??!
5 photos
Cancer Council Ultra Sunscreen

Cancer Council Ultra Sunscreen

1.5 from 129 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.5

129 reviews
5
(13)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(6)
1
(109)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (9)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (7) · No (4)
  • Ease of Application
    2.0 (7)
  • Smell
    2.0 (6)
Previous
Next
Liliana S.

Liliana S.Sydney, NSW

Causing irritation, red itchy skins

published

Causing irritation, red itchy skins. I never had any allergy with any lotion before, but Ultra Sunscreen from Cancer Council seems have something wrong in their formula. It make my arms and legs itchy all over even after I wash them away it still itchy for some hours.

Purchased in November 2020 for A$22.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
See all answers
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council

Did not provide any protection

published

Like others who have reviewed this product, I got severely burnt whilst using copious amounts of this product. People think they are doing the right thing getting a higher UV rating. Disgusting.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Chris

ChrisPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Eyes hate this product

published

Used this product twice both time carefully not near eyes after a couple of hours eyes irritating could not open in the light took hours to wash out and painfull something is wrong to be able to sell this product with so many complaints especially sunburn and eye irritation

Purchased in September 2020 for A$26.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Cancer Council Ultra Sunscreen compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Fantastic!!!

published

This sunscreen is great! I have 11 kids and 1 bottle covered all of them, from head to toe, twice (a new record)! But my only complaint is that it doesn't tell kids not to drink it because all my kids are now yellow froom drinking it! mmmmmmmkay bye!

Purchased in January 1970 at McDonald's for A$500,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes IrritationYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Has the formula changed

published

I have been a long time user of cancer council sunscreens but the past 2months have noticed that the SPF 50 is not working at all. I work outside, use sunscreen often and am covered up. However I am now getting burnt on my face. Maybe check the factory and quality control?

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
See all answers
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Brooke

BrookeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not happy Jan

published

A friend applied a good amount of sunscreen 20min before going to the river (50+ cancer counsell). Went swimming for 1 hour, got out dried off, had lunch and then re-applied and this was the end result. We weren’t even out for even 3 hours! People that were with me that didn’t apply sunscreen didn’t even get this burnt. This sunscreen is not sunscreen and with reading the feed back should be pulled of the shelf. My niece applied the same amount and this is her face. She also had a hat on and long sleeve swimmers on. Your product needs massive improvement.

Purchased in January 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for A$26.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
See all answers
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council

SEVERELY SUNBURNT

published

I used the 50+ Cancer Council Ultra Sunscreen and so did my teenage son. We are severely sunburnt after 3 applications over a 3 hour period on a 26 degree day. It is as if the sunscreen accelerated the burning process. We are so burnt in the areas that we applied the sunscreen, never been this bad before EVER. Do not use this product it does not work and if anything actually makes you burn.

Incentivised ReviewNo
3 comments
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Kim
Kim

Hi Domenica,
This seems to be the standard reply that you give to anyone that makes a comment. What is the cancer council actually doing about such a dangerous product instead of hand balling it off to another company?

Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Emily

Emily

  • 2 reviews

Terrible suncream

published

I normally use Banana Boat but recently purchased the 50+ Cancer Council suncream because it was on special at Coles. Firstly, my 2 year old broke out in a horrible rash, blisters and irritation that took 3 days to clear, and he’s never had a problem with other brands. Secondly, I applied an extremely generous layer of suncream everywhere (I’m paranoid about skin cancer), reapplied 2 hours later, and still managed to get burnt! My face was also stinging like crazy after applying, which has never happened with any other brands before. Terrible that this awful suncream is associated with the Cancer Council - an organisation you’d think you could trust!

Purchased in January 2020.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Stephanie L.

Stephanie L.

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

DO NOT BUY THIS

published

I have dark hair, olive skin, and I am not usually a candidate for sunburn, especially not after I've emptied half a tube of this stuff on myself. But I spent the Xmas holidays looking like an idiot who didn't use enough sunscreen because it just didn't work. Didn't work for my partner either. The only place I didn't get burnt was on my face, where I was wearing neutrogena sunscreen instead. Cancer Council needs to recall this dangerous product.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
See all answers
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Cancer Council Ultra Sunscreen compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolute Disgrace

published

I wish I had read the reviews before buying. My husband and I are both sunburnt after using the 50+ Ultra Sunscreen. Thankfully we used Banana Boat baby sunscreen on our toddler so she didn’t get burnt. It’s a disgrace that this is associated with the Cancer Council.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
See all answers
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council

Terrible - severely sunburnt

published

I used the 50+ two days ago and I'm still nursing extremely red, sore legs with swollen ankles. I was at the beach for a couple of hours with my children and husband. My eldest daughter got a bit burnt on her back, my arms, chest and legs are extremely burnt, my husband who didn't have any sunscreen on - is fine!
We usually use Hamilton sunscreen as it suits my children's skin better however we were on holidays and the only option was sunscreen from the supermarket. I assumed being Cancer Council brand and 50+ it was a good choice for me and my family. Apparently not.

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Craig

CraigCentral, TAS

Sunburnt

published

Terrible product, not sure how they are able to sell it, sunburnt and itchy, terrible product, Cancer counsel should be ashamed for selling such a below par sunscreen. Definitely not looking after my skin, or myself.

Purchased in October 2019 at Coles.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Blistered

BlisteredSydney, NSW

Disgusted with blisters!

published

I am hypervigilant with sun care and my kids have never ever been sunburnt until i used this rubbish! I used this poor excuse for sunscreen and we are now NOT enjoying our overseas holiday with blisters! Might i add this is the 1st time i have purchased this poor excuse for sunscreen and am utterly disgusted!

Purchased in November 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationNo
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Nikki Smith

Nikki SmithSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst sunscreen on earth- con job

published

On holiday in Thailand with me and two kids consistently put on bought 50+ after putting it on felt the sun burning skin now we look like lobster Con job like when you donate only 4c in the dollar is received the rest goes to marketing mmm

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles for A$15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Causes IrritationYes
See all answers
1 comment
Cancer Council
Cancer C.Cancer Council
Josh

JoshAuckland

I live in New Zealand. Aussie’s - class action lawsuit?

published

Terrible sunburn as everyone else seemed to experience. Australia - you should sue the manufacturer. It’s abhorrent and dangerous to sell this.

Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Cancer Council Ultra Sunscreen compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible

published

Terrible sunscreen. No protection; followed instructions for use and still got burnt. Not only did I get burnt but I broke out in a terrible rash. Would not recommend!

Sam

SamBrisbane

Worst Sunburn i have ever had. Do not buy!

published

Disgusting this is cancer council sunscreen

published

Both my husband and I used this sunscreen liberally whilst out at the beach for 2 hours. We were both burnt despite the application. Thankfully we had applied another brand to our 20 month old toddler who did not get burnt. This sunscreen is going in the BIN! Will never buy again.

Matt

MattBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Cancer Council Ultra SPF50+ applied more than recommended, yet we all still burned

published

This item should not be on the shelves! We purchased this as it was on sale, in future we wont be making that mistake again. We all applied this product generously and well within the 2 hours recommended yet we all still badly burned to the point of blisters! My wife used another companies SPF50+ on her face which completely protected her face but the rest of her body is severely burned with blisters

Bel

BelBeaconsfield

Never use this product!!!

published

I made sure that we applied a thick layer of this sunscreen every hour, and unfortunately we still ended up getting burnt. The product should be pulled from the shelves.

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Meggs

Meggsasked

I applied Cancer Council 50+ yesterday afternoon and inadvertently rubbed it into my left eye. The stinging was painful and I was unable to open my eye for several hours. I did wash it out with water which helped a little. However this morning my eye is still not right and my vision is blurry. What can I do?

1 answer
Vanessa
Vanessa

I would go to a GP and get some antibiotic drops u have an infection / irritation

Lawrence

Lawrenceasked

I am using Cancer Council SPF50+, particularly on my arms when I play golf.

This season I have had a sharp reaction: blotchy red marks, skin irritation, itchiness. In previous years I have used a different brand with NO reaction at all.

Is it the Cancer Council sunscreen? I don't know, but can't think of any other possible source. It has been persisting for a month now, and has barely eased after I stopped using the sunscreen and took to wearing long sleeved shirts.

Next stop is to see my doctor.

No answers
BURNTBEYONDBELIEF

BURNTBEYONDBELIEFasked

having purchased Cancer Council 50+ sport sunscreen as the usual brands of Ego and Hamilton that I buy were not available I have been disgusted and appalled. Used it for the first and last time yesterday and got extremely burnt whilst outdoors and not in direct sun for a little over an hour. I have had the skin condition of vitiligo for most of my life, 42 years so the lack of protection was especially damaging. I would like to know why this product is even on the market given your lack of reputable quality testing, or at least clear and explicit warnings at point of sale.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Cancer Council representatives

Details

CategorySun Protection & Care Products
Release dateOct 2007

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.