??!
1 photo
Curves

Curves

3.1 from 101 reviews

Reviews

3.1

101 reviews
5
(32)
4
(15)
3
(13)
2
(10)
1
(31)
Previous
Next
Linda M

Linda MBelconnen 2615, ACT

Love Curves!

published

Love Curves and that all you need is 30 minutes 3 times a week. The community is lovely as is the Curves team! Not a gym person but Curves works well for me.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2018
Additional Physical Activities Cardio
Weight LostYes, I have reached my goal weight
See all answers

Help to health

published

I go several times a week to Curves Belconnen
The gym is clean light and welcoming
Staff are attentive and friendly and very responsive to individual requirements
The routines are helpful in creating and maintaining physical fitness
There are on going activities which foster a community feeling

Customer Service
Value for Money
Additional Physical Activities Cardio and Weightlifting
Judith

Judith

  • 2 reviews

For fitness, not just weight loss.

published

Curves is not just about weight loss. I began going to improve fitness and flexibility. I've done that and found so much more.
The team at Curves Belconnen is involved in many community and fund raising events and have a holistic approach to health and wellbeing, organising information on keeping your brain healthy and active, bone and chiropractic health amongst other initiatives.
What really makes the difference is the cheerfulness and dedication of the Curves coaches who make you feel welcome and special at every visit.
Based on past experience I thought I'd stick to it for a couple of months, more than 5 years later I still enjoy every visit and look forward to keeping Curves Belconnen as an integral part of my life.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Diet Programs

Find out how Curves compares to other Diet Programs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lauraj

LaurajBelconnen 2617, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Happy (and fitter) Customer @ Curves Jamison (Belconnen)

published

Joined my local Curves Jamison (Belconnen) in February this year when I retired from work, the staff are all fantastic and lovely people and dedicated to their jobs. They are always there to assist you if required and each month you have a review of your progress. Also love the classes they offer during the day. I have now made some lovely friends which is an added bonus. Staff are always willing to have a chat when their work load permits :) very happy and glad I joined.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateFebruary 2019
Additional Physical Activities Cardio
Weight LostMy weight has stayed the same
See all answers

I love Curves!

published

I have been a member of Curves since 2007. I found it fitted in beautifully with my work routine & now I am retired I can choose whatever time suits my programme.
My motivation for joining was a diagnosis of osteopenia. The circuit has helped my strength, flexibility & endurance.
I would certainly recommend Curves for its flexibility, the encouragement & friendliness of the owner & staff.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateOctober 2007
Additional Physical Activities None
Weight LostYes, I have reached my goal weight
See all answers
Meredith Osborne

Meredith OsborneCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Unhappy ending

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateFebruary 2016
Ange Douv

Ange DouvGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Trading hours changed without notice

published

Changes to shorten hours without notice from management claim to be short staffed yet when hired new staff hours stayed the same although many complaints to staff and management hours on websites are incorrect need updating
Better off going to a gym open all day without all these hourly restrictions

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2019
Additional Physical Activities None
Weight LostMy weight has stayed the same
See all answers

Excellent Petersham Curves in Sydney

published

Petersham Curves is highly recommended to people who live or work in area of Inner West in Sydney. Michelle manager is energetic, positive and enthusiastic and always follows up with consumers` medical practitioners. She tailors the exercises program according to health needs and body abilities. All staff are professional, kind and helpful. The environment is nice and clean. I cannot imagine better place for women well-being!

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2019
Additional Physical Activities Sport
Weight LostYes, I have reached my goal weight
See all answers
Susan M.

Susan M.South-Eastern Region, NSW

Best decision I ever made!

published

I had been attending a rehab gym for a physical injury, when I decided to try Curves. Best decision ever. Staff are friendly, motivational and full of advice if you ask for it. Not pushy or demanding, but happy to Make suggestions if you ask. No pressure to perform, just a lovely, happy place to work out, at your own pace, as much or as little as you feel like.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2019
Additional Physical Activities Cardio
Weight LostMy weight has stayed the same
See all answers
Diet Programs

Find out how Curves compares to other Diet Programs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Betty

BettyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Loved Curves until I had to change location

published

Avoid at all costs

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2018
Additional Physical Activities Cardio and Weightlifting
See all answers

Rosebud Curves is the best

published

Being going to Curves in Rosebud going on 8 year now & the gym is had 3 owners BUT Tracey who has own Curves in Rosebud for the last 3 years (going onto 4) is brilliant. Not only supportive but also helps with any information on how to lose the weight. The other girls who work with Tracey are really friendly, I'm getting more support from Tracey than I ever did from the previous 2 owners.

Worst value for money ever

published

This gym costs more than a 24 hour Gym and how ridiculous that you have to be there by 5.30 on Tuesdays or you cant do a work out. Went to go last night, walked in the door at 5.55pm and get told they close at 6pm for Christmas hours, they are only open short hours on Saturdays and closed Sundays and public holidays.
If you want value for money this place ain’t it.

Stolen from

published

I was a member of Curves for over 12months I phoned to cancel membership as I was working away from the area and I didn't think that I would be back . The owner of the Kilsyth Curves wouldn't cancel she insisted that she would put the membership on hold. Without my permission she started taking the membership out of my account even though I hadn't been back to the Gym for months. As far as I am concerned she has stolen $800 from me and refuses to pay it back.

Membership

published

I joined 12 months ago (June2017) and have for a few months not attended and just let my membership expire (June 2018) however membership payments continued to come out of my account without my permission after the 12 months because I did not cancel my membership.... I only signed for 12 months however membership continues until you say stop! Disappointed and feel ripped off you took money not owed based on your policy..... will take this higher.

Diet Programs

Find out how Curves compares to other Diet Programs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Getting the most out of Curves is UP TO YOU.

published
Bubbles

Bubbles

  • 2 reviews

Didn't make any difference to my "curves"

published

I joined up to lose weight and size but after a year I still had my curves and weight and noticed that a lot of the ladies that had been going for 3 years or more, looked the exact shape that I was trying to get rid of. Fun staff and lots of laughs but that doesn't get the flab off...!!!

Loved Curves up until 2 weeks ago.

published
Prue

PrueMandurah

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic women at Mandurah curves

published

A huge thank you to Christine and Riss at Mandurah's curves for encouraging me and welcoming me to your gym. I love love love the atmosphere and positive vibe.

Blackcat

BlackcatNewcastle

Hard sell, all about money

published

I completed the Curves complete and did lose weight. Needless to say I went back to my old ways and enrolled again a year later, back where I started. Similar to others here, I was told I was signing up for a 3 month plan but was livid to find the contract I signed, which was thrust under my nose while I was on the circuit, was for 12 months. I quit as soon as I found out because I was already sick of the constant in-your-face stuff. I just wanted to do a workout and be left in peace. I got my bank to cancel the direct debit and wasn't pursued. Curves is good for all round exercise but is expensive and limited hours is so annoying.

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Uniqe1

Uniqe1asked

I joined Curves in 2009, paying $59.00 per month. Will my monthly fee rise or will it always remain $59?

2 answers
Coco
Coco

There is every chance that your monthly fee will rise. I too joined Curves in 2009 and my monthly fee increased over the years. Currently, it is just under $80-00 per month.

Jane M
Jane M

Cancel this Join perhaps weight watchers and walk 45 mins daily , stretch, squat and practice push ups. Don't waste your hard earned money on this type of business.

Mary Lindsley

Mary Lindsleyasked

after you have joined with a automatic withdraw from your checking can they change the time on you and still take your money?

1 answer
Tracey3
Tracey3

As it's a monthly withdrawal from your account, that just happens. As far as time is concerned, I'm not sure what you mean because there is no set times for classes. Each club has their own opening and closing times.

Sally

Sallyasked

If you join curves can they increase your membership costs as time goes by? I was told it will always stay on your cost you joined up on. Can anyone advise me on this as my membership price has increased.

3 answers
Menothere
Menothere

I am not completely sure. My membership did not change when I was member but also, my membership fees were discounted as I joined during a promotion, and once the promotion time expired I was paying the usual fees per month. Most gyms readjust pricing when the lease of the premises they are settled increase, so I would guess it is the same with Curves. The only way to be sure about this is to ask Curves directly 1300 287 837 or, even better, send them an email asking this here http://curves.com.au/contact-us. You will have a written proof in case you visit one of their gyms and a staff misinforms you. Also, read the terms and conditions!

Bazinga
Bazinga

Under normal circumstances your membership fees will always remain the same as when you started provided you never left and then rejoined. (Eg: If you joined and the rate was $59 a month but after 2 years you needed to cancel, but then after 6, 7, 8 months etc., you decided to rejoin, the monthly fees may have risen to $79 a month which is what you would not have to pay.
Sometimes we have promotions as we do at the moment. Monthly fees have been halved for 3 months and then come February 2016 your fees would be the normal $79 a month. This would be explained to you at the time of sign up.

Graeme S.
Graeme S.

Their so called legal document stating that "The Member may continue to maintain this membership, at the above monthly rate for the life of the member or the facility" is not worth the paper its written on. Even though our franchise remained under the same ownership they claimed that the umbrella company of Curves international had changed hands numerous times and therefore the agreement was void- what a load of crock!!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.