7 photos
DeLonghi Dedica

DeLonghi Dedica

EC685M (Silver), EC680M (Silver), EC685BK (Black), etc... (See All)
4.1 from 268 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by DeLonghi

Pros

Uses coffee beans or pods
Compact design
Affordable

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (77)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (78)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (77)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (77)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (63)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.1 (67)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.0 (60)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Miss.Therese
Miss.Therese
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good compact coffee machine

published

I like the Delonghi EC685. It is compact and makes decent coffee.

I have found that the lights on the machine often flash yellow and I have to turn it on and off a few times to get it to work.

The coffee is always consistent, good temperature and I really like the single or double shot options.

I also find the steam wand never works first go. I always have to flick the silver switch on and off, same with the steam button to get it to work. It does steam milk really well once it works!

Overall, for the $199 I paid I am happy with this machine.

Purchased in November 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $199.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
C A.
C A.Sydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very happy customer

published

We bought this coffee machine as I love my double shots (hold the milk) and wanted to see if I could make coffee as good as local cafe (not quite the same as our local barista, but close). The Crema is amazing and quality very good. I haven't used frother yet as I don't drink milk so can't comment. Would recommend.

Purchased in December 2021 at Myer for $199.

Incentivised Review No
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam MultiGrinder II EM0405
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trish M
Trish MGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Had it for 2 weeks and want to return it.

published

This seems to be a common issue after reading these reviews. Works once, then all lights flash and doesn’t want to work anymore. Same with steam wand. We’ve tried trouble shooting, watched the delongi videos but to no avail. Have already called and returning this weekend.

Purchased in November 2021 at JB Hifi Home for $265.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ElPistole
ElPistoleSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

All round a great compact, semi-automatic espresso machine

published

Purchased in November 2021 at ALDI for $169.84.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
ElPistole
ElPistole

I will attach a photo if I can figure out how to!...

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how DeLonghi Dedica compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
P.Lady
P.LadySydney, NSW

Great coffee, slimline design, easy to use

published

Very impressed with this machine. Good strong espresso shots, compact design so it hardly takes up any room, and a quick heating time -- the steamer takes hardly any time to heat after the coffee. Quick steaming time too. Temperature is just right for us as we always use steamed milk -- may not be super hot as an espresso at times.

Purchased in November 2021 at Myer for $300.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MadB
MadBRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Love this machine, had it 1.5 years - but losing pressure

published

Purchased in June 2020 for $199.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Do not recommend both prodcut and customer service

published

The coffee machine is very poor quality. Getting broken very often. My friends have the same one and the same problem occurs (pressure) My broken when under warranty and I have sent it back in August The last one part of the machine (handle) and from August (we have end of November) I am not able to use it as the missing part is out of stock

Purchased for $219.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
DeLonghi
De'Longhi TeamDeLonghiSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
boosted6
boosted6Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Coffee Machine

published

Almost 12 months since purchase this has been an awesome coffee machine.
Still going strong can't fault it highly recommended.
Make sure you keep the coffee holder clean for it's easy to just rinse and forget about.
If you don't keep it clean it will turn itself off under the pressure, was funny to see for the first time.
Since then i make sure to keep it clean.
Frothing milk is super easy, i don't like it really frothy so i keep the slider part which controls the froth all the way up.

Purchased in November 2019 at Applianceonline for $309.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
DeLonghi
De'Longhi TeamDeLonghiSend a private message

We love to see this! Will definitely be a trusted companion for years to come.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael D.
Michael D.Sydney, NSW

Great til it doesn’t work

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Noel Leeming Physical store for $289.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
DeLonghi
De'Longhi TeamDeLonghiSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how DeLonghi Dedica compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chute
chuteAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little machine.

published

It's compact and very easy to use. We've had it for over a year now and it hasn't missed a beat. The milk frother is a bit finicky when cleaning, as you need to take the outer attachment off to clean the rubber tube inside, as just letting steam out doesn't clean it.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Always Overheating

published

It is good when it works, but it always overheats when I steam my milk (first two lights flashing 3 times) and I need let my coffee get cold while I wait 5 minutes for the machine to cool down. Letting water run though grouphead/steam wand apparently doesnt cool it down either.

Incentivised Review No
Product is used Daily
DeLonghi
De'Longhi TeamDeLonghiSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
K.Melbourne
K.MelbourneVictoria
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Second Delonghi dedica. Work Horse and Slight improvement after few years

published

this is my second unit. the first last for 3 years and is still working.
Improvement on the porta filter is quite good. giving better consistencies.

Black color is very good. The red unit previously peels off after a few years.

Previous unit looses pressure due to wear and tear.

there are many instructions online to swap over the steam outlet which gives significant improvement.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2021 at The Good Guys for $179.15.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how DeLonghi Dedica compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christine Y
Christine Y
  • 5 reviews

Not as good as predecessor

published

Coffee not as consistent as E680 Model, sporadically after 3 months the pressure decreased and sporadically resolves. Otherwise, compact size is great. Milk frother paranello wand not as easy to use normal wand.

Purchased in May 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $249.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sonia
Sonia
  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Little Coffee Expresso Machine

published

I purchased this coffee machine in June 2021. I am a qualified Barista but not employed as one so I do have knowledge of coffee quality and good expresso taste and look. I am very satisfied with this machine as it is simple to use makes great coffee in competition with my local coffee shop :). Easy to clean and no problems with the milk heater wand. its a little beauty and affordable - I purchased from David Jones.

Purchased in June 2021 at David Jones Retail Stores for $274.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
DeLonghi
De'Longhi TeamDeLonghiSend a private message

Hi Sonia, So glad you are enjoying the machine as much as we do!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Natalie
NatalieSydney
  • 3 reviews

One of the Best delivered Coffee Aroma this machine can provide

published

Perfect quality coffee delivered to your taste, I would have to say our of all my coffee machines this Delonghi is the next best thing and I would highly recommend it to anyone, it's also cheap on Amazon for $199 in black colour. You can play around with the temperature as this machine heats up without you noticing so before you it you will have the best coffee made with any type of ground beans, also E.S.E pods can be used, overall it's been 3 years and I love this barista style coffee machine, it has saved me from buying each day from the cafes. Highly recommended.

Purchased in August 2018 at Appliances Online for $200.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Charlotte
Charlotteasked
Dedica

Have just purchased this machine (our second one as we have one at work and at home )and am finding the new one has an extremely tight filter holder. It requires two hands, one to hold the machine in place and the other to twist holder into place.very different from our previous one which is 5 years old. Any one else having this issue?

No answers
Jenny B
Jenny Basked
Dedica

What is the difference between the Dedica EC685 and the Dedica Arte?

No answers
Ebru Alcar
Ebru Alcarasked
Dedica EC685BK (Black)

Hi, I've just bought my EC685 machine 2 months ago. And it started to leak water from steam wand while I prepare espresso. What should I do about it? I saw more questions about this problem, but no answer from @Delonghi..

No answers
See all DeLonghi Dedica questions

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

DeLonghi Dedica

Details

Features

  • The DeLonghi Dedica works using either freshly ground coffee or coffee pods, using Easy Serve Espresso Pods.
  • Quick to start up, the machine reaches the right brewing temperature in 40 seconds, using Thermoblock technology.
  • This coffee machine allows you to make espresso, as well as creamy, milk-based drinks like cappuccinos and flat whites.
  • You can choose between having a single or double shot of espresso, or preparing two cups of coffee at a time.
  • An adjustable, two-tiered drip tray accommodates tall glasses up to 12cm in height.
  • A slimline design that’s 15cm wide makes this coffee machine suited to smaller spaces or kitchens with limited benchtop space.
  • Available in 4 colours; stainless steel, red, black and white.

Points of praise

  • The majority of reviewers liked the DeLonghi Dedica’s ability to make consistently good coffees, with thick crema and well-textured, silky milk.
  • Reviewers appreciated that this machine saves you from spending too much money at cafes.
  • The compact size was viewed as convenient by reviewers, as it saved space in the kitchen and didn't look obstrusive.
  • In most cases, the machine was easy to use and clean, including when it came to descaling.
  • The affordable price, when weighed up against the Dedica’s reliable performance, made it good value for money.

Something to consider

The group head sometimes becomes clogged and doesn’t push water or coffee through, resulting in wasted coffee. Sometimes descaling the machine can fix the problem.

Compare all 7 DeLonghi Dedica
DeLonghi Dedica EC680R (Red)
  • Discontinued

DeLonghi Dedica EC680R (Red)

3.3
(12)
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $459.00
Pump Pressure15 bar
Input Power1,300 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNo
Water Tank Capacity1.1 L
Dimensions 303 x 149 x 330 mm
Weight4.2 kg
Milk FrotherSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNone
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack
Replaced byDeLonghi Dedica EC685M (Silver)DeLonghi Dedica EC685R (Red)DeLonghi Dedica EC685BK (Black)
Compare all 7 DeLonghi Dedica
  • GTIN13: 8004399331198
  • MPN: EC685M and EC785PK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.