1 photo
Coleman 12in Rechargeable Fan

Coleman 12in Rechargeable Fan

1.9 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Standalone Fans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Coleman

Reviews

1.9
13 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (7)
  • Power
    2.2 (5)
Previous
Next

Perfect for camping with a 12V system

published

We don’t run ours off the internal battery, so I can’t speak to that. We have a full 12v system for our camper and this fan works great for us. It blows a good amount of air on high to keep us cool. In the cooler months we run it on the lower setting to keep air circulating and for sole white noise. As a plugged in fan, it’s a great buy.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sandy C
Sandy CMid North Coast, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

DON'T BUY !!! BEWARE

published

Bought this last summer for indoor and outdoor use. only used half a dozen times.
Got out a month ago to use for this current heat and will only work on DC and not on AC or if does only goes for up to a minute max.
Troubleshot everything and took back to place of purchase and they kept to test and ended up agreeing and refunding as was still under warranty.
Thought Coleman would be a good brand but obviously not :(

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W Online Store for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Standalone Fans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
ThiThi
ThiThiSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Battery doesn’t last

published

It’s not good for camping
The battery doesn’t last long not even 2hrs
It’s started to slow down while the weather it’s hot. You gotta constantly have power for it to run .

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Standalone Fans

Find out how Coleman 12in Rechargeable Fan compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jared
JaredMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

The reviews are true - a faulty product and a waste of money

published

Used once then doesn't work properly. Clicking sound coming from Fan. Fan speeds up and slows down by itself and sometimes just doesnt work at all. Such a waste of money. I should have paid attention to these reviews... but i optimistically thought "how bad could it be" - well ill tell you how bad. Dont waste your $80. You WILL be disapoointed.

Purchased in October 2018 at Big W for $79.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money

I think I have found the problem.

published

My supposedly 12 volt fan only has one 6 volt battery in it but the accommodation for two.
So I assume this is the problem with all the fans that people are not happy with and why some people are very happy as they have two batteries.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Is the new ALDI Bladeless Air Purifier Fan better than the Dyson Pure Cool Desk Fan?

German retail giant ALDI is releasing a bladeless fan and air purifier, due to go on sale as part of its Special Buys program this Saturday 18th November.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.11 Nov 2020
is-the-new-aldi-bladeless-air-purifier-fan-better-than-the-dyson-pure-cool-desk-fan

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

Definitely doesnt last 6 hours on low

published

Bought to use disconnected out camping and in the garden. Promise of 6 hrs on low setting after a full charge. Not so. 2 hrs on low setting at best.

Purchased in November 2019 at Anaconda Physical store for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Kazza
Kazza
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Think they are faulty

published

We brought a 12 in fan a BCF Townsville, have only used it about 8-10 times. Noticed the last couple of uses it didnt run for very long, fully charged it lasted 50 mins on high. Have spoken to a couple of people that have had the same problem. A lady said she replaced the battery and still didnt work. If only after a few times using this, you have to buy a new battery that seems a bit ridiculous.

Purchased in November 2018 at BCF.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Wayne
WaynePerth, WA

Bad Battery, Wiring or motor?

published

Bought this fan approx 18 months ago from Rays Outdoors, it worked fine at home on AC & DC took it camping and used it for a total of probably 8 hours on and off over 2 days with charging in between and it worked well. after being stored indoors for around 12 months we took it out to charge (18hrs) but the fan died within minutes and wouldn't work on AC (only charging) but died after 10 minutes on battery, the "on off" swith seamed a bit dodgie however bought replacement battery but fan did the same, I now think it has something to do with the wiring or the motor, I have bought another one just in case I got a bad one (doesn't look that way now) let's see how this one goes on the weekend camping.

Purchased in September 2017 at Ray's Outdoors for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Standalone Fans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

8 inch has poor battery life

published

We have the 8 inch and the battery life is much the same as the 12 inch. After 24 hour charge the battery could only keep the fan going for 1.5 hours on low. Tried twice with same results. This is probably why it doesn't advertise the battery life on the box where other makes advertise 4 hours on low.

Purchased in February 2019 for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Standalone Fans

Find out how Coleman 12in Rechargeable Fan compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very disappointing

published

We purchased this fan from BCF and it has never worked properly. Never worked when plugged in and only works briefly on battery. You can hear it struggle before it completely cuts out. This may have ruined our camping trip but we purchased two desk fans from woolies for less than half what we paid for this fan.

Not Recommended

published

Agree with [name removed]. Continually cuts out and won’t operate directly from 12 or 240 v

When on battery also cuts out.

Purchased in late October from Snowy’s.

No criticism of them!

Doesnt work fully

published

This is my second coleman rechargable fan 1st one i had for about 12 months had it plugged into a power point and also charging I'm thinking then it dies on me now my second one is doing the same thing anx iv only had it one week. I bought my second one at bcf in cairns as traveller i am now in emerald sitting in 38 degree heat with a coleman fan that is cutting in and out going shopping first up tomorrow to buy a different brand of fan i will be needing it.

suzley
suzleysydney
  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

So glad I bought this

published

I bought this fan from Snowy's in SA in preparation for threatened power cuts in Sydney this summer. It is a really good size and works extremely well. It works, as stated, for six hours on slow and four on high. As an added bonus, it can also be used as an ordinary fan plugged into the mains. I was so impressed that I bought another one. Very good purchase and very flexible, not to mention useful. Snowy's SA are a terrific company to deal with - efficient and professional.

Questions & Answers

Redbett
Redbettasked

I am in a smallish motorhome without cooling. Advice for a rechargeable 12 volt fan would be appreciated.

1 answer
Kazza
Kazza

We are in a 19 ft and the 12 volt fan works great, especially when not on power. Would recommend you buy the bigger one.

Geoff H
Geoff Hasked

can we get a replacement 240 watt charging lead

No answers
cathy hilder
cathy hilderasked

How do I clean my coleman rechargeable fan

1 answer
Kazza
Kazza

Easy just have to undo a couple of screws.

See all Coleman 12in Rechargeable Fan questions

Get an answer from our members and Coleman representatives

Details

CategoryStandalone Fans
Price (RRP) $110.00
FeaturesLights and Oscillating
Number of Speed Settings2
TypeDesk
Dimensions 520 x 400 x 170 mm
Weight2.8 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
Construction
Blade MaterialPlastic
Number of Blades3
Body MaterialPlastic
Blade Diameter305 mm
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.