??!
3 photos
Bosch Serie 8 WAS28440AU

Bosch Serie 8 WAS28440AU

3.3 from 88 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.3

88 reviews
5
(31)
4
(15)
3
(9)
2
(13)
1
(20)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Leo.P

Leo.PSydney, NSW

German built, but not built to last

published

Good Machine to start with, but considering how much we paid for the unit, disappointed in the unit as it is started to rust, in various places after about 7 years. It has door issues where the door does not close to a neat fitting close, you have to slightly lift the door to actually close it correctly.

We are now looking at replacing this unit and it definitely will not be a Bosch. German built means little now compared to cheaper Samsung's and LG's, which have certainly caught up to the European standard

Purchased in December 2012 at The Good Guys for A$2,050.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Leo.P
Leo.P
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Leo,
Thank you for your response, we’re sorry for the delay. An email has been sent to your personal email address. Could you please respond to this so we can further assist with your enquiry.
Kind regards Bosch Home Australia

Tony P.

Tony P.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Was a good machine for the short time it lasted!

published

Was a good machine that washed well and was very gentle. Had door issues 2 years ago but it sounds like this is a common issue with these machines. We fixed the door myself at a relatively low cost.
The machine has not had a hard life with our little family and has only lasted 7 years which is a little disappointing when considering how much we paid for it... I think we'll try our luck with a different brand this time...

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Tom G

Tom GGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great washing machine but didn’t last as long as I thought

published

Machine is now 9 yrs 4 mths old. Spent about $200 on repair 2 yrs ago (door). Now engine brushes are gone, would cost another $250. May have had a repair done under extended warranty (can’t remember).

Machine is 8kg capacity was expensive at $1600 plus cost of extended warranty.

Machine has performed brilliantly but for cost didn’t last as long as I thought it would and needed repairs to make it to 9 yrs 4 mths.

We are family of 5 and do 9 plus washes a week.

Will not repair again as door repaired 2 yrs ago not great.

Would have Miele lasted longer? With money spent on repairs would not have cost much more.

Purchased in December 2009 at The Good Guys for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 WAS28440AU compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lounge1Lizard

Lounge1Lizard

  • 3 reviews

Can't complain at all ...

published

WAS28440/20. I've had this machine for approximately 8 years. The first 4 in Country WA then 4 in TAS. It has done a minimum of 2 washes a day, seven days a week in those 8 years. It has survived being bounced across Australia in a container with the removalists. Last week the door hinge broke, so we'll order a replacement. As the title says ... Can't complain at all :)

Date PurchasedJun 2010
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
L&A

L&AAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Terrible life span

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Hdumpty

HdumptyMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Love It!

published

My 1st front loader. Clothes are noticeably cleaner. It is quiet and water and energy efficient. Cycles are longer than top loaders. I wish the drum was bigger. I could fit much more in the top loader even though it was only a 7kg. I'm very happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

What a Lemon

published

Less than 4 years from a washing machine. Clearly a lemon. So loud sounded like it would explode on spin cycle. The arrogance of Bosch to suggest that I was not taking care. I should wash in greater than 40 degrees, use less powder and wash in 90 degrees once a fortnight. Seriously? Last washing machine I had was for 15 years. What lies. Don't ever put trust in Bosch.

Date PurchasedAug 2013
Cam

CamAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

BOSCH ½ a star at best.

published

Ok it's out of warranty but I would have expected that it would have lasted a lot longer than it did! Save your money folks! Buy the cheapest machine possible and save your money on the expensive BOSCH as it will probably be made of the same cheap plastic and rubber as the expensive one that I bought! Hmm this is my second Bosch appliance to have died in the last 6 months, I won't buy a Bosch appliance ever again!

Date PurchasedFeb 2012
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Cam
Cam

Ha Joyce Mayne, I wish I was. Thanks for the robotic reply!

Ok for 9 months then had an issue but eventually sorted out by Bosh

published

The seal split and when the Bosh approved repair man came out told us this was not under warranty. Since he fixed it the noise on the spin cycle is ridiculously loud. Devastated as this is my first front loader after having a top loader. Thought I had done my homework and spent a bit more money thinking made in Germany would be better.

Update. The Bosh team were fantastic. This model is not made anymore. They replaced it with a new, updated model. Very happy now and I would not hesitate to buy a bosh again. It washes brilliantly and gently and is very quiet and easy to use. I love the dial which lights up and the easy way you can add a prewash cycle.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 WAS28440AU compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Laura

LauraPerth

Door seal gone already

published

This machine has washed well for my family up until recently.

However, the machine is barely three years old and the door seal has already gone - torn and leaking onto the floor. It is extremely expensive to replace the seal. I was not expecting to need to need a pricey repair this soon for what is supposed to be a 'premium' appliance. I'm disappointed in Bosch.

Date PurchasedJul 2013
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances

Initially good....now an expensive lemon!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2012

Expensive machine that does not last.

published
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances

DONT BUY BOSCH. Hopeless, overpriced machine and the worst customer servicer ever.

published
3 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances

sure thing. I predict you'll tell me I need to pay $180 to 450 to get a technician out to fix it because the problem isn't covered by my two year warrantee ( purchased April 2014) nor my 5yr extended warrantee..... Neither of which are worth a thing.

Initially great now disappointed.

published
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances

Open door with a knife

published

Have been using for about 5 years but for 2 of those i have been opening the door of my washing machine with a knife. It was out of warranty so I didn't have the time or money to be arranging a replacement. Still after only a few years of use I would have expected my Bosch to last a bit longer.

No real issues with washing. Seems to do the job!

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 WAS28440AU compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maria

Maria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I would never by bosch again

published

Purchased this machine from Bing Lee worked well up until the 2 year warranty expired, just a couple of weeks out of warranty and the drum on spin cycle started making really loud noises. I like other consumers thought I would get a quality machine if I bought the German made Bosch at a significantly higher price. Am now claiming via the extended warranty that I purchased . I will never buy bosch again and after reading the many other reviews it is obvious these machines are made cheap and only meant to last whilst under warranty which is unacceptable when you are paying well over $1000 for it.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances

Safety Switch Keeps Tripping - Faulty Motor

published
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
ssx55

ssx55

  • 24 reviews
  • 42 likes

Cheap build and poor excuses

published

My machine is under two years and the top has started cracking in both corners, and the bottom part of the machine is bulging out.

I contacted bosch, who replied it's won't be covered by warranty because, and I quote, "it wasn't manufactured like that". Really, genius? If it was manufactured with cracks and deformities, I dont think any one would buy it!

Bosch is riding on the coat tails of their old reliable reputation, but are the same as any other company using cheap materials and avoiding any responsibility.

Don't fork out extra for a brand that USED to be good.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
Margaret Joanne Mayall

Margaret Joanne MayallNEWCASTLE

  • 2 reviews

Door Wont Open!

published

Owned for a little over 2 years. I also paid extra to get a Bosch expecting no issues. It definitely has door lock issues. However I am very happy with the way it washes and the variety of cycles and spin options. I am unhappy that it only lasted the warranty time (2 years) and I now have to pay to get the doors fixed.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
Amber72

Amber72AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good, reliable washing machine

published

I have had this machine for 4 years now. I am really happy with it. It cleans my clothes really well. The only drawback is the long cycles-about 1 hour 26 mins for an 8kg 40C wash. You can make it shorter by using the 1 hour 60C wash, or the quick 15 min short wash for a few items. My feedback to Bosch is to make the lint plastic screw knob out of stronger plastic. My hubby broke it as he was trying to unscrew it resulting in a $150 call out fee, and a part replacement. Being the only time it has had a problem in 4 years, I think this is a good average.. All in all, I would definitely buy a Bosch product again.

2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
Amber72
Amber72
Page 1 of 5
See all Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines reviews

Questions & Answers

Raelene

Raeleneasked

Serie 8 WAS28440AU

How do l use spin only

No answers
Marj Bullivant

Marj Bullivantasked

Serie 8 WAS28440AU

I purchased this model at the end of 2014. I initially did not have problems but at one stage, cannot recall date (a few years ago) and documents filed away, I had to have warranty service done on it. It has progressively been getting more noisy, and I have not been as happy with the results. There are only two of us so workload for the machine is not excessive. In recent months, the noise is getting worse especially on the spin. On top of the normal warranty, I took out a 48 months extended warranty. Is my machine going to crash and die? Is my warranty still current as the receipts do not show full details of the normal warranty on purchase plus the extended warranty.
I have only had three washing machines since the 1970s, and the first two were brilliant. I am concerned that this machine is not even going to make six years.
Please advise of the warranty status and possible problems about to overcome my machine.
Marj Bullivant

2 answers
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Marj,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your washing machine.
Bosch appliances have a 2 year manufacturing warranty. If you have a 4 year extended warranty through the retailer then it should still be within that warranty and you should contact them or their extended warranty company to discuss what they can do for you.
In regards to the issue, a washing machine being noisy is generally related to wear and tear or, it it happened earlier then maybe it was overloaded.
If you need any help, please contact us on 1300 369 744 we’ll investigate for you.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

Marj Bullivant
Marj Bullivant

Thank you for your response. It is good to know that it is still under warranty so I will contact the relevant business/person and discuss with them.
Regards, Marj Bullivant

Raymond N

Raymond Nasked

Serie 8 WAS28440AU

Hi.. I have a WAS28440AU 8kg.. love it.. but it now wont spin till water in only, filter has been cleaned n drain functioning good. If I move dial to them it displays the correct settings etc, but when press start, it fills up but wont spin/rotate the drum to wash. This only happens on all cycles. And drain pump works with draining.
I have had this problem just after filter problem be fixed with reset. We assume it is working to use turbo wash cycle but at the end of turbo wash cycle, cloths are still wet with door can be opened without sound of cycle completion ...
then, anyway to locate or read of problem with motor sounds under spin mode..
Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.