4 photos
D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A

D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A

MPN: DSL-2888A
3.8 from 31 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Modems in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for D-Link? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (9)
  • Number of Connected Devices 7.222 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    4.0 (9)
  • Reliability
    3.1 (10)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.5 (10)
Previous
Next
Gbanger
GbangerCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 29 reviews
  • 14 likes

The worst modem you could ever purchase.

published

Purchased this product and told by salesperson that the range would be better than the modem Dodo provided. It is not. The so called crappy Dodo modem gave me signal in the back yard with this one it's gone. Thie range for this item is around 5 metres. The modem was placed in the exact same spot. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone.
Update. It's worse than I thought had to reconnect old modem to get a reliable connection to all devices. Feel free to message me for more info. Do NOT waste your money on this product.
Another update. Even with a booster it does not work properly. Its best function is being put in the bin. Total rubbish.

Purchased in December 2021.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Owen
OwenSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Not bad ...it performs well -

published

Easy to install Customer Service far better than Netgear .... no problem hooking up with my Netgear extender 6110 .... no drop-outs this far , albeit it can only put out what it gets delivered and in Sydney peak-hour has effects..

Purchased in September 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ferenc
FerencSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Was excellent for 2 years...

published

then it needed rebooting every other day, then no 5gHz, so I reset. Only needs rebooting once a week now, but still no 5gHz available. Glad for 3 year warranty

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $179.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RossEd
RossEdGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Ok, but struggled with lots of devices

published

Had this router for a couple of years and it was ok with reasonable performance and coverage, until I got to around 20+ devices, then it struggled. I also had ongoing issues managing DHCP reservation - would show inaccurate readings. Rang support who suggested clearing caches, browsers, restarting etc - none of which helped. Eventually got it replaced but the replacement had exactly the same problems. Ended up going with Google Nest Wifi which has been more stable and manages 40+ connections no problem.

Purchased in February 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great for general use, avoid for VPN.

published

This is a wonderful unit for general household use, it has amazing range and performs quite well with approx 10 devices connected at any one time.

The biggest issue was with VPN setup. It will not connect to a VPN for business needs, as such the unit is completely obsolete. Support will not help, they have no clue what is going on. Avoid this.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Blender man
Blender manSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a quality product.

published

It is easy to install. Worked for 6 months then could no longer sync with the nbn. This is my second one after the first one failed. Not a quality product.

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hifi Home.

Incentivised Review No
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ramajan
RamajanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews

Purchased for 5Ghz, constantly drops out

published

I have had so many issues with this. When I first got it, I had issues printing from my printer on 2.4Ghz if my computer was on 5Ghz. I upgraded the firmware because I was having issues where the 5Ghz network would just drop out and I would have to restart the router to get it going again. After the firmware upgrade same thing. It makes it unsable. Especially as I have a Foxtel Now box so I hardly bother using the 5Ghz at all. I can be using the internet and all 5Ghz devices just drop out and says No internet the 2.4Ghz devices keep going. I wish I had purchased something else.

Purchased in December 2018 for $179.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
naks
naksSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Needs reboot once a week. People on 5G can't connect to people on 2.4G

published

I've been on latest firmware for about a year (AU_2.12). Needs reboots often. Dies if you have too many connections open. People on the 5G wireless can't connect to people on the 2.4G connection. Would not recommend.

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $249.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kamal E.
Kamal E.
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

very pleased

published

I bought this for ADSL but knowing that I will be changing over to FTTC NBN and I am very happy with it. My WIFI has been rock solid with multiple of hungry devices. The speeds are excellent over wifi and the coverage is also good. The setup experience was the one easiest by far. never had a problem using it. highly recommended.

Purchased in October 2018 at Centre Com for $179.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Raymond
RaymondSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 36 reviews
  • 22 likes

Good value router suits a mid size house

published

Has the power to run my automated house. I have 21 devices connected to wifi.
Great for a small to medium size house, if you have large house pay the extra for a cobra or a mesh system.
If you have HFC nbn it may be a little difficult to find ethernet over wan in the interface to set it up. Dlink has an excellent phone help to guide you through it, but know the isp settings before you call.
This router does not have voip. So there is no where to plug a phone in. The phone line and splitter in the box are for adsl not vdsl.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $218.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lynton A.
Lynton A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Great modem

published

Great modem, currently stream to the lounge tv and the bedroom tv and a phone comfortably at the same time, no drop outs.
This is our second D link modem I have used 3 other different makes over time.
Well worth a look.

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $155.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark w
Mark wHunter Region, NSW

No phone with nbn

published

Have just connected to the nbn. Bought a dsl-2888a modem thinking this will do. WRONG. Modem works but not the phone. Even with the splitter they supplied. Won’t work on nbn wast of money.not made for boath phone and internet.

Purchased in January 2019 for $160.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael
MichaelSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

An Ok Router

published

It's a pretty ok router, kinda annoying to setup with nbn but eventually after an hour something i got it running.

The wifi slowly started dying and slowing down only after 2 weeks, now the wifi can barely work from a 5 meter distance. And don't even try going to a bedroom 12 meters away unless you don't want to have wifi, the only thing on this router that is kinda reliable is the ethernet connection.
This is my second d-link python and it had the exact problems as my first one and will probably die and il have to replace it.

If you have good money, just buy a router that costs more than 350$ if you have more than 3 people in the house, anything bellow this is trash that dies between 6-12 months

Date PurchasedAug 2000
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Carly
CarlySouthwest, VIC
  • 39 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified

Excellent

published

Our Python is great. Set up was incredibly easy. In two months it has dropped out once. The signal is strong - it works on our street. We have NBN and the speed is excellent. Usually there is two of us using the internet at the same time; watching netflix or surfing. It looks good. I would highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Piper
PiperInvergowrie
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome price

published

I love this router. For the price, performance, and range I doubt you can find a better router. I was extremely hesitant on purchasing a new router because our old Netgear from 10 years ago was working just fine but once I hooked this beast up... I realized how far behind we were. Installation was easy enough. Just follow the simple instructions and you are good to go.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Riley G.
Riley G.asked

Does this route support mesh

No answers
L c k
L c kasked

How do you reset passwords?...we lost the information we had to reset passwords and can not remember it now we want to change it please help

1 answer
Raymond
Raymond

Just call dlink help

Shaun K.
Shaun K.asked

is it compatible with internode internet provider

1 answer
Raymond
Raymond

It is compatable with any isp(internode included) , compatable with adsl and all types of nbn, to set it up your self you need internode settings for the type of internet you will get

See all D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $249.95
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesExternal Antennas and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports5
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL2+ and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports0
Dimensions 37 x 230 x 155 mm
Weight0.52 kg
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: DSL-2888A

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.