??!
5 photos
The Little Guy Home Barista Kit

The Little Guy Home Barista Kit

4.6 from 161 reviews

See the Best Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(139)
(4)
(5)
(3)
(10)
  • Consistency
    4.5 (15)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (19)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (18)
  • Product is used:
    • Daily (15)
    • Weekly (3)
    • Several times a week (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (5)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.1 (16)


Beautiful object that makes great coffee - once you’ve mastered it.

published

We’ve had a Little Guy machine for 3 years now, and love it. We use it to make coffee in a holiday cottage with only a gas hob to cook on. The machine is perfect for us.
We drink small flat whites/piccolos and used to make coffee in a plunger, which compared to decent espresso tastes pretty naff. The Little Guy was a huge improvement. It took a bit of initial experimenting, but once we’d mastered it, it makes reliably great coffee that tastes better than most commercial cafes.

It’s not the quickest or most convenient way to make coffee, but it tastes fantastic. It’s also a beautiful and interesting object to have on your bench-top.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

younggle

younggleSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Makes beautiful coffee but is NOT for someone after a convenient coffee

published

Purchased in July 2013 at Myer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Weekly
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Pete

PeteFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

$600 Useless Paperweight

published

Purchased in October 2015 at David Jones Online Store for $606.15.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Mr E

Mr EPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Should be called "the fussy little guy"

published

Purchased in October 2019 at David Jones Online Store for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Greg

GregMid North Coast, NSW

No problemo!

published

After four years I was having a problem with my extraction. Craig suggested a flush with with a commercial grade cleaner which I sourced from Botero Roasters in Maclean. Brilliant. Turns out that my mineralised bore water had presented a scaling problem. Love this machine.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Pete

PeteGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great coffee every day courtesy of Craig, the creator of the Little Guy :)

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Myer Retail Stores for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Nick J.

Nick J.Sydney, NSW

Awesome coffee / Customer service

published

Great espresso, made possibly the best coffees I've ever had. I did have some issues early on so reached out to the company, Craig (founder) got in touch and we chatted on the phone for about 15 minutes. We narrowed it down to user error, taking his comments into account it's been working like a dream.

Highly recommend.

Purchased in September 2019 at David Jones Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Several times a week
See all answers

Amazing espresso

published

Consistently perfect espresso every day - have had the machine for approx 10 years! Recently had a minor issue with the steam wand, even though machine was purchase so long ago still received amazing customer service from the manufacturer to work out and resolve the problem.

Purchased in May 2008 at Myer Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Perfect Espresso Coffee for Home and Travel

published

I have been using the Little Guy since 2011 (+8 years) and it has been faultless. Great Espresso Coffee and an awesome Flat White. I use it daily at home and also in an off-road caravan when travelling. How good is a real coffee when travelling to remote places in the van! I use with a Little Guy induction top which is via an inverter when travelling in the van. What a great forever investment!

Purchased in August 2011 at Wagga Catering Equpment.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
kevin

kevinSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Restored after sales service

published

Best coffee that I've made from any device and Doug in after sales was great after I damage the seals by allowing LG to sit on gas for far too long

Purchased in April 2017 at Myer Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderThermomix
See all answers

Just the best!

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Pete J.

Pete J.Sydney, NSW

What a Guy!

published

Making coffee with the Little Guy is a positive experience every time. For those who enjoy the process as much as the outcome, this product will leave you feeling like the world is a great place to live in, every morning. That's not to mention the aesthetics!
It takes a few goes to learn how to make great coffee, but that's part of the process of falling in love.
I did had an issue with a seal which broke a few months in. I got in touch, and was very pleased with the customer service and tips. I highly recommend this product!

Purchased in January 2019 at David Jones for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderDelonghi Dedica KG 521.M
See all answers

Llonda

LlondaHunter Region, NSW

Coffee to Perfection

published

Purchased in August 2013 at Essential Ingredient.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Love The Little Guy

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Myer for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
Stan59

Stan59Hunter Region, NSW

I don’t want to live without my Otto

published

I’ve had my Otto since 2011, and it took some familiarisation to get the best out of it. Now, I can’t live without it. I love the SLOW ritual of the process of making a coffee. The machine is solidly made, beautiful in your kitchen and can give consistent cafe quality coffee. Get quality beans, use them fresh, preferably grind fresh for perfect extraction. I rarely buy coffee out anymore. I get best results with the companion induction plate. All up highly valued friend in my kitchen.

Purchased in November 2011 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
GrinderBreville Coffee 'n' Spice Grinder CG2B
See all answers
Robyn

RobynHobart, TAS

Absolutely, totally thoroughly hopeless.

published

Looks great. Otherwise a total dud. Uses MASSIVE amounts of coffee. The only time it makes decent cappuccino is in the tutorials. Waste of money unless it’s just for decoration.

Purchased in December 2018 at Coffee Plus, Hobart for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Incredibly happy with the Little Guy

published

I have been incredibly happy with the Little Guy, using it at least once a day for many years. It makes a delicious coffee, and with the option of heating and frothing the milk, it is truly a great device.

Only downside is the fineness of the bean it takes - if too fine (owners stupid mistake), the machine can blow a gasket - though they do offer a very good maintenance service.

Purchased in January 2014 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

KevinJ

KevinJSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great coffee machine can't live without it

published

This is a great coffee machine that works and works well. You do need a little practice and follow the instructions to get the best results. After sales service is exceptional and very quick.

Purchased in July 2018 at Little Guy website for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Simon

SimonPerth

The best coffee I’ve ever had plus reliable plus enjoying the process

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Like No Other Coffee Maker You'll Find!

published

Bought it online from the awesome crew at The Bircher Bar and haven't ever regretted it for a second. It's a staple on my kitchen counter and makes the best home espresso I've ever had - time and time again. I've paired it with the Little Guy Induction Plate and Little Guy Tamper too - can't recommend more!

Date PurchasedFeb 2019

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

thall

thallasked

trouble removing the basket, it is stuck and I want to change to the other basket

2 answers
Pete
Pete

You need to insert a knife blade in between the basket and the handle head and pry upwards.

Mr E
Mr E

I would sell it , they are a pain to use and getting 2 good cappuccinos from a little guy is impossible whatever basket u try. Just sold mine , very happy to be rid of it.
Basket will come out by pushing something thru the bottom hole of the holder.. shouldn't be stuck just tight


Dominic O.

Dominic O.asked

Some questions about my Little Guy (with custom induction plate) which I've been using for a week:
1) The coffee seems to "spit" all over the place, especially towards the end of the extraction process. The bench ends up spotted with coffee in a radius of about 30 cm?
2) Related to question #1 - the manual estimates 60ml extraction in about 90 seconds. I'm getting about 40 ml after 2m30s. Grind too fine? Too much coffee in basket? Tamping too hard? All of the above? I've switched to the basket with lots of holes ("professional") but that's producing watery coffee.

2 answers
Il Duomo
Il Duomo

Update - 2 weeks and 3 bags of coffee after purchasing, the most recent cafe knew about The Little Guy (stockist) and even had their grinder set to "TLG" (not a number, actually a setting they'd pencilled in after trial and error. Finally, FINALLY the coffee is tasting smooth and rich with caramel overtones the way I like it, and it's not longer "spitting". Still falling short of the promised 60 mls though but at least I can see progress. It's a good thing I love a challenge :P

Daisy B.
Daisy B.

Hi. I hope you can provide what exactly is the grinder set to help us new owners. thanks


Llonda

Llondaasked

Hi
Have been a user of Otto now - The Little Guy since early release.
Problem - insufficiency of steam today for milk ?

1 answer
Llonda
Llonda

Problem solved - thank you.


Get an answer from our members


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.