??!
7 photos
Bushman Original SC35-52

Bushman Original SC35-52

4.8 from 119 reviews

Pros

  • Adjustable capacity of 32, 45 or 52 litres.

  • Durable, reliable and energy efficient in all temperatures and conditions.

  • Widely praised by customers

Reviews

(108)
(6)
(1)
(2)
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (32)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (31)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (31)
Alan Smith

Alan SmithGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

A well designed and efficient second fridge.

published

The original intention was to take our Bushman away in the ute. It is currently however, on the patio performing perfectly as our second fridge. It has now been operating flawlessly for almost 6 months in this role.

Purchased in November 2019 for $1,395.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Rick Stadler

Rick StadlerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Flexible modular unit, very adaptable

published

I have been renovating the campervan so the fridge has only had a limited workout but it has been handy for market trips and moving goods. Easy to use, cold and reliable so far.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Billy Flanagan

Billy FlanaganKatherine, NT

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good fridge

published

The cigarette lighter ends come off, small whinge.
I bought the 52 litre c/w slide & backseat 22 can fridge.
The slide is ace, but no thought given to securing in a wagon. Sorted it, but was disappointed no brackets to go over spare tyre.
Live in NT.
Both work well & are better laid out than an Engel, some innovative stuff has gone on in the design phase.
I have both the Engel works better as a freezer, the Bushman is more practicable to use a fridge.
Free delivery swayed my purchase.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve Clarke

Steve ClarkeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Bloody good Fridge

published

Had a lot of bush fridges over the last 40 years just about every brand that ever came out well the bushman cleans them all up to sum it up bloody good fridge : Regards Steve Clarke

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

GraemeJ

GraemeJSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Very efficient, solar panel easily maintains temperature.

published

I have used it to make ice for a big esky, while keeping the bushman for frozen meat.
No problems in very hot weather, when camping out for extended periods.
Very satisfied with the power it uses. Mostly around 2.4A, not often above this figure.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bushman for $1,395.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Rob Phillips

Rob PhillipsPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Great Australian product

published

I've had a Bushman since 2010 and it has worked for months on end in our 4WD camper. They are very efficient and well designed. The racks are the perfect size (for beer cans), and the body extensions are very convenient. Unlike other fridges, they are easy to clean. We had a few electronic/ mechanical problems with our old one, but the customer service was very good. It was easier to replace the old one after 9 years. It's a very good Australian product, and the new model is more efficient than the old one.

Purchased in March 2019 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified purchase

Great product, exactly what a fridge should be.

published

When this product arrived in November it was switched on and has been between my vehicle and the house as a spare drinks fridge. The fridge doesn't draw much power at all and the versatility of being able to change the volume is outstanding. Definitely would recommend, atm I am even looking at there smaller 13L fridge as well for use a a console fridge due to the quality of their 35-52.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bushman website for $1,395.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Donna Simmons

Donna SimmonsNorth Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Awesome fridge very happy, well made, top quality, quick cool down

published

Great service, very professional team, received in excellent condition and very quick. We use solar power and it cools down quick and very efficient, couldn’t be happier, best camp fridge we have had

Purchased in January 2020 at On line at bushmans for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Richard H

Richard HSouth East Queensland, QLD

Versatile and Reliable

published

When I took delivery 4 months ago, its first job was sitting on a verandah for 2 weeks in 40degree (Celsius) heat. I was using it as a freezer, and it didn't miss a beat. Now it is quietly operating as a wine/beer fridge at home. It is much quieter than the actual wine fridge sitting next to it!
I am very impressed with it. Worth every $$.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Perfect Fridge ! Thanks

published

Robust - Starts first time every time !! Gets to cold fast.
Great friendly customer service from the guys at the factory down in Eltham !!
Am sure it will last a life time

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Peter King

Peter KingGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

The best fridge ever.

published

I have ran the fridge almost constantly since i bought it a month and a half ago. Never seen a fridge use less power. Awesome. I carn't recommend highly enough.

Purchased in February 2020 at On line for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Anthony

AnthonyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Re fridge

published

Well with the great reviews and after-sales service I will be buying a Bushman fridge i am in Victoria Ballarat area where can i get one but i need to the know the dimensions because i have a tight spot on my camper trailer

1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Anthony, there are dimension and photos on our website bushman.com.au/ If you have any specific questions please call us 03 9437 0737. Cheers. Tom, BUSHMAN.

Cant kill it (God knows we have tried)

published

Purchased in March 2005 for $1,250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Ben Hoskings

Ben HoskingsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Absolute ripper

published

Purchased in April 2019 for $1,395.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

Bushman great

published

Have both an Engel and the Bushman, the bushman seems to use a lot less power than the other, flexible with its different size lids, it goes with me at harvest time, in the camper trailer, or Ute, will be using it this June July out on the Canning. Holds it temp really good, use it a lot as a freezer down to -18.

Purchased in October 2016 at Desert Dwellers Alice Springs for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Top Quality & Reliability in a Fridge

published

This is our 2nd Bushman, having purchased the first unit in 2007. Our fridge has been with us for extended periods, in extreme heat conditions, and on some of the roughest and remote roads in Australia and always performed to our needs. It’s refreshing to ring a company and be able to speak to a person who bends over backwards to help with any questions or assistance. The fridges just keep on keeping on.

Purchased in October 2017 for $1,069.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
danielson

danielsonNorth-East, TAS

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Quality on another level !

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Snowys Outdoors Online store for $1,369.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Carlo

CarloSydney, NSW

No 1 fridge

published

Hi Ive got bushman fridge and its been amazing tell recently it start for few seconds and its stop it melts the power plug and I just replace it with another one and still not working its got power in the control panel but its not cooling

Purchased in January 2015 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Carlo. Feel free to call us on 03 9437 0737 and we can walk you through a couple of tests over the phone to diagnose for you. Thanks, Tom. BUSHMAN.

Carlo
Carlo

All good Tom
I found out there is a problem with wiring from the power supply to the fridge

Thanks for the quick reply

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Stephen R

Stephen RGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

excellent fridge, runs perfectly off my Arkpak

published

Just done a weeks trip to SA the fridge is plugged into an ArkPak 730P with a 130ah battery which is connected to the cig. lighter socket in the rear of the Jeep. Runs perfectly and very efficient. Fridge was mainly used for drinks and lunch when traveling from place to place as well as picking up supplies for the caravan. Very happy with the fridge and would recommend it.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Dave z

Dave zHayborough

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

All round excellent fridge.

published

Have had the bushman for 4 months. It sits in the ute canopy everyday to keep work lunches cold in the 35l configuration. Have also been away on two trips where we used it in the 52l configuration. I can not fault the fridge. It is very efficient on power and very quite. Love that you can just set to the temperature you want and it will actually keep within two degrees of that number, and you can see what temperature the fridge actually is inside. The multi level temperatures zones work really well for keeping food frozen and cold at the same time. I would not hesitate to recommend this fridge to anyone.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Justin

Justinasked

Gday, had this fridge for years and hasn't missed a beat, till now the power light is on and displays the current temp but the compressor won't kick in at all, suggestions?

3 answers
Jacob S.
Jacob S.

Hi Justin, I also have owned mine for years and the exact same thing happened yesterday. Compressor won’t kick in but it is displaying the temp. I’m a sparky by trade, checked the connections to the controller/module next to the compressor and they were all good.
Dc supply was reading 13.3v from the car and also tried 240v supply and had 13.6v at the fridge from the transformer.
Not sure what is going on...

Anthony
Anthony

Must be thermostat

Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Guys,
Check the incoming current on the back of the control panel. This needs to be done at the exact second the compressor tries to start. If it drops below 11V for an instance the compressor will try to start then stop.
If the current is good, try the toggle switch on the back of the control panel. If you switch it to ON, does the compressor run continuously? If so, you will need to replace the thermostat. Either way once you have done this, give us a call 03 9437 0737 and we can work out what to do next.
Thanks, Tom. BUSHMAN.

Jane

Janeasked

What is the max Watts for the Bushman Fridge SC35. I'm looking to run it on a generator and currently doing homework before I purchase either. Also what is the best way to link the fridge to a generator. Looking to buy a Yamaha Inverter generator.

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Jane, The Original Bushman Fridge will draw maximum 60watts when it first starts. The wattage will drop over time as the compressor speed reduces. Most often customers would run the fridge from a 12V battery and use a smart charger to maintain the battery from the generator. This way you will not need to run the generator all the time.

John M.

John M.asked

Just noticed our Bushman fridge is not cutting off when it reaches the set temp. Have it set for -2 and it’s still running and down to -13. The beers too cold.

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi John, it sounds like the manual override switch may be ON. If you take the top off the compressor compartment (5 screws) you will se a large toggle switch under the circuit board. This should be in the OFF position. If that doesn't fix it, please call us on 03 9437 0737 so we can help you over the phone. Thanks, Tom. Bushman.

Get an answer from our members and Bushman Fridges representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.