??!
2 photos
Honda UMK435

See the Best Petrol Whipper Snippers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
24
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
4
1 star
1

very costly to repair

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass and Tall grass
See all answers

HelloSunshine

HelloSunshineSouth East Queensland, QLD

Been using this for own residential lawn for more than 7 years. It is an excellent product!

published

Been using this very regularly on own residential lawn & serious brush on a vacant lot for more than 7 years. It is an excellent machine! No issues so far. Starts up easily every time ... I sound like a product add :) Wore out the first bump feed head now after 7 years.

Purchased in March 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Breathe in the air

Breathe in the airMid North Coast, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works well until an early death

published

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Rojimac

RojimacSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Beast!!!

published

After years of using quality 2-strokes, I finally purchased a Honda and what a difference... So easy to start, very reliable, well built and a great machine to use. My only complaint (if I have to be picky) might be the extra weight, but that’s no real issue for me.
Honda, you’ve won me over for sure. I’ve replaced my Mower, Whipper, Hedger and Edger with Honda over the last few years whilst still keeping a Stihl blower and Stihl and Husqvarna chainsaws.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Charbel

CharbelSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Perfect commercial trimmer

published

Split shaft 35cc trimmer purchased online what can I say it cuts through the thickest grass and does not slow down even in extreme heat can get heavy but I'm used to it the best trimmer on the market

Purchased in November 2018 at Honda Dealers for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Daily
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

F.G.

F.G.Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

What a great addition to my yard tools.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2003

Jeremy S

Jeremy STownsville

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

The problem doesn't seem to be vacuum

published

Mine is 10 years old now. When working it is a great machine, problem is it was always dying under full throttle when hot and then other times it wouldn't run from cold. Last year I had one last go a playing around with carby, pulled it apart and scratched out a bit of gum, didn't replace any diaphragms only main gasket onto cylinder. Replaced ignition coil and spark plug, no difference. Had spark so fuel had to be the issue. Put compressed air back through the pick up filter in the fuel tank. Like a new machine, not sure what was clogging it as it didn't look dirty but can say for certain that was the problem. Annoying as like many I have searched for answers for several years and cursed the pig of a thing for longer than that.

Date PurchasedJun 2007

mr aussie

mr aussieSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

I have had many brands of trimmers, this one is THE BEST

published

Bought mine 2nd hand, it had not been serviced for over 6 months and the guy who sold it to me was upgrading to a new Honda, I have only cleaned the filter, replaced the fuel , this Honda starts 2nd pull from cold and 1st pull on hot, runs and cuts like a dream, less vibration then other brands, less engine noise , more power at lower revs, well built, what more can i say, its so good to have a nice piece of quality equipment that is reliable.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
delicious cake

delicious cakevegas

  • 10 reviews

For the money, its fairly average

published

When you pay $700 for a whipper snipper you think that it will be absolutely bullet proof for many years to come. The bump feed on this whipper snipper has stopped working twice. The first time we took it back to the dealer and they were able to fix it, and now it doesn't work again. So I have to wait until I can make the trip to my honda dealer again to get the issue resolved. It's not a very reliable machine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
martin

martinCairns

This is a great machine..

published

I have used it professionally for years.. Cant fault it.. 2 Strokes make no sense for this kind of work , I see my stupid council in Cairns using 2 strokes burning my rates money and laugh/cry. Thanks Honda for showing us how it is done...

Date PurchasedSep 2012

Martin Thompson

Martin ThompsonToowoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awsome Bit of Gear

published

I picked up a 2 yewr old second hand unit from our local Hon. da small engine dealer. I can only say I am impressed, it starts so easily and does not miss a beat. I have used both blade and cord on it in some very heavy going and it handles it with ease. The only downside I can see with this machine is that it is probably a bit too heavy for my wife to use.It would have to rate as a "big tractor" in the world of brush cutters.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Peter from the Tweed

Peter from the TweedTweed

  • 25 reviews
  • 32 likes

Excellent machine

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Paul Saviti

Paul SavitiMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

excellent, quick start one pull machine

published

lightweight and easy to carry. no awkward handle parts. Good on petrol it last me my full yard. That's new because I have had to refuel with my old whipper-snipper. Only downside is it was a little bit ore expensive. Guess you get what you pay for though with these machines.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Max

Max

  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ripper

published

whipper snipper is no match for my super sharp sithe :) . In open areas , anyway.
Otherwise this HondaWhipperSniper is a RIPPER ! ! ! !
3 in One: Mower( where I don't want to go with my mower), Best EDGER I can think of, Sweeps all minor growth of paths and bricks and Blows them away, Cuts minor bushes o.k. with provided blade. triples as a weeder. Perfect partner for my Honda Mower ( M19).
I bought it at our local friendly store: Gosford ChainsawsandMowers. Highly recommended. I would ( AND HOPE I WON"T HAVE TO) buy it again

Date PurchasedDec 2016

The Gruntmaster

published

After 2 years of commercial use 6 days a week I have nothing but praise for this machine.It consistently surprises customers how much work it can do.I call it 'The Gruntmaster'.Its typical Honda,A precision instrument.Awesome machine.I wouldn't consider any other machine when I have to replace it.I've also had very good service from Ashmore Mower Centre.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Keep losing top bolt/screw

published
Date PurchasedMay 2012

Rashad

Rashadsydney

This certain brushcutter lets me down.

published

This is the 3rd time i have purchased one of these has plenty of grunt but every year lets me down the carburetor ceases.
Litterally once a year this happens 3rd machine and sane problem,dealer says doesnt cover warranty at all which is upsetting due to buying these machines thinking they are durable and so on.
I wouldn't purchase one of these machines again.
Honda needs to fix this problem no one helps with these problems.
I love honda but when it comes to this certain machine never again.

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Better than a Shindaiwa T270 - Simply Put - Buy One!

published

Lucky We Mow Located in South Brisbane providing Lawn Mowing Services to Logan Residential Home Owners and Surrounding Suburbs have been using the UMK435U Honda Edger now for two months (beginning 14th-Sep-2016) and we will never look back.

Previously, we used the Shindaiwa T270 Top of the Line Edger.

The UMK435U is so much quieter, does not need oil added to its fuel (Fuel is pricey enough!!) because its a hefty 4Stroke Motor with what we feel has at least 2x the power of the T270. The UMK435U Edger has to be the best on the market. Get yourself one.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Nathan

Nathan

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best whipper snipper by far.

published

After using a Stihl whipper snipper, this was a dream to use. It weighed less, had more guts and was more reliable. I used one of these for 4 weeks straight, 12 hours a day, 7 days a week clearing around gas infrastructure (and many other times after this) and it never skipped a beat. It chewed through all the woody weeds and other things I could throw at it. Changing the cord was a breeze. Servicing was also super quick and easy. I wouldn't even consider buying anything else after using this.

Date PurchasedMay 2012

John71

John71Cygnet

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Out of date review

published

The time difference between now and my original review makes my opinion moot.
I was sent a replacement fuel cap so that a vacuum would not be created in the fuel tank during use of the machine.
However, I have not had reason to use the machine in the last few years, neither am I sure I am physically capable of using it any more.
Assuming the fuel cap has solved the choking problem, it is a very useful brush cutter.
My apologies to Honda for taking such a long time to respond.

Date PurchasedSep 2005

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tapan M.

Tapan M.asked

Air filter should change after how many days?

No answers

Thambi

Thambiasked

how to grease the hub of Honda 435 T brush cutter?

1 answer
F.G.
F.G.

Hi. To my knowledge the bearing and spindle head unit are factory greased and sealed.
My 35 has been used on my small acreage every weekend and for many years.
The head unit still spins smoothly and has no shaft play.
I would think I will wear the motor out first.
I am sure your Honda dealer could effect repairs when and if needed.
For me I will just park it up and buy another Honda.
They are so reliable.


NeilJane

NeilJaneasked

While re assembling the nylon cutting head, I have placed the holder upside down and therefore when I insert the alan key into the cutting head, there is no slot for it to lock into.
How can I remove the cutting head and place the holder the correct way around?

2 answers
Glen B.
Glen B.

Place the holder in a vice and undo the cutting head, or use a pipe wrench on the holder to hold it firm. Remember it is a left hand thread.

NeilJane
NeilJane

Thanks but we have since sorted out the problem.


Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.