??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance

Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance

1.3 from 244 reviews

See the Best Home and Contents Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
4
3 star
4
2 star
6
1 star
219

Totally disgraceful

published

After 20yrs of comminsure we sold our house and purchased another one but due to bushfires comminsure refused to offer insurance on the new home. NRMA insured the property within an hour.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Rob

RobYanco

  • 6 reviews

Thieves

published

Our policy has more than doubled. Your call center people are saying our property is a farm and we are in a flood zone. Our council report says we are residential and are not in a flood zone. This policy has been in place for several years. We will take all our business elsewhere including our home and investment portfolio .

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

about Claim of theft

published

Very bad experience, too much discussion on the claim and still offering 200$ For worth of 2000$ items..and took me 5 months , trying to ripoff. Very fake .
Suggestion, never go with comminsure..

Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Katrina

KatrinaPerth, WA

Worst insurance company

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
See all answers

Tash

TashPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible insurance company. No help at all.

published

The worst to deal with when making a claim. 45 mins hold time. Over 1 month to hear back about our claim only to want more documents and jump through hoops. No help at all in a very stressful time. Landlords insurance what a joke, I got nothing back and thousands of dollars of damage.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

Sarah w

Sarah wSouth-East, TAS

A company of money guzzling snakes.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Julie

JuliePerth, WA

Go elsewhere

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo

orange m.

orange m.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Ridiculous hold times

published

I am in the process of claiming home insurance.. each time I have rang I have been on hold for over 1 hour. Then explain my case and get transferred again.. and again sit on hold

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Levi

Levi

  • 2 reviews

I wish i could score them 0

published

Worst insurance company to deal with.They look for any lame excuse to refuse the claim.Too slow process and ridiculous customer service.There accesor s reports always favour them (of course because they are paying for them) No honesty at all.Bunch of selfish and rude employees and company

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers

Used to be good not anymore!!!

published

Have been with CommInsure for 12 years have made a few minor claims no problem, but had some minor storm damage got it inspected decided not to worry about and was then told it was lack of maintenance so no cover anyway because some leaves were blocking a drain but what if the storm blew them in their no response. Am going else where.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

James

James

  • 2 reviews

Total ripoff

published

These guys are a disgrace been with them for 17yrs and the 1st time I made a claim it
Got denied to a lame excuse they just take your money beware if you are thinking of home insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

Tiffany

TiffanyPerth, WA

I never know Supplement exists until I made a claim.

published
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Wish I could score it as 0.

published

I have a pipe leaking and the insurance assessment took over 4 months and rejected it in the end with some irrelevant and ridiculous reasons. The assessment report doesn't even include any photos mentioned in the report. Very very bad experience. They have also increased the fee from 70/month to 92 in 2 years time.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers

Total fraud and rip off. Never trust these guys.

published

I have been with comminsure for number of years for building and contents.
Put my claims for aircons and floor repairs. It took so many months and comm insure is not willing to pay for the claims worth of approximately $8K for silly reasons. Total rip off and fraudulent.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home and Storm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
bin

bin

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I tried to claim my apple 6plus phone through comminsure

published

I tried to claim my apple 6plus phone through comminsure they said i have to pay 500 dollars excess, the phone is not even worth 500 dollars. I'm going to change the company soon. Can anyone suggest a better one.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
RICK

RICKVictoria

  • 4 reviews

excellence in the extreme

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

Cliff

CliffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 1 like

Ripped off!!!!

published

I have or shall I say had home content insurance with the commonwealth bank for close to two years,,i accidentally broke one of my chineses emperor statutes, so i made a claim and guess what surprise surprise my claim was rejected because the statue does not fall under contents WHAT!!! But they were very happy to take my money every month...never again ...shame shame commonwealth bank choke on the claim...

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

Miriam J.

Miriam J.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Madness

published

Monthly instalments have increased from $62 in 2017 to $87 in 2018 and just received a renewal for $118. Just cancelled the policy. That’s ludicrous. An increase of more than 50% in 2 years.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

Chenna Krishna Reddy Ban

Chenna Krishna Reddy BanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified customer

Rip off and disgusting

published

As a customer I have been with Comm bank for 10 years and took Home and contents Insurance 4 years back along with Housing loan I am with Zero claims but still they increased my premium to $1400 from $1027. I have called the customer service and the guy said there will be an increase of 6% every year which I agreed but he was not able to justify why there is an increase of $373 from last year. I have cancelled the policy and moved to Woolworths at a cheaper cost saving almost $560

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Waste of time, you will be paying them for nothing.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Lyndall

Lyndallasked

Can I pay my premium by credit card? Is there a fee for paying it this way?

No answers

Annette.B

Annette.Basked

How much does it cost to insure a vacant house that’s on the market to sell?

No answers

C.A.D.

C.A.D.asked

I’d love to know how we can escalate this further with all these horrible reviews. This is a top 4 bank scamming people!

1 answer
Ben
Ben

The best way to deal with Comminsure or financial company is to involve the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA) (ombudsman). They are independent in the decision making process and will enforce them to pay up if you have a legitimate claim. It’s worked twice for me and each time CBA had to pay up.


Get an answer from our members and Commonwealth Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.