000 kms or so for maximum protection
The X5 is very thoughtfully designed and definitely sets the benchmark for other luxury car makers to follow.

Good Car

published

I bought mine new in 2003, 3.0 litre petrol

Repairs so far: alternator $700, air conditioner compressor $1200, CV Boots (3 times) $600, Rocker cover gasket $240, door actuator $400, Radiator expansion tank/thermostat $500
Still using the original battery. Always used Michelin tyres 235/65/17 can be found for $250 a corner.

It still drives great after 11 years. No squeaks or rattles.
I'll probably buy a 3 litre diesel next time
I like the way it drives.
Servicing can be expensive

TransmissionAuto
Miss_T

Miss_TSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

BMW X5 2005 E53 4.4 v8

published
3 comments
Miss_T
Miss_T
Miss_T
Miss_T
Miss_T
Miss_T

Good

published
2 comments
my2006x5
my2006x5
kelly123456789
kelly123456789

fabulas car just bought 1 and cost 160000 brand new so cheap


Terrible

published
BadgexDrive40d
2 comments
BanjoPaterson
BanjoPaterson

This review is misplaced as it should relate to the 2007 model. The 2000-2006 model (aka the E53) had no 7 seat option.

James d
James d

HappyBMW

HappyBMWSydney

After 9 years with my 4.6is, I can still say its the best car I have ever owned

published

I have been driving my 2003 4.6is now for 9 years and let me tell you it just gets better with age!
I have had no issues with the vehicle at all. Admitedly the 4.6 transmission has that rough downshift between 2nd and 1st but im at 160k now on the same transmission and its got a lot left in it yet!
A very well built fantastic car. Yes it costs a bit to service and maintain but I paid $162,000 for mine in 2003 - I was expecting high maintenance costs.
But, in reality - I would tell anyone to buy an X5 4.6is.
It seems I am the minority; maybe the "is" model has less problems than the lower models.
Reliability, V8 sound, The fact I have owned the vehicle 9 years and I still never stop smiling when I look at it

Badgeis
1 comment
katrina.mckerlie
katrina.mckerlie

so what does a regular service cost?


BanjoPaterson

BanjoPatersonYarralumla 2600, ACT

  • 54 reviews
  • 65 likes

Excellent SUV, but with Niggles

published
3 comments
BanjoPaterson
BanjoPaterson
BanjoPaterson
BanjoPaterson
BanjoPaterson
BanjoPaterson

Page 1 of 2

See all BMW X5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Rohan V.

Rohan V.asked

How much did it cost to buy x5 bmw in 2002 3litre automatic?

No answers

Belinda V

Belinda Vasked

What causes my e53 x5 back to the top?

1 answer
Pam
Pam

Hi Belinda ,I’m not sure what you mean by back to the top?? Please elaborate on your question. Regards Pam


Mark

Markasked

How can i unlock car with flat battery drivers door handle broken?

1 answer
Pam
Pam

We had to replace both door handles, drivers and passenger- not sure how I can help you with that. Sorry.


Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

Details

CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateNov 2000
Discontinuation dateDec 2006
Compare all BMW X5

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.