??!
2 photos
ghd Original IV Styler

ghd Original IV Styler

4.1 from 446 reviews

Reviews

(266)
(80)
(27)
(26)
(47)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (13)
  • Hair Length Long (6) · Medium (4) · Short (1)
  • Hair Style Wavy (6) · Curly (4) · Straight (2)
  • Straightening Time 21 minutes (10)
  • Hair Care
    4.4 (11)
Rachel E.

Rachel E.

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Amazing straightener that has lasted years!

published

I purchased my GHD in 2017, and coming into March 2020, I still use it every single day and it still works perfectly. The cost is definitely worth it for a premium product that has lasted so long. I also have very curly hair, and it works wonders on it.

Purchased in May 2017 at Adore Beauty for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 60 minutes
See all answers
Ruby R.

Ruby R.Dubbo

  • 5 reviews

10 years and still going strong

published

Heats up very quickly, get great results both curling and straightening. I bought this in 2008 and it is still going strong (although may almost be time for an upgrade!). Have used it with short, medium and very long hair.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Style Wavy
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
ajhorne

ajhorneHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nothing beats a classic

published

Nothing beats a gold classic! The Ceramic plates glide through the hair with minimal pulling. Perfect for soft waves and curls. Unlike the newer generations which i have found clink and pull the hair rather than glide through.

Purchased in March 2016 at Price Attack for $220.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 10 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Danielle

DanielleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Old favourite

published

Have had a ghd hair straightener for years. Every time I believe the element has run its life cycle I go out and buy the exact same straightener again. Never an issue with the IV model.

Purchased in July 2017 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Alison

AlisonSydney, NSW

Easy to use for thicker hair

published

This GHD styler is perfect for thick hair it doesnt take much time to straighten it out it is a good value for the money as well it works all around wonders.

Purchased in March 2018 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Great Hairstyler

published

Bought this years ago and it is still going strong, have not had any issues with it. heat sup quick and stays hot. I would prefer a dial to adjust temperature for different style options.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 30 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Vivien M.

Vivien M.

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for my hair

published

With my type of hair, I’ve struggled to find the right straightener. Since getting this particular brand and model, I don’t have to worry about frizzy hair. Takes only seconds to warm up to temperature, can be adjusted to suit the style I want, and get ps the job done properly in a short amount of time.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Sara A.

Sara A.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Pretty good

published

It does the job however for the price I don’t find much difference between this straightener and cheaper straighteners. It is annoying that you can’t adjust the temperature. And you do need to keep it on for a little while to properly heat up and work effectively. However I have had it for over a year and it’s still in perfect condition

Purchased in January 2018.

1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Von T.

Von T.Perth, WA

My favourite

published

I bought my ghd 4 years ago and it still to this day has not let me down. My hair is super annoying to the point where if I use different straighteners it starts to wave really quickly but i have NEVER had that problem with my ghd. It gives me perfectly sleek and silky hair and stays that way all day. I know alot of people say it's overrated and over priced but tbh its worth every cent. It heats up so fast and cools down real quick too. Seriously 100% recommend to my friends.

Purchased in October 2015 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 15 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anna L

Anna LPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

The best straightener for curling

published

I’ve been using my ghd almost every day for the past at least 18 months now and it’s still working so well. It heats up so fast and still remains extremely hot, which is perfect for me because I use my ghd to curl my hair to get messy waves and I’ve had so many compliments and have recommended the ghd straightener every time. Hoping I can get a decade worth of use from this as a lot of people have claimed they have, including my sister. Highly recommend splurging over this!

Purchased in November 2017 at Adore Beauty.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Short
Hair Style Straight
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hazyb

HazybSydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 1 like

Good straightner

published

I got this straightener for christmas. It heats up really quickly and has adjustable heat settings as well as an on/off switch, so you don't have to switch it off at the wall socket the whole time. At first the blades did not meet, but then i realised you have to press them together quite tightly. I'm pleased with the way it glides over my hair without pulling it like my previous straightener did. It straightens very well. It cools down quickly too.
I would recommend this to everyone.

Purchased in December 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes
See all answers
2 comments
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hazyb
Hazyb

Thankyou for your comment. Just telling it as I see it.
Love my GHD

Tiana Turner

Tiana Turner

  • 3 reviews

Great straightener

published

I have had my ghd for 5 years now and it has not let me down always leaving my hair nice and straight.
My hair used to always fall into waves straight after being straightened but my ghd always leaves a beautiful straight silky look that lasts all day

Purchased in March 2014 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Kayla

KaylaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Loving it so far

published

The straightener heats up in no time. It's super easy to use, as I can straighten my hair quickly and I haven't had any burns so far, which is amazing considering how accident-prone I am.

Purchased in January 2019 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $168.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 20 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Emma

EmmaSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

I love this product

published

the straightener takes 20-30 seconds to heat up and gets to a very great heat level. it straightens my hair so fast, super easy to use, but has had only a satisfactory effect on the health of my hair.

Purchased in December 2018.

1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jen A

Jen AGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent!! I love!

published

I love this hair straightener! It doesn't take long to heat up at all! And when using it OMG! Wonderful! i have really course thick curly hair but this product does the trick! Every time without fail it has left me with perfectly straight, silky hair! Works wonders!! Would highly recommend as it works for all hair types and doesn't take long to tackle the task!

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 35 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bonnie

BonnieBrabham

  • 6 reviews

Poor quality - Quality changed

published

I bought the straightener right after the manufacturers had changed. Such pool quality straightener! After the first 3 times of using it the famous 'GHD' logo had literally rubbed off! Takes a few glides to straighten hair where as my cheaper Remington one straightens in one go. I emailed GHD to question this multiple times, with no response! Definitely don't recommend if you don't want to waste your money.

1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Sarah.

Sarah.Melbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Ordaniary

published

I didn’t find much of a difference between this hair straightener and a $60 hair straightener. It does heat up very well so I recommend using a glove it does get pretty hot

Alex

Alex

  • 4 reviews

GHD used to be great, mate

published

I feel like GHD has dropped in quality a lot. The straightener takes a while to heart up and doesn't entirely take all of the waves out of my hair. I dislike the fact that you can't change the heat setting. The packaging with this product was very nice and came with a straightener bag. GHD is good for hair health. There are better straightner brands out there these days though (halo and muk for example).

1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Kylieb

KyliebCairns

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good reliable straightener

published

The GHD heats almost immediately and is a good straightener. My previous ghd had issues with the plates coming loose but my current model is excellent. Would be good if it had a shut off power function in case you accidentally leave it on!

Moni

MoniGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great product!

published

An excellent hair straightener that I have been very happy with. It heats up very quickly, and is very smooth on my hair. Most importantly it has an auto off switch, which means I no longer have to worry about whether I left my straightener on or off!

Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

LULU

LULUasked

My ghd IV styler all of a sudden wont turn on. Any ideas?

1 answer
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Lulu,

Thank you for your recent query.

To discuss any problems with your product, please get in touch with our team directly on 1300 443 424 and they will be happy to advise you further.

Regards,

ghd

Jarrah B

Jarrah Basked

How long is the straightener?

1 answer
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Jarrah,

Thanks for getting in touch.

We can confirm that this product is 25.9cm in length.

Regards,

ghd

lizzy

lizzyasked

They are turn on but keep beeping x. Any ideas?

2 answers
Charlie
Charlie

It should only beep when it's reached it's required temperature. If it continues to beep I'd take it back to the store?

ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Lizzy,

Thanks for getting in touch.

We are sorry to hear of your experience with your product and we apologise for any inconvenience that has been caused.

Please contact our customer service team using the details below and they will be happy to assist you with this.

Australia - 1300 443 424
UK - 01924 423 400

Regards,

ghd

Get an answer from our members and ghd representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.