??!
4 photos
Dometic Waeco CF-50

Dometic Waeco CF-50

MPN: CF50DZ
3.0 from 31 reviews

Reviews

3.0

31 reviews
5
(10)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (6)
Previous
Next
BrettnJa

BrettnJaMid West, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Waeco 50 & Dometic Waeco 50

published

Purchased in August 2012.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Matt

MattFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for travelling

published

Just the right size for long weekend trips without taking up the whole car. Low power draw, will run from a 100Ah battery for at least 4 days when set to 4 degrees.

Top fridge

published

The cf 50 works perfectly on 240 and 12 volts. I've had this fridge 7to8 years and still counting. Never has it failed in hot extreme weather and I'm talking 45 plus degrees c. The power consumption is very good and with Sola set up on the 4wd it never stopped. The con is the Lach can break so be careful you can get a replacement for this. I have read some of the reviews on this fridge and put it down to some people don't know what they are doing. Others just bag it because it's a waeco. All and all it's a fantastic reliable fridge

Purchased in May 2013 at Anaconda for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CF-50 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very good but not perfect

published

Purchased in March 2007 for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Peter

PeterBrisbane

  • 29 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good Camping Fridge

published

This was a birthday gift, as we go camping all year round and have for the last 30 years relied on ice and eskies. So first trip was a good test. I pre-cooled it overnight and stacked everything properly. I have an old ute which has a 120 Amp Hour 12 volt deep cycle battery, so power would not be an issue. It worked a treat, kept the food and drinks at a constant 3 degrees and had plenty of storage space. It came with a insulation blanket to keep it cooler in direct light, and we had 3 days of 29-33 degrees. So far I can recommend it.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Lindsay

LindsaySouth East Queensland, QLD

Great Product - highly recommended

published

I bought my CF50 on sale for $699 at BCF. I have had it for over 18 mths and have been running it 24-7 - 50% on 12volt on 1 x solar panel & 1 x 120 amp battery in my caravan for weeks on end & 50% on 240v. Always maintains my preferred temperature -3 deg C and gets there fast, Best $699 I have ever spent.

Purchased in November 2017 at BCF Physical Store for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Buy an Engel - What I should have done.

published

Barely lasted and the compressor went.
When it worked it would drain my 135Ah battery in 1 day. Not really acceptable when you're running off battery and solar power. Jump the fence, spend the coin and you won't be disappointed with an Engel. As they say, a poor man pays twice and I've learned my lesson with Waeco

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Waeko CR 50

published

Purchased in 2010 and have run it non stop as beee fridge at home and hooked up to battery in car for holidays. Finally bit the dust!!! I have had an excellent run with this portable fridge. Changed the fuse but it sparked up and it does not look good

Date PurchasedAug 2010
Linda Luna

Linda LunaBundaberg

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A Positive Experience

published

Purchased the CF-50 49Litre in 2009. Used as fridge. Used in the household and traveling on the road. 12V in back of vehicle and 240v at caravan parks. Very sturdy, totally reliable, holds temperature well especially in our Australian hot and humid conditions. Easy to transport. Great love the brand

Date PurchasedApr 2009
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CF-50 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

When it works its fine

published

Does ok when it works, from day one ive had problems with this plastic fridge, was in the market for an Engel but was talked into one of these crappy units, waeco dont have after sales service or do they do their own repairs, they just send you to a agent where they rip you off by onselling and charging exhorbent ammounts of money for doing crap all, just been ripped of again $75 inspection $200 thermistor then a further $187 for pcb, then i was told the lid was broken. What an absolute farce, this will be the last $ i spend on this crap box and will be going back to engel. Of which i have had for over 30 years whithout a hitch still going strong.

Date PurchasedJan 2009
simon

simon

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

very poor fridge

published

the compressor failed and was repaired under warranty. the fridge goes into error mode when running through my invertor and must be hardwired to the battery. It has now failed again and the service agent has advised me that the gas is leaking and it is not possible to repair it as the leak is internal.
$1000+ for 2 weeks use a year over 6 years= very poor value.

Date PurchasedOct 2010
Gav

GavPerth, WA

Unreliable and poor quality construction for the price.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2006

Great fridge when it has a decent controller fitted

published
Date PurchasedAug 2006
Musso-rific

Musso-rific

  • 18 reviews
  • 30 likes

Been perfectly reliable, no complaints

published
Date PurchasedAug 2011

Waeco Power cords

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CF-50 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robbo

RobboPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic fridge

published

Bought my cf50 second hand off a mate for $500 7/8 years ago and was out of warranty.
This fridge has been everywhere and Iv chucked it in 4wd then shed and so forth hundreds of times and has never failed me.
I'm surprised people have had so much trouble with there's.

dissapointed

published

have a 50 litre waeco cf 50 5year old nothing but problems , and has got to the stage im not fixing it any more . very disappointing as was told it was the way to go . spent 200 on if 4 months ago now service agent says another 240 to spend on compressor controller 2nd hand part . engel here I come . I aknowledge it is out of warranty.

Unreliable

published

Get real and don't waste my time, bought CF50 for trip around Aussie, need to again have it fixed. Digital top selector is locked on 2, top lid has broken again, transformer has been replaced, Thompson power plug has failed and replaced all at my expense. Warranty- haha there isn't one. Guess what my neighbour has had same trouble.

Two CF50s and two bad experiences

published

My first Waeco failed just out of warranty. I took it to an authorised repairer at Cleveland who charged me $460 but they did not fix the problem. After many phone calls and arguments Waeco generously offered me a new fridge for $500. Total cost to me of $960 but they wanted the old one. My hands were tied!.
The replacement one is five months out of warranty and does not get cold. I have been told by a service agent that it will cost $600 to have fixed. Both fridges have had very little use and have been treated with Kidd gloves.
I would not recommend a Waeco. The product is doubtful and service is pathetic.

Larry H

Larry HBendigo

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

I made the mistake of buying TWO!

published
4 comments
Larry H
Larry H
Larry H
Larry H
Larry H
Larry H
Page 1 of 2
See all Dometic Waeco CF Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Simon

Simonasked

CF-50

I've got a Waeco CFX 65 l I've got it plugged into the house electricity and I've got the orange light come on what does that mean

2 answers
Matt
Matt

Generally the orange light indicates it’s at the set temperature so the compressor is turned off. It should turn back on when the temp starts rising, at which point the light turns green to indicate the compressor is running. If the fridge isn’t cold, check what temperature it’s set at.

Simon
Simon

O ok I just checked it and its on green now thank you

Outback

Outbackasked

CF-50

My fridge is indicating ‘fan over current error’ (2red flashes). Anyone know what the fix is for this? Thanks.

No answers
Peter T.

Peter T.asked

CF-50

Temp numbers gone all funny

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.