??!
7 photos
Bushman Original SC35-52

Bushman Original SC35-52

4.9 from 175 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Adjustable capacity of 32, 45 or 52 litres.

  • Durable, reliable and energy efficient in all temperatures and conditions.

  • Widely praised by customers

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (87)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (86)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (87)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (86)
Previous
Next
Paul H

Paul HMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The quiet achiever!!

published

I bought the Bushman after doing some research and mainly to replace my tired Engel. The reviews were very good. Just got back from 2 weeks away (off the Grid) and it didn't miss a beat. Quiet, low power draw & copes well with the heat also. Great Aussie product.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hey Paul, thanks for leaving a review. Enjoy :)

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified purchase

compact, robust and efficient

published

Living on a small stand alone off grid system, so a 2nd fridge was a good investment for the times when extra capacity is needed. It feels sturdy, unlike some of the cheaper models. It's extra 'coat' helps its energy efficiency.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified purchase

Perfect accompaniment for our caravan fridge.

published

We used this fridge as as a second fridge while caravanning and are extremely happy with it. It copes very well with the heat. Will never go away without it ever again!

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Great Fridge for the back of the ute

published

Perfect 12 Volt fridge for the back of the Ute so that you can still close the lid. Runs quite and has a low power draw. Sturdy construction and nice to be able to expand it to a bigger capacity in the future.

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,275.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The BEST FRIDGE

published

Very adaptable, best setup 3 fridges in 1 very well thought out. You will not be disappointed. Did lots of research before selecting this fridge. Backup service meant to be A1 by all accounts

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified purchase

Great fridge, best one I’ve owned

published

The Bushman fridge is an excellent product, very good value for money and so versatile as there is a size option for all occasions. The fridge maintains excellent temperatures no matter the ambient conditions whilst also having very low power consumption. I wish I had purchased one years ago and have no hesitation in recommending the bushman fridge to anyone looking to purchase.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Michael Booth

Michael BoothSouth West, WA

Quality and Simplicity

published

Really pleased with fridge/freezer. The Bushman has handled some rather warm weather and done so very economically. Clever design with the extension collar and lid. Only had it a short time so will review again after a year as it will be my one and only fridge living out for a year.

Incentivised ReviewNo
  • Verified purchase

works well

published

The fridge works well and keeps items cool, compact so fits nicely in the van. The information on web site very accurate and the fridge uses very little power a great buy and worth the money.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified purchase

Great!

published

We are so pleased with our Bushman’s! Having the expanding lid is genius. These fridges go beyond exceptional. It is easy to navigate and runs like a dream. Thanks so much for supplying such a wonderful product.

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David B.

David B.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

My first portable fridge

published

I bought the Bushman SC-35-52 Fridge based apon heaps of research and reading. Well I can tell you its all true, its a great fridge with expandable lids. I also bought the fridge slide and it also works great. Its a top portable fridge and a great investment for my trip up north as well as simple use around town and weekends away!

Purchased in October 2020 at Bushman Fridges for $1,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified purchase

Good Fridge

published

Happy with this fridge. I have 3 Engle fridges and 1 Waco and this was bought for my old troopy that I sleep in when camping 1 out. The fudge is quiet which is fantastic and works really well. Side opening is handy.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

notlost

notlostSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Fridge

published

Great fridge, perfect for our needs , low power draw, 3 fridges in one.
Used in the back of our SS Holden Ute , perfect fit. Robust design and easy to clean.
Easy to tie down. First fridge was damaged in transport , guys from Bushmans sent a replacement ASAP, fantastic communication and service, rare these days.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bushman Fridges for $1,390.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified purchase

Fantastic fridge and runs on minimal power.

published

Spends long days in a Landcruiser and never a fault with it. Stays cold, runs quietly and it’s completely reliable. Great for camping, days or nights away or even keeping food cold on the way home from a supermarket.

Purchased in September 2020 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

  • Verified purchase

Best Company

published

We are really happy with our fridge thank you. The service was so quick uncomplicated very happy. We recieved the fridge had a small problem with the lead I rung after hours left a message thinking we won't hear back for ever, even after hours they contacted us within the hour said they would send lead out next day to their word they did. We highly recommend these guys to our families and friends all the time. Only negative my hubby says they need to have accessories example slides. Thank you Bushmans.

Purchased in November 2020 at Sydney Wide Chiropractic for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Audrey Elford

Audrey Elford

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Brilliant fridge

published

Brilliant camping fridge! What we love most are the baskets so you are not rummaging to try and find something in the fridge. It holds plenty of food and drinks for the whole family.

Purchased in October 2020 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman Original SC35-52 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John J

John JGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Simply the best !

published

Easily the best portable fridge - without a doubt. After reading reviews I thought I’d give it a go. Not the cheapest but as they say “quality is remembered long after price is forgotten”. Ive had mine for about 10 years and its never missed a beat. Used in the bush and at home for a spare - faultless. Don’t even consider any others. Can’t find original documents to confirm but hey its 10 years now !

Purchased in January 2009 at Bushman for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
baz

baztweed heads

Every reliable

published

I've always found Bushman Original SC35-52 product very efficient to run . Being also that it's so well insulated running and maintaining desired thermostat settings for personal preference of use really helps stand out the Bushman Original SC35-52 from others

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Duane.C

Duane.CSydney, NSW

Bushman SC35-52

published

Use mine 24/7 from 240v at home to 12v on the back of my car then back to 240v and never misses a beat.Customer service is 2nd to none.Australian made.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Bear

BearGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bushman SC35-52

published

Brought this fridge for 3 week tour around Victoria. Been great so far and has cooled everything very quickly. Highly recommend this product. I did email them about something but it was my mistake which they answered very quickly.
Yes a little more in cost however Aussie owed was also important for me. Had a good recommendation from a guy at work also plus my extended research b4 purchase.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
rygar22

rygar22Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 18 likes

Great Fridge

published

I have a Busman fridge now for 7 years and it moved with me trough several 4W Drives. The fridge has done some pretty extreme driving and corrugation among them Canning Stock Route, Tanami Desert, many Simpson Desert trips just to name a few and it never missed a beat. Low energy consumption is one of the great benefits of it.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Rick

Rickasked

Hi my bushman SC35/52 is freezing all the time. I have set the temp to 2c but it is now at -14c. I don’t know how to fix this. Thanks Rick

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Rick, feel free to call us 03 9437 0737 and we can talk you through some things. Cheers, Tommy.

Kate

Kateasked

We have a 190 Ltr Bushman’s fridge with separate freezer we bought new earlier this year but have only now fitted it. The back wall of the fridge keeps icing up. I have defrosted it and straight away it iced up and is quite thick.
The door appears to be closing properly.

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Kate, could be a few reasons why this is happening. Feel free to call us 03 9437 0737 or email info@bushman.com.au and we can walk through some diagnosis. Thanks, Tommy.

Brent

Brentasked

Hi my 35 bushman fridge is not cooling it’s set to 3 degrees lights are on and battery is fully charged just wondering if there is a go to for a quick fix
Fridge is 9yrs old
Thanks Brent

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Brent, Try a different power source first and doubler check the lead / connections and wiring are 100%. The Danfoss compressor is fussy with good power supply. If this fails, please call us 03 9437 0737 to chat through some tech troubleshooting. Thanks, Tommy.

Get an answer from our members and Bushman Fridges representatives

Details

The Bushman Original is a uniquely designed and robust portable fridge/freezer, that has been a top rated product for more than 20 years. It has been awarded as the best portable fridge for 2017 through to 2021 by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

This dual zone fridge + freezer is an adaptable, energy efficient portable cooler. It can be powered by either a cars cigarette lighter or through mains electricity, and is equipped with a digital temperature display panel. One of the biggest selling points of the Bushman Original is its changeable capacity. With all-included extension kits, the fridge can be 32L, 45L or 52L in capacity, depending on your specific requirements.

Customer reviews praise the Bushman Originals durability in all temperatures, quietness and versatility. It's widely considered to be easy to use and energy efficient. Quick and helpful customer support appears to be another selling feature. Its functionality to price is one of the best on the market, though it's still a sizeable investment.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

Impressively, the versatile and popular Bushman Original Series takes home its fifth Award win in 2021 for Best Portable Fridge. It owes the honour to three factors in particular: a durable build quality, ease of use, as well as ease of cleaning and maintenance.

CategoryPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $1,395.00
Type Dual Zone Fridge + Freezer
Capacity52L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel
Cooling Capacity-22 °C to +10 °C
Weight22.5 kg
Dimensions 380-545 x 690 x 380 mm
Construction MaterialSteel
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateJan 1998
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.