??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance

Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance

1.3 from 256 reviews

Reviews

(11)
(4)
(4)
(6)
(231)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (40)
  • Transparency
    1.4 (34)
  • Customer Service
    1.2 (40)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (38)
    • Home Only (4)
    • Contents Only (4)
Adam H.

Adam H.Western Australia

Tight fisted crooks pure and simple.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Jeff V.

Jeff V.Hunter Region, NSW

poor service

published

would not recommend comminsure for any claims - absolute nightmare with a small claim - 1st wanted quotes on repairs from tradies to fix problem - then it wasnt to their liking - so on 1 occasion 1 hour on the phone waiting , another 2 hours and 10 minutes to then get told they want their own builder to look at house - this is 1 month after the problem happened. over the last 2 weeks told builder to look at soon - today last straw - now builder cannot give accurate time to look at house. 12k premiums per year over the last 7- 8 years with 1 really small claim and they cannot even contact me properly to sort a minor claim. hopeless...

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
Sofia

SofiaSydney, NSW

Horrible Service!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The worst insurance ever

published

We got broken into a couple of years back, and the way we were treated made us feel like we had orchestrated the whole thing. I was 26 week pregnant at the time and going through a high risk pregnancy. CommInsure made our life hell! Literally ! Started investigating us and uplifting up personal life for no reason. My husband and I had never ever made a claim, we are hard working honest people. I ended up giving birth at 32 weeks and in the end my ob instructed to winthdraw they claim because of what we were going through and focus on our baby and open it back up once our lives settled down again. But after suffering from severe anxiety and depression I couldn’t bring myself to deal with it again. Disgusting and inhuman level of service

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
Carla8

Carla8South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Disgustingly greedy, unethical, money-grabbing

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
Cathy48

Cathy48Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Appalling Service Again!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
kmurray

kmurrayCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Malicious criminal damage

published

Beware if you are in Central Victoria and make a claim with CBA. After malicious damage done to my property I had to make my first ever insurance claim. It has not been satisfactory. CBA use the Johns Lyng group in Bendigo and this has been a frustrating experience. Communication extremely poor between CBA and Johns Lyng and myself. I had to organise some jobs myself for safety and security purposes. They would be better off offering a monetary settlement to customers as an option so that we can organise our own tradesmen if we want. Would give CBA and Johns Lyng a 1 star rating each. Beware and I will be changing my Insurer.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
Toni

ToniHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Water pipe burst in kitchen

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Dr Cate

Dr CateSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Worst home insurance in the world!!! Beware!

published

This is the worst experience of insurance I have ever had. I had one claim, comminsure would not pay. Then one day they took $1055 out of my account without my permission and I have still not been refunded. They said they changed my insurance premium to 13 million the the charge was for the change. I did not change my insurance. Overall, no star rating. Comminsure is about taking your money and the team do not want to help you with insurance if you have a real claim. Buyer beware! I am now finding a new insurance company. Do yourself a favour and stay away from Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance.

Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

3 months since original claim and still disputing

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
See all answers

CommInsure is a waste of time

published

They do anything to get out of a claim,
For a small patch up job due to storm damage they dragged it out after getting two maintenance people to look at the job.
They will insure you but never pay on 2 accounts. I’m done with them and would advise no one to get house Insurance not bank though them, in process of closing all accounts with them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
virtuallyme

virtuallymeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Despicable!!! Unethical!!! Immoral!!! Uncaring thieves!!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimFire
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
Kristy

KristyHarrison 2914, ACT

  • 2 reviews

10 years of landlord insurance and it took nearly 1 year to finalise a claim

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home and Vandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Totally disgraceful

published

After 20yrs of comminsure we sold our house and purchased another one but due to bushfires comminsure refused to offer insurance on the new home. NRMA insured the property within an hour.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Rob

RobYanco

  • 6 reviews

Thieves

published

Our policy has more than doubled. Your call center people are saying our property is a farm and we are in a flood zone. Our council report says we are residential and are not in a flood zone. This policy has been in place for several years. We will take all our business elsewhere including our home and investment portfolio .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

about Claim of theft

published

Very bad experience, too much discussion on the claim and still offering 200$ For worth of 2000$ items..and took me 5 months , trying to ripoff. Very fake .
Suggestion, never go with comminsure..

Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Katrina

KatrinaPerth, WA

Worst insurance company

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
See all answers
Tash

TashPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Terrible insurance company. No help at all.

published

The worst to deal with when making a claim. 45 mins hold time. Over 1 month to hear back about our claim only to want more documents and jump through hoops. No help at all in a very stressful time. Landlords insurance what a joke, I got nothing back and thousands of dollars of damage.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers
Sarah w

Sarah wSouth-East, TAS

A company of money guzzling snakes.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Julie

JuliePerth, WA

Go elsewhere

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Roxanne L.

Roxanne L.asked

We lost our house in the recent bushfires on the 21/12/19. We put in our claim the next day and we are still waiting. If our case worker is claiming that he is waiting for a building assessment isn’t it his responsibility to chase it? WHAT CAN I DO ? I am very disappointed that it has taken 3 months. We need to rebuild!!

1 answer
Sofia
Sofia

I bet you always sit on the phone for 2hrs to speak to them as well.... Worst insurance honestly...I’m sorry you have to go through this :(

KIRSTY

KIRSTYasked

I pay monthly via direct debit from COMMONWEALTH account, I forgot to transfer money and the payment has been reversed, will the direct debit try again or what do I have to do?

No answers
John

Johnasked

WE are looking for our home and contents insurance with you, but cannot find it. I assume we renewed our 29 July (?) start date contract with you.. Did we? John Passant and Patricia Langenakker 1 Naismith Pl Kambah ACT 2902 0422 984 334

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Commonwealth Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.