5 photos
The Little Guy Home Barista Kit

The Little Guy Home Barista Kit

4.6 from 169 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for The Little Guy? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (27)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (26)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (12)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.6 (23)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.2 (23)
Previous
Next
KayaJinx
KayaJinxGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my little guy

published

So, when I first started using it I couldn't get the milk to steam properly. I then left it on the stovetop and burnt it out. I got it repaired at great expense and since then I have been using it every day. It took about 2 weeks to perfect the grind and henceforth milk. I now get absolutely perfect milk every time. I am also using an aftermarket coffee basket as the one that it comes with makes the coffee too strong and there is only one of me. Works great, perfect coffee everytime.

Purchased in April 2020 at David Jones Online Store for $375.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Floater
FloaterAU
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Looks can be deceiving

published

Purchased in September 2019 at David Jones for $295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Simon T.
Simon T.South East Queensland, QLD

Live everything about this little guy from the design to its functionality.

published

I have used this everyday for six years and never had a problem. I take it everywhere with me it is a hit camping. My coffee snob girlfriend (one of the reasons I love her) loves the coffee I make her and rates it verses the best baristas. Just get one already!

Purchased in January 2013 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how The Little Guy Home Barista Kit compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
timcsky
timcskySouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Seductive looks, mesmerising brew

published

I bought my unit off eBay- new and unused- previous owner declared it "too fussy- my Pod machine is so so much easier." So, I bought off the Caf-fiend Philistine for $250.00 and toasted their bad taste with the first magnificent brew. The aroma and the seduction of this machine nearly made me serially unfaithful to my Gaggia Classic, but as dedicated Caffeiniciado, I can balance the love of both and reap the benefits.

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Russell Pata
Russell Pata
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Worth the effort.

published

The old “Atomic” done better. Making a coffee with The Little Guy is art. You will actually need to learn what it takes to get the best brew. The final product is worth every cent and minute spent.
If you take the time this machine will extract one of the best coffees you have ever tasted.
It is neat, sturdy, easy to clean. The induction top works very well and will help you get things right. The steam wand puts out constant “hot” steam as a proper pressure based machine should. Be cautious with this if you use a pump based machine. This steam is a whole different level. It stretches milk to perfection.

Purchased in November 2018 at Wild Wombat Coffee for $665.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Budget Coffee Machines, Bread Makers and Food Sealers

In quarantine and in need of fresh coffee, bread and longer lasting food? Read on for more information on kitchen appliances that won’t break the bank and help see you through self isolation during difficult times.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.27 Mar 2020
budget-coffee-machines-bread-makers-and-food-sealers

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Maggie L.
Maggie L.Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

the Little Guy Home Kit is good!

published

Purchased not too Long ago and is very handy as we have a gas hob. Since my husband does not drink coffee often I have used it almost twice everyday for the past two years! Makes your standard coffees and so far no issues with the machine, cappuccino's are average and requires bigger amounts of coffee beans that con be expensive, but other than that its a great little machine!

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sebastian B.
Sebastian B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Will reward those that take the time to work him out.

published

Great product. As a professional barista of many years, this machine is capable of delivering a cafe standard coffee.
I've had to take time tweaking my own use of this device, but a worthy investment.
Build quality is excellent. It looks fantastic.
Save yourself some time and read the reviews. You'll hit the ground running.

Purchased in August 2014 at Online for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Desmo Chi
Desmo ChiSydney Surrounds, NSW

timeless masterpiece of espresso beauty

published

The quality of this item is exceptional. You pick it up and there's nothing like feeling the weight and seeing the gleaming polished finish. In contrast to other stove top brewers made from aluminium, the Little Guy or 'Otto' looks like and is worthy of family heirloom status. It works wonderfully to extract the coffee and produce the desired crema. It's a slow process that becomes an enjoyable and rewarding ritual, mesmerising to watch, and it'll certainly impress your guests. However, if you live a busy lifestyle and have little time for the beautiful things in life or if art doesn't appeal to you, then just get yourself an instant coffee maker of some sort. One for the connoisseurs.

Purchased in December 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Beautiful object that makes great coffee - once you’ve mastered it.

published

We’ve had a Little Guy machine for 3 years now, and love it. We use it to make coffee in a holiday cottage with only a gas hob to cook on. The machine is perfect for us.
We drink small flat whites/piccolos and used to make coffee in a plunger, which compared to decent espresso tastes pretty naff. The Little Guy was a huge improvement. It took a bit of initial experimenting, but once we’d mastered it, it makes reliably great coffee that tastes better than most commercial cafes.

It’s not the quickest or most convenient way to make coffee, but it tastes fantastic. It’s also a beautiful and interesting object to have on your bench-top.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how The Little Guy Home Barista Kit compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
younggle
younggleSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Makes beautiful coffee but is NOT for someone after a convenient coffee

published

Purchased in July 2013 at Myer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Pete
PeteFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

$600 Useless Paperweight

published

Purchased in October 2015 at David Jones Online Store for $606.15.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mr E
Mr EPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Should be called "the fussy little guy"

published

Purchased in October 2019 at David Jones Online Store for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Greg
GregMid North Coast, NSW

No problemo!

published

After four years I was having a problem with my extraction. Craig suggested a flush with with a commercial grade cleaner which I sourced from Botero Roasters in Maclean. Brilliant. Turns out that my mineralised bore water had presented a scaling problem. Love this machine.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Pete
PeteGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great coffee every day courtesy of Craig, the creator of the Little Guy :)

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Myer Retail Stores for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nick J.
Nick J.Sydney, NSW

Awesome coffee / Customer service

published

Great espresso, made possibly the best coffees I've ever had. I did have some issues early on so reached out to the company, Craig (founder) got in touch and we chatted on the phone for about 15 minutes. We narrowed it down to user error, taking his comments into account it's been working like a dream.

Highly recommend.

Purchased in September 2019 at David Jones Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how The Little Guy Home Barista Kit compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Grace
Graceasked

Is there another sized basket I can purchase for the portafilter to make 1 coffee for myself

3 answers
KayaJinx
KayaJinx

I bought mine on eBay, I just searched for 51mm basket single serve. I got one that didn't fit but the second one I got fit perfectly

Grace
Grace

And both were the specifications of 51mm?

KayaJinx
KayaJinx

Yeah but one was a little small

Clare
Clareasked

Help!!! My frother isn't emitting steam. Just the odd drip of water coming through the wand... Doing all the usual process, used to work nicely, but nothing.

1 answer
KayaJinx
KayaJinx

Try pulling it apart and give it a good clean. Sometimes they get clogged up.

Carl
Carlasked

Hey to all TLG owners out there! Anyone know how to pull TLG apart completely? Specifically the group head with the internal silicon pipe attached to it. I think mine has just blown the internal silicon pipes apart - big steam explosion just as I was about to steam some milk and all the pressure dropped out!! I'm in NZ and I dont think there is a repairer here so if I can get it apart I'll replace the pipes myself...........Cheers Carl

2 answers
Holly T.
Holly T.

Same situ here! Had any luck fixing?

Luc G.
Luc G.

Remove the label off the top of the machine and then remove the screws that are hidden underneath.

See all The Little Guy Home Barista Kit questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $699.00
Dishwasher Safe PartsNo
Water Tank Capacity0.25 L
Weight4.25 kg
Milk FrotherSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNone
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Release dateSept 2011
ManualDownload manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.