7 photos
Bushman Original SC35-52

Bushman Original SC35-52

4.9 from 209 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Bushman Fridges

Pros

  • Adjustable capacity of 32, 45 or 52 litres.

  • Durable, reliable and energy efficient in all temperatures and conditions.

  • Widely praised by customers

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (120)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (119)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (119)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (119)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
  • Verified

Awesome fridge quiet efficient handy

published

Cools down quickly after initial start up cold beers in no time it is a breeze to set and use the fridge cover it came with does and excellent job of insulating also love it

Purchased in June 2021 for $1,295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Mark, thanks for taking the time out to leave a review. much appreciated - Tommy. BUSHMAN

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified

Best fridge freezer on the market .. love it

published

Straight forward ,easy to use no nonsense fridge !! Keeps the food cold and the beers even colder … awesome .. it draws bugger all amps which is great for long camping trips while stationary..

Purchased in May 2021 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi John, totally agree with you, it's an amazing chest fridge / freezer. We keep it is simple as possible too. Thanks, Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified

One Word - PERFECT

published

Keeps temperature steady at the setting nominated. Haven't used it in extreme weather conditions yet. Keep it in car for shopping purposes for any cold related foods. Have used on second battery in car.. Used it on solar panel & solar blanket on deep cycle battery for days without hardly any power drop. Will use fridge more in Summer.

Purchased in June 2021 for $1,495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Oooh thanks Gail! Hope you get many, many years of enjoyment from your new fridge.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
VPK
VPKAU
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Good fridge

published

Very happy with the bushman original on its first trip. Loads of dust all over it rough corrugated roads never had any probs. It runs efficiently on a companion 70AH lithium battery for 3 days with no charge and still has around 20% charge. I like the LED panel and digital controls. Also emailed a question to the team there got a helpful response overnight. Great stuff

Purchased in June 2021 for $1,230.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thanks VPK

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified

Well made, quality fridge

published

This fridge is the best on the market. Double the battery life compared to our last 45 L fridge from different company. The basket system makes it easy to access everything. So glad we went with a bushmans after all our research.

Purchased in May 2020 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thanks Kath! You're making our day already :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Marc
Marc Southwest, VIC

Good to see someone still stands up for customer satisfaction!

published

I bought a DC85L fridge online and once I got it home realised it wasn’t going to fit the position I was hoping four. Called the guys and customer service was easy as to deal with and they happily swapped out for the 65L. even after I had open the packaging. After doing the change over they deposited the balance straight away no questions asked. In the 65L went and happily ever after. It is running Side by side with my engel that I’ve had for 10+ years and would find it hard to go back to a chest Fridge after using this style of fridge.

Purchased for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Marc, thanks for writing about your experience. We're always happy to help. Tommy.

  • Verified

Fantastic fridge!

published

I bought my fridge to take home some of the wonderful foods available in Melbourne when I visit family and friends. On the 1600 km drive home the fridge didn’t miss a beat and kept the goodies at a constant set temperature including when I stopped for the night and brought it inside and connected to the ac. The people at Bushman were a pleasure to do business with. I’m impressed

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bretto
Bretto

I was trying to give it 5 stars but pushed the wrong button. Damn :)

Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thanks Bretto! Kind words :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

The perfect car fridge

published

This fridge is so well thought out. The modular system is simply genius. It’s the perfect car fridge for touring, camping and everyday use. Have found it doesn’t draw a lot of power either and keeps things cold appropriately. Love this car fridge, it’s the best.

Purchased in April 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Totally agree with you that the modular system is genius. It was Gary from Bushman who came up with the concept about 20 years ago, he's quite the smart chap too. Thanks, Tommy. BUSHMAN.

g.clark
g.clark
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Bushman fridge is terrific

published

I found the fridge to be very quiet and efficient. Although I used at Tassie at Easter it certainly didn’t use a lot of power from my solar power setup at my cabin. Importantly, it is often cloudy and so having the low power draw is fantastic. The Bushman replaced a nearly 30 year old Autofridge which used way more power, although that was only run for around 4 hours every day. I haven’t used the extension yet. Very happy. My one gripe is to put a better plug on the end.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2021 at Bushman Fridges for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges
g.clark
g.clark

Thanks Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Genuine Purchaser
Genuine PurchaserGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

It’s a fridge. It worked.

published

Solid built. Easy to use. No bells, whistles, digital panels or wifi. Just a fridge that worked well and kept all our food cold for our 5 day camp trip. Couldn’t have been happier with the purchase.

Purchased at Bushman Fridges for $1,395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thank You

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified

Absolutely perfect!

published

Works incredibly well in the Australian outback. Keeps things ice cold. Ran it between 1 degree and -1 degree. Keep beers icy. Well sealed. Very good on power off the second battery. Ran it for 3 weeks straight with not a hiccup.

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Jack. Yes -1˚ is perfect for icy cold beers that are just not frozen. Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified

brilliant product, backed up by amazing service.

published

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Stuart, thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. You can contact us anytime.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

David Eadie
David EadieSydney, NSW

Lived up to its reputation.

published

Draws such a small current my battery lasts 2-3 days before it needs a top up. Very helpful staff & a real quality product. Kept our chicken frozen for 3 weeks.

Purchased in April 2021 at Bushman for $1,549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi David, You're making our day!

  • Verified

Crikey its a beaut!

published

Very happy with our Bushman fridge. Arrived very quickly, packed well, easy to put together and swap out the lids for more or less space. Love the little instructions on the inside of the large lid letting you know what temp to set it and how to pack it for best results. Didn't think we'd use it nearly as much as we do. Expecting to use it when camping but all of a sudden I can grab that pack of chicken thighs for dinner when I'm out or take icy poles when I pick up the kids from school on a hot day and they are not half melted in a cool bag. It even works as an esky when it's not on and keeps water bottles cool and lunch fresh when I am out on the road for work. *****

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Awesome!
So nice to read that you use it more than you thought you would. Someone once told me going from an eski to a car fridge was like going from the wireless to colour tv in one hit. They were spot on! :)
Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Andy M.
Andy M.South East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Best fridge I have ever owned!

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Bushmans website..

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thanks Andy! Happy customers is what makes our day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Wayde
Waydeasked

Hi I have a bushmans sc-35 it got wet and few times and started freezing, I looked at the control panel and it was turned down like -7 so turned it back up to normal 1° next night got rain again and later that day it has completely stopped working. I've tried it in a different vehicle as thought is was power supply, but same thing. Could this be the control panel? Lights don't light up and it doesn't have the toggle switch I think it was bought around2013

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Wayde, if there are no lights on the control panel at all, then it is not receiving power. This could be for a few reasons. Feel free to call Bushman head office on 03 8080 9990 and we can walk you through some troubleshooting over the phone. Cheers, Tommy.

Kathryn H.
Kathryn H.asked

We have one of the older style bushmans with the plastic handles on the side. Anyone found a good way to secure one of these to a fridge slide?

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Kathryn, it can be tricky as the old plastic handles were not very strong after 10 years of age. We can supply new metal tie down brackets for you, and you could rivet or crew them onto your old fridge. If you're keen please email us info@bushman.com.au

Craig F.
Craig F.asked

Hi
I have bushman sc 35/52 am aware of typical noises tho it has high chirping coming and going
What could this be ?
Have enough power everything else seems fine !
Am curious is there a specific 12v outlet type that's recommended
Cheers

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Craig, hmmm that sounds unusual. Feel free to call us or email a video of the sound to info@bushman.com.au. Cheers, Tommy. BUSHMAN

See all Bushman Original SC35-52 questions

Get an answer from our members and Bushman Fridges representatives

Details

The Bushman Original is a uniquely designed and robust portable fridge/freezer, that has been a top rated product for more than 20 years. It has been awarded as the best portable fridge for 2017 through to 2021 by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

This dual zone fridge + freezer is an adaptable, energy efficient portable cooler. It can be powered by either a cars cigarette lighter or through mains electricity, and is equipped with a digital temperature display panel. One of the biggest selling points of the Bushman Original is its changeable capacity. With all-included extension kits, the fridge can be 32L, 45L or 52L in capacity, depending on your specific requirements.

Customer reviews praise the Bushman Originals durability in all temperatures, quietness and versatility. It's widely considered to be easy to use and energy efficient. Quick and helpful customer support appears to be another selling feature. Its functionality to price is one of the best on the market, though it's still a sizeable investment.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

Impressively, the versatile and popular Bushman Original Series takes home its fifth Award win in 2021 for Best Portable Fridge. It owes the honour to three factors in particular: a durable build quality, ease of use, as well as ease of cleaning and maintenance.

CategoryPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $1,495.00
Type Dual Zone Fridge + Freezer
Capacity52L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel
Cooling Capacity-22 °C to +10 °C
Weight22.5 kg
Dimensions 380-545 x 690 x 380 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Construction MaterialSteel
Release dateJan 1998
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.