??!
5 photos
The Little Guy Home Barista Kit

The Little Guy Home Barista Kit

4.6 from 163 reviews

Reviews

(141)
(4)
(5)
(3)
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (21)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (21)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (20)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (6)
  • Product is used
    • Daily (15)
    • Weekly (4)
    • Several times a week (2)
  • Consistency
    4.5 (17)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.1 (18)
Sebastian B.

Sebastian B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Will reward those that take the time to work him out.

published

Great product. As a professional barista of many years, this machine is capable of delivering a cafe standard coffee.
I've had to take time tweaking my own use of this device, but a worthy investment.
Build quality is excellent. It looks fantastic.
Save yourself some time and read the reviews. You'll hit the ground running.

Purchased in August 2014 at Online for $750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Weekly
GrinderHand grinder
See all answers
Desmo Chi

Desmo ChiSydney Surrounds, NSW

timeless masterpiece of espresso beauty

published

The quality of this item is exceptional. You pick it up and there's nothing like feeling the weight and seeing the gleaming polished finish. In contrast to other stove top brewers made from aluminium, the Little Guy or 'Otto' looks like and is worthy of family heirloom status. It works wonderfully to extract the coffee and produce the desired crema. It's a slow process that becomes an enjoyable and rewarding ritual, mesmerising to watch, and it'll certainly impress your guests. However, if you live a busy lifestyle and have little time for the beautiful things in life or if art doesn't appeal to you, then just get yourself an instant coffee maker of some sort. One for the connoisseurs.

Purchased in December 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers

Beautiful object that makes great coffee - once you’ve mastered it.

published

We’ve had a Little Guy machine for 3 years now, and love it. We use it to make coffee in a holiday cottage with only a gas hob to cook on. The machine is perfect for us.
We drink small flat whites/piccolos and used to make coffee in a plunger, which compared to decent espresso tastes pretty naff. The Little Guy was a huge improvement. It took a bit of initial experimenting, but once we’d mastered it, it makes reliably great coffee that tastes better than most commercial cafes.

It’s not the quickest or most convenient way to make coffee, but it tastes fantastic. It’s also a beautiful and interesting object to have on your bench-top.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how The Little Guy Home Barista Kit compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
younggle

younggleSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Makes beautiful coffee but is NOT for someone after a convenient coffee

published

Purchased in July 2013 at Myer.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Weekly
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Pete

PeteFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

$600 Useless Paperweight

published

Purchased in October 2015 at David Jones Online Store for $606.15.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Mr E

Mr EPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Should be called "the fussy little guy"

published

Purchased in October 2019 at David Jones Online Store for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Greg

GregMid North Coast, NSW

No problemo!

published

After four years I was having a problem with my extraction. Craig suggested a flush with with a commercial grade cleaner which I sourced from Botero Roasters in Maclean. Brilliant. Turns out that my mineralised bore water had presented a scaling problem. Love this machine.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Pete

PeteGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great coffee every day courtesy of Craig, the creator of the Little Guy :)

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Myer Retail Stores for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Nick J.

Nick J.Sydney, NSW

Awesome coffee / Customer service

published

Great espresso, made possibly the best coffees I've ever had. I did have some issues early on so reached out to the company, Craig (founder) got in touch and we chatted on the phone for about 15 minutes. We narrowed it down to user error, taking his comments into account it's been working like a dream.

Highly recommend.

Purchased in September 2019 at David Jones Online Store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how The Little Guy Home Barista Kit compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Amazing espresso

published

Consistently perfect espresso every day - have had the machine for approx 10 years! Recently had a minor issue with the steam wand, even though machine was purchase so long ago still received amazing customer service from the manufacturer to work out and resolve the problem.

Purchased in May 2008 at Myer Online Store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

Perfect Espresso Coffee for Home and Travel

published

I have been using the Little Guy since 2011 (+8 years) and it has been faultless. Great Espresso Coffee and an awesome Flat White. I use it daily at home and also in an off-road caravan when travelling. How good is a real coffee when travelling to remote places in the van! I use with a Little Guy induction top which is via an inverter when travelling in the van. What a great forever investment!

Purchased in August 2011 at Wagga Catering Equpment.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
kevin

kevinSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Restored after sales service

published

Best coffee that I've made from any device and Doug in after sales was great after I damage the seals by allowing LG to sit on gas for far too long

Purchased in April 2017 at Myer Online Store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderThermomix
See all answers

Just the best!

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Pete J.

Pete J.Sydney, NSW

What a Guy!

published

Making coffee with the Little Guy is a positive experience every time. For those who enjoy the process as much as the outcome, this product will leave you feeling like the world is a great place to live in, every morning. That's not to mention the aesthetics!
It takes a few goes to learn how to make great coffee, but that's part of the process of falling in love.
I did had an issue with a seal which broke a few months in. I got in touch, and was very pleased with the customer service and tips. I highly recommend this product!

Purchased in January 2019 at David Jones for $750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderDelonghi Dedica KG 521.M
See all answers
Llonda

LlondaHunter Region, NSW

Coffee to Perfection

published

Purchased in August 2013 at Essential Ingredient.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how The Little Guy Home Barista Kit compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love The Little Guy

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Myer for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Stan59

Stan59Hunter Region, NSW

I don’t want to live without my Otto

published

I’ve had my Otto since 2011, and it took some familiarisation to get the best out of it. Now, I can’t live without it. I love the SLOW ritual of the process of making a coffee. The machine is solidly made, beautiful in your kitchen and can give consistent cafe quality coffee. Get quality beans, use them fresh, preferably grind fresh for perfect extraction. I rarely buy coffee out anymore. I get best results with the companion induction plate. All up highly valued friend in my kitchen.

Purchased in November 2011 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Coffee 'n' Spice Grinder CG2B
See all answers
Robyn

RobynHobart, TAS

Absolutely, totally thoroughly hopeless.

published

Looks great. Otherwise a total dud. Uses MASSIVE amounts of coffee. The only time it makes decent cappuccino is in the tutorials. Waste of money unless it’s just for decoration.

Purchased in December 2018 at Coffee Plus, Hobart for $699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Incredibly happy with the Little Guy

published

I have been incredibly happy with the Little Guy, using it at least once a day for many years. It makes a delicious coffee, and with the option of heating and frothing the milk, it is truly a great device.

Only downside is the fineness of the bean it takes - if too fine (owners stupid mistake), the machine can blow a gasket - though they do offer a very good maintenance service.

Purchased in January 2014 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
KevinJ

KevinJSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great coffee machine can't live without it

published

This is a great coffee machine that works and works well. You do need a little practice and follow the instructions to get the best results. After sales service is exceptional and very quick.

Purchased in July 2018 at Little Guy website for $700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Sebastian B.

Sebastian B.asked

Hey guys. I have a milk tip, and a question.
Tip- when texturing milk, only introduce air into the milk while it's cold. Once the milk is warm, introducing air will only ruin the texture. Also the milk jug will squeal for two reasons - not enough air in the milk, or not enough steam pressure.
Question- I struggle to get enough pressure to do a small jug of milk. My extraction is fine, I fill to the bottom edge, have the flame on reasonably high, and wait until the extraction is nearly complete to start on the milk. What am I doing wrong??

1 answer
younggle
younggle

Does extraction start before the 8 min mark? Is yes, try a finer grind size until extraction starts on the 8 min mark. Or try using the other basket insert with the small number of holes. That will help with getting the right pressure for texturing.

Sebastian B.

Sebastian B.asked

Hey team. A question, and a comment..
The comment is.. as a barista in a former life I have some milk tips..
-only texture (when the steam tip is near the surface) when the milk is cold. Once it's staring to warm, just spin the milk to the desired temperature. Introducing air into warm milk will split it. Also, the milk jug will squeal if there's not enough air in the milk, or if there is insufficient steam pressure.
Question- I'm struggling to get anough steam pressure to texture a small jug of milk. I'm filling the water right up to the bottom edge and my coffee is extracting fine. I wait until the extraction is nearly done to start texturing.

No answers
Alex k

Alex kasked

Hello,

My little guy is leaking steam and I can’t completely shut it off... does anyone know if you can replace the seals/ washers for the wand and how?? Would be very grateful! Otherwise may have to send it off...
Thanks!
Alex

1 answer
Desmo Chi
Desmo Chi

Hi alex
Yes you can seals etc . Call Doug 0411782259. Mark the inventor is still contactable too. He's very helpful and offers full support
Hope this helps

Get an answer from our members

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.