??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance

Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance

1.3 from 298 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.3 (78)
  • Transparency
    1.3 (68)
  • Customer Service
    1.3 (79)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (6)
    • 1-2 weeks (2)
    • 2-4 weeks (8)
    • 1-2 months (18)
    • 3+ months (29)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (17) · No (43)
Previous
Next
Dom

DomSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

This company are cheats and liars

published

I don't know wear to start
Had water damage due to a storm to my alfresco roof and inside of house. Alfresco roof has been repaired but not plaster damage inside of house
CBA says it's not due to storm
There assessor has said it's structural and not due to storm
We had a independent report done and said it is water damage from storm
Can't believe what this company has put us through it's been 10 months. I paid my access signed the contract of repairs and didn't deliver
We will be going to current affairs with this . Can't believe such a big company has such a poor rating and how they get away with it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
John

JohnPerth, WA

The worst

published

Had a leak from roof with water damage to ceiling, had roof restored 7 years ago claim was rejected due to silicone under one tile from before roof restoration, have been with this insurance for many years, not any more, a rip off. Don't go there !

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Rosie

RosieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

What a joke!

published

Submitted a claim to fix some plaster damaged by water leak from balcony which has since been attended to. Rejected claim totally. Same thing happened 10 years ago and we were covered by another insurance. Regret we ever changed! Most other companies fix the result of leaks. Hopeless. Will be leaving them ASAP.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ridhav

RidhavGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Please Read reviews, Wrongful Claim Rejection like others

published
  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Disgusting, unreliable service, avoid like a plague

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Michelle

Michelle South-Eastern Region, NSW

Absolutely Terrible, Refuse Claims

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Glen Bethel

Glen BethelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What A Rip-Off

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Jon

Jon

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very slow claim response and sharp yearly increases in rates.

published

I purchased home&contents from Commbank due to convenience and at that time good values (3 years ago). I recently had storm damage to my roof and put in a claim. It was assessed properly, but then no response. The damage was limited, but would allow rainwater into the roof causing more damage. As I did not hear from the company, I had it fixed myself (for less than the excess). Almost 2 months later the report came back that I would need to pay the full excess and then they would arrange for the repair.
The premium increases were in the order of 10% per year without good reason

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
roman

romanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

WILL FIND A WAY NOT TO PAY OUT

published

had a burnt out motor that caused irreplaceable damage to a roller door.
Their take after 20 days of no contact? door damaged itself and took the motor with it.

Why was that their take? because while I'm covered for a burnt out motor, I'm not covered for general wear and tear. They bend the rules to suit themselves, stay clear whatever you do. If you have no camera proof of cause they will do whatever they can to dismiss, your word means nothing.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Policy Holder

Policy HolderSouth East Queensland, QLD

Dreadful claim process

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
See all answers

Deceptive and unreasonable

published

Insured with Comminsure for Home only. Paid for the policy for two years however during storms this winter a box gutter broke and water came in to the house. CBA allege that the storm didn't cause the water ingress. I point out that before the storm there wasn't any water ingress. They send an assessor who turns up without a ladder to inspect the box gutter. I lend him my ladder and after inspection he says he expects the claim will be honored. A week later another assessor turns up to over rule the first assessor. I would not trust this company to pay anyone and you may note that most of the good reviews are from years ago

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
NitinM

NitinMSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

The crappiest insurer

published

Quite pricey insurance. The product I had with CBA was for $1.1M with very less cover and it has now costed me less than than with Seniors Insurance with insured amount of $1.5M

stay away from CBA is all I can say due to substandard experience

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Vishal P

Vishal PGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

All excuses in d book used by cba

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
ARNUPHAP M.

ARNUPHAP M.South East Queensland, QLD

Could not be happier with the service!

published

Roof and ceiling leak from a storm December 2019..... Just took me a while to post on product review.
Replaced my ceiling, ceiling vats, painted all ceilings and walls that were affected. Fixed roof and replaced my whirly bird.
Appointed builders were Patterson builders, amazing!
Professional, courteous, timely.
Recommendation 100%

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Ash

AshPerth, WA

They are only good on increasing the monthly payment, NOTHING else.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents and Home Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt

MattGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

They don't care about you at all

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Suman

SumanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Horrible service,Do not waste your time and money

published

Been with them for 32 years made 1 claim of shower leak and it’s took 11 months for them to hand the bathroom back.
The whole experience was just horrible.
rang comminsure several times regarding all the issues and why it was taking so long but they were no helpful at all.
Builder and cba were not taking ownership for and thing.It was like a big joke to them and they did not care at all. If it takes them nearly 11 months just for a small claim god help people with bigger claims.
It takes 24hrs for a reply after any phone call taken. And then no one knows what they are doing.

Please before you purchase do your research they are the most expensive insurance provider and absolutely rubbish.
A very very stressful experience.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Terrible Customer Service- do not even go near this company to get an insurance

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Will Fish

Will FishSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

Any small claim and up goes the premium

published

Switched to Comminsure a couple of years ago for home and contents insurance, and renewal arrived the other day. Went online to compare premium they quoted me (an existing customer) with premium quoted for a new customer (with exactly the same details), and new customer would get exactly same policy nearly $200 cheaper per annum. Phoned them to discuss. Because we made a small claim ($750 paid, half what we claimed) for food loss during the bushfires, our policy goes up $200 per year - apparently forever!!!! Serious??? Yes, that is how it works with CommInsure, and I am now looking for another insurer. Suggest you do also.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimFire
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

That's is a terrible home content insurance

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Onii c.

Onii c.asked

do i need to let the bank know i have solar panel

1 answer
Policy Holder
Policy Holder

You should check the pds of the insurance policy that you have. Generally solar panels will be covered by your home insurance policy. If you have just installed solar panels, you may need to contact your insurer and increase the sum insured

Em C.

Em C.asked

Are plumbing leaks, steerage leaks covered?

No answers
James M.

James M.asked

if i am making a claim am i entitled to see the scope of works and the money value

1 answer
Nicole
Nicole

Sorry James, I didn’t quiet understand what you are saying?

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryHome and Contents Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents and Landlord

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.