??!
4 photos
Rocket Espresso Giotto
4.9 from 23 reviews

Reviews

(21)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)


    Manny

    MannyMelbourne

    • 6 reviews
    • 1 like

    Greatest coffee ever

    published

    I love using my coffee machine, the coffee is always smooth, I use my machine everyday sometimes it's on all day it hasn't let me down yet, the pressure is awesome the milk always turns out how I like it, the crema is awesome, it looks amazing in my kitchen the hot water feature is great too, highly recommend it

    Date PurchasedApr 2011

    Intheend

    IntheendAU

    • 6 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Timeless

    published

    I was just thinking how much I love this machine. It still looks great and as new as it did 4 years ago. It's an investment piece, but it is repairable, which is why I bought it. I was sick of spending $$$ on something that ends up as landfill. This machine could be left to someone in your Will and still be worth something! I like the process of making my coffee and having total control. It is not an automated one button job, you have to practise, but I enjoy that process. Team it with a great grinder and you're set to go!

    Date PurchasedApr 2013
    Martin

    Martinyogimoose@aol.com

    • 14 reviews

    Relentless quality

    published

    I have had this machine for about 12 years and apart from a new computer board for $600 and odds and sods it has delivered peerless service. Occasionally I can still make a 10/10 coffee with it ( so friends say). It brews a consistent drop and you can soon find your favourite bean because the brews are so consistent and you can compare flavours. Considering I use it everyday for a minimum 5 cups up to 20 cups it has been extremely robust. Very easy to clean although you have to keep your eye on the in-built water tank ....you can empty it without seeing. The main thing in making a good coffee with it is to get the bean fineness and tamping down pressure. Practice makes perfect.

    Date PurchasedJan 2004
    Derrick

    DerrickMelbourne

    • 4 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Italian commercial build

    published

    This machine is spectacular in all regards. The build quality is just amazing and it looks brilliant on the counter top. It produces consistent coffee shots each time and the ability to steam milk in parallel makes for entertaining guests easy. Only change I did was the steam tip to a single hole tip to allow for easier milk texturing.

    Date PurchasedJan 2015

    Thelonius

    Thelonius

    • 9 reviews

    Excellent

    published

    An excellent machine. Using fivesenses.com.au blends with Rancilio Rocky grinder. Backflush every week. Descale every six months. Make five or six shots every day. This machine can't produce shots as good as the big boys at Auction Rooms, Market Lane, Proud Mary, or St Ali. But with diligence, it's as good as you'll get at home for the considerable investment. Very happy with purchase from talkcoffee.com.au in Northcote.

    Date PurchasedJul 2014

    Rachel

    RachelSydney, NSW

    • 8 reviews

    Great.

    published

    We have this and it's amazing! Can't live without it. I highly recommend it to coffee enthusiasts. It's easy to clean, easy to use and the instruction manual actually makes sense. I thought it was going to be hard to use and learn except this machine is good for dumbos like me

    Date PurchasedFeb 2016

    Harley

    Harley

    • 2 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Simply fantastic. I can't live without this machine.

    published
    Date PurchasedSep 2011

    vbro69

    vbro69Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

    • 8 reviews

    Searching for the perfect coffee machine??? Rocket - no substitute

    published
    Topfield1

    Topfield1Melbourne

    • 4 reviews
    • 4 likes

    Fantastic machine

    published

    We have had this machine for a couple of years now and it is still going great. Have had it serviced twice now. I have to remember to use the special cleaning powder more regularly; apparently it affects the taste if it's not cleaned regularly but I hadn't really noticed.

    Greg L

    Greg LSydney

    • 13 reviews
    • 6 likes

    Great investment in coffee making

    published

    This is a seriously good coffee machine. Great training from Renzo at di Bartoli enabled me to make superb coffee consistently with only a few days practice. The machine is beautifully manufactured, easy to use and with stunning good looks. None of the Department Store machines come near this quality. It's a joy to use everyday. The only problem is that most of the time you are disappointed with coffee away from home!


    Murray

    MurrayBallarat

    • 2 reviews
    • 9 likes

    Rocket giotto. Belissimo

    published

    It might sound soft but this machine brings joy to my mornings, and has done so for 12 mths. After nothing but grief from a breville machine (x5 under warranty) I made the plunge. Teamed with a mazzer I can make coffee better than I can buy anywhere in my regional city. Chris, from talk coffee the retailer, spent 2 hrs with me and was superb.


    Beautifully engineered

    published

    We have had an ECM Giotto for around ten years. It's a beautiful piece of engineering and makes excellent coffee. In ten years, we have spent around $200 in servicing to replace various seals. Prior to this, we bought a coffee machine every other year (Gaggia, Krups etc). My advice is don't waste your money on a cheaper machine. Bite the bulltet and spend a couple of thousand. You'll be drinking better coffee for years and your kids will inherit it in your will!

    Don't believe the guy who gives this one star either. More or less all owners give this machine five stars. We love them for a reason...


    Pretty solid gear

    published

    I have had my Giotto for 12 years. With the E61 commercial quality group head and large thermal mass it easily handles dispensing coffee and foaming milk at the same time. Excellent crema. It's only design fault is that the control circuit board is not well enough insulated from the heating system leading to it failing over time. You can greatly prolong its life (and save energy) by putting a timer switch on the machine so it is only on for the few hours a day that you really need it. Remember it is also inconvenient to get repaired because it weighs 25+kg!!


    Quality.

    published
    Date PurchasedJan 2009
    Michael

    MichaelTaren Point

    An Investment in Quality

    published
    2 comments
    Paul
    Paul
    Bronwen
    Bronwen

    What machine would you recommend?

    Dan5195

    Dan5195Sydney

    • 4 reviews
    • 2 likes

    An investment in your lifestyle - There is no comparison

    published

    I first found the ECM Giotto at a coffee fair 6 years before I finally bought it. I didn't buy it then because I thought it was too expensive, but now that I have it I realise I wasted 6 years of my life on mediocre coffee. Once you have this machine you will wonder how you ever survived without it. It produces first class coffee consistently.

    The machine allows you to adjust the extraction pressure and is a pleasure to use. The cleaning is easy and takes only a minute each day. When you get one of these you realise you will never go back to anything else.

    Expensive


    SeanSheep

    SeanSheepNSW, 2032

    • 3 reviews

    The Rolls Royce of coffee machines

    published

    The Rocket (nee ECM) Giotto is one of the best made machines I have ever owned. It is most a machine than an appliance, as I can see it easily lasting 15 or 20 years. It is stable, easy to use (for a semi-automatic machine) and forgiving of technique. If you are willing to invest some time learning how to make good, repeatable coffee shots, it will reward you many times over.
    Reliable, stable, beautiful
    Expensive


    I wake up to it everyday

    published

    I had a Rancilio Silva for 7 years and upgraded to the Giotto Rocket. What a beaut machine. The Dealer in Melbourne I bought it off had bench tested and calibrated the unit before delivery.
    This HX model is classy, precise, and makes a top coffee. You MUST buy a good quality grinder and you will be looking at no less than $450 minimum, but this will be an investment, as is your machine.
    Good luck.
    Precise, classy, pleasure to use
    Water collection tray could have been a little deeper, but you can plumb it if you so wish


    nick.ward121

    nick.ward121

    • 20 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Excellent

    published

    Excellent

    published

    Page 1 of 2

    Questions & Answers

    Maya

    Mayaasked

    I want to buy a rocket coffee machine for home. Any recommendations? Im not worried about price just want good coffee

    3 answers
    Manny
    Manny

    If you are after a manual coffee machine and not an fully automated one then the rocket is the way to go

    Intheend
    Intheend

    https://www.talkcoffee.com.au/
    Check out this website....lots of good info here

    Martin
    Martin

    Hard to go past the Rocket. Very sturdy construction and very good result with coffee extraction.


    Kate Boxsell

    Kate Boxsellasked

    Is there anywhere in or near Canberra you can have the Rocket machines serviced?

    3 answers
    Murray
    Murray

    I am sorry I have no ideA. But given its full of commercial parts I think if you went to your fav cafe and found out who their servicer was they might might do it

    Topfield1
    Topfield1

    I agree. Ask a Cafe owner for their cafetech. It maybe cheaper if you take the machine to them. I put mine in a plastic crate so that it is easier to handle and contain any spills.

    Thelonius
    Thelonius

    Hi Kate - If you haven't found a Rocket service company in Canberra in the last year - call coffeemachineindustries.com.au - they've worked on my Rocket Giotto Plus v3 w PID. They come to Canberra from Sydney to work on the machines at Milk Crate, and the guy is happy to work on consumer machines.


    Richard

    Richardasked

    How does one make a strong 6 oz cup of coffee with this machine?

    2 answers
    Alec66
    Alec66

    You can get a range of different baskets sizes for the E 61 group head so you can regulate the strength of the coffee you make. If you like it strong you can certainly start with a double shot and go up from there.

    Richard
    Richard

    Thanks for the info!


    Get an answer from our members and Rocket Espresso representatives

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.