??!
4 photos
D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A

D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A

MPN: ING-3553434
4.0 from 26 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Not a quality product.

It is easy to install. Worked for 6 months then could no longer sync with the nbn. This is my second one after the first one failed. Not a quality product.

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hifi Home.

Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPiiNet NBN 100
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Purchased for 5Ghz, constantly drops out

I have had so many issues with this. When I first got it, I had issues printing from my printer on 2.4Ghz if my computer was on 5Ghz. I upgraded the firmware because I was having issues where the 5Ghz network would just drop out and I would have to restart the router to get it going again. After the firmware upgrade same thing. It makes it unsable. Especially as I have a Foxtel Now box so I hardly bother using the 5Ghz at all. I can be using the internet and all 5Ghz devices just drop out and says No internet the 2.4Ghz devices keep going. I wish I had purchased something else.

Purchased in December 2018 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
ISPFTTB 50Mbps
ModemD-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Needs reboot once a week. People on 5G can't connect to people on 2.4G

I've been on latest firmware for about a year (AU_2.12). Needs reboots often. Dies if you have too many connections open. People on the 5G wireless can't connect to people on the 2.4G connection. Would not recommend.

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
ISPTPG Broadband
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

very pleased

I bought this for ADSL but knowing that I will be changing over to FTTC NBN and I am very happy with it. My WIFI has been rock solid with multiple of hungry devices. The speeds are excellent over wifi and the coverage is also good. The setup experience was the one easiest by far. never had a problem using it. highly recommended.

Purchased in October 2018 at Centre Com for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
ISPMore Telecom NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Good value router suits a mid size house

Has the power to run my automated house. I have 21 devices connected to wifi.
Great for a small to medium size house, if you have large house pay the extra for a cobra or a mesh system.
If you have HFC nbn it may be a little difficult to find ethernet over wan in the interface to set it up. Dlink has an excellent phone help to guide you through it, but know the isp settings before you call.
This router does not have voip. So there is no where to plug a phone in. The phone line and splitter in the box are for adsl not vdsl.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $218.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 21 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
ModemNbn supplied
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Great modem

Great modem, currently stream to the lounge tv and the bedroom tv and a phone comfortably at the same time, no drop outs.
This is our second D link modem I have used 3 other different makes over time.
Well worth a look.

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $155.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPExetel Broadband
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

No phone with nbn

Have just connected to the nbn. Bought a dsl-2888a modem thinking this will do. WRONG. Modem works but not the phone. Even with the splitter they supplied. Won’t work on nbn wast of money.not made for boath phone and internet.

Purchased in January 2019 for $160.00.


An Ok Router

It's a pretty ok router, kinda annoying to setup with nbn but eventually after an hour something i got it running.

The wifi slowly started dying and slowing down only after 2 weeks, now the wifi can barely work from a 5 meter distance. And don't even try going to a bedroom 12 meters away unless you don't want to have wifi, the only thing on this router that is kinda reliable is the ethernet connection.
This is my second d-link python and it had the exact problems as my first one and will probably die and il have to replace it.

If you have good money, just buy a router that costs more than 350$ if you have more than 3 people in the house, anything bellow this is trash that dies between 6-12 months

Date PurchasedAug 2000

Excellent

Our Python is great. Set up was incredibly easy. In two months it has dropped out once. The signal is strong - it works on our street. We have NBN and the speed is excellent. Usually there is two of us using the internet at the same time; watching netflix or surfing. It looks good. I would highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Awesome price

I love this router. For the price, performance, and range I doubt you can find a better router. I was extremely hesitant on purchasing a new router because our old Netgear from 10 years ago was working just fine but once I hooked this beast up... I realized how far behind we were. Installation was easy enough. Just follow the simple instructions and you are good to go.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

New D-Link modem working a treat

Read a few reviews on different modems for a new connection to the NBN and decided on the D-Link Python. Was wondering how far signal would travel as there is a distance between modem and one computer but was prepared to put a booster for the signal but have no need. Setup was also very easy so have no trouble recommending this modem.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Works great once installed

Purchased this as part of a recommendation from my internet service provider. The instructions that came as part of the package seemed easy. However, my install didn't require some of the detailed steps. It was as simple as plugging in the Ethernet cable into the nbn box. A revision of the booklet would help with new nbn installations. However once up, the modem works a treat with incredible speeds!!

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Best router I have owned

I have only adsl in my house before this router speeds where crap. Now can stream foxtel on my wifi to my phone really impressed. The range and speeds it delivers over wifi are un believable. And to make life better it is nbn ready. It handles the 8 wifi devices in our house with ease.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

No provision to connect fixed line telephone

Wanted to replace my Gateway Modem for better wi fi and had no issues connecting to NBN however there is no provision to connect my household phone. The supplied splitter is useless for NBN.
Have since found out that you have to purchase next model up with two phone connection points. The lack of a facility to connect your household phone should be included in the promotional information

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

This is an excellent device.

In my experience this modem router is a very powerful device. I have been using this for about a month now, with ths arrival of FTTN NBN. I get very consistent sync speeds and the connection is very reliable. My house is composed mostly of brick, and signal from the other end was still very strong. Excellent device.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Haven't had an issue

Easy to set up, dual band modem from D-Link which is usually a good company to buy modems from if you look at forums about their firmware updates and ease of warranty claims. Using it as a main modem but i know people who do use it as a bridging modem and they've had a good experience with it also.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Hate It

I bought this modem 1 year ago always had the issue from the beginning. Complaint to d-link couple of times and nothing got sorted.

Every now and then the signals drops out. Overall I wasn't happy with it ended up returning the product and never buying the dlink products again.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Good modem

Already had enough with my old laggy modem so bought this just before the new year when it was on promotion - as a new year gift for myself ^*_*^
This product is very easy to setup, and has beautiful and friendly console, not quite get the advanced settings part though but that is not an issue at all for normal family use.
However, although it has 3 antennas, the signal in my bedroom upstairs is still not full.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Great Modem for decent price

Easy setup. Do not have to download any drivers, just plug and go. Impressive signal strength. Wi-Fi never drops. Phone stays connected after leaving 10 meters from premise (premise has really thick walls as well). Wi-Fi speed is relatively fast. By staying within 3 meters of this modem there is no need for LAN cable to maintain a great up/down ratio.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

No Dramas

Bought this for my newly activated NBN connection as i didn't want to use the one the provider provides. Easy to install. User interface is simple, lots of nice features if you have more people in your house, such as speed limit on each end terminals etc. also has cloud feature which i am yet to figure out.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

How do you reset passwords?...we lost the information we had to reset passwords and can not remember it now we want to change it please help
1 answer
Just call dlink help

is it compatible with internode internet provider
1 answer
It is compatable with any isp(internode included) , compatable with adsl and all types of nbn, to set it up your self you need internode settings for the type of internet you will get

I bought this modem last month and haven’t issues with the poor WiFi signal. The speed is slow and my son has issues connecting to WiFi on his oppo phone due to weak WiFi signal. How to configure the router to improve the WiFi signal?
1 answer
Mine works perfect out of the box. Best bet would be to call your internet provider or the manufacturer of the modem either shpuld ne able to help with the problem.

Details

D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A
CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $279.95
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesParental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,600 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi StandardNone
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports0
Dimensions 37 x 230 x 55 mm
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: ING-3553434

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.