??!
1 photo
Cadbury Old Gold 70% Cocoa

Cadbury Old Gold 70% Cocoa

1.8 from 39 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
ingrid f.

ingrid f.South East Queensland, QLD

Delicious and dark

published

I love this chocolate. It’s dark and rich and just sweet enough so I don’t want to eat more than 4 pieces a day. ( I’m watching my calories and don’t want to eat a bar thanks) it’s delicious and I love the thick squares which are much nicer than Lindt or Green and Blacks which isn’t chunky enough for me. Perfect yummy choc for this chick. Go Cadbury xxx

Purchased in January 2021 for $5.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Old Gold and Rum and Raisins (Old Jamaica)

published

I loved Rum and Raisins for years but not any more. Cadbury has evidently changed the recipe as quality is definitely down. Alternative brands of dark chocolate are not hard to find but I thought there was just one brand of Rum and Raisin chocolate. I recently found a different brand Choceur (in Aldi) which is Rum, Raisins and Nuts. It's actually better than the original version. :-) :-)

Purchased in October 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
OGGY

OGGYPerth, WA

Rum & Raisin. NO raisins!

published

I'd agree with most others - the rum flavour has all but disappeared. More worryingly, my 300gm block has ZERO Raisins. I'm wondering if it's a block of plain Old Gold in a Rum & Raisin wrapper, but I think there's enough rum flavouring to discount that idea. Purchased at Coles Subiaco in July 2020.

Purchased in July 2020 at Coles.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Chocolates

Find out how Cadbury Old Gold 70% Cocoa compares to other Chocolates

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MAN

MANQueensland

HAS CHANGED IN TASTE

published

Hardly any raisins and the dark chocolate doesn't remind me of how it used to taste.
However for $5 in the double block its 'thrifty' just OK.
Quality wise it has lost its edge.
I used to rate it 5........now 1
I used to taste Cocoa now more like baking powder
Hardly "BOLD IN EVERY BITE " as
they specify. 'Not happy Jan'

Purchased in June 2020 at Coles for $5.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Disapointed.w

Disapointed.wSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not the same

published

Terrible no taste no texture chalky used to be good chocolate not now

Purchased in June 2020 at Coles for $5.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
bernard123

bernard123Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

changed wrapper and changed ingreidents

published

it doesnt taste the same anymore! i used to love it. ever since i've stopped eating chocolate.

Purchased in November 2019 at Coles for $5.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

What have they done?

published

This has changed big time. Now it's way too sweet.

Purchased in April 2020 for $3.50.

Incentivised ReviewNo
ferry mcbryde

ferry mcbrydeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rum and Raisin Formula has changed Terrible

published

CADBURYS RUM AND RAISIN DARK my favourite chocolate for decades has been reformulated repackaged and reduced in weight. Outcome terrible for dark chocolate lovers. This is the chocolate I once took overseas as a gift of a beautiful Aussie chocolate. Cadburys has changed the formula It tastes more sweetened less smooth, less rummy and with a kind of crusty honeycomb texture.Horrible. I think this is the same thing they did to their Cadburys Roses a year or so ago. Cadburys should advise clearly on packaging that the weight and formula has changed. Let me know when you have gone back to the the old mix.

Purchased in March 2020 at Woolworths Physical store for $4.50.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Megan

MeganSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not a fan

published

I usually love this chocolate but have noticed the consistency of some blocks has been really chalky and powdery which isn’t enjoyable. It’s been hit or miss lately which is disappointing.

Purchased in March 2020 at IGA for $5.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Chocolates

Find out how Cadbury Old Gold 70% Cocoa compares to other Chocolates

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fred

FredGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 8 likes

Doesn't seem as good and now smaller packaging

published

I bought a Whittakers imported 250 gram block recently and it reminded me what a chocolate block used to look like. Now they have reduced the size of Cadburys from 200 gram to 190 grams and as others have noted it is possible the taste has been change in recent times too. Not good.

Purchased in April 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Doug

DougBroken Hill

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Chalky soap

published

I thought my sense of taste had changed but reading the reviews here, it is not me, it is Mondolez (aka Cadbury). This chocolate has a soapy taste with an odd texture that I have only ever encountered once before - an East German Big W import disguised by the use of a British sounding name, so bad I binned it.
I agree with the comments about the chalky texture, that describes it well.
I did read somewhere that Cadbury substituted Palm Oil (Hydrogenated - and cheaper) instead of Coco butter. But under Australian law a manufacturer does not have to reveal an ingredient if it is under 5% unless it is an allergen.

Purchased in April 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo

What's happened to Old Gold?

published

Cadbury's Old Gold chocolate has changed since I purchased my last block only 3 weeks ago! It's always been my favourite as it's not sweet at all. Finished the last of my old block last night and just had 2 squares of the new one I bought! Yuk! Immediately it tasted way too sweet and gritty- completely different flavour and texture. After eating it for years I know the difference. I can bet the sugar content is double and wished I'd kept the wrapper which I threw away only last night. This has 12.9 gms sugar in 4 squares and I'm certain it was somewhere around 6 gms in the one I've been having.
Anyway, won't be buying it ever again.

Purchased in February 2019 at Coles Supermarkets.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Grogg

GroggSydney

  • 28 reviews
  • 34 likes

What happened?

published

I used to LOVE the Old Gold Rum n Raisin. Bought a block on special recently and it is horrible! The texture and taste is all WRONG. A weird chalky like texture, not creamy, rich or decadent at all. They must be using some sort of preservative or reduced the cocoa content or something. Not a good chocolate anymore.

Purchased in February 2019 for $2.50.

Incentivised ReviewNo

What has happened to Australian Cadbury?

published

I used to eat Old Gold by the block full, now I can barely stomach a couple of pieces. I don't know if it's a preservative or something else, but it starts too sweet (considering its dark chocolate) and ends with a horrid lingering chalkyness and frankly weird indescribable aftertaste.

After having a piece here and there over a few weeks, I've just chucked half a block out.

Inedible Had to throw it way

published

The first I have ever thrown away chocolate. The old gold 70% coco chocolate has a fowl synthetic chemical taste.

Chocolates

Find out how Cadbury Old Gold 70% Cocoa compares to other Chocolates

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

AmaZing

published

Old gold with almonds is the best-good if you are trying to eat healthily and watch your weight and need something sweet

Cadbury Old Gold Chocolate will never eat it again

published

Purchased Cadbury Old Gold from Coles at runaway shopping centre our favourite chocolate but this one was disgusting made us feel sick we through it out and will never ever buy Cadbury old gold again

Recipe change? This used to be amazing...

published

This was always our favourite chocolate - but it appears the recipe has changed. So disappointed. It's now bland and oily tasting with very few raisins.

Very Disappointed.

published

Rum and raisin Old Gold, was one of our favourites. Had not bought any chocolate for a while, and decided to buy one 2 weeks ago,. We thought at first it was a mistake, and the wrong chocolate, had been put into the packet, so giving the benefit of the doubt I bought 2 more,. It appears it was no mistake, the recipe has been changed much to it's detriment. Sorry to say will not be buying this again. Does not taste like Dark Chocolate, and raisins,,,,, well, still searching . I have just eaten 4 squares, with not one raisin,.

Raffi

RaffiLos Angeles

Excellent 70% dark chocolate that melts in your mouth with smooth flavor.

published

Exceptional smooth and great taste, very close to Lindt 70%, and very rich in coca base, love it all the way.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

sylvia

sylviaasked

is it suitable for baking?

1 answer
Mike
Mike

Cadbury changed their product last year, to its detriment. It doesn't taste as nice as it used to. I don't buy it any more.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryChocolates
Release dateJune 2010

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.