2 photos
Dyson DC47 Multi Floor

Dyson DC47 Multi Floor

2.2 from 20 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dyson

Reviews

Previous
Next
Sukram
Sukrammelbourne
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works great with carpet, had no issues.

published

Awesome machine, well engineered. Had it for years now and it cleans up hardwood and carpet so much better than anything we had before. I just found out that they're still selling parts for it and will do until about 9 years from the date we purchased it, which is good. We might need a new head in the future as, understandably, the bristles on the spinning brush are starting to ware down. We clean it after every 2 or 3 vacuums and it works with 100% effectiveness.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Simon
SimonSydney

Motor failed

published

The DC47 has been used carefully on timber floor not even for cars interior. It suddenly stopped without indications. The filter was washed in accordance with manual. Dyson requested 160 dollars for repair and attributed the faulty not to the quality but not sending to maintenance. I askec all my colleagues and friends, no one have ever sent to DYSON for it but never had problem of the motor broken. My advice to who wants to buy Dyson, you have to be not unlucky as DYSON will not be reasonable to look into its product quality but arrogantly reject your legitimate claim that specific product has faults. I will start looking to resort to fair trading.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Dyson
DysonDyson

Don't buy this

published

I have spent hours cleaning it trying to get the head spinning but it just won't suck. Ridiculous design considering it has one job. Was good for the first 3-4 months.

Will never buy another Dyson, we had a cheap BigW vacuum before this that was 10x better and only $40!!! Wish we'd kept it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Dyson
DysonDyson
Loumick1
Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD
  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great product, reliable brand

published

Our old Dyson blew up after a heck of a lot of use. This particular model didnt have all the accessories i wanted but the bonus of being able to use the accessories from the one that blew up as they are compatible. Not as powerful as the previous model but works fine for us.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson DC47 Multi Floor compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I'm done with this 'thing'....

published

I am in meltdown mode after sitting ON MY KNEES trying to get the head to spin for the umpteenth time. Yes, that's right, I now have to vacuum on my knees to get ANYTHING to suck up, even after going through all the cleaning steps. I've actually thrown the head into a sink full of soapy water to try and get it to work. The frigging hose under the barrel (you know the bit, the bit that's HALF the size of the rest of the hose) continually gets stuff stuck in there because it's not as wide as the other hose. It's the ANIMAL - yet I have to SCRUB the carpet with the head just to get any kind of hair off the carpet (2 dogs and 1 cat).... it works on tiles, hence the 1 star.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Dyson
DysonDyson
Richard D
Richard DPerth
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dyson sucks in a good way

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Don't Bother buying

published

Bought without research silly me! This machine is all some other reviews has said. Cord too SHORT, machine is too LOUD omg like a plane landing on your head. The side plastic molding fell off after a couple of months. Emptying barrel opens before Main problem is it scratches the wooden floor. I have had the multi head replaced but no change.

I have dragged out my werheim and taped up the hose, after 15 yrs its still great, not noisy don't have to shift cord for the area, nice brush on the foot.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Dyson
DysonDyson

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Unahppy
UnahppySydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great when we bought it but now...

published

When this machine was purchased it was great. Over the past couple of years it has become really noisy, like it is blocked, but I can't track down the blockage. It's suction has reduced and the plastic handle cracked. It's current performance has me looking at competitors, but my partner still loves the Dyson name. That means our replacement will be another Dyson, but I haven't been impressed with the ongoing performance of this vacuum.

Date PurchasedDec 2011
Dyson
DysonDyson
Erry
Erry
  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified

The best vacuum cleaner I have had

published

I like this vacuum cleaner. The suction is good. It is easy to use and all the parts are well designed. I use it on carpet and hard floors equally. I chose it because it's compact and easy to store. The only disadvantage is that there is no bag so emptying it is messy. The email reminders to clean the filter are useful.

Date PurchasedJan 2014
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson DC47 Multi Floor compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Annie L
Annie LMelbourne

Over-priced under-performer

published

This vacuum cleaner had very good suction for the first three months then despite regularly washing filters and emptying the canister, the suction reduced to almost nothing. I sent the machine to Dyson for checking/repair and the performance improved after it was serviced. Soon after that the suction reduced again and is now virtually useless. The complicated design makes emptying the canister messy and leads to constant blockages. There is no after sales service from a store so you need to phone Dyson with any issues and post the vacuum to them. I would not recommend a Dyson and would never buy another one.

Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Dyson
DysonDyson
AVA
AVA
  • 2 reviews

Average product for the price tag

published

I purchased this model of Dyson based on word of mouth reviews. It works well on our timber floor boards but the suction is average (even after the filter is cleaned) and I notice that it doesn't pick up all the mess of the floor in one go. Otherwise it is easy to maneuver and light weight to hold.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Lever
Lever
  • 2 reviews

Reliable brand

published

Great suction but it's klunky and hard to move around. Very good on pet hair as I have two dogs that both shed hair. Easy to empty and bag less. Quiet and has good range of accessories. Clip for hose needs to be used as the hose doesn't lend itself to leaning on walls etc

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson DC47 Multi Floor compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Plastic junk

published

If you like coloured plastic and space age shapes then Dyson is for you. If you want a vacuum cleaner that works and will last longer than a year or two then look elsewhere. My wife keeps getting sucked in (pardon the pun) by the marketing hype, pretty colours and unnecessary mouldings, and has bought 2 cordless, and one 240 volt vacuum cleaners and every one of them is useless. The 240 volt has just burnt out probably because it encountered a piece of fluff and couldn't deal with it.

Utter rubbish.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Paul L
Paul LLisarow

Rubbish product

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Nic
NicSydney, NSW

Avoid

published

Sad to say very unhappy with my Dyson DC47. I have persisted with it for 12 months and even purchased a new filter thinking maybe it was the filter that was the problem, but it hasn't helped. No suction, short cord and unstable leaving marks on my walls if I don't hold the unit in my hand which makes vacuuming difficult.
So I'm off to buy a new vacuum.
:(

Dyson
DysonDyson
Nic
Nic

Definitely no blockage but I'm happy to return to you so you can check. Please advise location?

Nic
Nic

A few weeks have passed. Would you like your vacuum back so you can advise what went wrong ?

Questions & Answers

Rochelle L
Rochelle Lasked

Hello, the protective Velcro like padding under the head has fallen off. The vacuum cleaner is only 4 years old. We anticipated it to have a longer life than that. Can we get the Velcro protection re in stalled to the head?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi Rochelle,

I am sorry to hear about this.

The velour strip isn't available as a separate part at this stage. So we can best assist, we would encourage you to forward your details to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to help.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best wishes,

Shan
Facebook.com/Dyson

Diane Quarrie
Diane Quarrieasked

I have a Dyson DC47 and ever since I've had it the turbo button on the foot keeps popping out every couple of seconds when vacuuming. It doesn't matter whether I am vacuuming hard floors or carpet.

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi Diane,

Thank you for your question. Sometimes this can indicate a blockage in your head. We would first ask you to run through the checks on http://www.dyson.com.au/supportv4/dc47/dc47-multi-floor/maintaining-your-dyson-machine/how-to-remove-blockages-from-the-floor-tool.

If you are still experiencing this issue please don't hesitate to contact us on 1800 239 766.

Best wishes,

Samuel
Facebook.com/dyson

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP)$799
TypeBagless
Power185AW
Bin Capacity0.58L
Weight6.34kg
Cord Length5m
Cleaner HeadCarbon fibre turbine head
Release dateMar 2013
ManualDownload manual
  • GTIN13: 5025155015049

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.