??!
1 photo
Booktopia
4.8 from 30,933 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
27,436
4 star
2,322
3 star
382
2 star
228
1 star
565

Morris

MorrisSydney, NSW

First of many purchases

published

My first time ordering online with Booktopia I found the website easy to navigate. I was kept updated on delivery via text, so I knew when my books were arriving. I will definitely use Booktopia again and highly recommend it to my friends and family.

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Barbara

BarbaraIllawarra, NSW

Excellent service

published

Arrived very quickly, well packed, I bought a few books so it was a boxed parcel. This is the 2nd time I have purchased from them, highly recommend this company,

Product Quality
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo

Madelynne

MadelynneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Timeliness of delivery

published

I was surprised and delighted at the speed at which my order arrived. I ordered them on 5/12 the order was processed on Friday 6/12 and they arrived on my doorstep on either Tue 10/12 or Wed 11/12. The parcel and contents were intact and in excellent condition. Many thanks

Product Quality
Return Claim MadeNo
DeeRok

DeeRokGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Still Waiting

published

Placed order on the 26/11/19 and received 1 out of the 2 books i ordered. Funds taken out of card however product not received.
Live chat is always offline and no one gets back you, it just send you a transcript of what you wrote.
Call them and wait on hold for ridiculous amount of time and hear to go on live chat. i gave up after 30 minutes, yes 30 minutes on hold to speak to someone after 3pm. viscous cycle of wasting my time and still not getting an answer or reply.
I will NEVER purchase from them again!!

Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo

Jude

Jude

  • 2 reviews

Abysmal delivery and service

published

Ordered 3 items on 29/11 still waiting. Originally they said 7-10 days delivery now they have changed to 15-20 days! The same thing happened with my last order with them. I tried their online chat but it said I had to wait 25 mins for a chat, unbelievably bad. I would like a refund and will never order from them again.

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service

Chrys

ChrysGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • Verified customer

Overall unhappy with Booktopia

published
Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Great range of books to choose from.

published

Excellent company to deal with. I chose 4 books as gifts, and they arrived today at my home address in W.A. This is the second time I have ordered books from Booktopia, and I would definitely recommend them.

Product Quality
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo

Assaph

AssaphSydney, NSW

Great, local service!

published

Reasonable pricing and speedy delivery.
Much better to support local business, rather than buy from overseas and wait a very long time to receive books. Booktopia had very clear interface, easy to use and to order, and excellent after-sale tracking.

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Travel Book

published

Iceland Travel Guide as advertised on Booktopia site arrived promptly within time frame mentioned. Cost of book was also much less than other companies. Packaged well and in excellent condition.

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Book was perfect, packaging was ridiculous!!

published

My book order arrived promptly and in perfect condition. Product was as described. My major problem was the packaging that my order arrived in. Booktopia wrapped my order in not one, but two layers of bubble wrap. This was subsequently put into (again), not one...two cardboard boxes. I will never gain order from this company again. I would much prefer to order from my local bookseller and pick up from the location. Sorry, just being honest. Booktopia are not the only online outfit doing this, they are all guilty of it!

Product Quality
Shipping
Return Claim MadeNo

Genellen

GenellenSouth Australia

  • 3 reviews

Sensational Service

published

Book was on back order when I placed my order and I was aware of that - they gave me an ETA for them to have stock. True to their word they contacted me again to advise in stock and then to confirm my order had been dispatched.
Such amazing communication!

Product Quality
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo

Alvin T.

Alvin T.Hobart, TAS

Happy buyer

published

Order placed on 04/12/19, delivered on 06/12/19. I was pleasantly surprised at the express shipping timing considering I live in Tasmania. The textbook arrived undamaged and was well protected. All corners of the book were in perfect condition, unbent. Satisfied with the purchase and will shop again.

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Jord

JordSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very fast delivery, great quality.

published

I ordered a book and it was in my hands two days later. The price was very reasonable, comparable to regular retail book stores. I've used booktopia before and I will use them again.

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

India B

India BSydney, NSW

Terrible customer service

published

I placed an order through booktopia on 29/11/19. I received 2 out of the 4 books but am yet to receive the other 2. I have continuously emailed and attempted to use their online chat which is always offline. No one responds to any email inquiries.
Terrible service and wouldnt use again.

Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
4 comments
Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia
India B
India B
Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia

Jo Saunders

Jo SaundersSouth West, WA

Long wait for product and no reply from booktopia

published

I placed an order through booktopia on 6/11/19. I sent an email to booktopia on 1/12/19 to get an ETA on my order (no response). I sent a message to booktopia through their website on (2/12/19) also requesting an ETA on my order, again no response except for an automated email saying that my message had been sent. I received an email from booktopia on 5/12/19 saying my order has been shipped. Its now the evening of 11/12/19 and I STILL have not received my order. Not happy.

Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
3 comments
Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia
Jo Saunders
Jo Saunders

Order# 9985823

Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia
San

San

  • 2 reviews

Delivery of book

published

Booktopia kept me updated continually, it took a couple of days to be delivered but that was due to busy period for Australia Post, the book arrived in perfect condition, I will certainly order from them again

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Rhonda

RhondaNortheast, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Terrible

published

Order four books on 2 December was to be delivered 6-7 December and today 11 dec no books and no one responds to my chats!!!! Never order again with booktopia

Customer Service
3 comments
Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia
Rhonda
Rhonda

10158077

Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia

Corinne D.

Corinne D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Customer Service

published

The service I received from the staff for an online purchase was exceptional. Rainer assisted me via chat support, resolved my inquiry, and was extremely helpful. I have not received customer service as exceptional in a very long time.

Thank you Booktopia!
Corinne

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Horvath

HorvathMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Avoid them!!!

published

The book I ordered more than 1 month ago did not arrive. Booktopia does not even reply to my multiple emails to try and solve ths problem.
Better to avoid them.

Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
3 comments
Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia
Horvath
Horvath

Hi David,

My order number is 10016106.

Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia

Cesca Romeo

Cesca RomeoSydney, NSW

Merry bookmas

published

Booktopia is always a place I go to every Christmas because I know I will find that special gift for my special someone.. it's easy to order, always comes fast and is perfect.

Product Quality
Shipping
Customer Service
Return Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Page 1 of 1,547

Questions & Answers

Mary Miller

Mary Millerasked

Are all your books new .. I see different prices for the same book . I know hard back dearer but why the difference prices on same

2 answers
Linda M
Linda M

Yes, I thought all of their books were new. All the ones Ive bought have been.
Hope this helps.

Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia

Hi Mary,

We do only new books. The differing prices for the same book depend on the supplier and the printing of the title. For popular books we often have both an American and a UK supplier as well as an Australian one. The US and UK can have different ISBNs/barcodes in which case we have to list them separately. The same thing happens if the publisher does a reprint and gets a new ISBN.

I hope that answers your question. If there's anything else I can help you with, please let me know.

Regards,
David


Gondwana

Gondwanaasked

Hi Booktopia - this is not a vital issue; I'm just curious - with the current recycling issues in Australia, can your delivery packaging be recycled? The paper envelopes look like they have a glue lining so I didn't pop them in my compost heap for the worms to digest, just in case.

1 answer
Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia

Hi there,

Thanks for getting in touch. I'm not sure how it would go in composting but I am sure that it can be recycled. We made sure that the adhesive we used wouldn't affect the recycling process for our packaging.

Regards,
David


Austin A.

Austin A.asked

is booktopia free for me to upload my ebook and sell?

1 answer
Booktopia
Jessica D.Booktopia

Hi Austin,

Thanks for contacting us.

All the books and eBooks listed on our website come directly from our suppliers. We recommend you contact Ingram, they are an eBook distributor who may be able to help distribute your eBooks for you.

If you have any other enquiries please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
David


Get an answer from our members and Booktopia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.