2 photos
Honda UMK425
4.5 from 61 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

61 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (12)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (12)
  • Safety
    4.2 (11)
Previous
Next
Ben
BenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Quality product

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
TheOneAndDroney
TheOneAndDroney
  • 15 reviews
  • 19 likes

UMK425ULSTUT from Bunnings - RUBBISH.

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $404.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jason W.
Jason W.South East Queensland, QLD

Just buy one, you won't be sorry

published

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
triumph
triumphSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Honda quality

published

Purchased in August 2002 for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Keith B.
Keith B.Sunshine Coast
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

This 4-stroke Honda has never missed beat in 25 years.

published

Never been at the mower shop. Started every time. Has done some very heavy work. I'm just about to replace it after a quarter of a century.Hope they are still as good as 25 years ago.

Purchased in January 1996 for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMK425 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris H
Chris HMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews

I'm Sexy and I mow it.

published

Use the shoulder strap as its heavier than a 2 stroke.. I use it up to an hour or more straight every day. Speed feed line head. DONT overload it with line, it crosses over & breaks inside the head case. It must be stored with petrol cap up. The cap leaks fuel badly. I have two and both the same. Reliability and performance 10/10. I service every ft night. Very important to do that. Dont complain if you don't. It takes 10 minutes and cheap. Oil (100ml.) and carby air filter. easy.
Plastic cowling isnt that strong.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jacko
JackoSouthern and Hills, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best thing I've ever bought!

published

Purchased in June 2020 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
X M.
X M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews

Smoothest trimmer ever owned.

published

Bought this brand new and used for about an hour and already in love. It’s much quieter and smoother than my 2 stroke Husqvarna 525RS, with only less power, but enough for me. Would recommend for domestic use.

Purchased in July 2020 for $320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ian
IanQueensland

Absolute crap

published

Mine is now out of warranty continues to stall after short periods of use . Just tried to the house yard and a bit extra stopped 9 times have to wait every time for it to cool down. I have take it back to the place of purchase with this fault never comes back fixed has cost me heaps for no result. If I could afford to I would dump it and by another machine definitely no a HONDA.

Purchased in September 2015 for $540.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TheOneAndDroney
TheOneAndDroney
  • 15 reviews
  • 19 likes

UMK425ULSTUT from Bunnings - RUBBISH.

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $404.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tony
TonyFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hard to fault after 15 years

published

After going cheap with a ryobi and the fuel lines perished after 2 years decided a honda might be worth the extra $. With the honda only replaced primer after 10 years and still has original fuel line. Easy to service yourself and have replaced air filter and spark plug as needed. Like the fact it uses the same fuel as the mower. If you need full power all the time a 2stroke might be better and lighter. For me the throttle control of the 4stroke for varied conditions is another plus. Most issues people have would be fuel related (stale).

Purchased for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMK425 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darren
DarrenMid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews

10 year review

published

I purchased one about 10 years ago. I have never had a problem with it until now and to be honest I couldn't have been happier. It still starts straight away. I haven't been easy on it. If I put it in to be fixed I am sure it would not take long however I am about to upgrade and will be purchasing the same one to replace the old one. I cannot fault the Honda!

Purchased in January 2010 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
A G.
A G.North Western Region, NSW

I must have been unlucky

published

Purchased in December 2011 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
MDD
MDDMelbourne
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent for domestic work

published

I bought this about 2 years ago because my new property is too steep for a lawnmower. The whipper snipper has a bit of weight to it, but the balance is pretty good so you don't notice too much.

4 stroke is handy if you don't have any other 2 stroke machines. Doesn't often start first pull, but that may be due to stale petrol. That said, it usually only takes 2-3 goes to start.

It's pretty quiet for a whipper snipper, but ear protection is still recommended, especially at full throttle. It says 80dBA on the shaft.

I find I can cut thick long grass without any hassles, and so far it's been reliable. That said I only have it for domestic use.

Overall, it's expensive, but worth it if you value performance and no hassles.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Yval
YvalPalmeston
  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sturdy tool, great motor

published

This is so far the best (and the heaviest) whipper snipper we've ever had.
Quite heavy- and tall- especially if the head is full of fuel. This machine is very quiet, agile and the built is really, really sturdy. Since this one is new it is quite easy to start. We have about 600m2, and a lot of edges to trim. only use it for domestic purpose, maybe fortnightly. we clean it after every use, I hope this expensive machine will last long (it does come with a long warranty).
pro: good built, quite cons: heavy

Edit: sometimes the fuel leaks, maybe because the way we place it. But this should not happen at the first place.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally

9 years of work

published

Hi i have mine for 9 years,a great machine,use it professionally.
Replace oil my self and ones a year new sparkplug!

She is getting old will buy the same one again!
Iam a private user.
Just here to help

Date PurchasedAug 2010
Chris U
Chris USouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The last brush cutter you need to buy!

published

Very easy to start, no need to choke unless it's super cold, just prime and pull. Relatively quiet at idle, but at full stick your neighbor isn't gonna care! The bump feed system is a little bulky/medieval but definitely does the job. A much better machine to use after installing a blade or alloy head. A little heavier than the 2 stroke competition, which gets quite noticeable after a days brush cutting. Kill switch is also easily bumped when in use. Oil service takes about the same amount of time as mixing a batch of 2 stroke would. Only regret is not buying the handlebar version!

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMK425 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Alan
Alanasked
UMK425

My old faithful 425f is cutting out regularly and refusing to restart would a spark plug change resolve this issue?

3 answers
Keith B.
Keith B.

A new plug would be worth a try. Also spray some carby cleaner in the carby. Clean air filter. On really old ones , the bearing that comes off the motor can be worn and overhead the engine, causing it to cut out after a while.

Keith B.
Keith B.

Overheat

Alan
Alan

Thank you for the advise changed the spark plug fitted a new cmr6h, cleaned and re-oiled the air filter cleaned around the mechanics my 15 year old ums 425e is now as good as it was the day I bought it. Regards Alan shaw

Gardens and grounds
Gardens and groundsasked
UMK425

Hey guys. Chasing some information or assistance on a new purchase of a straight shaft umk435. My old model needed to be retired after 14 years faithful service. Never any major problems at all with it. The new one (about 2 months old since purchase) is really giving me grief though with leaking fuel from the cap. This has nothing to do with the venting hole as the fuel can be seen finding its way around the screw threads on the fuel tanks neck when in an inverted position. I've since been to my local dealer and (politely)purchased an additional cap from them also which started leaking within the week. I do not over tighten the cap by the way, so a damaged seal cannot be to blame for the problem. I noticed that my original units tank seal has a slightly different design to its outer edges compared with the new one and it makes me wonder if a cheaper seal is being used by the manufacturer, the rubber not capable of prolonged contact with the fuel in the tank. Even more irritating is the fact that i cannot simply purchase the seal, just the entire cap and seal combo.....Grrrrr. Any feedback appreciated.

No answers
Nick S.
Nick S.asked
UMK425

I'm using Honda for heavy duty commercial work in the tropics down under and all i can say there's nothing equal to Honda products so far. For commercial all day use there's nothing else but a four stroke torquey Honda.
Beware of the identical crappy copies!

No answers
See all Honda UMK425 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda UMK425

Details

The Honda UMK425 is available in two options, with the difference between the models being in their handle design.

  • UMK425 Loop Handle: Suitable for neatening up garden beds, driveways and brush cutting.
  • UMK425 Bike Handle: Design allows you to get a solid grip while you focus on areas that require more power, such as brush cutting scrub.

This whipper snipper is powered by unleaded petrol. It’s designed with a mini 4-stroke engine that consumes less petrol than 2-stroke snippers, and a one-pull start system designed to start the power tool easily and quickly. Along with their choice of two handles, this line trimmer is designed to be ergonomically friendly.

Honda attributes this user-friendliness to the Honda UMK425’s lightweight design, electronic ignition, anti-vibration extension mount, anti-flood primer system, and 360-degree inclinable operation. The Honda UML425 also comes with a new pair of safety goggles and a single harness (loop handle model), or a full operator harness (bike handle option).

Points of praise for the Honda UMK425:

  • Many reviewers professed to having bought their lion’s share of line trimmers in the past, and when they splashed out on this Honda UMK425, did not regret it. One review was entitled, ‘The last brush cutter you need to buy!’
  • The durability and overall effectiveness of this line trimmer were praised – it was often described as powerful yet quiet. Some reviewers said that they’d had their Honda trimmer for up to 10 years, and were going to replace it with the exact same model when their Honda UMK425 finally bit the dust.

Other comments:

  • A few reviewers commented that using fresh, good quality petrol is paramount, and that issues with the trimmer could be caused by using stale fuel.
  • While an ergonomically sound design is put front and centre, some reviewers pointed out that the Honda became quite heavy to handle, especially when full of petrol.
Compare both Honda UMK425
CategoryPetrol Whipper SnippersPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $729.00$499.00
Handle TypeBike HandleLoop Handle
Shaft TypeStraightStraight
Power SourcePetrolPetrol
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke
Engine Displacement25 cc25 cc
Power720 W720 W
Cutting Head TypeLineLine
FeaturesCommercial UseCommercial Use
Weight5.9 kg5.7 kg
Noise Level 104 dB104 dB
Fuel Tank Capacity550 mL550 mL
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Compare both Honda UMK425

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.