??!
7 photos
Dyson Pure Cool Tower

Dyson Pure Cool Tower

White Silver, Black Nickel
4.0 from 38 reviews · View Statistics

Fan Buying Guide - How to choose the coolest tower or pedestal fan for you

If you’re looking for a way to avoid melting this summer, a fan could help. But with so many types on the market, how do you choose the best fan for your home?

Read now

Reviews

4.0

38 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (34)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (33)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (34)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (32)
  • Power
    4.1 (21)
  • Pet OwnerYes (2) · No (3)
  • Smokers Yes (1) · No (4)
  • Air Quality Improvement
    4.3 (4)
  • Odour Improvement
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Misleading Advertising

published

I bought this product because it was advertised as a tower fan with air purification abilities. My expectations for $800 is that it would perform both tasks exceptionally well. I did a side by side comparison of the tower fan I was replacing and as a tower fan, it performs terribly, the airflow even on the highest setting is barely noticeable at a distance of 1.5m despite Dysons claims of powerful airflow and cooling abilities. Not to mention the noise, it operates louder than I would have expected but more importantly, it’s a really unpleasant noise. Don’t buy this product expecting to use it as a tower fan, despite the advertising, it is not intended to be used as one.

Purchased in November 2020 for A$798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
Pet OwnerYes
SmokersYes
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Dwayne C.

Dwayne C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 22 likes

A breath of fresh air

published

We got this because we are renovating in an older house and worried about any potentially small and dangerous microparticles, dust and any other nasties from hammering, drilling and so on. This thing exceeds our expectations and the metrics it provides on the fan as well as in the app are nice and helpful. The only downside is while the build quality is nice, this thing falls over very easily.

We have a 1.5-year-old and a 5-year-old. Our 1.5-year-old has knocked this over a lot, thankfully it is light and can take a beating, but it is an oversight for such an expensive product. The magnetic remote that sits on top also easily falls off, it feels like a bit of an oversight for an otherwise flawless and useful product.

Purchased in June 2020 at The Good Guys for A$798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Power
Air Quality Improvement
Odour Improvement
Incentivised ReviewNo
Room TypeLarge Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
Pet OwnerNo
SmokersNo
See all answers
Charis

CharisWagga Wagga

  • 13 reviews

Good fan and purifier. Easy to assemble

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Catch for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Power
Air Quality Improvement
Odour Improvement
Incentivised ReviewNo
Room TypeLarge Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
Pet OwnerNo
SmokersNo
See all answers
Standalone Fans

Find out how Dyson Pure Cool Tower compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gary C

Gary CGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My first and last Dyson appliance.

published

Purchased in December 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Air Quality Improvement
Incentivised ReviewNo
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
Pet OwnerNo
SmokersNo
See all answers
Annie4323

Annie4323AU

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very happy!

published

Set up: 15 mins to remove packaging, check instructions & remote control, put filters in and start it. Filtered air particulate matter (2.5ug and 10ug) in 5x5 m2 room in 20 mins from ~74ug to 25ug.
Extremely easy to use and operate.
Not noisy at highest fan speed(10), and low fan speeds are very quiet.
Optional Fan function gives nice light breeze even at 5m distance.
Filters @$99 per set. (2 sets required) are pricy, but last 1 year if operating 12 hrs/day. Unlikely to use that often!
Only improvements could be:
1. a little trolley or built in wheels to enable easy moving between rooms.
2. Handles for carrying. (Not supposed to use the loop).
Summary: Does the job. Very impressed.

Picklemadge

PicklemadgeCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 4 reviews

Well worth the investment

published

Purchased in January 2020 at David Jones.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
daywolf

daywolfGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 34 likes

A really good air purifier and fan, but a bit pricey

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
DamoonTwo

DamoonTwoWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 28 reviews
  • 16 likes

Purifier Perfection

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
xavibear

xavibearSYDNEY

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

The fan you never knew you needed!

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Standalone Fans

Find out how Dyson Pure Cool Tower compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cavitation

CavitationSydney, NSW

  • 46 reviews
  • 39 likes

Very effective air purifier and fan from the wizards at Dyson

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

bbsb007

bbsb007Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 28 reviews
  • 20 likes

Excellent purifier, average fan

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Shellby

ShellbyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 19 likes

Attractive Item That Does What Its Meant To

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
ChrisOz

ChrisOzSydney, NSW

  • 31 reviews
  • 48 likes

First up, let me clear the air....

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Dyson.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
ChrisOz
ChrisOz

Thanks Dyson, I don't know how I missed the mac address sticker. I appreciate the clarification about the anonymised performance data, however I'd suggest that this is made clearer up front.

Keithy

KeithyNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

A purely good purifier!

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Daisy

DaisySydney, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 23 likes

Greatest Device I Didn’t Know I Needed!

published
  • +1

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Standalone Fans

Find out how Dyson Pure Cool Tower compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TTZ

TTZSouth Australia

  • 24 reviews
  • 19 likes

Goodbye Bushfire Smoke and ALL other nasty smells EDIT: My favourite and most used appliance

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Power
Air Quality Improvement
Odour Improvement
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet OwnerYes
SmokersNo
See all answers

Waste of money

published

Absolute waste of money! Very disappointed with this product. We live in Australia so the heat can be unbearable and this fan does nothing! You need to have it on the highest setting to get any air and it's so loud I could not sleep through that noise. It's like a jet engine in your room at night, Yeah there is the night mode, yeah it's quite but unless you sit right in front of it you can't feel anything. The fan I got for $50 at the local Supermarket that was much better in air output, more effective at keeping us cool and the noise is not as loud. The main purpose of this product is to keep you cool and be quite enough to sleep, it is ineffective at both of these things! Do not waste your money.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson

We are sorry to hear you are unhappy with your Dyson Pure Cool Tower Fan.

If you haven't done so already, we would kindly encourage emailing auaskdyson@dyson.com with your details and our Dyson Experts will be happy to help.

RaphaelChan

RaphaelChanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 39 likes

Nice but for the Price

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Cat

CatAdelaide

  • 23 reviews
  • 12 likes

Consider if you need a purifier or a fan?

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nic

Nicbrisbane

  • 30 reviews
  • 40 likes

Operation is a BREEZE

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Wendy W.

Wendy W.asked

Pure Cool Tower

Recently when I have the in Auto and night mode, the pure cool turns it’s self off at night. Is this normal? I don’t remember it doing this before. I’ve had the unit for about 3 months.

2 answers
Dyson
DysonDyson

Thank you for your question.

The machine will dim the light when on night mode. On auto mode should the machine not be able to detect any pollutants or allergens in the air it will go into a standby mode, if this is the case you can test this by using a quick spray of deodorant around the base of the machine and you will see the fan speed ramp up.

Apart from this the machine will turn itself off automatically after 9 hours for safety reasons, to bypass this you can turn it off and on and it will reset this timer.

We hope this has answered your query if you require any further assistance please feel free to send an email through to auaskdyson@dyson.com, we are here to help.

Wendy W.
Wendy W.

Thanks for the answer!

dvobgo92

dvobgo92asked

Pure Cool Tower White Silver

Hello, this question is for a Dyson support staff member. I just purchased two Dyson Pure Cool TP04 purifiers a few days ago and one of them works great but the second one I believe has an issue. Whenever in standby and in backward flow mode, the sensors accurately pick up the particulates in the room. BUT the moment I switch the fan to forward flow mode, the AQI goes down to GOOD and both the PM2.5 and PM10 readings go down to ZERO. This is definitely not normal as the 2nd purifier doesn’t change its readings no matter if it’s in backward or forward mode or in standby with continuous monitoring on.
For example: Even if the PM2.5 reading is 300ug/m3, it immediately goes down to 0ug/m3 as soon as I change the fan flow from backward to forward mode. If I then change the flow to backward mode again, the readings instantly come back to their previous normal levels. Huge disappointment... is there a fix for this?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

This is certainly not normal and we would encourage getting in touch directly with our Dyson Experts to get a resolution for this.

Please forward your details, this query and the serial number of the effected machine to auaskdyson@dyson.com and will be in touch very shortly to assist.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Kevin O

Kevin Oasked

Pure Cool Tower

Why does Dyson Pure Cool PM2.5 suddenly spike to levels as high as 999, and then return to normal levels? The unit has been in this room for months, and PM2.5 has always been at normal levels

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

This can indicate the sensor of your machine needs to be cleaned.

To do this, unplug your machine, and locate the air quality sensor slots. These are located at approximately the 10 o'clock position when looking at the front of your machine (just above the filter).

Once these are located, vacuum the two sensor slots to with a Dyson brush attachment.

After cleaning, plug your machine in and test and this should be resolved. If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to help.

If you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

Compare all 2 Dyson Pure Cool Tower
CategoryAir Purifiers and Standalone FansAir Purifiers and Standalone Fans
Price (RRP) A$799.00A$799.00
FeaturesBladeless, HEPA Filter, Oscillating, Remote Control and TimerBladeless, HEPA Filter, Oscillating, Remote Control and Timer
Colour / FinishBlack NickelWhite Silver
HEPA FilterYesYes
FeaturesAdjustable Speed Settings, Automatic Air Quality Monitor, Carbon Filter, Filter Life Indicator, Mobile App, Remote Control and TimerAdjustable Speed Settings, Automatic Air Quality Monitor, Carbon Filter, Filter Life Indicator, Mobile App, Remote Control and Timer
Weight4.9 kg4.9 kg
Dimensions 1054 x 206 x 117 mm1054 x 206 x 117 mm
TypeTowerTower
Cord Length1.8 m1.8 m
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Construction
Body MaterialMetalMetal
Release dateDec 2018Dec 2018
Compare all 2 Dyson Pure Cool Tower

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.