??!
7 photos
DeLonghi Dedica
4.1 from 212 reviews

Reviews

(85)
(92)
(18)
(7)
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (23)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (23)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (22)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (10)
  • Product is used
    • Daily (21)
    • Weekly (1)
    • Rarely (1)
  • Consistency
    4.1 (21)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.1 (15)
ClaireLW

ClaireLWSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Perfect for small spaces and tight budgets

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Myer for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

good product

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Amazon for $150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Dave H.

Dave H.South East Queensland, QLD

Nice for 2 months, then died

published

I'd learned to make quite good coffee with this machine over the 2 months I owned it. The steam wand didn't exactly overpower, taking a long time to get milk up to temperature, but the espresso was pretty good with Illy pre-ground coffee I was using.

After just 2 months, three white lights blink continuously, for which apparently the manual describes "abnormal operation" and to get it serviced. No chance I'm servicing something that broke in such a short space of time. Took it back for a refund and won't be considering any similar products in their line.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
DeLonghi
De'LonghiDeLonghi

Hi Dave, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that this has influenced your experience with our machines. We appreciate any feedback and this will be shared to our internal teams. Best, De'Longhi

Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how DeLonghi Dedica compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GrillaBBQ

GrillaBBQBrisbane

  • 24 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Machine

published

We have owned this machine for three years and is excellent for the price. We have owned Jura automatic $1,700, and an Italian barista job ($2,200) with a separate grinder. And in my view, the Delonghi beats them hands down as well as any expresso pod (owned one too). Firstly it is ready to produce coffee in less than two minutes, two you don't have to try and work out the grind, you buy pre grounded coffee. The milk frother is better than Jura, and the barista machine was hit and miss too, the Delonghi makes whole milk, and you don't throw tons of aluminium pods in the dump, saving the planet also!

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Don

DonCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Work Benissimo

published

I love Coffe.
This machine work very well. Easy to use. Just few seconds for be ready.
Beautiful short black. Nice creamy very hot.
I will buy again.
Small coffe machine, not super automatic but do the job like as professional.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Electronics Physical Store for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Matt

MattSydney

  • 4 reviews

Worst espresso machine I've ever owned - I'm selling if for parts on ebay after four months.

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
Larry

LarrySydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Good coffee machine , Easy to use

published

The main reason I bought this machine is just the price caught my eyes , it was very cheap $99 bought from Costco back in May 2019 and I have been using it for 6 months . I usually just make 10 coffees in average in a week.
This machine its very compact and easy to use and It makes good coffee ( ofcause you need to know your coffee making skills). I will definitely buy this machine again if Costco offers the same price.

Purchased in May 2019 at Costco NSW, Auburn for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
See all answers
Morticia

MorticiaSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 10 reviews

Not too good

published

Bought machine in January 2017 from Good Guys for $275. Worked OK to start then began to reset itself and constantly displaying "descale" even after I had descaled it. I have not used it for 18 months - just sits in cupboard and I should throw it out! However,on it's an improvement on my previous Sunbeam Cafe Series which gave up after only just over 12 months.

Purchased in January 2017 at The Good Guys for $275.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
DeLonghi
De'LonghiDeLonghi

Hi, thank you for sharing your feedback. We would be happy to help you with the descale alert. Please give us a call on 1800 126 659 and we will be able to assist you :) Best, De'Longhi

JBAU

JBAUSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Recommended at $249

published

Good small home machine. If you can buy this coffee machine on special for $249 or less, and you dont need to make more than 4 cups a day, then I recommend. Nothing I have experienced can compete at this price point and its a DeLonghi so build quality is superior to Chinese cheap.

Anything over this price and you are best to look at the Breville at $600. Just make sure you buy a breville that is NOT made in China!

I say 4 cups because the water container is smaller in comparison and the build is not really suited to more use than this.

Purchased in September 2018 at Amazon for $249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how DeLonghi Dedica compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melbourne Chris

Melbourne ChrisGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Mine was a lemon.

published

Good while it worked (approx 2 months). Only used once or twice a week and after 2 months the machine started resetting every time I tried to make a coffee. Followed advice from Delonghi and reset all the soft settings back to factory default twice. Machine still reset. Delonghi asked me to to take it to a repair agent which I did and 2 weeks later had to go an pick it up as it had been repaired.
Second time I used the repaired unit it reset again. Just as bad as before. Contacted Delonghi and they asked me to return it to the repaired again when I expected a replacement unit.
Machine is going in the bin and I am never going to buy a Delonghi product again. Terrible product, terrible service.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
DeLonghi
De'LonghiDeLonghi

Hi Chris, we are sorry to hear this experience you have had with one of our machines. We have just sent you a private message so that we can investigate further in resolving this for you. Best, De'Longhi

Sam L

Sam LSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Size & functionality

published

I am super happy with my Dedica since my purchase in July 2018. Have had latissima for nearly 3 years prior to this and decided to move onto proper espresso machine to reduce waste and also purchase my own beans. This product is so slim that it fits perfectly in my tiny kitchen and does nothing fancy which exactly what I want - practical.

Purchased in July 2018 at Amazon for $130.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderDelonghi Dedica KG 521.M
See all answers
1 comment
DeLonghi
De'LonghiDeLonghi

Thanks for your feedback Sam :)

Davo

DavoPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value machine

published

Great little machine for what you pay for. Not perfect, it has a few little idiosyncrasies that take a bit getting used to, but all coffee machines are like that. Easy to clean, but keep on top of it. We live in Perth and the water has more minerals etc so needs to be cleaned more regularly. Overall good value

Purchased in November 2018 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderKenwood CG600
See all answers
1 comment
DeLonghi
De'LongiDeLonghi

Thank you for your review Davo!

Tenterden

TenterdenAlstonville NSW 2477

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Quick shots from a small footprint

published

Purchased in March 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderHario Skerton
See all answers
Ernest

ErnestBrisbane

A basic coffee machine

published

Bought a Delonghi Dedica EC 685 model about a year ago and found it easy to use and makes good consistent expresso coffee. Functions are basic and the temperature has only one setting but generally found the machine value for money.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
GrinderDelonghi Dedica KG 521.M
See all answers
Ian

IanLatham 2615, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amateur barista's dream machine

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how DeLonghi Dedica compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Will

WillPerth

  • 13 reviews
  • 13 likes

Excellent Home UNit

published

Only owned a few weeks but wich Id bought years ago, previously using nespresso pod mahcine - this is much better. Takes a little while to heat up but once it does it is awesome. Great pressure from steam wand.

Purchased in May 2019 at Myer.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
GrinderDeLonghi KG39
See all answers
Sweetness

SweetnessGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

This is the best coffee machine I have owned

published

Makes a perfect cup of coffee everytime. I love the fact that is tells me when it needs de-scaling and that I can alter the size of the pour according to what cup I am using, so I don't have to constantly watch it

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
PeterH

PeterHGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute rubbish product

published

It's a rubbish product. It made about 8 cups of coffee and then refused to make another one. Coffee loaded and nothing came out into the cup so I scooped all the coffee out and put it into my 3 year old $69 Aldi machine and it all worked fine. When it worked the quality was no better than what the Aldi machine made and a far cry from what you get in a coffee shop. It's going back for a refund.

Purchased in May 2019 for $288.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Macca the Roadworker

Macca the RoadworkerKimberley, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Gets the pecker peckering in the morning

published

Was lucky enough to get this on a rewards card so I didn't have to pay. Buying the glass eye and false teeth helped a lot.
It makes a terrific steaming cuppa every time, so hot in fact when my new glass eye fell into the cup when I sneezed, it melted the paint off it.
The frother works like a beauty too. I can throw the new false teeth in a bit of water and they come out gleaming. All the better for a wonderful tasting morning cup of cha to start my day.

Purchased in September 2017 at Rewards card.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Tarl

TarlSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

good when it worked

published

This machine was quite good when new. coffee was ok though It would stuggled to make a stong double shot with enough volume . It seems to need descaling a lot. In under 12 mnths the water failed to pass through the filter and basket, even with no coffee in it. The pump has gone again it seems, just like the last identical model we had (this is a replacement from the store). I have owned better machines in the past but to be fair they were more expensive. I will buy another brand

Purchased in July 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Conical Burr Grinder EM0450
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

MikeG

MikeGasked

Dedica EC685W (White)

Why does water pour thru steam spout prior to steam production, thudding ruining /diluting milk

No answers
MikeG

MikeGasked

Dedica

Why does Water pour through the hot water spout prior to steam production, thus diluting milk

No answers
Anna K.

Anna K.asked

Dedica

Hi, I have had my EC685 machine for 2 months and was working fine but now when I use the steamer it is letting out a crazy amount of steam and pressure as well as water, then it suddenly stops. It is also really loud. Is there any way of fixing it?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.