??!
1 photo
Coles Home & Contents Insurance

Coles Home & Contents Insurance

1.7 from 309 reviews

Reviews

(36)
(14)
(5)
(24)
(230)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (64)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (49)
  • Customer Service
    1.8 (65)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (56)
    • Home Only (8)
    • Contents Only (8)
neicie

neiciesydney

  • 13 reviews

Claim outcome doesn't make sense

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Shirley

Shirley

  • 2 reviews

Repair of damage

published

we had a small damage to our car. I contacted your office next day & then contacted Steve Kennedy - Toukley. Even though it was over Christmas we had our car back mid January.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeNo
Albert L.

Albert L.

  • 2 reviews

8 years of premium and first claim!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Coles Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
basit

basitSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Total disappointment

published

Have my home and content with coles. During last month deluge had tradie come and fix my roof and has damaged my car. What is interesting is they have hired a
Some trade company and are now asking me to chase individual.
Totally No accountability and when i call their call centre all they say is we deal with home insurance not car.
As a company they have lost my trust.
When i mention amboudsam i get told to do it , as of they dont care just no effort to resolve the issue.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Basit, we're sorry to hear this. We'd recommend calling our Customer Care Team on 1300 265 374 to follow up further, as they're best placed to assist. We're sorry for any hassle.

Gina

GinaNew South Wales

Great employee Ashnee

published

I had to renew two of our policies with Coles the lady I spoke to Ashnee was wonderful. She was helpful in all ways she was very clear with what she said. I hope that they recommend her as if all of the employees were like her it would be great
thank you Ashnee I really appreciate your help
Regina Harcourt and Gino Ienna

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
adf

adfCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 5 reviews

VERY bad service!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
4 comments
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
adf
adf

I rang your claim line for an update on my claim and was told there was no timeframes or indication when work will start. Was also told there isn’t anything else they can do - so why would I call back the claims number?!?!?...

Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
Michelle

MichelleHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews

I am shocked at how they have become worse than before. Worst company rude staff

published

Have been waiting for over a month. Lots of phone calls and get no reasonable answer. Total lack of respect when communicating and dismissive.
They wanted me to give them autority to settle the claim without any scope of work.
When i asked for itemised prices and scope of work I was told it is their private business.
Policy is cheap and so is the service received.
I am moving away from this company as I no longer trust them.
Ask to speak to supervisor and was denied.
The rude man talked and talked over me and finally hang up on me.
Thank god for the ombudsman.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
2 comments
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Michelle, we're disappointed to hear of your poor experience. Please send us a private message with more info, including your claims details and we'll look into it further for you.

Michelle
Michelle

COL202214976

not very flexible

published

not very flexible & ignore customer wishes seeing i am a severely disabled pensioner. absolutely no good will at all and so every time i make a payment i am penalized by bank for being late

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Darryl, if you'd like to send us a private message we'll have our Customer Care Team look into this further for you.

Chloe

ChloeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

If I could give no stars I would

published

I have never ever dealt with a worst insurance company. Pathetic excuse of a company. My claim has been on going since early November. Useless.. save your self the money and hassle and DO NOT GO WITH COLES INSURANCE

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Ebony, we're disappointed to hear you've had a poor experience with your claim and we'd like the opportunity to have this looked into further. Please feel free to send us a private message with more info, including your claims details.

Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Coles Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sue

SueSydney, NSW

The pricing is good. But the customer service is so hurd to understand.

published

Pricing is good. Did not understand the call taker. Been with Coles for 3 years. Asked the call taker to repeat his questions . At the end he did changes without me accepting them when he sent me my end result of my policy

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Sue, thanks for getting in touch. Thanks for sharing your feedback. We'd recommend reaching out to our Customer Support Team on 1300 265 374 as they'd be best placed to check your policy and confirm these details for you.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Marilynr

MarilynrSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Paid premiums for years and wasn't covered

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Marilyn, we're sorry to hear of your poor experience. To follow up on this, we recommend calling our Claims Team on 1300 265 374, as they'd be best placed to assist and address any further concerns you may have.

Hiranya

HiranyaSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified customer

Do Not get this insurance! They take your money but do not help you!

published

I am incredibly sad I left NRMA insurance and joined this lot as they had a special deal on the Fiffy Plus Club. Well they take your money and wriggle out of paying you when you put in a claim. My AC stopped working when there was a power surge on 31 December 2019. I told them I need it as I am a bad asthmatic. It is ducted-so it is in the roof cavity-so House and Contents should cover it! They said it is not covered as my policy is an event only policy-like fire or storm etc. Unbelievable!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimExplosion
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Don’t insure with Coles

published

Worst home insurance company to deal with, people at the call centre are rude and do not know what they are talking about, they were very quick in sending the assessor out but it took six months and a few phone calls for them to knock my claim back because they said that hail blocking the spouting up allowing water to come inside the house was due to lack of maintenance and not storm damage.
Next door got fixed straight away.
Go with another insurance company Not Coles

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
Alf Dellorso

Alf DellorsoVictoria

Coles Insurance-Beware the nightmare

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater and Theft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
6 comments
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
Alf Dellorso
Alf Dellorso
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

We're sorry to hear you feel this way, Alf. We hope you give us another chance in future.

easy as

published

very competitive
easy to set up
easy to retrieve
been with for some years
easy to add optional features not taken up initially
as good as any other insurances as I was told by friends

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi adrian, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We pride ourselves on our customer service and we're glad to hear you've had a fantastic experience with our services so far!

Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Coles Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David

DavidMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Deny all claims at Coles Insurnce

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
akay

akaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Never deal with Coles insurance.

published

Increased premiums for same cover in safer area. Promised no cancellation fees and then charged with no mention in refund calculation. Rudest and least helpful staff and just hung up on me after 15 minutes explanation on phone. DO NOT INSURE WITH THIS RIP OFF COMPANY.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Akay, thanks for sharing your feedback. We take many things into consideration when calculating your premiums. Please call our Customer Care Team on 1300 265 374 as they'd be best placed to review this for you.

d1rich

d1richMurray Region, NSW

Cyclone in Albury?

published

Coles Insurance have just rejected my insurance on a new house in Albury with the statement that they aren’t taking any new business there as a Cyclone is about to hit. I have been a customer of theirs for years and hence it isn’t new business and secondly there isn’t a predicted Cyclone for this area, now or more than likely ever!

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
4 comments
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
d1rich
d1rich

You still haven't answered our questions as to why Albury/Thurgoona has suddenly become a cyclone area, we have been with you for 4 years.

Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

We're sorry for any confusion. We recommend calling our Customer Care Team on 1300 265 374 as they'd be best suited to advise you about this.

Coles Insurance

published

If you ever want an insurance company that takes your money and does everything to NOT assist with any claim this is the one for you, we have been waiting 6 weeks for small claim to be processed and Coles continually request information that can’t be supplied, extremely unprofessional and provide no assistance particularly for elderly people. Thank god for APIA

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Ray, thanks for taking the time share your review. We're sorry to hear you experienced a delay with your claim. We'd recommend getting in contact with our Customer Care Team on 1300 265 374 so they can look into this for you.

Vmbn

VmbnVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Stay away from Coles insurance they will show their true colour during a claim

published

Been with Coles insurance for many years no issues until we went to make a claim. As soon as we called them we were warned that the claim will affect future renewals. When we said ok to proceed the next thing they say is the claim will be denied before they even listen to our complaints. These call centre people are trained to discourage claim and pull every trick in the book to reject the claim. I called again to a different person and the reason given Was completely different. It is very clear you can’t get money from these people. They are happy as Larry to gobble the premium but does not care about the customers even the slightest. Iam moving all my Insurances from Coles ASAP.

Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

Shirley Breckenridge

Shirley Breckenridgeasked

I have home contents insurance with you but I cant find the policy no and it needs to b paid

No answers
Trevor B.

Trevor B.asked

how can i view my home/contents and car policies on line

2 answers
Brad
Brad

Head over to the link below and log in. https://general-insurance.coles.com.au/mycolesinsurance/login

Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Trevor, thanks for getting in touch. If you have any questions about your policy, please call us on 1300 265 374 and we'd be happy to help.

John S

John Sasked

I just received a policy renewal and the premium has increased by 25% while the building replacement cost went up by 10% and the contents by 3.8%. When I questioned why such a big increase and how do the maths work. I was given a common spell that Coles had re-assessed the post code risk. Really! We have loved there for 19 years and never a problem. Please explain.

1 answer
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi John, we regularly review the premiums our customers pay to ensure they reflect the cost of protecting your house. If you’d like to understand more about how insurance prices are calculated, please visit: www.coles.com.au/insurance-prices-explained. If you’d like to chat further, we recommend calling us on 1300 265 374.

Get an answer from our members and Coles Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.