?
? !
2 photos
ghd Original IV Styler

ghd Original IV Styler

4.1 from 460 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (24)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (25)
  • Hair Length Short (2), Medium (7) and Long (14)
  • Hair Style Straight (5), Wavy (11) and Curly (8)
  • Straightening Time 23.421 minutes
  • Hair Care
    4.1 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Chloe M.

Chloe M.New South Wales

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Always great products

published

I’ve been using GHDs personally and in my salon for 10 years and I love them. My one heats up in seconds. I can straighten my hair in less than 4 minutes and I’m very pleased with the job it does. It’s very easy to use and maintain which is important for me.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Emily L.

Emily L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Excellent Product - Great Service

published

I had a GHD styler for 14 years, and then was gifted a new GHD not long after.

Sadly, this one was faulty. Lisa, from the customer service team was lovely to deal with and helped me with my warranty request - my GHD holds sentimental value for personal reasons but Lisa was polite, and a pleasure to deal with.

I will continue to use GHD's, for life!

Thank you Lisa, and GHD.

Purchased at Mecca Cosmetica Physical store for $210.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amber

AmberGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My curler broke into two parts, customer service is disappointing

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shannylouisa

ShannylouisaPerth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified

Ghd have gone downhill

published

I had a limited edition ghd for about 7 years and recently replaced it with a new one. I had to get it replaced under warranty because it wasn’t getting hot enough. They sent me another one, the customer service is great but this one is crap too. How can they have changed so much since my limited edition one. I wouldn’t recommend at all, you’d be better off buying a cheap Vidal sassoon one, they work about the same.

Purchased in June 2020 for $185.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cards Master

Cards MasterSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Good product but costly

published

It's a costly product.
It won't straighten your hair if its overly curled.
But it will help to maintain the straightness for few months once you get your hair done professionally.

Purchased in January 2020 at eBay for $210.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ms Angel

Ms Angel

  • 4 reviews

Perfect.

published

I have been using GHD straighter since the day it came out, so it has been over 12 13 years, and I still use it to this very day, 2020.
Its durable and still works well.
Highly recommend.

Purchased in April 2008 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kate M

Kate MHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

12 years on and it’s still going strong!

published

I received this hair straightener in 2008 for my birthday and it’s still going strong 12 years on! It’s amazing. Admittedly it’s a bit slower than it used to be..But that is to be expected. Talk about getting your money’s worth! Probably time to upgrade it, but it’s held on so long it’s hard to part with it!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
T-LeeB

T-LeeBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It's an original

published

Heats up in minimal time, gets very hot, too hot unfortunately. I wasn't accustomed to the GHD technology, and unfortunately fried the ends of my hair when initially using it. I've changed the way I use it but recommend anyone buying one of these second hand (which is what I did), reconsider.
They are too hot and will damage your hair if you don't know what you're doing. I have it on professional advice the new technology is very good.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Esther

EstherSydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

OK - on my thick afro

published

Often have to use this product two times over to reach my desired texture. Not too fast - have to pass through hair slowly. Sometimes can overheat and let off steam

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amanda

Amanda

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

The best !!

published

The original is the best in this case! Quick and easy to use, heats ups so fast, doesn’t burn hair and has a great non sip handle which is great cause I have very long hair. Exactly what I needed

Purchased in May 2020 at Shaver Shop for $235.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Candice B

Candice BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hair looking FRESH

published

I received a GHD original IV styler for my birthday and honestly I couldn't live without it. Shes fast, smooth, efficient and everything you need in a straightener. Forever a GHD lover.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Katelynmuzz

Katelynmuzz

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

amazing on my thick curls

published

I love this GHD, I have thick ringlet curls and when I use this my hair stays straight for about 2 days!!! (Well by the second day it’s kinky but none the less still straight)
I feel it gets to a good heat and takes less time to straighten my high maintenance hair than normal cheaper alternatives take, I’m probably not the best example as if you compare me to someone with normal straight hair obviously mines gonna take 10x as long.
I don’t use it every day as it is quite time consuming, however I haven’t noticed any damage or negative affects on my hair..

Purchased in December 2018 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MelissaF

MelissaFRyde

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Amazing straightener however small plate

published

This straightener heats up super fast and has lasted me years! In comparison to the max GHD this one is very time consuming and you have to seperate your hair into small portions to get a nice dead straight look, also takes a few times going over. Because of that I feel it damages your hair a little more, however that could also be purely because of how straight I like my hair and obviously being a smaller plate it takes more time and needs more going over!
However had you asked me my opinion before buying the max I would have given it 5 stars any day of the week!!

Purchased in July 2017 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nashwa H.

Nashwa H.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Perfect

published

I did purchase DHD 11 years ago and I just updated for new one I love it never go wrong.
My hair is healthy and thick. My girls use it and I never think of another brand.

Purchased in January 2020 at Werribee Blinds for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rachel E.

Rachel E.

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Amazing straightener that has lasted years!

published

I purchased my GHD in 2017, and coming into March 2020, I still use it every single day and it still works perfectly. The cost is definitely worth it for a premium product that has lasted so long. I also have very curly hair, and it works wonders on it.

Purchased in May 2017 at Adore Beauty for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ruby R.

Ruby R.Dubbo

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

10 years and still going strong

published

Heats up very quickly, get great results both curling and straightening. I bought this in 2008 and it is still going strong (although may almost be time for an upgrade!). Have used it with short, medium and very long hair.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ajhorne

ajhorneHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Nothing beats a classic

published

Nothing beats a gold classic! The Ceramic plates glide through the hair with minimal pulling. Perfect for soft waves and curls. Unlike the newer generations which i have found clink and pull the hair rather than glide through.

Purchased in March 2016 at Price Attack for $220.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Danielle

DanielleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Old favourite

published

Have had a ghd hair straightener for years. Every time I believe the element has run its life cycle I go out and buy the exact same straightener again. Never an issue with the IV model.

Purchased in July 2017 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alison

AlisonSydney, NSW

Easy to use for thicker hair

published

This GHD styler is perfect for thick hair it doesnt take much time to straighten it out it is a good value for the money as well it works all around wonders.

Purchased in March 2018 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Great Hairstyler

published

Bought this years ago and it is still going strong, have not had any issues with it. heat sup quick and stays hot. I would prefer a dial to adjust temperature for different style options.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

LULU

LULUasked

My ghd IV styler all of a sudden wont turn on. Any ideas?

1 answer
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Lulu,

Thank you for your recent query.

To discuss any problems with your product, please get in touch with our team directly on 1300 443 424 and they will be happy to advise you further.

Regards,

ghd

Jarrah B

Jarrah Basked

How long is the straightener?

1 answer
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Jarrah,

Thanks for getting in touch.

We can confirm that this product is 25.9cm in length.

Regards,

ghd

lizzy

lizzyasked

They are turn on but keep beeping x. Any ideas?

2 answers
Charlie
Charlie

It should only beep when it's reached it's required temperature. If it continues to beep I'd take it back to the store?

ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Lizzy,

Thanks for getting in touch.

We are sorry to hear of your experience with your product and we apologise for any inconvenience that has been caused.

Please contact our customer service team using the details below and they will be happy to assist you with this.

Australia - 1300 443 424
UK - 01924 423 400

Regards,

ghd

See all ghd Original IV Styler questions

Get an answer from our members and ghd representatives

Details

CategoryHair Straighteners
Price (RRP) $210.00
FeaturesStorage Case and Universal Voltage
Plate TypeSingle Floating
Plate MaterialCeramic
Min Temperature185 °C
Max Temperature185 °C
Colour / FinishBlack
Cord Length2.7 m
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.