?
? !
5 photos
BMW X5 E70

BMW X5 E70 (2007-2013)

3.6 from 28 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (4)
  • Features
    4.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Jacob Xu

Jacob XuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This vehicle is rubbish - timing chain, footwell module, BMW customer services

published

I have this vehicle for some 6 years. It has done less than 150K KMs. I have done all services, never missed one.
The Timing Chain, according to Tim Collins of Berwick Motor Works, was damaged and must be replaced. It cost me some $7,000. When the Timing Chain was replaced, I was told that the Footwell Module was dead because the battery had to be disconnected when the engine was disassembled. I then contacted BMW, none of the phone numbers get me to any human beings. I was then told that BMW does not accept any responsibility unless the vehicle was diagnosed by its dealership. So, more than $7,000 for less than 150K KMs.

Purchased in October 2015 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
reviewman27

reviewman27Perth, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nightmare - Run away, and buy a Lexus/Mazda/Toyota/Genesis

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BCJ

BCJSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Second X5, great car

published

This is the second E70 I’ve had - the first was a 2007 and this is the facelift 2011. Same look but quite a remarkable difference in ride, steering, and tech. Heads up display, 3 cameras, etc, all pretty advanced for 2011. It’s a good car to drive, a bit hard and some road noise but handling is good. Incredibly reliable. Between the two cars and over 100,000 km I’ve only had two problems - one where the belt pulley sheared off, another the iDrive button had to be replaced (all on the 2007 model). Other than that, very reliable.

Purchased for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 E70 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hunter

Hunter

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rubbish under luxury shell

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tryingtoslowdown

tryingtoslowdownCentral Queensland, QLD

Still in love

published

Bought a 2013 35d, we have done 60.000ks in about 18 months taking it to 190,000 on the clock, its such a great car, that's an understatement, the power and torque allows towing a large float loaded effortless, and extremely economical, my wife gets around 1000ks per tank (me about 800ks) but you can really hoof it and it takes corners better than most small cars I have owned, I change the oil every 10,000ks. the runflats wear quick but if you want a 2500 ton vehicle to handle like a sports car suck it up or put normal tyres on it and buy a spare like one of my mates did.

Purchased in March 2018 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt C

Matt CSydney, NSW

This car puts a smile on my dial every time I drive it

published

Purchased in June 2018 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not that good

published
BadgexDrive30d Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2008
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Arsh G

Arsh GPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car, expensive to maintain

published

I have a Twin Turbo Diesel X-drive 35d. The handling, cornering and comfort is fantastic. The steering can feel a bit heavy but when you are driving in a long stretch of road, you will be thankful for the steady drive.
The only issue I have is the running costs. If you can afford around $2000 per year on maintenance alone, then enjoy the ride!

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Melbourne Australia

Melbourne AustraliaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

It's like a small car in a big shell

published

Easy to drive with its awesome power steering. My wife is a very short woman but she drives this car like a small sedan. The vehicle itself xdrive30d has a powerful engine and you can really feel the power. The seats are comfortable and the ride is smooth. The GPS screen is massive and ever since the first day we owned this vehicle, there has not been any issues.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 E70 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shubh

Shubhperth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A pleasure to drive!

published

The driving experience is absolutely brilliant! The car runs smooth and has many features like inbuilt navigation, TV, Radio, emergency contact services and etc. The X5 is a great car overall with a nice and stylish interior and a nice SUV outer body which makes it look a lot more elegant.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
trievalot

trievalotAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent features and build quality

published

This is my first BMW, after driving Mitsubishi, Toyota and Mazda. The driving experience is a pleasure, and despite being a diesel has much more get up than my previous petrol Prado. Mine is a 7 seater, which is OK for children/teenagers in the back row, not so good for a full size adult. Whiie the white leather was a concern at first, it is easy to clean, and the instruments are well laid out. i really like the heads up display for speed and nav.
The service costs have been reasonable, and any non warrant parts have been purchased offline for much cheaper than the dealer.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lyh3

lyh3Melbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Bought the BMW X5 six years ago brand new and...

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
HoneyJoy

HoneyJoyVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still loving my 5 series diesel wagon.

published

Just thought it worth saying that this car is still as good as the day I bought it. Amazing fuel consumption. Sometimes I forget about it all together. It's weeks between fills. It is very comfortable to drive. Some people find the controls a little odd, but I'm used to it. Still looks good after 4 years. This car just makes me happy.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark

MarkMelbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

Disappointed

published
Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
deleted

deletedBrisbane

  • 25 reviews
  • 27 likes

Smooth drive

published

At the start of this year I thought I tried BMW because Toyota had failed me. It is fantastic and always drives a smooth as a car can get. Some cars drive like trucks but this BMW is as sensational as you can get. The service is great and they are always happy to give a helping hand. So Toyota is my 1 stop car shop for everything cars!

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 E70 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
graham p

graham p

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great drive

published

I have just reluctantly sold my 2012 X5 with sports/innovations packages. Car purchased new in July 2012. (This was my second x5 with first being 2009 model with same engine but with 6 speed auto which was nowhere near as good as the 8 speed). Excellent drive with crisp handling for a car of this size and weight.very comfortable long range tourer but ride a bit rough on secondary roads due to sports suspension and low profile runflats. Have had no real problems with either x5 with servicing covered under service package which I recommend if available. Very professional treatment from the service team at Westside BMW who I would recommend highly.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lakisjoannou

lakisjoannou

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my black X5 40D 7 seater, bought new 11/2010 ex demo.

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgexDrive40d Sport
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David_Mc

David_Mc

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

2008 E70 X5 3.0sd

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeSD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
anders

andersSydney

BMW X5 30D 2011

published

We love this stylish SUV, look better than the ML or the RRS we had considered.
Driving was joyful, the cargo space was large, and I can leave the HUD now.
The 30d diesel was very powerful, 8 Speed gearbox made it run very smooth, you won't notice this is a car weighing 2 tons.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgexDrive30d
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rachel Clarke

Rachel ClarkeSouth Australia, 5000

Love this car

published

I used to have this car and I still miss it. Very comfortable and smooth drive. Good leg space and ultimate car for the family. Fantastic shockers and mid blowing for long drives. Recommended to everyone - don't think just buy. Maintenance is expensive but you know you need to maintain.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all BMW X5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Vinash B.

Vinash B.asked

X5 E70 (2007-2013)

BMW X5 3.0d, starts and idles a few seconds, then cuts out, any help

1 answer
Jacob Xu
Jacob Xu

Sorry, I am not a mechanical. What I can say is this model is crap and the newer model is even worse. And BMW customer service is the most crap I have ever seen. You can try to call them on 133 269 to see what they like.

Jame

Jameasked

X5 E70 (2007-2013)

2008 BMW X5 3.0is some mostly second time doesnt start after a few drive,already changed Battery,Starter, but its seems start with booster even battery power shows 12v up! Tomorrow going to chane spark plug :( not sure whats next please help. if I can out from the tress...

No answers
Debbie V.

Debbie V.asked

X5 E70 (2007-2013)

Hi
I have a 2008 BMWX5 twin turbo
I am assuming that my seals in the turbo failed possibly due to a blocked dpf

This caused a diesel runaway situation fueled by the turbo oil

The motor Revesby up to 5500 rpm and ran for a minute then slowed down and shut down

Is my engine damaged
How do I check if the engine is damaged
Would the blocked dpf cause enough pressure on the turbo seals to make them fail
Should I try to start the motor after some basic check on the condition of the motor ( I will have a system in place to cut of the air supply if needed ) and a CO2 bottle ready for the air intake just in case

Any other advice, some help would be graciously appreciated.

If you would like to call me for advice please advise

No answers
See all BMW X5 E70 (2007-2013) questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW X5 E70 (2007-2013)

Details

Compare all 13 BMW X5
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateMar 2007
Discontinuation dateOct 2013
Compare all 13 BMW X5

Other Large / 7 Seater SUVs


See all Large / 7 Seater SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.