??!
1 photo
ghd Gold Styler

ghd Gold Styler

3.8 from 412 reviews

Reviews

(197)
(85)
(38)
(31)
(61)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (21)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (22)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (21)
  • Hair Length Long (14) · Medium (6) · Short (2)
  • Hair Style Wavy (14) · Curly (6) · Straight (2)
  • Straightening Time 19.4 minutes (20)
  • Hair Care
    4.1 (18)
Megan

MeganPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Waste of money. Always faulty

published

Have been through 2 Ghd’s in 4 years. Bought the $350 platinum styler to replace my last Ghd that blew up and after just 2 years it blew a fuse in the house and stopped working. Not able to get a replacement or refund because warranty only lasts 12 months. Will never waste my money on this brand again

Purchased in September 2017 for $350.00.

Value for Money
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Anna I

Anna IPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It’s fantastic.... can’t live without it!

published

I just love my GHD. I’ve had it for so many years and it’s still going strong. I have very fine hair and I find it to be very gentle yet very effective. I couldn’t ask for more in relation to the overall condition of my hair. Its just fantastic.... it only takes a few seconds to heat up and it’s ready to use. It also has an inbuilt safety mechanism that switches itself to a cool setting when not in use for a period of time. This has been extremely helpful because I can’t remember how many times I forget to switch it off after using it!!! I just love it and couldn’t live without it! Would highly recommend.

Purchased in January 2006.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Beeping when switched off

published

I woke up this morning to the sound of my GHDs beeping. They were plugged in but switched off. They were flashing a red light and beeping every few seconds. They weren’t warm or hot, so didn’t seem to be on, but they were they beeping if they were switches off?
They’re GHD platinums.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 25 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Gold Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Red light

published

I was bought these as Christmas and already they aren't turning on but instead flashing red and beeping I've only had them 2 months!!! I was bought these to replace my old ones which did the exact same thing and annoyingly were just out of warranty!

Purchased in December 2019.

Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Cecilia L.

Cecilia L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Disappointed with GHD paddle brush

published

I purchased a GHD paddle brush at Mecca Maxima in August 2017. I purchased this as a I feel GHD is a leading brand in hair products expecting a high quality product however to my dissatisfaction the bristle pad has totally dislodged from the brush. I understand it is 2.5 years old however I have bought cheaper brushes that have lasted longer than this. I expected better quality and longevity out of this product as it’s GHD.

1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Dissatisfied customer again

published

Just received my replacement straightener as I sent my last one back under warranty and this one is doing the same thing! Do not buy this product as the safety device is faulty. I would not trust this product in my house. This is the second time that my GHD Gold has been sent back as it switches itself off at various times (sometimes only a few minutes) rather than the 30 minutes that the manual claims. Terrible quality of product and I think that all of them should be recalled before someone’s house burns down because the safety device doesn’t switch the straightener off after the correct time limit. Very unhappy and would never purchase this again.

Purchased in December 2019 at Shaver Shop for $269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
rina

rinaSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Love it one of the best

published

Love love love it !!! One of the best hair straightener !! Ive been using it since 2008 till now ghd is one brand i chose for all my hair tools !! 'They don't break down easily which is why i love them i have thick curly hair and this does the job very well !

Purchased in August 2008 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 20 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Dr. Courtney

Dr. Courtney

  • 3 reviews

8 years and counting!

published

Super happy with my ghd I purchased it in 2012 and it still works perfectly now. I love the heat proof bag it was been wonders for me. I used my ghd all the time as my partner has untamed curls. When I need a new one I’ll definitely be buying another ghd

Purchased in March 2012 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 30 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sarah

SarahBrisbane AUS

  • 4 reviews

I LOVE MY GHD

published

I have had mine for a while now and still works like a charm. I have thick wavy uncontrollable hair and the GHD makes my hair look wonderful. Keeps it nice so I dn't hve to re straighten it for a few days at least :)

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Gold Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stephanie

StephanieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Love it!!!

published

I have the one with the wider plates and its really good cause I have thicker hair. It takes like 30mins and under to straighten my hair. Was definitely worth the money I spent on it. Its is a year old and still is just as good!

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 30 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Faulty product and terrible customer service

published

I recently purchased a new GHD gold straightener after one plate on my old GHD stopped working. The straightener kept turning itself off after a few minutes which I was worried about the safety as I wasnt sure if it was overheating or the timer was faulty. I was told I wasnt able to receive a refund as I didnt purchase it through GHD even though its under warranty? I obviously couldnt return it from where I purchased it as I used it three times to make sure it did keep turning itself off. Im very disappointed in the customer service as I believe a faulty item under warranty should be entitled to a full refund and now I wont have a straightener for a few weeks despite spending almost $300 on it.

Purchased in November 2019 at Shavershop for $269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Cushla J

Cushla JRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Will never buy another brand!

published

My husband purchased this for me nearly 6 years ago. I have 4 daughters, 3 of whom are old enough to use all my products so it gets used multiple times a day! I have not had a single issue with mine. The heating time is really quick, it does an absolutely fantastic job on my hair, easy to use, and even though its gone for a swim in my bathtub... still works a treat. So impressed!

Purchased in July 2014 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 25 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

So good

published

I have been using GHD for 4 years now and it’s the best thing I’ve ever bought. Doesn’t burn my hair , I use heat protect spray tho . Last long but the only down side it just stopped working after 2 years so I had to buy a new one

Purchased in February 2016.

Surabaya

SurabayaVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good quality and heats up quickly

published

I bought the GHD V Gold classic after a previous hair straightener failed. It heats up remarkably quickly and keeps the temperature constant without toasting your hair. I have quite fine hair so it is fairly easy to use and only takes about 5 minutes to straighten my hair. For the price it is definitely worth it as it lasts a long time and is good quality - had mine for 3.5 years already.

Purchased in December 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 5 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Rachel F.

Rachel F.New South Wales

  • 4 reviews

the best straightening iron I had

published

It heats up really quick! And the heat was adjusted perfectly! It leaves my hair shine after using it! Plus I could straighten a bunch of hair which makes it quicker! This is the only tool I need, as it straightens and it could also use to curl my hair! Love it!

Purchased in May 2018 for $260.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 3 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Gold Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharyn

Sharyn

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Still going 10 years on!

published

I’ve had this hair straightener for 10 years! I use it every day (sometimes twice a day). It cost me around $350 with a discount in 2009 which was quite a lot at the time, but I wouldn’t recommend anything else!

Purchased in February 2009.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Nicole

NicoleWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews

Could not live without my GHD

published

Heats up very quickly.
The only straightener that actually straightens my wavey hair.
Very easy to use.
With long hair I recommend using a heat product on your hair to help protect your hair.

Purchased in March 2016 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Short
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Corine

CorineHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Amazing product!

published

This hair straightener is such good quality! Leaves my hair soft and silky smooth! Have had it for a couple of years now and still going strong! Would recommend to anyone wanting soft straight hair.

Purchased in February 2017 at Adore Beauty for $219.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Short
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 20 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

RE N.

RE N.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love my GHD

published

Heats up fast, easy to use and Makes my hair feel amazing I had just recently purchased a new one, I had my first one for 8 years definitely worth the money.

Purchased in February 2019 at Shaver Shop Online store for $170.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Maddy

MaddyIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews

8 Years on!

published

Have had my Scarlet GHD for 8 years now and it is still the best straighter. I have had literally no issues what so ever with it! Still heats up in a few seconds and is the best thing. I couldn't live without it.

Purchased in December 2011.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 30 minutes
See all answers
1 comment
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Page 1 of 21

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about ghd Gold Styler

What does a flashing red light mean for my ghd Hair Straightener?

If your ghd Straightener has a blinking red light indicator, it indicates that the heat plates are not able to reach or maintain its temperature. If the plates are cold to the touch, you may need to warm them up with your hands. If this doesn’t solve the issue, this may indicate a deeper hardware fault; contact ghd for assistance.

What are the main differences between ghd Hair Straightener models?

The main differences between ghd Straightener models are the choices of unit & heat plate size (ranging from “small” to “large”), included accessories, and colours. In addition, Platinum models have a tri-zone heat sensor to more granular temperature control.

Latest Consumer Questions

maxine w.

maxine w.asked

My platinum ghd’s flash white when turned on then start bleeping and flashing red

Please help?

1 answer
Anna I
Anna I

Hi Maxine, mine usually does this when it times out due to inactivity. So, if it’s doing this as soon as you turn it on, then perhaps check to see whether it’s heating up fully. If not, then it sounds to me like there may be an issue with it.

Caile S.

Caile S.asked

I just got the GHD Platinum a few months ago. I was really loving this straightener until about a week ago it starts beeping, flashing red, and seems to turn off after about a minute of use. What is the reason for this?

1 answer
Megan
Megan

Exact same thing that happened to mine and it has now blown up and no longer works and I can’t get a replacement or get it fixed!!! Send it back before ghd screw you over

Xxx

Xxxasked

I have the same problem with my iron and its not even 4 months old. Can you please tell me what i an supposed to do ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ghd representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.