??!
1 photo
Dulux Metalshield Epoxy Enamel

Dulux Metalshield Epoxy Enamel

2.6 from 27 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
4
1 star
13

Flying with the Bird

Flying with the BirdSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Metal shield satin on a Ute

published
  • +1

Purchased in January 2018 at Dulux.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceMetal
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
1 comment
Dulux
DuluxGroup A.Dulux

Bryan T.

Bryan T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Spray cans are rubbish

published

Grabbed this product in the pressure packs to paint my aluminium racks for my car, i prepped the aluminium with wax and grease remover then made sure to fully wipe off grease remover sprayed 24hrs between coats not going to heavy and keeping can about 250mm away from surface, received bad flaking thought may have been because of polished surface, so I stripped it back rubbed it down well with a fairly course grade of sand paper grabbed the dulux etch primer, primed it and resprayed it, again with light coats about 24 yrs apart and the flaking is worse. I did all of my rims with vht paint and never had a problem no runs no flake and a super hard finish so I will be sticking to that in future.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $13.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceMetal
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
1 comment
Dulux
Linda B.Dulux
Dejayajay

DejayajaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Have had no problems at all.

published

Purchased in January 2016 at Dulux, Bunnings.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceMetal and Plastic
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
1 comment
Dulux
Linda B.Dulux

Hi Dejayajay
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our product Dulux Metalshield Epoxy Enamel. Great to read that your project was successful – The Dulux Team

lorraine caddy

lorraine caddyshepparton

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

OMG this is not paint

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Painted SurfaceMetal
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
2 comments
Dulux
Linda B.Dulux
lorraine caddy
lorraine caddy

Great product

published

Absolutely stoked with the transformation of my kitchen after painting my existing brushed aluminum splashback from light brown to gloss red with Dulux Epoxy Enamel paint. I applied 2 coats, waiting the recommended time between coats. Taking time to ensure even coverage (I used a brush/roller) resulted in a great finish. A few hours work & less than a $50 impact on the budget & my kitchen has a new lease on life. Great product.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $35.00.

Painted SurfaceMetal
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
1 comment
Dulux
Linda B.Dulux

Hi Claire, thank you for your feedback! It’s fantastic to hear that you’ve had a great experience with our product. Please feel free to contact us on 13 25 25 (Option 2) if you need any help or advice down the track – The Dulux Team.


Jayne C.

Jayne C.

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

It’s good paint... period.

published

Clean, sand, sand, wax and grease remove, 2 tac coats, two wet coats.

If you try for full coverage and plaster it on it will give you troubles. But then its your fault. Not the paint. There are a million YouTube videos teaching the ham fisted how to paint. But no, blame the paint.

The comments on here “I mean it’s paint and I’m a man, it should work because I can hold a brush or can right?”

This stuff is good paint. It’s tough and it lasts.

Purchased in June 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceMetal

Shaun

ShaunMelbourne

Great product.

published
1 comment
Dulux
Linda B.Dulux

Hi Shaun
Thank you for the feedback and great to hear that you have had a good experience with this product. The Dulux Team.


Gav d

Gav dPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Paint takes too long to dry. Metalshield premium "0" stars

published
1 comment
Dulux
DuluxGroup A.Dulux
B1RD1E

B1RD1EAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Painted tandem Trailer, all good

published

I purchased Dulux Metalshield Epoxy after removing much acrylic paint. I used both 1 litre can with thinners as well as 300 gm spray cans for difficult areas.

All worked very well, sprayed at 25 degrees, temperature was 40 degrees during the day after first coat, so a baking in the garage was perfect. Second coat was at 23 degrees.

Love the spray pattern and coverage off the spray cans.
* Do not spray in low temps or the paint will "blush" and go white.
* Do not spray or apply too thick or you will get "Don Bradmans" ( Runs)

Love the Dulux paint

1 comment
Dulux
Linda B.Dulux
ozziedoc

ozziedocMelbourne

Should have read the reviews before purchase.

published

Spent hours preparing and restoring some vintage tools and used a spray can of Dulux Metalshield to paint them.
Have successfully used another brand of hammer finish paint many times before but that brand did not have the colour I wanted.
The Dulux went on easily enough and looked good, but 5 days later it still had not cured and came off the edges just from sitting the tools on a bench.
Worst paint product that I have purchased.
Shame on a company like Dulux producing such a poor product.

1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Best "one shot" spray.

published

Used the Dulux Weathershield Epoxy spray cans in Gloss black on classic motorbike frame, dried overnight between coats. Found 2 coats gave a great finish and touch-up after power unit to frame assembly was easy.
Now using same product on another restoration, also great result.

1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Will not harden

published

Applied as per directions on bare steel which was first cleaned and etch primed and cleaned again prior to application of Dulux Metalshield in a spray can. After 5 warm sunny days with a breeze the product has failed to harden and although touch dry can easily be moved with a fingernail. It was my first time using this product and will never again. Unable to finish project as paint will easily be damaged on reassembly. Total waste of time and money.

1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Rebecca

RebeccaSydney

  • 19 reviews
  • 17 likes

Not worth the money

published

I bought the black satin dulux metal shield to paint the wrought iron on my front balcony. The paint is quite thick but goes on streaky and it’s been 7 days so far and the paint has not set properly. The paint can be scratched of with a fingernail. I live in Queensland so the days are very sunny and getting quite warm/hot, the nights however are still a bit cold and the damp night air is making the paint turn white. Very disappointed. My next project is to paint my weatherboard house, I will not be purchasing any Dulux paint for any further painting projects!


Paul Davidson

Paul DavidsonAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very poor finish

published

New duragal steel, aged about 2 months, sanded, cleaned, then 2 coats of etch primer. First coat of Metalshield went on okay, but the second coat, applied 24 hours later as stated, looked like it was going on okay, but the next day has weird flow lines or something in the finish, it looks absolutely terrible. This is what I get for changing from Kilrust which has been superb.

1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Hi Paul,
Thank you for your feedback. Could you please contact our Help&Advice team on 13 25 25, they will be more than willing to provide feedback on your project. Regards, the team at Dulux.

Dan

DanMelbourne

Wont brush out

published
3 comments
Dulux
StephDulux
Dan
Dan
Dan
Dan
John D.

John D.Brisbane

  • 3 reviews

Very Useful Spray Pack

published

This spray pack product is easy to use and gives a high quality finish. It seems to resist running and results in a hard finish. Given its epoxy-based formula, I would expect it to be very durable. i was very happy with this product. I find it easier to use than Dulux regular spray packs because it resists running better. The only downside is a longer drying time.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Hi John,
Dulux team here, thank you for the feedback and great to hear that you had a great experience with this product. Please contact us on 13 25 25 if you need any support down the track. Regards, the team at Dulux.


Leaking cans

published

This is the 2nd time I've used this product and the 2nd time the cans just spontaneously start gushing paint from the top. Very messy, very hard to clean up. I see someone else on here with the same problem. I've never had this occur with any other branded spray can. Clearly a Dulux design problem.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Hi Bob,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Could you please contact our Help&Advice team on 13 25 25, they will be more than willing to help and offer any solutions moving forward. The Dulux Team.


painted my caravan it worked great

published

I used this on my caravan and it worked a treat left an awesome shine I did all the prep and sprayed it on. The coverage is good it only took 2 coats to get the cover I wanted and it hardened in 2 days (that is a bit long) but I didn't bake it as I did it in my garage

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Hi Chad,
Great to hear your caravan transformation worked out! And thank you for the positive feedback! The team at Dulux.


Omar

OmarGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

I havent used this product yet

published

I bought the etcher and primer costing me $200 from bunnings . I pulled down all my verandah steel balastrades to paint tommorow . After reading all these reviews im going to bunnings tommorow morning to buy another brand . Nothing worse than wasting your time painting steel gates for nothing and losing $200 at the same time

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Hi Omar,
Before you return the Metalshield Etch Primer, perhaps call our Help&Advice team on 13 25 25 to discuss your project with our team. They will be more than willing to help and provide insightful feedback. All the best, the team at Dulux.


Waste of money

published

Does not stick thin coats run and multiple coats can still see metal first can only got to use half before can stuffed up $20 in paint and $200 to strip twice and start again had better results from cheap paint would not recommend to any one was terrible to use

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Dulux
Nick NDulux

Hi Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Could you please contact our Help&Advice team pm 13 25 25 and quote CARE #102446? Our team are here to help. Regards, The Dulux Team.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

ronda

rondaasked

I would like to paint my panel powdercoated garage door in a satin finish enamel. Do you have a monument grey color in Dulux paint suitable?

1 answer
Dulux
Linda B.Dulux

Hi Ronda
Thank you for reaching out to us. We do not recommend painting over a powder coated surface with Dulux Metalshield Epoxy Enamel. Please contact our Help & Advice Team on 132525 option 2 to discuss an alternative Protective Coating system. Our operating hours are Monday to Friday 7:30am to 7:00pm, Saturday 8:30am to 3:00pm and Sunday 10am to 4pm AEST. The Dulux Team


Hank B.

Hank B.asked

Is Dulux Metalshield Epoxy suitable for potable water surfaces?

2 answers
Dejayajay
Dejayajay

Hi Hank. I would think it would be OK for potable water surfaces, once it is fully cured. You could call Dulux customer service on 132525 (Australia) to be sure.

Dulux
henry h.Dulux

Hi Hank, unfortunately Dulux Metalshield Epoxy Enamel cannot be recommended for potable water surfaces - The Dulux Team


Russell

Russellasked

Hi Sprayed a raw aluminium gate with Metalshield epoxy enamel after cleaning with Acetyline then sugarsoap wiped down with dry rags and let dry overnight.First coat good looking and left for 24 hrs as per instructions on can.Second coat also looking good however 1hr later crinkles appeared everywhere on job.
Any tips on what went wrong?Regards Russell

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Dulux representatives

Details

CategoryPaints & Varnishes

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.