??!
1 photo
CGU Home and Contents Insurance

CGU Home and Contents Insurance

1.8 from 102 reviews

Reviews

1.8

102 reviews
5
(16)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(78)
Previous
Next
Sam

Sam

  • 3 reviews

SCAM!!! All the other scam feedbacks are 100% true. You have been warned

published

After they refused couple of claims in the past, this time they tried to refuse a claim for a accidental breakage of glass which was clearly included under our policy, after hours of argument, the operator spoke to her manager and said yes we can cover it and gave us a $700 excess, which we decided not to go ahead with and had a new glass installed $250 the next day. They give you bogus excess so you don't bother going through them when you need them. You have been warned!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJune 2020
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Tony

TonySouth East Queensland, QLD

Unsatisfactory -Damaged Roof during Hail Storm

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Tony
Tony

I have messaged the following on facebook
[Number Removed]. PLease contact me again on [Number Removed]. I have posted my issues on Product Review

CGU
Care TeamCGU

Thanks Tony, I have asked Product Review to remove the claim number and your contact number as this is a public forum and we would hate for someone to have access to your information. I can see this has been escalated for you. ~Nada

Nickname

NicknameVictoria

  • 14 reviews

CGU- not for you

published

A high end premium for little benefit. Poor communication throughout the claim process and needed to keep following up with phone calls. Denial of claim prior to complete report from the assessor.
Shop around.

Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Nickname
Nickname

Thank you but no, I’ve voted with my feet and left CGU for a better insurance company.

Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how CGU Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shaleen

ShaleenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Worst Service Ever - CGU and BUPA Contenst Insurance

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
2 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Shaleen
Shaleen
SKJ

SKJGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible Customer Service.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
caz

caz

  • 5 reviews

Awesome service. Would give more than 5 stars

published

When our roof was torn off in a storm, CGU was brilliant. They organized excellent accommodation, replaced all our contents and rebuilt our house. They could not have been more understanding and helpful. We've been with them for many years and I'm never changing insurers. I've recommended them to everyone I know. They also helped my sister with her landlord's insurance and were fantastic when she made a claim for water damage.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Caz, thanks for the 5 star review! We are glad to hear you had a great claims experience and so did your sister. We hope to provide everyone the same level of service and our claims team work extremely hard. ~Natalie

Dan the unhappy

Dan the unhappySydney Surrounds, NSW

Liars and cheats storm damage

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Meagan

MeaganSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Awful service. Do not use this company. Worst ever

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Meagan
Meagan
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Thanks Meagan, I have emailed your details through to a claims specialist asking for assistance. Have a great weekend ~Renae

Matt

MattNathalia

Storm Damage Claim

published

Terrible service. Had to constantly chase up claim with no replies. Sent out 3rd party building assessor who suggested to reject claim as I had opened up roof and ceiling to try and prevent further flooding and claimed this had contributed to it. I pay the premium insurance with incident cover and this is the second time CGU have wriggled out of an incident claiming it was not valid. I do not recommend them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
8 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Matt
Matt
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Matt, if you aren't happy with the decision and don't believe a review will be done fairly if you dispute it you do have a right to head to AFCA where they will do their own independent review for you. ~Natalie

Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how CGU Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible service

published

Had to make claim for water damage.
You bump me off to a building company who are also crap.. premium premiums and get a budget fix!
Anyway living in mould,you ripped up a small area of carpet , you want to cut out a small area of damaged gyprock wall, without looking if frame is still structurally sound .
How the hell are you going to be see why the water metre is off the charts on same wall but in kitchen if you don't take down one side.
After all these years i think it's time to find a new insurer for home and cars.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents and Home Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Not happy jan
Not happy jan
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Sorry to hear that Not happy jan, we hope that your building work is rectified asap ~Renae

Jason

JasonHunter Region, NSW

Don't pay when you claim!!

published

After moving house we found that there had been accidental damage to some furniture. When I called up to make the claim the CGU employee asked when the damage occurred. I stated that the damage happeed at some point during taking the furniture apart, loading it, transporting it, unloading and reassembly. CGU's position was that unless we could point to specific moment at which the damage occurred it is not covered. I eplained to th operator that I was not willing to lie about the moment the damage occurred or fabricate an event just to get a payout. This company happily takes your money but does NOT cover you, they are unethical and avoid them at all costs.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
2 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Jason
Jason
Chris H.

Chris H.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

SUPER FAST SERVICE

published

I reversed into my garage door during a storm and power cut(turns out the door does not retract fully when not powered by the motor)and 3 days after i sent CGU the quote to replace the money has been issued,this is my first dealings with a claim and very happy with the service,i have 3 houses and 3 vehicles insured with them

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Chris, it's great to hear about your positive experience. I do hope we are able to meet this level of service at every interaction. ~Natalie

Appaling

published

I'm seriously considering leaving this company after many years. I've recently been robbed and it's taking forever for anyone to contact me, today Rona the person managing my claim, rang and then hung up on me. Next thing I got a text saying they'd tried to contact me, going on 3 months and I've not had contact with this elusive Rona, where do I complain before taking it to the ombudsman?

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
not impressed
not impressed

The number you've provided connects to a Malaysian call centre, they never put you through to your claims officer.

CGU
Care TeamCGU

We do have colleagues in Manila and unfortunately we can never be sure your claims officer will be available at the time of the call. If there is anything we can help with, please message us on Facebook so we can escalate your concerns. ~Natalie

Janet E.

Janet E.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

CGU does not answer written correspondence

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
2 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Janet E.
Janet E.
Brenden

BrendenCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worst process ever

published

Their policy has not been good value. My tv was damaged beyond repair. I was told I had to take a tv from a preferred supplier both of which are over priced. They told me it was new for old replacement yet couldn't provide the model number of the tv they were offering me. They keep telling me to refer to the PDU which is average at best and refused to settle with funds transferred to my account even though They have done this for me on a previous occasion.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Brenden
Brenden

Pretty average when you guys don't state the process from the start. I work out of town as well and was forced between going for 2 providers for my tv which both i am not easily able to access. This fell on deaf ears as well.

CGU
Care TeamCGU

Sorry for the inconvenience Brenden. We will pass on this feedback to claims for you. ~ Lizzy

Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how CGU Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
scott

scottGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews

Not the best

published

Used to have house insurance with them. When we had a problem with our roof they wouldn't pay. They said our policy doesn't cover that kind of thing. They put it down to building defect but the house was over 30 years without issue prior to that. My bank assigned them for me which I will never do again. Shop around and get all the details of what is covered. I pay the same price and get all sorts of extra cover from another insurance company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Stella Q

Stella QGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Claims process is offshored - disgusting service

published

Twice I have had to UNFORTUNATELY deal with CGU when processing a claim which unfortunately wasnt my fault. First had to go through ombudsman as it took 10 weeks to solve for. Stressful and disgusting process. Second time - was hit by a car and what is a distressing process is taken by an offshored person who has no empathy or understands what your saying. Wrong information provided and just left with no follow up unless you call multiple times. Check where you are being serviced! I am cancelling all my policies with CGU

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Perfect

published

The best insurance very cooperative. 5 star rating. Highly recommending this insurance. The best insurance i have ever experienced. Thanks for this service. Bye bye bye cv hg hh hh

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2018
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Karan, thank you your the positive feedback. ~ Jono

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

BE AWARE OF CGU & ABC ( Australian Building & Construction)!!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJanuary 2019
See all answers
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Chris C.

Chris C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Shame on you CGU!!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2019
See all answers
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Chris C.
Chris C.

26/11/19
Please stop pretending that you care. It is now 9 months and CGU has treated us with nothing but disdain and closed the case. Thieves!
I hope every customer switches to another insurance company. This experience has been hell.

Chris C.
Chris C.
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

SKJ

SKJasked

How do you get a claims manager to do their job and respond to multiple emails and calls on an active claim where excess has already been paid?

1 answer
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi SKJ, I have responded to your review. ~Natalie

Etimoni V.

Etimoni V.asked

Hello I dry to send are receipt to ur claim email but I give it to me can't send I don't know that the right email. claim@cgu.com.au Any help?

1 answer
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Etimoni, you have made just a slight typing mistake. The correct email address is claims@cgu.com.au. ~ Jono

Rosie

Rosieasked

Do you insure relocatable homes?

1 answer
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Rosie. We cover homes that are permanently fixed to the site with water and sewage connections. There are other insurers that have specific cover for things like on-site caravans. But not us. I hope this helps. ~ Jono

Get an answer from our members and CGU representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.