7 photos
Dyson Pure Cool Tower

Dyson Pure Cool Tower

White Silver, Black Nickel
3.9 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Standalone Fans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dyson

Pros

  • Highly effective air purification

  • Powerful airflow

Cons

  • At $99 per year, filters are expensive to replace

Reviews

3.9
39 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (35)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (34)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (35)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (33)
  • Power
    4.0 (22)
  • Pet OwnerYes (2) · No (4)
  • Smokers Yes (1) · No (5)
  • Air Quality Improvement
    4.3 (4)
  • Odour Improvement
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
daywolf
daywolfGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 15 reviews
  • 35 likes

A really good air purifier and fan, but a bit pricey

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gary C
Gary CGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My first and last Dyson appliance.

published

Purchased in December 2016 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
KellieL
KellieLSydney
  • 33 reviews
  • 9 likes

It is OK but not worth the money

published

We are a Dyson household - vacuum cleaner, hairdryer and straightener.

This is the first time I have been disappointed in a Dyson product. I bought this fan in the Black Friday sales as we don’t always have the AC on as it is only the two of us at home now.

Even on sale it was $600 and it is not as cooling as the tower fan we bought from Aldi for $60.00.

You cannot adjust the actual fan speed only the amount of air that comes out - it would be much better if you could have the fan on a three speed with the amount of air at say seven.

Even on nine this does not put out much cool air.

Nobody needs this fan and if you are buying to cool down, go to Aldi.

Purchased in November 2020 for $594.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Misleading Advertising

published

I bought this product because it was advertised as a tower fan with air purification abilities. My expectations for $800 is that it would perform both tasks exceptionally well. I did a side by side comparison of the tower fan I was replacing and as a tower fan, it performs terribly, the airflow even on the highest setting is barely noticeable at a distance of 1.5m despite Dysons claims of powerful airflow and cooling abilities. Not to mention the noise, it operates louder than I would have expected but more importantly, it’s a really unpleasant noise. Don’t buy this product expecting to use it as a tower fan, despite the advertising, it is not intended to be used as one.

Purchased in November 2020 for $798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dyson
DysonDyson

Other Standalone Fans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dwayne C.
Dwayne C.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 21 reviews
  • 24 likes

A breath of fresh air

published

We got this because we are renovating in an older house and worried about any potentially small and dangerous microparticles, dust and any other nasties from hammering, drilling and so on. This thing exceeds our expectations and the metrics it provides on the fan as well as in the app are nice and helpful. The only downside is while the build quality is nice, this thing falls over very easily.

We have a 1.5-year-old and a 5-year-old. Our 1.5-year-old has knocked this over a lot, thankfully it is light and can take a beating, but it is an oversight for such an expensive product. The magnetic remote that sits on top also easily falls off, it feels like a bit of an oversight for an otherwise flawless and useful product.

Purchased in June 2020 at The Good Guys for $798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Standalone Fans

Find out how Dyson Pure Cool Tower compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charis
CharisWagga Wagga
  • 13 reviews

Good fan and purifier. Easy to assemble

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 at Catch for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gary C
Gary CGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My first and last Dyson appliance.

published

Purchased in December 2016 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Dyson launches a new air purifier range targeting formaldehyde

Dyson is releasing a new range of their signature air purifiers - with the inclusion of a new filter designed to sense, capture and destroy formaldehyde. But does the hefty price tag justify what the new technology has to offer?

Avleen M.
Avleen M.22 Mar 2021
dyson-launches-a-new-air-purifier-range-targeting-formaldehyde

Is the new ALDI Bladeless Air Purifier Fan better than the Dyson Pure Cool Desk Fan?

German retail giant ALDI is releasing a bladeless fan and air purifier, due to go on sale as part of its Special Buys program this Saturday 18th November.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.11 Nov 2020
is-the-new-aldi-bladeless-air-purifier-fan-better-than-the-dyson-pure-cool-desk-fan
Next
Annie4323
Annie4323AU
  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very happy!

published

Set up: 15 mins to remove packaging, check instructions & remote control, put filters in and start it. Filtered air particulate matter (2.5ug and 10ug) in 5x5 m2 room in 20 mins from ~74ug to 25ug.
Extremely easy to use and operate.
Not noisy at highest fan speed(10), and low fan speeds are very quiet.
Optional Fan function gives nice light breeze even at 5m distance.
Filters @$99 per set. (2 sets required) are pricy, but last 1 year if operating 12 hrs/day. Unlikely to use that often!
Only improvements could be:
1. a little trolley or built in wheels to enable easy moving between rooms.
2. Handles for carrying. (Not supposed to use the loop).
Summary: Does the job. Very impressed.

Picklemadge
PicklemadgeCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Well worth the investment

published

Purchased in January 2020 at David Jones.

Build Quality
Value for Money
daywolf
daywolfGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 15 reviews
  • 35 likes

A really good air purifier and fan, but a bit pricey

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Standalone Fans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
DamoonTwo
DamoonTwoNorth Queensland, QLD
  • 29 reviews
  • 16 likes

Purifier Perfection

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Standalone Fans

Find out how Dyson Pure Cool Tower compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
xavibear
xavibearSYDNEY
  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

The fan you never knew you needed!

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cavitation
CavitationSydney, NSW
  • 48 reviews
  • 42 likes

Very effective air purifier and fan from the wizards at Dyson

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

bbsb007
bbsb007Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 29 reviews
  • 20 likes

Excellent purifier, average fan

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shellby
ShellbyMid North Coast, NSW
  • 27 reviews
  • 20 likes

Attractive Item That Does What Its Meant To

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ChrisOz
ChrisOzSydney, NSW
  • 31 reviews
  • 48 likes

First up, let me clear the air....

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Dyson.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dyson
DysonDyson
ChrisOz
ChrisOz

Thanks Dyson, I don't know how I missed the mac address sticker. I appreciate the clarification about the anonymised performance data, however I'd suggest that this is made clearer up front.

Other Standalone Fans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Keithy
KeithyNorth Queensland, QLD
  • 25 reviews
  • 17 likes

A purely good purifier!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Standalone Fans

Find out how Dyson Pure Cool Tower compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Wendy W.
Wendy W.asked
Pure Cool Tower

Recently when I have the in Auto and night mode, the pure cool turns it’s self off at night. Is this normal? I don’t remember it doing this before. I’ve had the unit for about 3 months.

2 answers
Dyson
DysonDyson

Thank you for your question.

The machine will dim the light when on night mode. On auto mode should the machine not be able to detect any pollutants or allergens in the air it will go into a standby mode, if this is the case you can test this by using a quick spray of deodorant around the base of the machine and you will see the fan speed ramp up.

Apart from this the machine will turn itself off automatically after 9 hours for safety reasons, to bypass this you can turn it off and on and it will reset this timer.

We hope this has answered your query if you require any further assistance please feel free to send an email through to auaskdyson@dyson.com, we are here to help.

Wendy W.
Wendy W.

Thanks for the answer!

dvobgo92
dvobgo92asked
Pure Cool Tower White Silver

Hello, this question is for a Dyson support staff member. I just purchased two Dyson Pure Cool TP04 purifiers a few days ago and one of them works great but the second one I believe has an issue. Whenever in standby and in backward flow mode, the sensors accurately pick up the particulates in the room. BUT the moment I switch the fan to forward flow mode, the AQI goes down to GOOD and both the PM2.5 and PM10 readings go down to ZERO. This is definitely not normal as the 2nd purifier doesn’t change its readings no matter if it’s in backward or forward mode or in standby with continuous monitoring on.
For example: Even if the PM2.5 reading is 300ug/m3, it immediately goes down to 0ug/m3 as soon as I change the fan flow from backward to forward mode. If I then change the flow to backward mode again, the readings instantly come back to their previous normal levels. Huge disappointment... is there a fix for this?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

This is certainly not normal and we would encourage getting in touch directly with our Dyson Experts to get a resolution for this.

Please forward your details, this query and the serial number of the effected machine to auaskdyson@dyson.com and will be in touch very shortly to assist.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting.

Kevin O
Kevin Oasked
Pure Cool Tower

Why does Dyson Pure Cool PM2.5 suddenly spike to levels as high as 999, and then return to normal levels? The unit has been in this room for months, and PM2.5 has always been at normal levels

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

This can indicate the sensor of your machine needs to be cleaned.

To do this, unplug your machine, and locate the air quality sensor slots. These are located at approximately the 10 o'clock position when looking at the front of your machine (just above the filter).

Once these are located, vacuum the two sensor slots to with a Dyson brush attachment.

After cleaning, plug your machine in and test and this should be resolved. If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to help.

If you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

See all Dyson Pure Cool Tower questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson Pure Cool Tower

Details

Features:

  • Uses ‘Air Multiplier’ technology to operate using a bladeless fan design. Since blades are concealed within the fan base, this Dyson fan is a safer pick if you have curious babies or pets wandering around.
  • An in-built air purifier captures pollutants in the air, while a HEPA Filter and activated carbon filter work together to trap 99.95% of fine particles as small as 0.1 micros. You can also use the air purifier without the air circulating function, on more chilly days.
  • The oscillating function allows you to set the angle from 45 degrees to 350 degrees, to deliver cool and purified air evenly around the room
  • The Dyson Link app sends data to your smartphone in real-time, reporting on PM2.5, PM10, VOC and NO2 levels in the air
  • Quiet Mark accreditation awarded for being friendly on the ears, and Sensitive Choice approved by the National Asthma Council Australia, making this Dyson fan suitable for asthma and allergy sufferers.

Points of praise for the Dyson Pure Cool Tower:

  • This Dyson fan was most appreciated for its superior air purification function. The in-built air purifier is effective at identifying and getting rid of pollutants, especially from smoke caused by bushfires. This improves air quality and makes air fresher and more breathable.
  • Airflow is consistent and effective, moving around air in a room to make it feel more comfortable to be in. The higher the speed, however, the noisier the fan will become – although it’s still much quieter than other bladeless fans on the market, according to reviewers.
  • The Dyson Link app provides thorough and reliable data about the pollutants in the air.

Pain points with the Dyson Pure Cool Tower:

  • It’s easy to knock over, which can often happen if you have toddlers running around. Luckily this is more so inconvenient rather than dangerous, since there are no external blades to worry about with this Dyson fan.
  • Dyson recommends changing the air purifier filters once every 12 months, but they are expensive to replace, costing $99 for a set of two (the glass HEPA and inner carbon filter).
  • The lack of a handle made this fan less ergonomically friendly, and reviewers found it frustrating that they couldn’t transport it from room to room easily.
Compare both Dyson Pure Cool Tower
CategoryAir Purifiers and Standalone FansAir Purifiers and Standalone Fans
Price (RRP) $799.00$799.00
FeaturesBladeless, HEPA Filter, Oscillating, Remote Control and TimerBladeless, HEPA Filter, Oscillating, Remote Control and Timer
HEPA FilterYesYes
FeaturesAdjustable Speed Settings, Automatic Air Quality Monitor, Carbon Filter, Filter Life Indicator, Mobile App, Remote Control and TimerAdjustable Speed Settings, Automatic Air Quality Monitor, Carbon Filter, Filter Life Indicator, Mobile App, Remote Control and Timer
Weight4.9 kg4.9 kg
Dimensions 1054 x 206 x 117 mm1054 x 206 x 117 mm
TypeTowerTower
Cord Length1.8 m1.8 m
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack NickelWhite Silver
Construction
Body MaterialMetalMetal
Release dateDec 2018Dec 2018
Compare both Dyson Pure Cool Tower

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.