??!
1 photo
Echo GT-22GES

Echo GT-22GES

MPN: GT-22GES
5.0 from 20 reviews

Reviews

(19)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (4)
  • Product is used
    • Occasionally (2)
    • Weekly (2)
  • Grass Type
    • Short grass (2)
    • Thick, heavy grass or weeds (1)
    • Tall grass (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (3)
  • Safety
    5.0 (3)
Dave H1

Dave H1Sydney

  • 28 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best Whipper Snipper Ever

published

I’d reached the end of my tether with cheap Chinese line trimmers; so I bit the bullet and decided to get something decent. I’ve always used Product Review as my first port of call when researching purchases and saw that every single reviewer gave the Echo GT-22GES five stars. That was good enough for me and I’m very happy to report that these reviews are spot-on. So easy to start, never stalls, the line feed is faultless; just a brilliant piece of equipment.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Rod

RodNewlands Arm

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just got this

published

I was on the verge of buying the Stihl but thought to check this site first. So I got the Echo thanks to reviewers. It seems very well designed and made. easy to put together and use for the first time. I will update this as I use it more.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

Adore this whipper snipper

published

I bought this model echo whipper snipper five years ago and it’s just awesome. It’s the cutest whipper snipper iv ever used it’s quite and light and starts every time and performance is unsurpassed, it absolutely rocks!! There’s just nothing like a good product...

Purchased in September 2014 for $260.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Echo GT-22GES compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob Healey

Rob HealeyFar North Queensland, QLD

A really great brushcutter

published

I ask for 2 things in a brushcutter- Easy start and easy line replacement. 10 months ago I bought an Echo brushcutter for $279 and it's perfect. Starts 2nd pull as in the brochure, line replacement couldn't be any easier, and the line lasts a long long time. Nice and light. Made in Japan.
I did a bit of research because the previous brushcutter was so difficult to start, even from new, that I had to spray Ether into the intake every time I tried to start it.
This short video made me decide to buy one and I couldn't be happier with it.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiUQ9AKciwU

Purchased in May 2018 for $279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Paul Mc

Paul McPerth, WA

Echo Gt 22GES

published

Bought one, every good as reviews stated. I find it easy to both start and use. reloading string is easy, its weight is reasonable, and the service when I bought it in Forrestfield was excellent. I am happy to recommend it too anyone buying a new whipper snipper. It Japanese!

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Keith F

Keith F

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Excellent quality and value

published

Very impressed with this line trimmer, easy starting and very ergonomic to use. For the money it is the best product in that price range of smaller line trimmers.
Made in Japan and the build quality reflects this compared with the other big brand units that have gone the cheaper too manufacture option and lower quality standards.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

I named my New Echo Whipper Snipper Politician because I Know it will work TIRELESSLY for Me..?

published

YesSiree I bought myself one of these babies 2 hours ago, it started first go by the salesman @ Townsville Mowers & yessiree it purred like a kitten & has 5 years WARRANTY as well & I have not used it yet, no siree but will do so tomorrow, it was recommended to me by Dave, my Mower man on Fulham Rd Heatley, TROPICAL LAWN MOWERS & REPAIRS have been using Daves Mower repairs for 10 years & there is no better.
I Gave it 5 Star Rating if Dave says it`s good, that`ll Do Me.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Mandau

MandauSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great bent shaft line trimmer I ever have.

published

This is our third line trimmer and we finally got the right one. Purchased at the end of January 2018 from Western Mowers & Chainsaws at Toongabbie as recommended by the guy there. He was professional and helpful, doing the right thing for customer.
The trimmer is easy to use, starts everytime without issue. It is perfect for small to medium size yard. One thing I should highlight is that the line replacement is soooo easy, unlike other trimmers.
This is a highly recommended line trimmer.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Jeremy W

Jeremy WSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Mine lasted 10 years over 500 hours

published

Very happy only had to replace the coil that was faulty but still under warranty,I used it for commercial sometimes 10 hours a day 5 hours most days.
Best Snipper it cuts really well,very light weight for long big jobs. Perfect for commercial or non-commercial sniping.
I would buy another one in a heart beat soon I got a spare $500.

Date PurchasedMay 2008
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Echo GT-22GES compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh

JoshBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

5 Year warranty? Can't go wrong!

published

Only owned for a month now but more than happy with its performance thus far.
The reviews on this site attracted me to this model of Echo and once I saw the 5 year warranty and for sale for under $250 it was a no brainer!
Not as loud or heavy on vibration as other 2 stokes I've used so very happy.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Trigger

TriggerRockhampton

  • 3 reviews

OMG Awesome

published

I am more than happy with my new Echo weedeater. It cuts like a dream, is light enough to carry around and do the work. It is the Easiest I have ever started every time. I have acreage and have used many different sorts over the years and this is the best by far. I had never heard of Echo before but shopped around and bought it with the 5yr warranty and excellent customer service from the Graden Shed Rockhampton and LOVE IT :)

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Rayls

RaylsCairns

  • 2 reviews

Petfect

published

Great choice glad I spent the extra money. Great quality, work great, easy to start and easy to put the line on too. Just what I wanted, easy to use. The guy in the shop gave me a demo and it started easy first time, putting the line on is so much easier than my old one.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
chris taylor

chris tayloradelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

echo brand trimmers and blowers .

published

have tried a lot of other brands and none of them even come close to this brand of trimmers and blowers . bought mine from Reynella Mowers and More .A full 5year warranty as well as high quality workmanship makes these products a worthwhile purchase ,have worked my trimmer hard and have had no problems at all, have not had to replace any parts as yet do not expect to in the near future , they are easy to start and reasonably lightweight to use, would not say they are quiet but are within the limits of tolerance ,

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Not discontinued in Adelaide

published

Not discontinued in Adelaide , here in adel shops have them from $199 to $ 299 , depending on where you shop , ring around, me seaton mowers $199 , great trimmer light , quiet , easy change head , happy as and 5 year warranty , only time will tell , I have 5 years coverage , so cool bananas .........

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Pat J

Pat JAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

The Best Money can Buy, Second to NONE!

published

So happy with this unit, starts first time every time with ease even after 6 months, wow.
Great bump head and easy to add more line when needed.
Not all line trimmers and created equal and this is the best of the best.
Got mine from Salisbury Mowers in SA.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Echo GT-22GES compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stuart64

Stuart64Canberra

  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good Trimmer - Easy To Start

published
monaromonaro

monaromonaroMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 38 reviews

Pleased with this machine

published

I purchased this machine approximately 18 months ago. The salesperson at the time said it was one of the easiest line trimmers on the market to start. I have found it very easy to start and it does a good job trimming the lawn on the banks around our home and the weeds in selected areas on our property. As a result of being impressed with this make of machine, recently I went out and purchased an Echo chainsaw, replacing another make of chainsaw that I had owned since 2008.

2 comments
monaromonaro
monaromonaro

Good to see a five star rating for this product. I wonder how many other products at this site get a five star rating?

monaromonaro
monaromonaro

Since posting my review I have found the receipt of purchase for this item. The date was 22/10/2013.

Robbo76

Robbo76Adelaide, South Australia

Great little machine

published

I've had no trouble starting or using this machine. However the bump feed does wear out, and mine needs replacing as it has worn right through. Whether or not this is a common problem with all bump fed line trimmers I don't know, as none of the others I've owned have lasted long enough for me to find out! Four years, still going strong engine wise.

So far it's brilliant!

published

I decided i wanted to stear clear of brands such as ryobi victa etc (thrown out ryobis in the past) and go for something a bit higher quality like a stihl or husqvarna. Neither brand reviewed that well on here which put me off so i began looking at echo and shindaiwa. The local store had a special on this model $199 so after going down there 'just to have a look' i came back with one and they threw in free oil and measuring jug. Has more power and bigger fuel tank than the opposition, its very light, quiet for a whipper snipper and starts so easily. It is perfect for my needs, and i expect many trouble free years from it.

barmmy123

barmmy123AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great!!!!!

published

Great little machine it is light weight and easy to use and easy to start. I purchased this for my wife to use and she loves it. Great value for money and the local dealer at All Power Garden Machinery in Mittagong NSW are great to deal with. The echo brand is not pushed enough out in the public eye which it should be as it is great i also own a Echo Chainsaw and a Echo Hedgetrimmer and all are perfect, my old stihl whipper snipper is at the tip where it belongs.
Lightweight, easy to start and inexpensive to buy only $299 with a five year warranty!!!!!

Questions & Answers

barry c

barry casked

who sells them

1 answer
Rod
Rod

bunnings

Mandy H.

Mandy H.asked

Is it 2 stroke or 4 stroke

2 answers
Tommo
Tommo

It’s 2 stroke

Dave H1
Dave H1

2 Stroke.

Ant

Antasked

can someone please let me know exactly what fuel ratio should we apply to this line trimmer please, getting mixed answers....??

1 answer
Rod
Rod

50:1, page 11 of manual. Mix in a fuel can, not the tank.

Get an answer from our members and Echo representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.