??!
3 photos
Dyson DC50

Dyson DC50

Allergy, Origin and Multifloor
3.5 from 128 reviews

Good alround vacuum but...

I use this on all floors, I have two cats and the spinning brush thing works great picking up hair off couch tops and carpet/wood floors.
I feel this vacuum lacks suction power compared to other Dysons I have got in the past.
The machine feels heavy and is not great getting in to corners or under tight spaces.
The extender vacuum hose thing at the back is useless at picking up anything ( I might be using wrong) but not a lot of suction
Overall it does it’s job it’s great on carpets and rugs but not so great on wood floors kitchen tiles

Date PurchasedMay 2017

I replaced the filter and cleaner the unit. Dc50

I also replaced the turning heads.
I turns on and sound for e seconds
Then stops rotating
I figured a got screwed
I never buy a tyson vacumm again
I thoroughly lcean and cleaned the unit.
Bought new filter and head Turner.
Waste of $$$ no customer service
I bought this expanse piece of crap

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Hi there, I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with your Dyson machine. Even if you have been in touch with us already, we would encourage you to email auaskdyson@dyson.com as we would value the opportunity to look into your experience and assist further. Best wishes, Shan

Worst vacuum I've ever used

I used my partners Dyson dc50 today for the first time after moving in together and omg it was useless. The short stick part dosent even reach the top of the couch I had it lift the whole vacuum up onto the couch .and then it didn't really suck as there was still cat fur everywhere.it was good on the floor for a quick vac over but not for getting into corners on getting cob webs down. Il be using my trusty old vacuum from now on .

Date PurchasedJun 2017

The worst piece of machinery I've ever used.

I'm 45 minutes into cleaning my kitchen and am not even close to finishing. The machine was refusing to suck, but after pulling apart the vacuum cleaner as per the Youtube video and ensuring every single joint was spotless (not that there was a lot of dirt in there to start with) it began to work, even if very poorly. Every 10-15 seconds it would stop sucking again and I'm forced to fiddle around with it to get it to work again. After about 5 minutes of solid work doing this it stopped sucking, seemingly for good, and began spitting out everything it had picked up in the last few minutes back onto the floor. It's literally making the house dirtier.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Hi Jimbo, Thank you for reviewing your DC50 Origin. We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing these issues with your machine. If you are finding the machine is spitting dust out this means there is a blockage which is not allowing the debris to travel through to the bin. There is another video you can view on https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-qmQBp8xlY which will display checking the internal hose for a blockage. Should you find the issue persists, please contact our helpline on 1800 239 766 so we can further assist. Our helpline is open Mon-Fri 8am-7pm and on the weekend 8.30am-4pm. Best wishes, Samuel Facebook.com/Dyson

Piece of Junk

Worked fine for a while but then stopped working after a couple of months. Would not pick up. Forget taking anything back to Harvey Norman they don't want to know they just refer you to Dyson who then try to talk you through fixing over the phone. When that does not work you then have to pack it up & send it back to them. Could not be bothered with that & threw it in the skip bin a waste of over $700 will never buy a Dyson again will never shop at Harvey Norman again. Where has customer service gone?

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Excellent in cleaning but cable

This is a good vacuum but the cable is really short and it’s impossble to reach other side of room. Got to keep changing wall sockets to vacuum whole room. Overall decent vacuum
Hope they realise this and change the cable. Cable cable cable 50words review cable cable cable thanks

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Hi Dan, Thank you for your review. The DC50 was designed as a compact machine for smaller homes and the power cord length took those smaller spaces into account. As a result of our research and development the compact upright vacuum in our current range, the Small Ball has been designed with a power cord 2.67 metres longer and around 30% extra overall reach. If you have any further questions or need assistance with your machine please email us at auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be happy to help. Best wishes, Mira www.facebook.com/dyson

This was useless from day one

Have had a Dyson DC50 for about two years. Lighter than the old one it replaced but noisy. We use this to clean laminate flooring and it is TRULY hopeless at picking things up.This is the primery use of a vacume cleaner. Works on carpet slightly better. Filter always choking up.Would liked to have writen a good review ,but sadly the product is not fit for purpose.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Hi John, Thanks for your review and sorry to hear this has been your experience of the machine. We recommend washing the filters at least every 3 months then allowing 24 hours drying time. We would not expect the filters to be getting clogged more frequently unless there is also an obstruction of airflow located elsewhere in the machine. Please email our Dyson experts at auaskdyson@dyson.com including your contact details, the machine's serial number and a description of the issue and we will be happy to help. Best wishes, Mira www.facebook.com/dyson

My old Dyson DC8 was far superior

My husband purchased the DC50 for me after my old faithful DC8 died. At first I thought that I was being a bit over critical because I was used to my old DC8 so I persisted using it. Unfortunately, 3 years later and I still get frustrated with the DC50- hair gets caught in numerous places, blocking the tubing and stopping it from sucking properly. It seems to have problems picking up any particles larger than everyday dust and it’s hopeless on my hard floors.
Sadly, I wouldn’t recommend the DC50.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Hi Andy, Thanks for your review and sorry to hear of this. Please start by checking your machine for blockages as shown here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-qmQBp8xlY If that does not resolve the issue or for further assistance please email our Dyson experts at auaskdyson@dyson.com including your contact details, a description of the issue and the machine's serial number and we will be more than happy to help. Best wishes, Mira www.facebook.com/dyson

Good so far

This is good for my apartment. Easy to store. Cleans pretty well and only takes me a few minutes to vacuum the whole apartment which is almost all carpeted. I also use it to clean my sofa. It has small attachments which help cleaning tiny corners. A little bit heavy to lift.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Best vac I’ve ever had!

Had my Dyson for a few years now and it works just as awesome as the day I bought it! I’ll always buy a Dyson over any brand when looking for vacs.. so easy to clean and maintain and always makes the carpets look like new.. even with 4 kids running through the house!

Date PurchasedJul 2013

5 years of hard work.

My home has large areas of both ceramic & carpet.It has worked extremely well & when it needs replacement Dyson is the brand I will go for.I admire good design & Dyson has it in heaps.I like other people have a shedding dog & in every way it has exceeded my expectations.At times I have given this vacuum cleaner work beyond its design capacity & when Isulffered loss of suction I must admit it is a little difficult to clean out blockages particularly in motor head tube.To Phil in his review I would suggest that he cleans all his filters including the one situated on the side of the ball.

Date PurchasedJan 2012

Don't expect a long life

Suction was good, a very noisy machine, quite heavy to move, difficult to manoeuvre,light residential use only lasted 4 years, customer service is limited online instructions on how to unravel brushes and wash and change filters yourself, mine ceased picking up and cost of repair is similar to new machine, I expected more from a machine with such a high price tag, extremely disappointing.

Date PurchasedSep 2013
1 comment
Hi Alan, I am sorry to hear your DC50 isn't running as it should do. Normally a loss of suction can normally be solved with our blockage checks via www.dyson.com.au, however, if your machine still isn't working as it should, please email askdyson@dyson.com.au and we will be happy to help. If servicing is required, this is usually better value than purchasing a machine, however, we provide a no-obligation quote. Please just reach out and we will be in touch. Best wishes, Shan Facebook.com/Dyson

Good vacuum

Happy with the suction but could be better. Very light so Im fine with the trade off. Picks up well on floorboards, tiles and carpet. Reasonable easy to move but wish I went for the barrel one. Easy to remove and empty the dust bin and haven't had to wash the filter yet.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Awesome!

I hated vacuuming till I got the Dyson! I can't say anything more than it amazing! It cost $$ but it's so worth it! I've had mine for 7 years with a shedding dog in the house half carpet half tiled. Vaccumunf is not the chore it used to be! It's easy to clean, no bags or complicated filters required. All the attachments are easy to use and all fit back on the unit easily!. Don't waste you $ on $300 models, spend the cash and have no dramas. My friends borrow mine!

Date PurchasedFeb 2007

Great suction and hair don’t stick in the brush

The suction is extremely good no complaints whatsoever. The carpet brush remains clean throughout the course of vacuuming. I have seen some upright vacuums have issues with hair getting tangled in their carpet brushes - but not this Dyson.
It’s not quiet for sure but I don’t expect it to be especially if it’s got good suction capability. Wire is long enough. I recommend this product.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Disappointed

I bought this item when it was full price at $1150 @harvey norman online. Delivery was fast but after using it a few times, i was impressed at the suction but it was a bit heavy for me. I had to return the machine to dyson 6 times for small repairs.
After using my friends shark, i will never spend that kind of money on a vacuum. I expected more from a big company like dyson.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
4 comments
Hi Lucia, Thanks for taking the time to review your machine. To discuss this with us further please reach out at askdyson@dyson.com.au and we will be happy to assist you. Best wishes, Mira Facebook.com/DysonIve had the machine fixed but i also recieved the dyson stick dc35 for my wedding and within owning it for 6 months i had to replace the whole stick for $45, just to get home and find the head connection doesnt connect.now because the gift giver is now overseas, i have no way in recieving a reciept! Although the product is in my name now because i updated it with dyson.I must add my dc50 was a product fault and you guys did fix it but to be done on the same day by my dc35 is pretty unlucky!i will add i live in a 1 bedroom unit so it wasnt used alot. Cheers lucia

Best so far

Love this vacuum cleaner, it is the best I ever owned so far. It has great suction and if easy to maneuver on carpet as well as tiles and wooden floors. Another plus for me is that it is bag less so less waste and this also makes it easy to see and to pick my sons lego out of the vacuum after I accidently sucked it up.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Light and Easy to use

Very happy with this Dyson vacuum. It is very easy to use and it has great suction. It is light and relatively quiet and i could easily find a place to store this machine. I use this on both carpet and tiles for a 25sqs home. Definitely the best vacuum that i have used,

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Great Suction

I bought a Dyson Multi Floor when on sale at BigW of all places. I haven't had much luck with vacuum cleaners in the past, probably because I either bought cheap, or was sucked in by a sales person into buying something I didn't want, usually for too much money, only to get it home to find that it was no different to the last disaster.
This one, however, is brilliant. I've had it for 5 months now and it is still working fantastically. Having recently moved into a brand new house and wanting to protect the carpets as much as possible and also having 2 teenage girls with extremely long hair and it gets everywhere and into everything. The turbo head on the Dyson makes sure I get every piece of hair off the floor and the attachments get into everything else.
The only down side of this cleaner is that it's a little on the heavy side, but this is a small issue when compared to how good it is. I've heard that Dyson make the best and if tis unit is any indication, I have no reason to doubt that. It's worth paying a little more to protect your investment you made in your house and floor coverings

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Fantastic!!!!

I'm amazed every time I vacuum, I just cannot believe how much dust is in my carpet and how much dust is sucked up when I vacuume, it's amazing definitely the best vacuum cleaner I have ever owned. I recommend this vacuum cleaner to everyone who wants a clean carpet and a clean house..

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

My DC50 Animal just lost *almost* all suction. It was working but it clogged. So I went to remove the clog and decided to change the brush bar while I was at it. I did both successfully. Went to use it and nothing. If I unlock it from upright the roller works, so it has power and when I check the hose there is the tiniest amount of suction I can barely feel. There is no noise either. What can I do? There are no other clogs or debri.
1 answer
Hi Niki, Thank you for your query. I am sorry to hear about this, I am sure we can help. We would kindly ask you to double check your machine using the online diagnostic here: https://www.dyson.com/support/journey/troubleshooting/24750-01.html#DC50/DC51PERFORMANCE00 Hopefully this should get your machine up and running, however if we can assist further, please email questions@dyson.com and our US Based Dyson Experts will be happy to help. Best wishes, Shan

Hello. I have only had my Dyson 50 Compact about 2 months. All of a sudden when you try to use the hose part, it won't stay out. Its being sucked back down. It also has barely any suction. We tried to look for a clog, but I can't find one... Help please.
1 answer
Hi Donald, I am sorry to hear your Dyson DC50 isn't working as it should. We would kindly ask you to run through the troubleshooting outlined in the link below and you should get your machine up and running: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/dc50/dc50-allgery/my-machine-is-not-working/machine-not-sucking-picking-up-as-well-as-usualdc50/check-the-wand-and-hose2dc50 If not, or we can assist further, please email auaskdyson@dyson.com with your details and we will be happy to help. Our Dyson Experts are available Monday - Friday 8am - 7pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30am - 4pm AESDT. Best wishes, Shan

Hi I have Dyson DC50 compact on the red power button is not working, we can get some suction with the silver button that is next to it. Any ideas as to a fix or why this has happened? Thanks
1 answer
Hi Dani, Sorry to hear your Dyson DC50 isn't working as it should. So we can best assist, could we please ask for you to email auaskdyson@dyson.com with your details? Our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to help. We look forward to hearing from you and assisting. Best wishes, Shan

Details

DC50 OriginDC50 AllergyDC50 Multifloor
Power700W700W700W
Bin Capacity0.8L0.8L0.8L
Cord Length7.6m7.6m7.6m
Weight5.4kg5.4kg5.4kg
Price (RRP)$699$799$749
Release dateMar 2013Mar 2013
Replaced byDyson Small Ball Multi FloorDyson Small Ball AllergyDyson DC50 Origin and Dyson Small Ball

Visit official website - Download manual

Similar listings