??!
4 photos
Cloud Nine Wide Iron

Cloud Nine Wide Iron

4.7 from 63 reviews

See the Best Hair Straighteners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
50
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
1

Joe

Joe

  • 2 reviews

Curly hair be gone

published

Love these straighteners , I have thick curly hair past my shoulders and use to struggle with my VS straighteners to get my hair done in less than 45 minutes with a temp of 180+ , with my new ( now 6 months old ) Clouds it takes me 30 minutes at 150 degrees and my hair is straight , shiny and amazing .. they give me a salon look but all done in the comfort of my bathroom in my slippers with a coffee at hand , highly recommend to any lady with unruly think curly hair

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
See all answers

Annie

Annie

  • 2 reviews

Great!!!

published

Absolutely a must have in your beauty routine! Straightens my hair effortlessly. Fast to heat, fast to cool down. It never drags and leaves your hair feeling silky and smooth!

Purchased in March 2017 for $375.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 30 minutes
See all answers
Avonia

AvoniaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Must have!

published

Amazing for thick island hair! Must have, stays straight all day all night through humid weather! Worth every penny. The plates are wide enough to make straightning the hair fast. Forget about ghd

Purchased in February 2018 at Adore Beauty for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 15 minutes
See all answers
Jordyn P.

Jordyn P.

  • 2 reviews

Excellent! Amazing! Perfect!

published

I love this product! It is absolutely amazing! Compared to a lot of other straighteners my friends, family and I all go back to using my cloud nine original wide iron because it of the heat levels, the comfort in your hands, the width and quality making it easy as you dont need to go over your hair numerous time to get a straight price of hair! With this product your hair will be dead straight and shiny rather than a bit straight with frizz like others I have tried in the past. This flat iron by far is my favourite and I would recommend any day of the year!

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
See all answers

Katie P.

Katie P.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I have so much hair down to my butt and super frizzy - This straightener sorts me out in minutes and has lasted years! Highly recommend - love the smooth plates never gets caught like my old straightener

Purchased in January 2016 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 15 minutes
See all answers

Brianna

BriannaGippsland, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Excellent

published

Heats up fast and doesn’t have a smell like cheap straighteners, takes me half the time to straighten my thick hair over other brands, easy to use, my hair stays silky and straight for hours.

Purchased in December 2018 at Adore Beauty for $289.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
See all answers

Annoyed

Annoyed

  • 4 reviews

Perfection

published

Best on the market. Can not explain my love for these irons. They are so good and the hair definitely stays straighter for longer when I use these. My go to

Purchased in February 2019 for $380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
See all answers

ash_mash933

ash_mash933South East Queensland, QLD

Love this straightener

published

My faithful wide iron has finally broken after 6 years of service although in upset the casing cracked I'm already planning to replace them with the exact model. Love love love it.

Purchased in July 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes
See all answers
Susan N.

Susan N.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Awesome Hair Straightener

published

Very quick in heating up, has multiple options in terms of degrees and it probably takes me less than 5 minutes to quickly straighten out the fuzzy hair and i have a lot of hair and it is thick. I use the hair straightener daily and my hair doesn't get dry like my old silver bullet

Purchased in January 2019 at Adore Beauty for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Aimz

AimzSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it!

published

Love this hair iron! The adjustable heat setting are awesome and i am able to style my thick, long hair with ease. Used for 2.5 years now and still in perfect working condition.

Purchased in May 2017 at Ry.com.au for $310.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 20 minutes
See all answers

Lyn Pearce

Lyn PearceRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fabulous!

published

Love the Cloud Nine Wide Iron
It is quick & easy to use
Gives my hair a shine, without drying as my previous brand scorched my hair
Presented in a beautiful travel bag


Lola

LolaPERTH

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Works like a charm

published

Super satisfied with how long it takes for the straightening, only about 20 mins for perfect hair, where it used to be around 1 hr.
The heat it reaches is quite high, but its is controllable unlike GHD. You can control how much you want to burn your hair.
It is easy to use, positive effects on my hair because I don't have to keep going over and over it again.
If you have dark thick hair it is perfect for you.


Lily

LilyBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Straightener

published

I have owned the Cloud Nine wide iron for a while now and am very happy with the product. I have very long hair that is quite volumous and I find the product easy to use. It heats up very quickly and is relatively quick in straightening the hair. I rarely have to go over the same area more than once. Would definitely recommend for those with long or thick hair.


JessieCharlie

JessieCharlieSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love this! So easy to use!

published

- Heats up within a minute
- Really effective and keeps my hair straight
- Heatproof case and protector
- Super quick takes 15 min to do my long hair where ghd (old one) took 30 min +
- Adjustable temp so can do max 250 degrees
- Have seen no more damage to my hair than the GHD
- Love it and highly recommend

char

char

  • 5 reviews

so incredible!

published

with any other hair straightener it took me about 30-40 minutes to straighten my hair but with the wide cloud 9 it only takes me 5-10 minutes. saves me so much time and works so well!

Kim S

Kim S

  • 5 reviews

Perfect for thick curly frizzy hair

published

Switched from ghd to cloud 9 about 5 years ago now and I will never go back!! The adjustable heat settings mean the user has more control and the wide paddle helps cut down on straightening time.


RaynergyChacedh

RaynergyChacedhCroydon

  • 2 reviews

great

published

The hair straightener heats up quickly, so it saves time. It's easy to operate, it's easy to pull the hair straight, and I've been using it for a while now, and it does little damage to the hair. This is a great hair straightener.


SilpaK

SilpaKSydney

Amazing straightness but iron could last longer

published

The irons heat up super fast and the highest setting helps to keep my hair very straight in all conditions, including humidity and misty rain. I straighten my hair about twice a week (with touch ups in between) and my hairdresser always comments on how healthy it looks. Downsides are the price and longevity. I've only had mine for 2.5 years and they're already broken.


nburgess

nburgess

  • 5 reviews

Alright

published

Almost instantly this straightener heats up and the settings make selecting the temp easy. I can straighten my sisters excessively thick hair in less than 15 minutes which is crazy ! However when i straighten my hair because it’s a wide iron it can be hard to reach the root\top of my hair. Honestly a good brand, straightener and design


ABCD

ABCDArana Hills

  • 2 reviews

Just perfect

published

This product takes no time to heat up, which means i can plug it in and get started without wasting anytime. I don't spend long making my hair straight compared to the thinner version, the thinner version is better at making waves. I find other straighteners to pull my hair or dry my hair out too much this glides through smooth and with ease and leaves a soft smooth finish that last for a few days.


Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

dawn thwaites

dawn thwaitesasked

my cloud 9 hair straightners just keep beeping fast and not heating up what it the problem?

2 answers
Sallyanne Lewis
Sallyanne Lewis

Hi Dawn,
How long have you had the straightener? I have not had that problem with mine I turn it on and press the button to make sure the green light goes to the top and then it beeps that it is ready! I would take it back to where you bought it and see if it still under warranty! I am sorry I cannot be more helpful
Sallyanne

Mel
Mel

Hi Dawn, mine has never done this, so I haven't an answer for you. I would maybe try pushing the Hi/Lo button. But I think it best to return and ask the supplier. Sorry I am not more helpful. Good luck with this.
Mel


margie

margieasked

How long will the cloud nine keep for me

4 answers
Mel
Mel

Not sure. I've had mine for nearly a year now and it has not skipped a beat. Still very happy. Make sure to buy a heat spray for your hair though as I have found that it can dry your hair out a little. Hope this helped :-)

Sallyanne Lewis
Sallyanne Lewis

All flat irons will dry your hair out but a lot less than blow drying I have been straightening my hair for 40years and have purchased a Cloud 9 and so far this has been the best product I have used and it makes my hair feel incredibly soft and silky but I also use very good quality hair straightening products for John Freida all their products work so well with the straightener! Hope this help you!

Shopgal13
Shopgal13

My Cloud 9 only lasted 2 years which was disappointing, especially as I paid $300. I am not a heavy user either, I sometimes go 1-2 months without straightening. At first it worked really well, made my thick curls dead straight and shiney. One day I went to use it, plugged it in and it started constantly beeping and flashing.

However, I have a theory that all straighteners have a max life span of 2-3 years, conviniently just after the warranty has finished. In the past, I've had 2 GHDs and both died after the same time frame. I bought a cheaper branded straightner (Diva) and that also didn't last.

In my opinion, it works well just be prepared to buy a new one in 2 or so years.


Get an answer from our members and Cloud Nine representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.